Croydon, London, United Kingdom 
Lloyd Park Share
Uploaded By: erickmj Hole #12 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Must play course on a visit to the capital

5+    11/5/2016   4/21/2017
Review By: rhatton1
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 4/23/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good tees (grow through rubber matting) and tee markers throughout
- Great mix of holes testing a range of shots
- Fantastic location and straight off a tram stop with car parking available
- Cafe on site with I believe disc hire again
- Excellent friendly local club and local club chairman. If you are coming to play get in touch with them first you won't regret it.
- For a public park in the middle of greater London I have hardly ever had to wait for pedestrians to throw. Couple of holes around the lower field and squeaky bum Causeway can block up a bit but most of the rest of the park is very little used. Hardly any rubbish or dog mess that I have noticed here either - the local club does a good job of litter picking on rounds.
- Really well done website - http://www.croydondiscgolf.com/course
- Great views out to the city from the top of the hill.
- Two courses a beginners and an 18 hole Blue course
Cons: - Grass. Almost impossible to play by yourself from late May - to the autumn cut. Prepare to lose discs if you do.
- Baskets - old, and not the best catchers.
- flow is sometimes a bit tricky especially getting out to the back top field holes 6 - 8, there is a long walk to get there and it is not particularly intuitive.
- Few unintuitive walks between holes on the beginners course

Other Thoughts: Superb facility and the only one of it's kind inside the M25 belt. I love playing here and always look forward to the challenge it sets. What was the old 3 and i think now hole 17 is my particular favourite and an iconic hole, an 125 meterish slightly downhill long par three playing into a basket in a dell, it's as wonderfully shaped fairway and always a good two to pick up likely to grab shots on the field.

The top of the world drop hole 10 is a throw your bag hole looking for the cubby ace.

Hole 4 is a really good par 4, requiring a couple of different shots to pick up the 3

The last two mandos on Hole 2 are poorly defined trees which are easy to throw over the top off causing confusion as to whether you have passed the right side or not. I'm not really sure they are necessary for the hole, which would be a good long gold level 3 without them, IMO they don't really add anything on this hole for a top level player.

I remain unconvinced on the change to Squeaky Bum causeway (hole 9) , think this would be a better hole with a change of tee position to allow an attacking shot up the tunnel. Not a big fan of forced putter positional/layup shots off the tee on par 4's. I preferred the old layout.

All in all a must play course when you are in London.

EDIT* Just noticed lots of the hotos are out of date - the course has been substantially redesigned back in about 2012 with the old holes 1 and 2 disappearing 3 and 4 becoming one hole and three new holes out the back coming into play. Another one must have been lost somewhere but can't think which. Tee position for 1 and 18 have changed as has the overall flow. Better course now all round although old hole one was my first ever ace so some sadness for me!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Abroad Golf

1    6/29/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: Drakeab
Played: 89  Reviewed: 7
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy access from public transit

- Friendly locals.

- High grass in fairways (and everywhere else). Before you give me a negative review for calling three feet high grass in the fairway, hear me out. It really does make for a different DG experience and will change your shot selection greatly. As long as you have a spotter, it is a pretty cool change!

- Great use of elevation.
Cons: - High grass everywhere could lead to some lost plastic.

- Dirt tee pads.

- Course layout can be a little confusing, particularly the walk between 5 and 6. If it seems like you are going the wrong way to hole 6, you probably are doing it right.
Other Thoughts: Check out www.croydondiscgolf.com and post on the forum to let them know you are coming. They have a very active club and were more than willing to help getting me a guide!

I got a little lost off of the transit. Although it takes you straight to the park and cafe, it doesn't quite take you to the first tee. Once you get to the cafe, walk to the right all the way down the open field. You will see 18's basket and the teepad for number 1 is just to the right of that.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip!

1    11/20/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: steakfest
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice course with a good variety of holes.

Some elevation changes on the holes that add to the difficulty/variety.

A very nice park.
Cons: Aging baskets, that could use a little maintenance. they had good heavy chains though and caught well. (except for hole 1 which was missing chains entirely!)

Watch out for locals walking the various paths that intersect and cross quite a few of the fairways.

Would be great to see improved tee boxes on this course. Cement or Rubber even would be better than the ruts that are forming on each hole.

Having a guide is recommended, and on some holes a spotter is a good idea, to watch out for people walking the park.
Other Thoughts: I was trying to find a way of playing disc while on a very short business trip to the UK. I posted on their local club's forum and got a response the same day from someone who would come out and help me.

He met me at the course with a few discs for me to borrow and we had a great round.

I wish I had more time to play another, but unfortunately I had a plan to catch. :(

If you play disc and are in London I definitly say you should make your way out and play a round or two. Even though DG is not very prevelant in the UK, this course is a good one. Not the best course I've ever played, but it's definitly better than many of the courses that I've played in Illinois.

Keep spreading the word about DG in the UK guys.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Londons Best

5+    7/16/2008   9/2/2008
Review By: Jungle Tim
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.7 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great 18 hole par 3 (one par 4) course.

For amateurs it is a perfect and accessible introduction to disc golf. For more experienced players there is plenty of room to air out and throw every single shot you know. As well as enough challenge to make you think.

Its even better when the winds up and its damp out, suits the UK!
Cons: Fairly simple, not very punishing to bad shots. Only one par 4, lacks some tech and tight wooded holes, although that wont stop you form taking that route! Could really do with some 'Pro' tee placements.

Other Thoughts: When this course was first installed some other local residents took exception to the baskets and set them on fire, beat them with baseball bats, filled them with rubbish, pulled them out the ground and threatened the organizers.

In the face of all this Rich Wood and the crew kept at it and the course does not disappoint.

The course is from the heart.

Much respect to all involved.

http://www.croydondiscgolf.com /

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.