Leamington Spa, Warwickshire, United Kingdom 
Quarry Park Share
Uploaded By: djtripp20 Hole #12 (Taken 6/2017)
3 / 259ft.   3 / --   3 / 259ft.   3 / 274ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Castle Destination Level Worthy For Disc Golfers In England

1    9/16/2018   11/7/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 312  Reviewed: 301  Exp: 4.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.613 Rating) A super fun park style course with multiple layout options under one footprint.
- MULTIPLE LAYOUTS - The best thing going for Quarry Park is being able to choose from a variety of layout difficulty levels. The shortest layout to skilled players, is hole after hole of chip shot ace runs. I personally started on this layout and racked up the birdie tally quickly. After the 7th hole and 6th birdie, I switched to the Long (Red/Blue) layout which was more up my alley as an experienced player. I also mixed in a couple Black layout only holes. These holes seemed similar in caliber to the Long layout, but from viewing the full Black layout map, I can tell that the challenge is amped up a little more. The layout options really make this course skill level friendly. I could see 700s through 950s enjoying themselves out here.
- CHALLENGING - The Black layout looks to be a lower end Advanced level. Most of the holes are between the 80 and 110 meter range, which translates to 260 to 360 feet. Hole (5) is the one play over 500 feet and it will likely require some hole management planning for a majority of players. Most holes have well placed obstacles dictating basket approach angles and a few lines require some major shop shaping.
- UNIQUENESS - All the basics are covered and there are some treats. For one thing, lots of clever basket guarding, pockets, mini gaps, mounds and ridge use. I loved (12) on the Long layout which has the basket positioned on a 30 degree incline, 20 feet up the ridge. Tree coverage hole to hole is comprised of the whole spectrum, from open to heavily wooded. There are 4 or 5 water holes out here as well. The only thing that I found lacking was the multi-play hole. Only one hole, the before mentioned hole (5) on the Black layout, could be argued a par 4. Also no doglegs, pond clears or elevation changes exceeding 25 feet.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Quarry Park has a mostly park style feel to it. Most of the holes are lightly or moderately wooded, but there are a few heavily wooded holes. I enjoyed the views along the River Avon, which is about a 50 foot wide disc collector. I scored the course a 3.375 out of 5, no bombshell looking holes, but thankfully no eyesores either. This score is roughly 72 percentile among all courses I've played to date.
- CLUB HOUSE - Amen. A covered seating area with course maps. A nice selection of discs to choose from here and a knowledgeable pro at the counter. It's good to know that you can show up at Quarry Park without any discs and you can still get a round in.
- VIBE - My ratings are influenced very little by the course atmosphere as this is a very subjective item. Players typically only fully experience the course vibe on their local course. That said, I could feel the positive vibes here. The owner Derek, was a joy to talk too and you can tell that he's poured his heart and soul into his course.
- CHARACTER - In addition to the club house and overall vibe, there are some other nice amenities and basics of note. To start, mostly DISCatcher baskets. There is tee seating on about half of the holes. There's a porta-potty and some trash cans. Several holes have multiple tees and there are some alternate basket placements. There is also apparently a practice basket, but I didn't see it until my review posted and I got a PM, Thanks Lathama. My only major complaint was the Tees, see cons.
- QUICK PLAY - My group of two blew through the round in just over an hour, which really surprised me. Hole to hole transitions are almost all short.
- MAINTENANCE - The course looks like its maintained daily. Fairways were cut and downed branches were few and far between.

Cons: Quarry Park is a well put together course with only minor issues.
- SPACING - A lot of stuff is crammed into this 15 to 20 acre plot. As noted in the pros, there are 3 layouts to chose from, For the most part, the layouts trace the same general path, but in other areas some holes are squeezed in between. Players need to constantly be aware of other disc golfers on the course.
- LAYOUT FLOW - Due to the multiple layouts, I could see some flow issues when those on different layouts re-converge to a share a hole or fairway. Thankfully during my round this did not happen, but there were only 15 or so players on the course on my appearance.
- TEES - Mostly turf tees. Probably not an issue for many players in the region, but for someone like myself who was spoiled early in his disc golf career and played on nothing but concrete for the first couple of years, there was a lot left to be desired. I thought many of the tees were uneven and it affected my mindset.
- LOOSE DISC OPPS - Throwing one in the River Avon is an unforgivable error unless it floats. My playing partner has a bad ricochet on (11) and so now he has one less disc.
- PAY TO PLAY - This is not a cheap course to play, although considering that many courses in England are pay to play its probably reasonable for the region it's in. I paid 7 for Long layout and its 5 for the Short layout. It's a few extra pounds for an all day pass and there are also seasonal passes that can be purchased. If I lived in the area, I'm sure I'd be getting a year long pass.
- PARKING - A gravel parking lot without defined parking spots. For those in the States reading this. Don't rent a full size car in England. Everything road-wise is smaller.

Other Thoughts: The first course I ever played on foreign soil and it was awesome. For the first several minutes I had to keep pinching myself due to this surreal notion. After speaking with Hall of Framer Derek Robbins (Course Pro) for about five minutes I headed to the course and ran into a local guy who graciously accepted my request to throw with him. Adam was a blast to throw with and talk disc golf. With his help I got to experience a piece of each of the Quarry layouts, seamlessly. Through our discussion, It turns out that he is good friends with DGCR member and course reviewer rhatton, whom also is the PDGA's UK representative. rhatton messaged me the next day and sent me a ton of course recommendation for my travels through-out the country. Thank you sir. In addition, I also want to thank DGCR member Lathama whom I originally contacted in hopes to get a round in. I got a lot of insight about Quarry from him and he notified Derek that I had been planning a round here. Unfortunately work got in the way and we weren't able to throw. Oh well, next time.
- NAVIGATION - All the information you need is here. Course maps, tee signage, scorecard with map on it. I personally had a guide but from prior experience I can tell there will be a lot of second guessing on this course. As noted under the Spacing Con, there's a lot jammed in here. Players will find themselves accidently walking to a few wrong tees and shooting at wrong baskets if they are not giving the course their full undivided attention on the first play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Uk's Best

5+    8/18/2018   8/23/2018
Review By: Discgolffiend
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - It's the best in the UK
- Pro Shop stocked with Discs
- Really well maintained course
- 4 different course layouts - 16 hole beginners course through to Par 57 Black layout playing ato atound 30 baskets around the property
- Good astro tees at each.
- Benches
- Trash cans
- Beautiful location
- Easy to get to and centrally located in the UK
- Friendly knowledgeable staff.
Cons: - I don't live here? There's a manor house being removated into flats behind the course so that could change....
- The only true negative is length, the whole course is built in about 20 acres or so possibly less, it makes incredible use of the space available but only stops from being up their with the best in the world by it's own limitations of geography.
- There are probably a few too many tunnel shots without being a "wooded" course.
- Gets busy on a weekend
Other Thoughts: It's just awesome, play here.

It's got a bit of everything, all sorts of shots, really well designed holes. Rough can get a bit nasty in Summer, but the course is getting better maintained everytime I visit. The woods holes are getting better and better as they mature, I first played them about 3 years ago and they were a bit spray and pray, they are much better now.

Call ahead if you are playing on a weekday as it's not always open, they are very accommodating though and let you use an honesty box for payment. It is worth every cent of the days play rate, To play all four course layouts will take you all day and give you four very different challenges.

I love this place and wish I lived closer.

If this could expand into one of the fields around to give it more length and a couple of bomber holes it could be one of the best in the world. I'd say this is the best course I have played in the UK.

The guy I was talking to there this weekend did tell me about a new course that has just opened a bit further South of here near Oxford that he said was as good so i'm excited to go and play that too on my next free weekend! This area is getting really good for Disc golf courses with Bedworth just up the road and apparently one at Lichfield now as well which I'll need to check out as it's on my way home from here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Golf on the River Avon

1    10/10/2017   7/19/2018
Review By: armiller
Played: 160  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 3.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- course situated in rolling English countryside, with several holes along the gorgeous River Avon
- good course essentials (new Innova baskets, good tees)
- great pro shop (you'll stop there to pay for your round) with opportunity to rent discs
- signs and navigation were more than adequate, and maps are provided
- impeccable course upkeep
Cons:
- some areas apparently prone to flooding (they warned me about hole 5 and I ended up playing it anyways; no issues)
- 8's awesome long tee throws right over 7's basket
Other Thoughts:
I was visiting Birmingham and was thrilled to have the chance to play Quarry Park alongside another local course. This course is on private property and is cared for by a group of folks including Derek Robins, a local well-established pro, and PDGA member since 1988. The affectionate care this course receives is impossible to miss. I was able to contact Derek and play on a day when the course is usually closed, but the course was in great shape (aside from some marshiness on hole 5). I had no issues with general play, and navigation was no problem. They lent me putters with my course fee, since I hadn't brought one in my small travel bag. Directions to the course were simple, but I'd recommend contacting Derek (I believe I found info through Google and the course site, not through DGCR) or someone else to make sure you know how to get there and that it's open.

I love beautiful disc golf courses, and this definitely fit the bill. I was pulling out my phone every couple holes to snap photos of the river, countryside, or good basket placements. My wife came with me, and she enjoyed the experience due to the course surroundings as well as the stop in Leamington Spa. Aside from the aesthetics and feel, the course is great for the golf. Some of the early holes weren't quite as beautiful but fun, challenging golf holes nonetheless. The course really hits its stride by hole 7, scenically placed shooting towards the River Avon, to a basket on a steeply sloping green. Hole 8 is probably the signature hole, with the long tee pad shooting from an elevated tee, around 350' or so, with the river to the left of the entire fairway. I threw a decent RH forehand but turned it over just a tad, and I braved some local stinging nettles to retrieve my disc from the bank (ouch! I'll call them "Avon cacti"). The next few holes were great wooded golf with some elevation, including a long, straight, narrow downhill (10), another long hole along the river with a nice wooded green (11), and an uphill shot on 12. The last five holes were back out of the woods, but again remained challenging, with distance and tall trees replacing the ceiling that had been present a few holes earlier.

I can imagine bonafide big arms tearing up this course, largely because there are big hyzer lines available around the large trees on this property. Other than holes 10 through 13, there are only a few holes with much ceiling. Even those big arm guys, however, would have a blast playing here, and I liked the basket placements and greens overall, with a number of baskets not visible from the tees and shooting over large hedges or rows of trees. It used the available terrain and features very well. There are multiple layouts, and I'm not entirely sure which I played. I picked the long tees for the layout in place when I visited, and birdies were rare. As an intermediate golfer, this course was a bit better than me. Overall, good golf lines required but with enough openness to let you choose between two lines on most holes.

While I was driving my rental car back to London-Heathrow from Birmingham, I chanced across a morning radio show discussing listeners' favorite places (possibly vacation destinations?) in England. Two listeners mentioned Leamington Spa, which I had never heard of before this trip to Birmingham. After visiting, I can see why. This is a beautiful little town that lacks the hubbub of England's more famed cities and has a charm and beauty that is hard for me to describe. If you get a chance, get out here.

Rating & Discussion: I wish I had been able to play more courses in this area, but I used DGCR and picked just the two most respectable. I can't think of anything bad to say about Quarry Park, except that I'd have liked more of the tight wooded golf or along-the-river shots like between 7 and 13. I'm giving it just a 4.0 (Excellent) simply because it didn't quite hit "phenomenal" for the 4.5. The course felt like a hidden gem, being such a high-quality course in an area with relatively few options. If I get a chance to return, this will be the course I play again.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Must see in the UK

1    6/29/2017   6/30/2017
Review By: djtripp20
Played: 60  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc golf heaven... this place has so much to offer. First, there are multiple courses that utilize the same property. There is a small rec course, an amateur blue course, and the challenging pro black course. I played the black with some locals, and for a casual noodle-arm player like myself, it was verrrry difficult. This course challenges you... it tempts you... but it also forces a very technical game.

Specifics:
- Beautifully maintained facility
- Scenic location overlooking the river and farmlands
- Long bomber holes mixed with reachable par 3's
- Elevation
- Mix of open shots, wooded holes, narrow fairways, and left/right directions
- Purpose built disc golf... what more can you say
- Pro shop on site
- Friendly staff and club
- Easy parking

My favorite holes were 6 and 12. Hole 6 tees off a platform 30 feet high (maybe) with the river running down the left side of the fairway. Hole 12 has the basket sitting on the side of a nearly vertical hill. Miss your putt and you could easily roll 100 feet down.
Cons: Not many... but if you go in the rough or OB you will probably lose the disc. I ended up losing three during my visit. One was tossed in the farmers field on 5, the other two actually got lost near the fairway. One on 7, the other near 17. I conceded that they probably were both in trees that never dropped the disc.

Rough is typical UK style with nettles and other beauties to hide your disc from you.

Because it's a purpose built facility, there may be a few other people out playing as well with many different skill levels. Some of the longer holes cross over the smaller ones, so just keep an eye out.

Beyond that... there's not much to dislike about this place other than the sheer brutality of it. It will eat you alive if you let it. It's also an incredible challenge... and that's what it's all about!
Other Thoughts: Definite must play if you are anywhere near this area. If you're looking for challenge, I heard the black course is the most challenging in the UK. Every single hole is memorable. The staff and club are also very welcoming and friendly. There are facilities on site, and refreshments in the pro shop. Just park in the car park, follow the path in, and check in at the shop to get started. Have a great time and let it rip!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Long and challenging

1    1/21/2017   1/21/2017
Review By: lathama
Played: 34  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2018
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Superb facilities.
Very well laid out and signposted.

A few highlights were:
Hole 12 with its spectacular basket location
Hole 16 on top of the nipple!
Cons: Yes it was very boggy, but I was expecting this.
Shame there is no running water on site.
Other Thoughts: Will defiantly return in the summer when it's drier!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Best Course in England

5+    9/9/2015   12/11/2015
Review By: cheesey_toastie
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wonderfully kept.
Each hole has been carefully planned and provides a challenge.
Cons: That bloody river eats my discs!
I wish I lived closer.
Other Thoughts: Del has been showing British Disc Golf how it's done for years. I love this coure, I love how passionate the local players are about it.

We drive for 120 miles to play it sometimes - it's worth it!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/3/2013   3/12/2014
Review By: robbnot
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: well layed out purpose built course, everything you need from a dg course,
brilliant to play with a disc shop on site
Cons: the River but only because its had a few of my discs
Other Thoughts: Quarry Park was so good to play we based the design of our local course on what we had seen, it's probably the best course in Britain..

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/29/2017   2/8/2014
Review By: rhatton1
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2017
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Update 30th June 2017

Thanks to the British Open a number of new tee mats have been installed and the excellent Hawks Nest tee pad on hole 6 Black Course has taken the hole to an absolute signature beast. A spectacular hole for an incredible course.

New earth works on hole 18 have turned the finishing hole into a make or break hole at the end of the round and the course is in the best condition it has ever been in with a new pro shop just installed.

taken the rating up to 4.5 it is getting close to perfect. Once all the new tees are installed so there are no more slippy ones out there this will be upgraded to a 5 star review. Must play course.


(One of the best courses in the UK)
The course was planted with holes in mind and the course has now grown into itself and Dereks dream and original design has pretty much come to fruition with a couple of great additions.

2 new holes were added in the woods in 2011 and the championship course is now a very tough par 57 that plays to an SSA of just over 55. It's tough for even the best.
There are 4 course layouts including a fun yet challenging short 16 hole course which is perfect for beginners and those trying to hone their short games
Well stocked disc shop on site and helpful staff members around
Beautifully looked after course
I'm adding pay to play as a pro here as it is just 6 to play the full course and it means you don't have to contend with dogwalkers/dog mess, people sunbathing on the fairway etc. etc..
Cons: Prone to flooding on the bottom fields, but only after very heavy rainfall.
A couple of holes can get very muddy even in the height of summer.
Not signposted from the main roads
Nettles, and rough can be very unforgiving and easy to lose discs in from April - July in the main growing season.
Other Thoughts: Black course layout - Hole 1 - Par 4, easy 4 playing from an extended tee from the original an accurate straight drive is required to thread a small gap to give yourself the best chance for an easy upshot through another tight gap for the 3. Pretty much impossible to get closer than 100' to the basket however far you can throw from the drive so 2's are very rare.

Hole 2 ~300' to a well guarded green with clumps of impenetrable trees to navigate past in the fairway. Suits a RHBH thrower with a flat to fade shot. one of the best birdie chances. The red bushes guarding the basket have grown up now forcing you to throw a little higher than you'd ideally like to clear them making it a trickier shot than it looks to attack the basket.

Hole 3 Tight RHFH hole ~330' OB has been moved back to the course boundary on the left leaving poor shots with a scramble oppurtunity, clumps of impenetrable trees down the right hand side, accuracy required.

Hole 4 ~330' lovely RHBH hyzer hole slightly downhill with OB close to the basket and all the way up the left hand side. Lovely straight shot window to hit through the hedge as well. Another one of the birdie ops. Wet all year round in the "fairway". Played best with a spotter.

Hole 5 ~550' a first chance to really open the arms with first the hedge to navigate and then a clump of tall trees ~ 200' from the tee that you can go left or right of you have to pick and hold a good line. OB left and right keeps you honest but a good drive can get you to a 150' upshot or better. River runs down the end of this hole and is picturesque to play. Basket is on a slope leading to roll aways. Lovely hole which leads to a lot of score variance come tournaments.

Hole 6 ~380' Throw from the elevated tee to the well guarded basket with the river on your left the whole way. Beautiful new tee has made this the signature hole at the Quarry Park course and increased the birdie count.

Hole 7. ~290' A controlled RHBH s curve shot with a strong fade is required to attack the basket in one - great hole to show off your shot shaping skills. Trees guarding basket have probably grown out a bit too far now although there is still a window high up that you can hit for the ace run.

Hole 8 ~280' the shortest hole on the course but one of the tightest. Thick woods line right and left of this downhill hole asking you to throw straight and true with the river behind - probably best chance of an ace on the course but you risk losing your disc long.

Hole 9 - ~330' first of the new woods holes - Tight, very very tight tunnel shot with a dog leg to the left at about 150' 2's are possible but require a very controlled low hyzer flip shot. Lovely picture looking down the narrowing tunnel from the ride to the basket. another large score variance hole in tournament play. There is also a longer basket position for a par 4 which is sometimes played instead.

Hole 10 ~ 360' Ostensibly a par 4 IMO still a 3 unless taken back to the original longer tee position. Tight tight tunnel shot with a dogleg right at around 200'

Hole 11 ~360' Plays along the side of the Avon and then cuts through a tight tunnel to the basket at around 250' tricky hole lots of ricochet chances from the woods and if you're drive is offline it is difficult to get to the basket in 2. large score variance in tournies. Not too many 2's are taken here. Early canopy pf trees could do with being raised a bit.

Hole 12 ~ 280' steeply uphill situated on a steep slope. LHBH dream hole asking for a flat to fade line with a chance of the ace. The fairway gets tighter every year and no chance of going over the top anymore. Every chance of adding 2 or 3 strokes through cruel roll aways.

Hole 13 ~350' difficult par 3 which gets tighter every year and plays along a slope making layups tricky. A clump of trees narrows the fairway horribly to around 18' at about 180' making almost a tunnel at that range. Top to the left is OB, large score variance in tournies. Not too many 2's are taken here.

Hole 14 ~360' uphill, fenace along left side has been repaired leading this to be the roller hole again . the old OB pen is now taken out on the right as the thick foliage now has taken its place. open up to about 100' short of the basket where the land narrows to 45' all the way to the basket OB to the left.

Hole 15 ~330' low tunnel shot through the first 60' with a mando to navigate before opening up, ob pen to the left of the basket makes approaches tricky as does the steep drop off behind the basket. Another good chance for aces here.

Hole 16 The nipple ~260' uphill to a raised "nipple" An ob pen guards the RHBH hyzer route, often played worse by the Open divison than it should be. putting in the wind can be horrible.

Hole 17 ~360' gets tighter every year with the two large "lime?" trees guarding the entrance to the neck expanding and growing yearly. Keep it straight and true for an easy 3 go for the 2 and risk the 4 or worse from thick rough left and right. Don't get stuck at the back of the two limes or in the Redwoods on the right (a risk from a poorly executed hyzer).

Hole 18 ~330' a lovely RHBH flat to fade or long hyzer shot. OB down left and right and long. should be a good chance of a 2 in front of the club house. New basket position on top of the newly installed mound. Pressure putts to finish the round in the wind.

. Great place to play, and a beautiful place to visit with the Avon river winding its way through the course. It is pay to play but definitely worth the money. The best course in the UK and previous host of British Opens, it hosts regular British tour events and competitions. Well worth a trip if you are visiting the UK.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  New Holes

5+    7/28/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: jesse_d88
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This the best course in England. With tees, disc shop, refreshments, cut grass month, employees to trim, and random locals helping out.
Cons: nettals (can not be avoided in the English country side) (random people talking about the 'Long Very LONG' walk between 16 and 17) its like 50 meters with maps and signage.

Other Thoughts: After 18 years, with the same holes 3 new ones come along all in the same year. We have done this by cutting out some new holes in the woods, making for some 'real' tunnel shots. that and the combination of 6&7 making for a 'real' par 4.

hope you all enjoy.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 If you`re lucky you get to play with the former British Champion and World Class Player Derek Robins

2-4    3/5/2007   4/5/2009
Review By: dajuicej
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 38.5 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great course, designed and built by derek for a very challenging round of disc golf. a wide variety of lengths, obstacles, elevations, make each hole unique.
Cons: hard to find.
Other Thoughts: you might get to throw a round with derek, where else can you play with a World Champion most any day.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.