Monroe, OH 
Monroe Community Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
4 / 268ft.   3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Monroe DGC

1    6/5/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: pmorgan1214
Played: 36  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Monroe DGC is a really nice course that is well designed and has some really technical shots.
1. Tee pads are concrete and are in pretty good shape.
2. Baskets are nice 24 chain and can catch discs very well.
3. course has good flow, very little chance of you losing your way when playing.
The course is a little bit harsh with the way it is built on a side of a hill. A lot of walking up and down the hills makes the body tire out quickly. The course gives you all types of shots that any great course should have. `st hole is a nice uphill hyzer shot that is not distance long but you have to put some power into the shot to get a birdie. 2nd hole is the same way. Not sure if the course has the wrong distances but some of the first holes play a lot longer than what they say. Hole 3 4 and 5 are all nice control shots. I say control because getting into the woods on these holes will leave you with a bogey or a double bogey if playing all par 3's. Hole 5 and 6 play open distance shot. Hole 5 is a best uphill and you have to put a ton of power. 7-9 back in the woods to play some nice control shots and your goal is to try to stay in the fairway. That is all i will tell you for now but all i can say is go play this course. absolutely love this course.
Cons: Not many cons for this course. When it does rain this course is very slippery and water stays here a long time in the woods. Bring water and snacks for this course if you want to keep your strength up to get under par. Not as easy as it seems.
Other Thoughts: Overall course is just fun. There are a few things that make this course so enjoyable. First, none of the holes are huge. Do not get me wrong i dont mind airing out a shot for distance but when your in the woods your not going for distance, your going for accuracy. Second the course gives you good open shots and wooded shots. Finally it is a big course with 24 holes. When i disc golf i usually like to play for 5-6 hours and you can do that here. I play this course to work on accuracy of drives. allows you to get better at drives from the pad.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for shot shaping and learning lines

1    9/9/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: Oldmanplayin
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 28.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just a great fun couse. Easy access of I-75. Great course for beginner and rec players to learn lines and shot shaping and I would believe challenging enough for seasoned players also to keep up on their game. Plenty of uphill and downhill, rights, lefts, s-shots and dead straight in the mix. Clean well defined fairways (instead of the "pinball" type of wooded courses I have played). Nice workout with all the elevation changes and after playing the 24 holes you have had a good day of disc golf. Easy to navigate , only had to look at map twice. hole 15 seems to go straight but you need to turn back toward t-pad and take trail to the right, also t-pad for 23 is up the hill hidden in the woods on left. Otherwise great signs on t's and enough "next T" signs for ease of flow.
Cons: A little too much trash left on t areas, not enough trash cans, I think i only saw 2. Lots of glass in fairways. Hole 11's t pad gets washed onto very bad and is covered in dirt and gravel making it very slippery. Hole 18 basket is bent from a tree falling onto it.
Other Thoughts: The rough is rough in most places so errant shots can be costly. Quite a few ace-able holes and plenty of birdie opps. Hole 19 looks too easy but the creek will simply put you OB and cost you a sroke so watch the power and just land short.
Just 2 miles off I-75 so a great course to play when traveling 75, The entrance is on the left off of Cin-Day Rd. (Main Street) and can be tricky to spot. It is at the bottom of the hill and is a large brick and morter marker with a very small "Monroe Community Park " sign on it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Hilly Course

1    9/9/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: DragonVT
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, well maintained course with excellent signage! I printed out a map to be on the safe side, but I only used it once or twice, and probably could have figured it out on my own. Tees and baskets are in great shape, courses are all well maintained. Course offers a nice mix or flat, uphill, and downhill holes. Also a nice mix of open and wooded holes. Good variety and playability. Good level of challenge without being off-putting to less experienced players.
Cons: Baskets are not market with numbers. This isn't an issue through most of the course, but we played the wrong basket on #22, because it looked like basket #24 was our target. Discovered our mistake only by looking at the map after we finished the hole. Not a huge issue, but something to be aware of.

Fair amount of poison ivy off the fairways, so wear pants.

Basket 23 is right behind some bleachers for the baseball diamond, so I might be hesitant to play that hole if a game was going on.

Some of the holes obviously have some water flow during wet seasons, so be aware of how recently it has rained before heading out.
Other Thoughts: We had a great time playing this course. The mix of up hill, downhill, open, and tight fairways made for a very enjoyable day. The course is well maintained, and it makes for a nice scenic walk through the woods while you enjoy your game. I will definitely be back!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Monroe

2-4    7/21/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 71  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: excellent 24 holes course in a massive park, lots of elevation change, mostly wooded some in big open fields.
Cons: lots of elevation changes, it is a hike to do all 24 holes, but well worth it.
Other Thoughts: well rounded 24 hole course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of park edge hills and woods

2-4    7/18/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 296  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 24 decently challenging holes await the recreational to intermediate player in a location midway between Cincinnati and Dayton, Ohio in the wooded and edge areas of a large park which includes several ball fields, some play equipment, bathroom facilities, and even a log cabin! The beauty of the disc golf course is that it uses the hilly and wooded areas of the park that weren't suitable for the other activities, and seldom crosses paths with them. Even the walking paths that go into the woods are separated from the DG fairways.
The course design starts uphill near the middle of the spacious parking area, coming back down nearby after the 5th and the 9th holes, then goes out around the end of the park, with #20 coming back to the main drive, and the last four holes finishing a short walk away from the original lot. Each segment of the design seems to incorporate uphill and downhill, tightly wooded and open, and shots that shape best left and right. There aren't any real monster length holes here, but the 317' #6 rises between 40 and 50 feet, making it effectively a 450 footer for the bigger arms to wow the rest of us. The shortest hole on the course (the 152' #19) presents its own precision challenge, as the basket is nestled in the bend of the twisty (and often muddy) creek bed that drops a sheer 5' down only a dozen feet from the pin in three directions (I know: it's not a lot, but you don't really want to climb down, or up out of there!)
There has been some clearing of the trees and underbrush here this past year which makes the course more enjoyable for players at my level (Rec/ rookies), but appears to have disappointed some of the more experienced players who liked it a bit more challenging. There are still a dozen fairways that require really good lines to avoid playing lumberjack!
Tee pads a level and concrete, but not overly large. Tee signs are appropriate, and baskets are decent quality.
Monroe is challenging enough to host at least a few tournaments every year, in addition to weekly random draw doubles events.
Cons: Some of the early, uphill fairways seem to hold on to water a bit too much, and could use some drainage improvements. I've noticed that, after a rain, several of the tee pads can get a little muddy and slick, particularly in the shaded areas.
A couple of the holes (21 & 22) require strong, confident hyzer shots (rhbh) which put the end of the ball fields a bit too much in play if there are families sitting there in the shaded park edge cheering on their kids.
Other Thoughts: Print a copy of "Course Map II" if it's your first time here, and playing alone. You may not need it, but it does a great job of indicating 'next tee' positions, if you don't spot the signs.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 improvements being made

5+    3/7/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: Gonzo86
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation (Personal opinion a lot of my friends do not care for this course for said reason)
Heavily Wooded
Forces you to try numerous ways of throwing
Good mix from playing in the woods to and open field then back into the woods and so on. Rather than the fron't half being a giant field, and the second half being all wooded.
City Works Dept. has been doing a lot of trimming of overgrown shrubbery.
Cons: Drainage is an issue some times after rain and in the spring time.
There is quite a bit of up hill throwing. I don't mind this but some people do.
Can't really think of any other Cons other than those.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for all ranges of play. Challenging for beginners, but a good course to really practice your basic skills as a more advanced disc golfer.
They are still looking for sponsors for holes through out the course which is quite in need of just a few more trash cans to help with the litter control.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 well worth the drive

5+    9/8/2011   2/8/2012
Review By: sidearmdon
Played: 237  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 17.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my all time favorite courses. It has it all. 24 holes, elevation, woods, open shots, righty and lefty holes. While it is a difficult course the average player should be under par most of the time. It is a very fun course to play. Plenty of parking available. It is hilly so you will get a work out.
Cons: In the summer, there can be soccer and softball going on at the same time so you might have to skip a couple of holes but that shouldn't be a big deal. Someone needs to pick up the trash.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to play. The designer did well with the land that was available.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    5/29/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: cambo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 34.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation Changes, Lots of tight fairways, Slight water hazard, 24 Holes. They make great use of the land here. Up hill then Back down then up and down on front 9. but not tedious or boring.
Cons: Fast few holes may be a problem if soccer games are going on. Lots of short holes. Could use a couple of longer open and tight holes.
Other Thoughts: All in all a good place to play. good for accuracy over power. Can have soggy fairways. Pay attention to next Tee signs, lol

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best

5+    3/25/2011   3/25/2011
Review By: moshjosh368
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation, I love that there are 24 holes more holes the better for me. I love that there are throwing lanes that are distinctive and that if you throw a bad shot you get punished but if you throw a good shot you usually get rewarded. Great exercise and variety of shots with holes in the open and wooded. Easy to go from hole to hole and know were you are.
Cons: Not many maybe if a couple holes had a little more distance.
Other Thoughts: I always have fun going and playing here and anyone from noobies to vets will enjoy and are able to play here.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/14/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: DrewMillerRH
Played: 115  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation, tight and technical course vs. big arm course, great tee pads, good flow, map not required to play.
Cons: The rough is rough, all honey suckle, good shots can take a bad skip resulting in a poor lie...drives me nuts.
Other Thoughts: Solid course

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.