Springfield, IL 
Lincoln Park - South Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 304ft.   3 / 387ft.   3 / 387ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Needs Signage

1    7/20/2019   7/20/2019
Review By: texassidearm
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brilliant layout. Great mix of short and long, straight and dog leg holes. Shady for hot sunny days.
Cons: With the tricky lay out on some holes, the course desperately needs signage throughout. Would have been much more enjoyable.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Signs...heard of them?

1    4/20/2018   4/23/2018
Review By: Brig4209
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *One of the best courses I have ever played, deserved a rating of at least a 4.5, but i will get to that below.
*Multiple tee pads, great use of terrain, challenging (but accessible) pins, multiple angles of attack on each basket.
*Just overall a great course and cannot wait to go back.
*2 courses in one park is awesome as well, I played both in one day.
Cons: *I would love to hear the reason the city has for no signs at either of the 2 courses in this park, I take that back there was one sign, and it had a "layout" of the course, but didn't tell you which of the 2 courses it was for. *Not a single sign on any hole, I don't know how many times I walked the fairway before a throw just so i could have some idea of where the basket was, and knowing distance would have been a huge help as well.
*It would also be helpful to add disc golf -> to the entrance way signs. Got lucky and found one course, wasn't until hole 3 that i was confident which course I was even on.
*Trying to find the next tee was an adventure too. They have these little markers on some of the basket sleeves, but a lot of them are missing, and still weren't that great.
Other Thoughts: I honestly believe that if the powers that be at this park put just a little bit of time and effort into that course, seriously just add course maps at hole 1, then some tee pad signs, and markers at the baskets leading to the next tee pad. They do just this and this becomes one of the best pair of courses around. Would be the perfect place for tournaments.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Springfield

5+    7/5/2015   9/5/2015
Review By: pianocomposer
Played: 20  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 22.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well layer out and challenging at any level. Elevation changes. Nice mix of open and trees. Perfect for tournaments.
Cons: Some shots may interfere with park lovers. May be too challenging for beginners.
Other Thoughts: Was my home course for 8 years. Ppl from out of town love this course but also hate how hard it is.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/12/2013   5/12/2013
Review By: donny vomit
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Best course in spfld
Cons: Worse course in spfld for signs ,no par numbers , or footage distances, and grass management.
Other Thoughts: Love this course, but the reluctance to put down signage well just sucks.playing here since last Feb. And still don't know what par is for this course on the holes them selves. Don't go by the sign by no#1 that sign was several designs ago. Other than the signage and no par#s this is the best course in town hands down.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Course

5+    5/3/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 261  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple concrete tees and good signage here. A great variety of lines and distances on this course with some fun elevation. Hole two has an interesting down sloping fairway to the right. 4 is such a cool par 4. It is a placement shot down a hill through a gap and then a short approach over the fountain pool to the green with an up sloping back stop. 5 is a short, fun uphill hole. 6 is a cool downhill par 4. First you must hit the tight gap heading downhill. Then to get to the green for a birdie putt you must navigate the fairway that slopes towards the ob road with a treacherous basket placement atop the slope. 9 is a cool downhill shot with the fairway as a peninsula surrounded by an ob road. 10 is a tough birdie as the fairway goes way uphill making the hole play much longer than its listed distance. 11 is a fun par 4 where you can rip a drive off the tee and then a have a challenging low ceiling shot to a protected green that sharply drops away behind the basket. 14 is a super tight tunnel shot through the woods. Once you get out of the woods the terrain drops away and then slopes back up to the green.
Cons: Some holes lack interest for me like hole 3, a short dogleg left with no good line. 12 is a boring straight shot or a flukey skip shot left when the pin is over there. 15 is a short hole with the basket in a tricky position on the slope on the right. The green is cool but the drive is boring. 17 is a boring open straight shot or big hyzer.
Other Thoughts: Much better course than the North course in the same park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A True Gem

5+    12/13/2011   12/21/2011
Review By: Shade Seeker
Played: 111  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course and it is a true gem! The setting is beautiful with elevation you wouldn't expect in the heart of the prairie. The park is filled with mature oak trees. There's a lovely lagoon and even some woods.
There are concrete tee pads on all tees, with 2 or 3 tee placements 12 of the 18 holes. There are at 2 basket placement positions on nearly every hole.

The signs are pretty basic. The map at the first hole pictures the old course so isn't much help with navigation, but the tees and baskets are numbered and there are "next tee" signs at the bottom of each basket. There are no benches devoted to the course but the course maintenance is outstanding. The layout takes great advantage of the terrain, although you are nowhere near the parking lot after playing #9 and have quite a walk to your car after #18.

Most of the holes have multiple lines to the basket and there is a good variety of short and long holes. The course favors RHBH players a little bit, but is fairly balanced. There are some challenging risk-reward decisions on several holes, with an road OB on #6 to make you think about your drive and approach to the side-slope basket. Baskets on #14, #15 and #16 are also posititioned on tricky slopes. The course is very fair, with no reliance on lucky shots execpt for the #3 hole through the woods from the long tee.

There are several "wonder holes" at Lincoln South. #4 is a beautiful, downhill dog-leg right with woods on the right and the lagoon looming dead ahead for long drives that don't make the turn. It's my favorite hole on the course, especially when the basket is positioned at the alternate spot across the lagoon. This postition requires a decision about whether to lay up or go for it, and four mighty oaks and deep water add to the risk. Unfortunately, this position is rarely utilized. The blue/white tee on #6 demands a downhill tunnel shot through the woods, follow by a tricky, side slope approach shot. #11 is a long hill-top hole that calls for a long distance drive followed by a low, controlled second shot to a basket on the "edge of the table" and another risk-reward choice. #14 is a phenominal layout through a tunnel in the woods, across a small valley to a basket perched on a hillside in the woods beyond. The lagoon lies downhill on the right for the full length of the hole. Getting a 3 on this one always feels like an accomplishment.
Cons: One con of the course is that the basket positions aren't changed very often. For the most part, you either get the long or the short positions all at once. It would be great if they could mix it up a bit, but I shouldn't complain if I don't want to volunteer. The other major con is that the lagoon does not really come into play except for when #4 is set to the "tournament position" mentioned earlier. This is a Park Disctict decision. There used to be a nice shot over the water but they installed some waterside benches in the fairway which forced a move of the hole. I guess when you're sharing a park with other users you can't have everything, but one can't help but to fantasize about a ridge-top tee in the woods above where you could rip one out of the trees and over the water.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and I tip my hat to the Springfield Park District and the Springfield Disc Golf Club for creating and maintaining 2 great courses on this property. In my opinion, Lincoln South is one of the best courses in Illinois.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but Dangerous

1    9/3/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 160  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 19.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The South course has some really neat holes with great elevation, great usage of the park, and beautiful scenery. Multiple pin placements were a nice addition for the most part.... Hole 4 is a beautiful left to right, sweeping downhill hole with a pond coming into play. Hole 6 is a huge hyzer hole playing back up the hill with out of the bounds road to the right. Hole was an interesting hole bordering a neighbor's yard with a tight green. 10 was a tough uphill hole with out of bounds way left and 11 was a monster par 4 with a low ceiling green. 13 was a very unique hole with a nice hyzer drive - the hole required you to hit the landing area and then throw downhill about 150 feet into a protected green with out out of bounds road long. Then it got real interesting.....
Cons: Hole 14 needs some serious work....this was simply a brutal brutal hole. Not only was the fairway incredibly tight, but the hole was simply unfair. No hole should be over 550 feet with that type of fairway. After this hole things became extremely confusing. We found tee pads that indicated hole 15 which appeared to be a hole over the pond....but it turns out those were old pads and the tee was over the pond and the basket was back into the woods. 16 was a dangerous shot so close to the road, and felt eerily like the North course: long, with a low-ceiling shot and no defined fairway. Hole 3 was also extremely odd....it looks to be a brand new hole but there wasn't really a fairway on the hole. It was just 180 feet of a hyzer-woods shot with a brush/shule/woods all around. Some of the holes had concrete pads while others didn't. In addition, while I typically like a course that has some options via multiple pin placements.....there were way too many pin placements on the course and it became confusing which pin we were playing towards. In addition, while I typically like a course that has some options via multiple pin placements.....there were way too many pin placements on the course and it became confusing which pin we were playing towards. Some of the distances painted on the concrete pads seemed to be a bit confusing.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this was a fun course. There were some really memorable holes and I did enjoy the course. If not for the danger factor I would give this course a 4. If I knew that smart players were the only ones to play this course (and would watch for cars and pedestrians) I would have no beef with this course. But the fact remains....this course has some dangerous areas. I would change my review to a 3.5 if holes 3 and 14 had widened fairways and the tee situation on hole 15 was remedied either by moving the old concrete pad to the new tee area or removing the old concrete altogether so people weren't confused. If you are curious...I would rate the North Course 2.5 stars based on the fact that a lot of the holes had the following characteristics:
1) Low-ceiling shots
2) No real defined fairway
Its okay to have low-ceiling shots, but a majority of the holes required a low shot. Also, a lot of the holes seemed to have no true fairway....just had trees in the middle with some type of route. Hole 2 is the best example: 400+ foot hole with an apparent route right up the middle between the two oaks, but when you pass the two oaks you are literally throwing into a bunch of small saplings that cannot be considered a fairway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Challenging Course

2-4    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: smyith
Played: 191  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Red/White/Blue tee pads, some shared
- Multiple pin placements
- Very challenging layout
- Lots of risk reward
- A few risky greens especially #4, #11, and #14.
- Shot placement and smart play are a necessity
- Many true par 4s
- This course is a little more removed from the rest of the park.
- Lots of other activities at the course, including the water park.
Cons: - This course is in need of some serious tree trimming!!!! Low hanging braches everywhere really destroy the lines. A few holes with this feature are OK but when they are an overwhelming feature it becomes a bit much.
- The cement tee pads are nice but they are not level with the ground around them. making timing-steps and run-ups not safe. Worst part is the longest holes have the worst issue.
- No descriptive tee signs. Lots of walking the fairway to find the hole.
- Water (personally i am not a fan of water OB. losing your disc to OB is lame. A permanently marked OB circle is just as effective and no one loses a disc. (not holing against the course)
- Holes #3, #5, and #12 are stupid. there are no real lines at the basket. Chuck n' pray holes.
Other Thoughts: **Played in the 2011 Mother Lode on the Mother Road from blue tees**
The South course is far more challenging than the North. Shot placement and accuracy are very important to score well. This course will really test ADV players and provide a good challenge to PRO players. I would say True par from blue tees is around 57-58, with holes #4, #11, and #14 being true par 4s. Holes #6, #13, and #18 being par 3.5.
Hole #4 is a tricky beast. The pond next to the basket is nasty. Choice and execution are essential for good scores. Not many birdie opportunities so get them while you can.

This course is a 4 disc layout. But... there are some things that seriously take away from its quality. They could easily be fixed/improved.
First, hole #3 ranks in my top 5 for stupidest holes ive ever played. the line from the tee doesnt complete go to the basket. you have to count on your disc crashing through and getting "lucky".
Second, holes #5 and #12 are clear Chuck'n'pray holes. There is no true line at the basket. Greens are overly protected and need to have some definitive line cleared. Also, those pillars on #5 would be awesome if you could incorporate those into the hole design.
Third, low hanging braches are insane. You are forced to constantly disc up to make the distances. Im 6'2" and walking down the fairway i was ducking under branches alot. You are forced to disc up constantly if you want to make the distances.
Forth, the tee pads on several holes are sometimes a couple inches above the ground. I personally like to take a couple of timing steps leading into my x-step. the teepads themselves are long enough for just my x-step. So i found myself catching the teepad edge often. the worst part is that the longest hole on the course, #11, was the worst culprit.

With that said, this is a fantastic course. I highly recommend this and North. I am truly jealous of those in Springfield with such great home courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nooby on the course!

1    6/27/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: Redleg
Played: 59  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.2 Years
Pros: Very Challenging course for a new player. Great location. lots of different placement of holes. Lots of long holes. Busy park but course is laid out so you do not have them interfearing with play very often.
Cons: They were moving the baskets for a tournament and some of the holes were very hard to find and basket markers did not match holes in a few cases. I was told that once they go back to normal play it will be better.
Other Thoughts: for a guy who has only played for 4 days total at this point. Great place to play!

 Nice park course

1    2/26/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 17.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the more technical and hillier course of the two in Lincoln Park. There is more brush and woods in play to really punish errant drives, and a lot more holes with fun elevation changes. There are a couple fun downhill shots, and some tricky uphills mixed in. Most of the course plays through grassy park areas with mature trees, offering multiple lines and often a lower ceiling to contend with. A few shots play through the woods to add some tighter lines.

There is a pretty good mix of right and left turning holes here, it felt pretty balanced. There are long 'tournament' settings for most pins, and those also looked like they offered a great variety of lines to hit while adding quite a bit of length and difficulty. There is a good mix of lengths out here too, with a few longer holes where most players will pull out a driver, and lots of short to medium length holes that are reachable but only with a good shot.

The tees are mostly concrete, and are in nice shape. The few holes that don't have concretes yet will get them soon, so that wasn't a big issue. The tees are marked with nice posts that have the hole number and which tee you're playing, as many holes have alternate tees. The distance to the pin is painted on most tees, and there are next tee markers at the base of every pin.
Cons: There are some navigation issues, even with the next tee markers. Some areas of the course have several tees and baskets close together so it occasionally takes some time to figure out where to go next. Some of the sections of the course felt a little repetitive, when you're using park style terrain it's difficult to make that different of holes at times.

The tournament pin placements looked like they would add a lot of fun and challenge, but they also bring roads into play quite a bit more and I don't think they're used all that often. The new holes in the woods need some work. They aren't cleared out, so they're just poke n pray type shots right now, and don't fit at all with the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with some nice challenges, and especially with another course onsite it's definitely worth a stop. Beginners will find some length and some holes that are a little punitive of errant shots, but overall it's not too frustrating for newer players. More experienced players will find some nice challenges, with some rewarding birdie opportunities mixed in.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.