Sacramento, CA 
John Mackey Park Share
Uploaded By: 100Birds2Squirrels   (Taken 4/2010)
Practice Basket


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Nice urban course

1    8/16/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: ZdybelT
Played: 54  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets in good condition.
-Easy to find next hole with great signage.
-Locals were very friendly.
-Decent use of land
Cons: -need trashcans. trash everywhere.
-Need more shot variations, seemed repetitive.
Other Thoughts: This was a decent course to play at. Met some very nice locals and were ab le to play through with no problems. I felt like there could have been more variations of shots as most distances were about the same and basket was dead ahead. it is a great long range nine hole course but could also be improved.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sacramento desert

1    6/16/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: swampdisk
Played: 57  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -long and short holes
-easy to navigate
-cement tee pads
-newer baskets
Cons: -HOT!
-hole 7 and the train tracks
Other Thoughts: This is a good 9-hole course. I wouldn't recommend this to new players on the fact that there are more 350'+ holes than short. I think its hole 7 that is next to the train tracks that if u shank you have to find a hole in the fence.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course!

1    3/30/2012   3/30/2012
Review By: kwmowery
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of space...I showed up and thought the holes would be on top of each other...I was surprised with the layout...
can't remember, but I think it was the 6th hole is the orange pole in the corner...
Cons: next to train tracks...and it always happens...when it is in the back of your mind....it usually goes that direction...ask those that were with me...

Parking could be better...
As for the neighborhood...I would not be afraid of any one breaking into my vehicle during the day. I did however have my motorcycle and was a bit skeptical that some one could stroll by and take what ever they wanted out of my saddle bags...
Other Thoughts: could be in a better part of the world...but could also be in a worse place...out of all the ones in Sacramento, this one is up there as a go-to-disc golf course. I will play again and bring a few friends that are avid player in the hills for sure.

While playing a random person on a horse just strolled through...we all looked at each other and then went on to the next hole.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Meh.

1    2/21/2012   2/21/2012
Review By: Speedly
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - A variety of long and short holes. I think I threw all but my Firebird on this course.
- Good signage, concrete teepads.
- Some interesting pin locations. One is up on a hill in a hidden spot, another is right in the nook of a gnarl of trees, very hard to get to.
Cons: - Landscape pretty barren.
- Although nothing happened, the fact that the course is around a playground makes me nervous for the kids.
- Directly next to pretty active train tracks.
- I swear, I've never picked up so many stickers in my shoes as I did in one round at this place. =P
- I don't think the distances listed on some of the holes are accurate. I could be wrong, though.
Other Thoughts: The train tracks are a big annoyance, although they were there first. The lightrails don't make all that much noise, but the freight train that rolled through was pretty loud. I can't imagine living there, those poor people must be insane with the sleep deprivation. While I had no incidents, I saw someone toss one into the train area. Not only is it a possibility to lose plastic, but venturing into an active train area is dangerous!

A poor candidate for night golf, I think. Lots of deep squirrel holes, and not in the best of neighborhoods.

Overall, not a bad course, but not my favorite either. Something about this place rubs me the wrong way, but I can see how locals would flock here.

I wish the course the best of luck in the future.

Update: Score bumped up and comments changed.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 John Mackey

5+    2/10/2012   2/11/2012
Review By: Sitzmann420
Played: 78  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Decent variety of long to medium shots
-Tee pads are swept regularly and a few of the locals keep the place clean
-Benches on about every other hole
-Tee signs on every hole with length
-Multiple pin placements
-People and dog friendly
Cons: -Similar holes in terms of length and technicality
-Gets flooded in the winter months
-Neighbors across the street sometimes like to heckle the disc golfers
-Need a big arm
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course for family and your typical disc golfers alike.. Check out the bilboard for local events and weekly doubles/singles.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Use of Space with Some Flaws

2-4    12/7/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: Discology1
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: John Mackey is another shining example of the sport of disc golf moving into an un, or under-utilized land area and providing a recreational opportunity for the community where one otherwise wouldn't exist.

The layout here is great for such a small area especially since three of the holes play over 400' and it is easy to navigate without a map. For the most part the holes are spread far enough apart to limit cross paths from errant throws. The topography is utilized very well which creates elevation changes of about 10-15 feet on a few holes helped out by some of the baskets being located on small knolls instead of on the flats. Overall the trees that are on the course are used fairly well. Advertised as a 9 hole course, there is a 10th hole (5 1/2) that plays to the 8th basket. Overall this course is uncrowded and groups let you play through - take that Shady!
Cons: "Noisy" trains is an understatement - defeaning is more accurate - though only intermittantly and on certain holes close to the tracks. Some of the holes would be bettter and more challenging if the layout was tweaked a little more around the fine oaks. 18 holes would be nice, but this space wouldn't handle it. Also, the tees are smallish (4x10) so if your stride is long, it may bother you. The neighborhood is bad = drug use is apparent, though the disc golfers are fine.
Other Thoughts: A great course to play on the way home or on a lunch break. I've played it two times and will be back.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Mack in Sac

1    9/28/2011   9/30/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love the use of what would otherwise be wasted land near a freeway on ramp. This is a legit bombs away 9-hole course, that plays in less than an hour. Love the fact that it's DG only space, other than the nearby playground.
Cons: Hot & dry. All the grass was browned out & dead. I bet late spring/early summer would be the ideal time to play here.
Other Thoughts: This course is quite comparable to Hellyer Park in San Jose, except flatter with less trees.
=================
Uniqueness: B+ (great use of land; dedicated; near live trains)
Difficulty: B (longish; mild elavation changes)
Fun Factor: B+ (variety of drives required; bombs away)
Aesthetics: B- (could be cleaner; played during brown/dried-out season)
---------------------
Overall: B+

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course, just be careful

2-4    8/20/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: tgashby
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 9 relatively long holes, for the space they have to work with
Decent Layout
Fun for a beginner, lots of wide open shots
Cons: Having grown up near this area, I can tell you that it's not the best neighborhood. Just be cautious, haven't seen any problems yet.
Not too many obstacles for the more seasoned players.
Other Thoughts: Great park in the Sacramento area if you can't make it out to Shady Oaks.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  HEADWINDS

5+    5/2/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: sactoduck916
Played: 41  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun course for beginners and seasoned players as well. Good friendly crowd ( Locals ) . Monday doubles are great. A extra hole known as 5.5 , so 10 total holes.....
Cons: Not to many. At this point the grass is tall in area's and you could find yoursef looking for a minute if you dont watch where it comes down. Stickers Galore in your sox but i can deal with that. Can be windy at time, but like the wind out there
Other Thoughts: For those who may not have played Mackey ( aka: Marconi ) its a great course with good pace of play. Come out monday's @ 6pm and play random doubles, cards are drawn to match up pairs. oddman if numbes dont jive

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 the mackey park experience

5+    4/19/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: Don DiscHulk
Played: 137  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 28.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: We now have 20 pin positions on this 9 hole course, hole 5 1/2 was removed, and a basket for hole 3 was put in in the teepads place. Local club does most the mowing, as the park district only mows once a year. Playground on site, and very frequently see horse riders in the park, they have learned to stay away from the baskets, mostly. Dirt and weeds in the summer, green the rest of the year. Monday random doubles at 6pm, april -september. Local club Mackey Chainwreckers, do an awesome job of running this course. The new short position on hole 2, up the hill at the top of the stairs, might be the toughst hole in the area
Cons: now that we have all the t-signs up, not to many cons. grass will get tall n certain areas, and during heavy rains, 2 holes will get surrounded by water. we golfers do most of our own mowing out here, so the tall grass is an inconvienence more than a hinderance. no public bathrooms,
Other Thoughts: Mackey is a great golfing experience, long holes with unique lines. weekly random doubles on mondays at 6pm from april till the end of september. email us at marconimashers@comcast.net for inquiries

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.