Sedro Woolley, WA 
NSRA DGC Share
Uploaded By: kidtree Hole #11
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11. Course originally had 4 "art" baskets. All are standard now.


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 A place i call home

5+    1/2/2012   1/3/2012
Review By: northwestblazinfire
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautifully secluded at the foothills of the cascade mountains this epic course will give even the most skilled players a great round of disc golf. This course is LONG and has a variety of different looks that require different vastly different touch. The change of elavation shots are by far my favorite shots. This is a course where big arms will get a chance to show there stuff

Edit. Holes 2,3,7,8,9,10,11,17 redesigned!!! TEE PADS ON APRIL 12Th!
Cons: No water fountains so bring drink,
no trash other then at the start so pack it in pack it out!!!
The brambles are a work in progress.
Playing the hero at this course will likely have you watching your favorite disc vanish in the thickets
.In spring/summer we have got to get together this next year and make sure it dosnt get overgrown like it has.
It is not a course very newbie friendly, in fact i believe you have to have a certain level of skill to really appreciate its difficulty.
Other Thoughts: Signs and benches are on their way. I was a part of the work party that put the tee pads in and the discgolf community is really behind this course. B tier's are soon and coming

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wild Adventure

1    8/13/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: Jax11
Played: 102  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2011
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great scenery
- Good distance variety
- Some holes are well-designed
- Decent use of elevation
- Decent risk reward opportunities
- Regulation baskets were in good shape with number plates.
- Interesting baskets?
Cons: - Overgrown
- Overgrown
- Rustic
- Gravel Tee pads
- Navigation issues

- Interesting baskets?
Other Thoughts: NSRA Disc Golf Course has been the toughest course for me to rate to date. The raw disc golf at this course is not very good, due to the overgrown holes. There definitely some interesting shots, with some serious clearing out this course could be great. Yet, the atmosphere made the time at the course worthwhile.

The fairways are overgrown (even the open field shots). There are thorns and stickers all over the fairways. The gravel tee pads are awful. some of the holes are not super interesting, while others are, but are so overgrown it is risky to play them aggressively without fear of losing a disc. The course uses the elevation to create some nice risk reward opportunities. The whole course is very "natural" and not for the faint of heart. I highly recommend using a spotter(s) on EVERY hole. My group did and we still misplaced discs for several minutes. The grass is high and the local plant life runs rampant

The saving grace for this course is that the surrounding area is gorgeous. The course plays through foothills of the Cascade Mountains. There are abandoned farm buildings throughout the course that add to the rustic feel of the course, and the non-regulation baskets add a quirky special-ness to the atmosphere.

Overall, do not go to this course looking for a casual round of disc golf. This course offers a high intensity rustic disc golf experience that offers beautiful views and an adventurous atmosphere. As a dude from Illinois I found the landscape and scenery enough to make my round worthwhile. Throw controlled shots, watch your discs finish, and use spotters to avoid losing plastic. If the navigation was improved, nice teepads added, and some serious weed whacking a mowing took place this course could stretch to a 4 or 4.5.

EDIT: After mulling over my rating and changing it and changing it back, I have decided to stick with my initial rating. I tried to change some wording to reflect the potential this course has. With that said, this course has TONS of potential, but it just isn't quite there yet. I do imagine this course is more pleasant in any season but the summer when the foliage is not so rampant. Hopefully, I can return here in a different season and add more.


6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Long time ago

1    7/14/2010   6/18/2011
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The feel of this course is really amazing. That being said please not that it was about a year ago when I first (and only) played this course.
What I do remember is that the area was awesome, they used the landscape to the max.
Every shot in the book can and should be used here.
The place was not crowded, but also not abandoned either... I saw a few disc golfers as well as dog walkers and what not... it is a great place to see... the disc golf course is the topping on the cake that makes this place even better.
I liked the custom holes, they required some extra finesse to each of these holes.
Cons: When I was there some of the fairways were cut short out of the tall grass which was awesome, but the tall "rough" areas were disc eaters. If it was a blind shot into tall grass you could easily loose a disc or will be looking for it for a while.
I don't remember any water fountains, or bathrooms, or trash cans.
Other Thoughts: I plan to go back here again and will update this review afterwords.
That being said I know that this review is not as informative as it could be. Please remember that I wrote this almost a year after I played.
I will say that i look forward to going back again and would totally recommend this course to all players.
Bring a map... I do remember it really helped.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 An Artistic Challenge

1    11/28/2010   3/22/2011
Review By: pablocruz1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of different shots, elevation changes, occasional trees and obstacles, and unusual basket targets which I loved. Great adventure in nature worth the miles of hike.
Cons: LONG course which took 3+ hrs to finish but that's what I like - did seem like the 6 miles they claim it might be in total. Some holes far apart or confusing. Might loose a disc in swamp or blackberries.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to see it in the summer time.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Course to Serve the Area

2-4    3/17/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: Menacewarf
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like any great course the NSRA DGC requires a wider variety of disc golf shots. Long, short, left, right, forehand, backhand, anhyzer, hyzer, overhand, and rolling shot's will all make an appearance in a well executed round at this course. In addition the fairways offer nice additional textures (ie. from open areas into thicker forest, rounding corners to enter different areas, throwing through tight gaps into more open areas) Great use of existing landscape. Great use of alternative style targets. Great use of existing fairways. Good spacing between holes. Interesting layout. Relatively few muddy or wet areas.
Cons: Very little negative to say. The course is a bit rough but really not very bad. Brambles are limited to distinct areas (ie. not the fairways). The alternative style targets are open to a bit of interpretation which I'm sure the locals have figured out but it is plain enough.
Other Thoughts: By designing the course with a high degree of sensitivity to the existing natural, and disturbed landscape features the course attains a very nice degree of harmony with the land. The alternative targets add to this strong sense of place, which makes this not only a great place for disc golf, but also a very popular place for hikers, dog-walkers, and joggers. The land is likely used by birdwatchers or other naturalists as well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  NSRA

5+    4/21/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: promoe
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a little of everything from beginners to pros. The course covers all terrain and moves from lightly wooded to open fields for power drives.
Cons: Just like all courses and throws together there is nothing perfect, the course has lots of rough to get lost in so keep your eye on the disc.
Other Thoughts: There is a local movement with the county parks to improve the course with the help of volunteers so all you locals try to do your part and check the reader board for more info!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One to remember

1    1/1/2008   11/21/2009
Review By: menmabassguitar
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Creativity! I REALLY dig the sculpture art baskets they have scattered around. I remember one that looked like a slide and another was simply a bucket upside down on the pin.
Its perfect length, no over crowding trees and super secluded.
Great elevation changes throughout the course.
Quite surroundings.
Cons: I was in high top shoes, should have brought some hiking boots or wellies.

Don't remember seeing a bathroom or a water source so be weary of that.

A little tough to follow the first time around considering the dirt tee pads and small signage.
Other Thoughts: When I played this course it had rained a day or so prior which created some muddy terrain. The course staggers around a connection of fields and always leaves you with a new set up.

A must for anyone living near the Puget Sound.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  GREAT COURSE

5+    9/29/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: andyh360
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an amazingly challenging course. If you don't like the exiting risk of losing a disk when you have a bad throw then this isn't the course for you. There are so many obstacles that this course never gets boring. If you have a long drive this is a course to let it all out. You can throw as far as you can on most of these holes. There are trees,blackberries, and the tall grass. I have played this course over 50 times and it never gets old. The wildlife is everywhere and there are lots of places to rest along the way. There is a cold freshwater creek after you shoot down into the canyon on hole 6 that you can cool off in on a hot day and so many shaded spots to just relax all along the entire course.
Cons: The first time you play this course should be played with a local. Only because there are very few holes where you can see the basket from the tee box. If you are not going to go with a local I reccomend that you walk each hole before you throw your disc away because certain times of the year the grass and the blackberries make it a course for the experienced only.
Other Thoughts: The teeboxes need some work. Some are unlevel. It such a beautiful area that it's a nice walk itself. There are lots of old buildings still there from when it once was a mental hospital with one building still having the incinerator in it. If you get good enough and the wind isn't blowin too hard you can walk upstairs in the barn on hole 18 and throw out the loft but beware if you don't get a good throw you will never see that disc again. Its an all around cool place to check out.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good, fun course

1    9/20/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: akoenig
Played: 50  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A good variety of length to the holes
- Art baskets are cool, though can be a bit annoying to putt on. (Would have been better to use these as alt baskets)
- Covers a lot of distance around the area.
- Farmhouse next to hole 2 is pretty cool.
- A few nice basket placements in the trees
- Wind makes the holes much more difficult.
- Signs to get to the next tee.
- Fresh blackberries!
Cons: - A number of the holes (probably 4 or 5) are just pretty straight shots with not a lot in terms of obstacles. This was hands down my biggest issue.
- No hole maps at tee (not a huge deal)
- Blackberry bushes get annoying to find disc in, though you should just treat them like hazards.
- Not enough variety in holes: elevation, dogleg direction, obstacles, etc
Other Thoughts: I played here with 4 newbies and 2 of us experienced guys. We all had a great time, despite some of the holes being pretty long for the first-timers. Those of us wearing shorts ended up with a lot of cuts on our legs from blackberries, and we had to spend a bit of time looking for discs, but all in all, it's the kind of course that gets new people hooked on playing.

Hole 14 was a very memorable hole, as were the few basket placements in the trees. I'd come back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  When the grass is short, best course in whatcom/skagit/snohomish counties.

5+    7/15/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: soccerfreako
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Big, long distance.
- Open design allows wind to make course more difficult.
- Beautiful scenery.
- Great course layout, no fairways cross each other.
- The few art baskets add to the difficulty and creativity of the course.
- NEVER CROWDED!
Cons:
- Only a couple holes have substantial elevation changes (3,6,18). I would like more.
- Blackberries on the borders of a couple holes make it easier to lose discs.
- Beginners will be frustrated by the distance of this course (especially if they are comparing it to cornwall park).
- Art baskets (some people don't like them).
- The GRASS! From late April to Mid July this course becomes very difficult to play (without losing discs) with 3ft tall grass surrounding the fairways.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.