Charlotte, MI 
Lincoln Park Share
Uploaded By: jlord6911 Hole #13 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 239ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fun Rec Level Front Nine-Back Nine Offes More Challenge!

1    9/3/2017   9/3/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1102  Reviewed: 1051  Exp: 39.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lincoln Park consists of two very different areas, the first being a typical little city park area that's flat and scattered with mature trees. There is a skate park in this area. Behind this groomed area is a larger, more primitive park area. The disc golf course plays through both sections with the front nine playing in the groomed area and the back nine plus the eight lettered holes playing back there. I liked both parts about the same. They both have their strengths and weaknesses.

The start of the course is right next to the parking area. There are picnic tables, a kiosk built as an Eagle Scout project, bench, garbage cans and a sign with all the sponsors of the front nine. There is a similar sign at # 10 with the back 9 sponsors. There is a mailbox labeled course maps but it was empty. The course has concrete tee pads while the tees signs are nice, colored ones showing the preferred route. There are also about six benches around the course built as another Eagle Scout project. Did you know that Gerald Ford was the only US president to be an Eagle Scout? Maybe President Ford made these benches?

The holes here on the front nine are all basic little recreational throws of around 200' and usually forcing you to bend your shot one way or another. Lots of Ace Runs on the front. The front nine would be perfect for a family disc golf outing.

The back nine starts out with a well designed # 10. It's a 310' hyser throw with the basket sitting up on a cool, little hill. The back nine has four holes over 300' with several very fun and challenging throws. Although a little confusing, # 12 is a fun hole with the basket sitting in this little valley just over a small hill. The confusing part for traveling players is you're looking at two baskets off the tee and neither of those is the correct one. It's farther right and down behind the hill. I like # 15, 384', that has you throwing across the field and trying to hit a 30' gap in the trees. # 17 was a fun shorty at 125' throwing a little touch shot with the basket just out of sight over a small hill.

The lettered holes A-F, are stuck in randomly. I played the ones that I came across and missed a couple when I never found the tees.
Cons: I've decided that I'm not a fan of courses with extra holes inserted in the middle. I find them to be a little confusing and these were. I thought I had it figured out that the lettered holes had their baskets painted red. OK, good idea but when I played through the gap on # 15, a red basket was staring at me. I thought that must be one of those letter holes but on closer inspection, it was indeed the # 15 basket.

I really felt that the last letter hole, F, felt like a filler, add on hole.

The Sign for B had been painted on and was mostly illegible.

Front nine is beginner easy.
Other Thoughts: As I was getting ready to tee off on # 16, a train passed by the course. It was just cool to hear the train's whistle but even more unique was looking out from # 16 pad, you could just see some vague movement through the woods across the field. It was a different experience that I enjoyed.

This is like playing two separate courses. I'm not sure if it wouldn't make more sense to call the front nine the rec course and the back nine plus the extra six letter holes something else. There's room and if you added just three more holes,you would have a full 18 back there. All in all, it all makes for a fun round, would be even more enjoyable after figuring out the letter holes .

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A tail of two courses

2-4    8/21/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: sorotan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As the other reviews have mentioned, this course is really two totally different courses in one.

Front 9: Baskets (DGA) and Concrete Tees are in good shape. Not a bad warm up.

Lawn is well maintained, nice park.

Back 9:

Some decent distance shots.

Most Baskets have some obstacles that making the shots interesting.

The topography has mild elevation change (10') that for this Northerner are laughable, I give the designer credit for making the most of what they have.

Final Note: While I was there on 8/21, an Eagle Scout and friends was installing 6 new wood benches on various Tees throughout the course. I don't know if the scout reads this, but the bench quality and installation was well done.
Cons: Front 9:
Faaaalat. There is less than 1 foot of change in elevation on the front 9.

The distances between Tee and Basket are morbidly short.

Back 9:

Low areas are prone to flooding.

Tees 15 and 17 share the same concrete.huh?

Tee 17 only has 125 feet and shoots threw an opening in the trees with high weeds 150 feet from the tee. Do NOT launch a disc blindly threw trees... Easy to loose discs.

Tee 18 has high weeds along left side. Easy disc eater.
Other Thoughts: There are 3 alpha (A, B, C) tees. They are not logically within the "flow" of the other back 9 tees. The pads are gravel. I never bother to play them. They are an oddity.

The course is alright. I wouldn't bother driving out of my way for this course, but when in the area, it's alright.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 two very different 9 hole courses.

5+    6/12/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: CharlotteChris
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The front nine are great for starting out or playing with the family. It is an open city park with some mature trees but not a lot of weeds and no water.
Cons: The back nine is a totally different course. It seems more like an abandoned lot than a disc golf course.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to my house and I continue to play the front nine with my family but we call it quits after nine because none of us seem to have fun on the back nine.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners course

1    6/16/2008   6/24/2008
Review By: PhattD
Played: 52  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a clean park and well laid out for the room they have available. Most holes are only 175' - 250' but the baskets are either behind large trees or tucked under small low ones. Good course to practice up shots on. Layout seems to favor lefty's (slightly) so it's a good place to practice accurate annies.

Now with 12 more holes to compliment the short front nine this course has become a legitamate disc golf course. With the extremely easy/short front nine it still doesn't warrant a good ratin IMO.
Cons: Worst con is the T-pads. They have just enough concrete to claim concrete pads. Other than that the only real negative is 9 holes and no length. It's like the little brother of a good course. It shows promise if it would only grow up lol.
Other Thoughts: The added holes are in a relatively open field that partially floods each spring. it has some decent holes but nothing terribly special.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.