Athens, TX 
Cain Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #5 (Taken 3/2018)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Gem of a course.

1    3/12/2018   3/26/2018
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 122  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 15.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a great park.
Course was well maintained
Almost each hole had signage for each hole layout
Some spots were soggy from the recent rains
Course has many different shots that are required as well as some water shots to keep you honest
Most teepads were in good condition
Layout and pace of the course plays good
Cons: Older baskets, could use and update
Some of the signs on the holes were weather damaged
This course will make you pay if you miss your line
Other Thoughts: This is a great older course if your in the area. It seems like the course is sort of out in the middle of nowhere. But I highly recommend playing if your able to.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Variety

1    3/23/2018   3/23/2018
Review By: markmcc
Played: 238  Reviewed: 212  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course hadn't been reviewed in several years, and I wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised.

This course has an interesting variety of holes from super tight tunnels to partially wooded to quite open. Throw in a couple of pond-side holes and a creek and you've got a little bit of everything.

Lengths vary from 177' out to 415, with an average length of 270', so not a bomber course at all. The front nine is shorter and tighter, with the back nine opening up some.

A few of the shorter holes (2,3, 6, & 7) are really, really tight. Like 20' wide fairways with impenetrable brush on the sides. I really enjoyed these holes, as a straight or slightly curving drive with a putter or Comet got you where you needed to be. Finesse over power for sure.

Hole 10 has the big pond on your right for most of the drive, and a water-filled channel on the left. Enough room to work, but if you miss you'll be saying goodbye to your disc. The pond is also in play on Hole 6 if you go long, and Hole 17.

Concrete tee pads on every hole, though some are marked boxes on existing sidewalks and a couple are smallish. The baskets are older and showing their age, but caught reasonably well. Tee signs include good hole diagrams along with distance, par, OB, etc. A couple were torn and one was missing, but for the most part they were there.
Cons: Some folks will no doubt find the tightest holes to be frustratingly tight. And if you miss the fairway you'll find all sorts of unpleasant thorns and pokiness.

Some of the teepads were small, rough, or otherwise not optimal, but they worked. The baskets are rusting and some of the chain rings are deteriorated but the locals are keeping them together and working.

A walking trail winds through some holes and I found myself waiting on walkers a few times. This was early on a weekday morning. Could be a bigger issue on weekends?
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the challenge and variety of the course.

I didn't find the course even close to "Moderately Hilly" so I've changed it to "Mostly Flat".

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cain Park

1    10/28/2014   10/29/2014
Review By: 1TallTXn
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent use of available features.
Variety of shots.
Cons: Without the tee signs, you're left wondering where the basket is.
Many times you're crossing another hole's fairway or throwing across/at another tee.
Loose sand on the concrete tees can make for slippery footing.
Several Par 4s that probably shouldn't be. Good ego boost though.
Creek running along hole 18 swallows discs.
Flow isn't perfect. Bring/download a map.
The Map in the Files is of low quality, hard to read the numbers.
Other Thoughts: I felt the par was a little off on a few holes (~400ft Par 4) and felt my final score of -2 wasn't quite deserved because of those holes.
I'm normally a +1-5 on a new course.
Biggest complaints was the poor signage.

If you're in the area, it's worth playing, but I cannot recommend driving for the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A solid course

1    10/13/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: adamlamar
Played: 34  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A full 18 holes that make use of the available park and keeps the shots interesting. Not the most challenging course, but still makes you pull most of the shots out of your bag. The holes along water don't really ever put you in danger, but they're just close enough to put thoughts of wet shoes and lost discs in your head.
Cons: I would have liked to see a longer shot off the top of the hill, but everything else was satisfactory ... well, everything except the "swampy" end of the fairway on 18.
Other Thoughts: Some of the signage was a bit weathered, but overall, the course was in pretty good shape.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Low rating is not justified

5+    7/16/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: MarkFLTRI
Played: 73  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Clean and well maintained park with little or no trash or graffiti.
2) Friendly locals.
3) Nice mix of shots. Tight fairways on holes 1, 2, 3, 5 & 6.
4) Epic hole is #16. A tight, low ceiling downhill shot. A birdie on this hole is very possible, but must be earned.
5) Hole 13 is another tough hole if playing for a birdie because of the large tree blocking the basket and the pond just beyond the basket.
Cons: 1) It's the only course in Athens.
2) Old baskets (locals keep them because it adds to the originality of the course.
3) I understand why the layout on the back could be problematic if the course were crowded.
4) Not much else to complain about here.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing regularly for 2 years and have played 50 courses in Texas and Oklahoma. The low average rating for this course is a surprise to me. I live in the DFW area and always include this course as a must play when I visit Tyler 30 miles away. If you can finish this course under par, you might have room to complain. If not, you should be able to enjoy what this course has to offer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/21/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The front 9 is fun and it looks like they plan to add some more tee boxes. So it should hopefully get better.
Cons: The back nine become very monotonous. Just throw back and forth and no real challenge. I am sure I will be back to play again but not unless I get to car pool with people or unless I am driving through.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My first

1    11/26/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: philguard
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great start with holes 1 - 3 and 5 - 9 (all through the woods) Even 4 is a nice open ace attempt. Tee signs give you a pretty decent idea of what to expect on each hole even if the info isn't 100% accurate. Course starts and ends on the Rec Center parking lot, so if you know where you're going it's very convenient. Wood holes are tight but it's easy to find your discs that land off the fairway if you willing to deal with a few thorny vines.
Cons: The back nine is just terrible and really needs to be reworked. 10 - 16 are stacked up in an open field with a couple of trees. Baskets and tee boxes that are all tightly packed make this part of the course really confusing. Should you be playing on a busy day keep an eye out for discs in this area.
Other Thoughts: This was a course I went out and played 7 or 8 years ago and didn't enjoy enough to keep playing. I enjoyed the first half of it a lot today but the second half is awful. If you're in the Ceder Creek area this seems to be the closest place to play but I would just play it as a 9 hole course and avoid the back nine all together.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 It Ainít Greece, But Itís Better Than Nuthiní.

1    6/2/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 239  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 31.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well-maintained course with woods, wide-open holes, water, OB, mandos, and a few fairway trees. The wooded holes are tight fairways with dense trouble anywhere off the fairway. The mandos and OB's are all fair and justified. The water is mossy, black, and the bottom was not visible. The shots over or around the water can be navigated to minimize the risk for beginners. Experienced players will not have a problem with it however. The wide-open holes are not bad and the holes with a few trees seem to have the trees in good locations. There are a few trashcans along the way and there are bathrooms inside the Cain Center.
Cons: There are tee signs on every hole, but the information is not that accurate on many of them. The tee pads are grass/dirt/sidewalk mixture. The dirt and grass ones are not in that great of shape. Some footing can be difficult. The layout for half of the course is not well laid out. By this I mean that there are a few holes that run side by side and face each other forcing you to watch out for other golfers. There is one hole that makes you back track most of that hole to get the next tee (basket 10 to Tee 11). Hole 17 actually plays through hole 18 tee. So as I said, the layout is not the most logical for about half of the course. Most of the par 4's are a bit short to be 4's. This is not necessarily a negative, but wanted to mention it.
Other Thoughts: The GPS coordinates on the course page are now set to the parking area right in front of hole #1. So finding it should be much easier than in the past. The Fun Factor was just barely ok for me. I liked the wooded holes, but the rest of the course was kind of boring. This is not an overly challenging course. It is great to see such an old course still getting some use, but it just isn't anything I would make to long drive to play. On the other side, I think it is great that Athens has kept it in the ground and has kept the park well maintained.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/20/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: SWAD44
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great area. Kept Clean. great hole variety. A lot of the holes cut directly through the woods leaving you with only a little bit of room to make mistakes, while others are placed directly in a an open field. Water even comes into play occasionally.
Cons: Discs can be hard to find and/or get to if thrown into the brush, but that can really happen anywhere with thick woods.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth playing if in or around Athens

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Kinda letdown...

1    3/27/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: Goat Boy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short holes that lead to birdie ops. Some pretty scenery. Quite a few benches. Not overly crowded. Nice mix of holes that force you to throw both hyzer and annys.
Cons: Dirt pads, bad signs, baskets seem lower than most others I've played. NASTY water in the pond. If your disc goes in, bye bye. Course was VERY muddy when I went. If you play a few days after it rains, expect it to still be muddy.
Other Thoughts: I would say that the course isn't too terrible for Athens, but save yourself the trip if you live 30 minutes or more away. If you do wish to go play this course, turn on East on Loyola (just North of the main Cain Center entrance on Hwy 19). The second entrance that will take you to the parking lot right by Hole 1 is about 1/4 mile down on the right... there is a big sign, can't miss it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.