Virginia Beach, VA 
Munden Point Share
Uploaded By: DumfriesLizzie Hole #8 (Taken 7/2021)
4 / 370ft.   4 / 520ft.   4 / 463ft.   4 / 613ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Short Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
rural course off the beaten path

1    7/18/2021   7/29/2021
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 61  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous parkland course on a peninsula between the Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge and the North Landing River. Mostly-open holes ring the property, and the slightly-wooded holes may have a tight start (nos. 1, 4, 16), middle (no. 6) or end (nos. 3, 12, 13, 15), but rarely tight all the way (barring no. 11). A good chunk of the time, you can truly air out shots. Though mostly flat, there is some mild elevation at the end holes 17 and 18 (up and then down), which is a very nice way to end the round. The course is not too busy, very well-maintained, and very beautiful. And the bay views are just awesome!
Cons: The park is in a distinctly remote part of greater Virginia Beach. Longish (40-minute) drive from the oceanfront hotels. You are very much in the country here; indeed, you are at the North Carolina state line (only 3 miles away). Holes 8 and 9 will fool you. Their mini peninsula is not so wide as it looks, and even the mild wind on my play day was strong enough to send my no. 9 drive into the opposite side bay neck. Happily, there was a large but lightweight and long fallen branch I could use to help the floating disc (Dragon) to shore. The current was an even bigger help. You might want to carry your disc retriever with you - just in case! All of the holes are par 3s (both pads) to the short basket. Similar for long tee to the long baskets, all but long no. 8 and long no. 13 baskets (par 4s). Novices playing short-to-short don't get a break on these two holes.
Other Thoughts: Other sports/activities in the park include soccer and football (I believe), baseball, playgrounds, picnic shelters, basketball - from what I saw. There is a restroom right at the disc-golf parking lot (you cannot stir that with a stick!) and other restrooms throughout the park. It is a very lovely course and worth the drive into the rural area to play. Combine it with Bayville or relaxing at Sandbridge Beach for a great day outdoors.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite

5+    11/2/2019   11/4/2019
Review By: lee76007
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 2.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The only reason why I don't give a 5 rating, is I'm new to the game as of two months, and only have played 3 courses. However, I've played several hundred golf courses and I know a 5 when I play one. Perhaps after I've played a variety of courses and a few listed as top notch, I can come back and give a 5.
- variety of water, woods, and open field holes. Makes it fun to play and not get worn down playing the same type of hole.
- variety of hole distance from two tee boxes and two baskets. Very possible to make birdies on holes less than 200 feet. Number 6 at about 170 feet I've picked up 3 birdies on 3 visits (at least 2 rounds each visit) with two of those birdie having dropped the drive next to the basket. Theirs also two long par 4's that will never be touchable for myself by dropping a second shot next to the basket.
- if you like to grip and rip it, their are several holes where that can be done, and several holes where placement is needed.
- the course is in outstanding shape, the City of Virginia Beach keeps it maintained. The three times I've been there, city crews were keeping up with the grounds. Grass is kept mowed.
-beautiful holes, each one has its own unique characteristic.
-not busy at all, I've been their on Fridays and a Saturday and very few other players. Could be busier during the summer? Players are courteous, always allowed to play thru without having to wait.
-good place to have a family picnic and play a round. Their are picnic tables placed around the course.
-a few bathrooms and water placed on the course.
Cons: I don't have any. I don't mind the long walk from 9 basket to 10 tee, and 18 basket back to the parking lot or play another round. Part of the reason why I'm playing is the extra exercise.
Other Thoughts: This is my Favorite!! Beautiful course and views out over the water. Variety of shots played on a well maintained course. This will be a weekly visit for me when the weather is good on Saturdays because of the light traffic on the course compared to a course in the city.
I can also score good here!
If you come out to play, their are plenty of Mom and Pop places for food on the way back to the city for homemade ice cream, bbq, pizza, and a few cafes. Another reason to make the 20 mile trip from my home.
In my opinion:
Signature Hole is number 8. Long par 4 down slope towards the water with a beautiful view. Water on both sides, but large landing area on drive, and need to be careful on second shot. Yellow basket guard by a tree, red basket closer to water. It could make a cover of a Disc Golf Magazine if there is one.
Trouble Hole is number 9. Water all along the left side with trees and bushes. Both forward and back tee box right along the water edge. The back tee box has a few small trees guarding the right, if I ever want to lose a disc, I'll try playing the back. If you tend to drift towards the left on a drive, you may find yourself in the water. But, their is safe landing in the middle and to the right. The second shot toward the yellow basket still has water in play, the basket is just maybe 15 feet from the water protected by some over hanging branches on the left. Red basket is a little further away from the water. Walking along the water, I've seen submerged discs.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best in VB

5+    8/4/2010   9/4/2018
Review By: Hey it's Stellato
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course along a beautiful waterfront in what is normally a quiet little corner of southeastern Virginia. Quite a few shots with decent distance so you can let it fly. The course plays very nicely in and out of the treeline for a little variety. Water holes are a great challenge and not too much risk of losing a disc but I've seen it happen for sure.
Cons: A bit of a drive from what is considered the center of Virginia beach. If you're coming from Sandbridge or Pungo area, this is a really easy drive. Did you know you can also access this course by boat? How often can you say that?
Other Thoughts: Ample parking, rarely crowded. Give it a go and make a day of it!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic, well maintained course

2-4    3/6/2018   3/6/2018
Review By: jophus21
Played: 127  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Let's start with the practice baskets: Two Discatcher baskets about 50 feet apart with a little elevation change between them right next to the parking lot in an area of the park that no one else uses. A+
- Tee pads are textured concrete and measure about 12X5 feet. There are two for every hole, one red(longs) and one white (shorts) A+
- Baskets are also Discatchers and there are two clearly marked, color coded permanent baskets on each hole. Red are long, and yellow are short. Again, I don't know how they could be better. A+
- Signage is present for each tee and the signs are made of metal and mounted on a 4X4 next to the tee. Each sign has distances for both baskets from that tee and a clear picture of the hole design. The only issue I had with them is that if there was a mando in play, they just had the word mando on them and did not show where the mandatory was, you had to look around the hole to figure it out... Not really a big deal, but I had to step off the tee a few times to find out where the mando actually was. A
- Amenities are excellent as well, with clean bathrooms and well marked parking lots. I can see that this would be a crowded park on a summer day, but when I played at 1:00 PM on a Tuesday, I was literally the only person in the entire park. A+
- The course design was really nice, with the long tees to the long baskets representing an excellent challenge where you will need to make quality shots of all kinds off the tee to get into position for a possible birdie. I was forced to throw hyzers, forehands, rollers, and turnover shots to score well. I enjoyed the fact that stepping up to almost every tee I had to stop to figure out the lines that could be hit to possibly deuce. A
- Lastly, I'd like to say that this is an absolutely beautiful park with scenic views at every turn. The disc golf course melds with the beauty of the park and just seems like it has always been there. I played during the winter months, but I would love to see what this place looks like in the Summer!
Cons: - There are not really many cons to speak of... If you can call the long walk along the beautiful waterfront between holes 9 and 10 a con, then I suppose that would be one. I thought it was a welcome respite in the middle of the round, and as long as you stay close to the water, you walk right to the next tee.
- There were a couple tees that I felt were a little forced. I mean, you don't typically see a tee with a gigantic tree ten feet directly in front of it... but this is the case with holes 3, 10, and 11. that being said, it was still fun to flex a sidearm around the trees or throw a little placement shot to go for par like you have to do on hole 10.
- There were a few holes in the back nine that were pretty much just straight, open 350 foot shots.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that is totally worth the drive to get out here into the middle of nowhere to play it. With two baskets and two tees for every hole, there is a ton a replay ability. It can be a fairly easy course if that's what you're in the mood for, or a pretty challenging course if you're wanting to let some discs air out. I love the baseball diamonds right behind the 18th basket that allow you to get your frustration out on some huge drives if you didn't play well. All in all, this is one of my favorite courses in the area, only rivaled by New Quarter up in Williamsburg.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Zenbo golf

2-4    6/13/2017   6/16/2017
Review By: nickhead
Played: 48  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 26.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Peacefull and open. It's one of the easier courses to play by looks of it. It's fields, sourounding a large area with a light mix of trees, and low brush that creates disruption for your throw lines. Beautiful over looking the water holes. Some tee lay near wooded line which creates some flight path concerns. If your looking for a nice peaceful and calm round this is it. You will find most holes can be played with short discs but it will drive some to try and throw for aces. If your seasoned play the reds.
Cons: Snakes can be seen near water sunni g themselves.
Other Thoughts: This park is amazing. I truely enjoyed play here and made it more staple while in the area. It truely is a great place to center the soul and play on...

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent open course

1    5/21/2017   5/30/2017
Review By: Prorider2themax
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 8/31/2017
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great open shots.
Good distance.
Two tee pads on every hole.
Very nice park.
Well marked and easy to navigate.
Not especially crowded.
Cons: No elevation change.
Other Thoughts: This course is my favorite in the area. It has big holes that let you air it out and it is in a nice location. Being in the middle of nowhere makes it a little difficult to get to but it also cuts down on the crowds compared to virginia beach. Go take a look!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Munden Pt Aug 2016

1    8/28/2016   8/28/2016
Review By: Cardinal
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open fairways with enough trees, azaleas, and water to keep it interesting. Hole number 8 is the signature hole with water on both sides. Each hole has two tees and two basket options. Red tees are challenging.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Beautiful park.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/24/2015   5/30/2015
Review By: dg_morgan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice tees and good signs. The map at the parking lot is comprehensive.

-A good balance of open and wooded shots. The holes are pretty fun and I would love to go back to play again. A few holes have water hazards, which can be a pro or con depending on your perspective. I will say that the water is easy to avoid as an amateur if you are very careful, so it's not one of those courses where you feel pressured to lose discs or skip holes.

-Beautiul course location and free to play!
Cons: -A little bit out of the way. I'm in pungo often anyway, so it was no real hike for me. I still recommend it for people who are willing to take a half hour trip out of their way, though, as it's a good experience and a nice break from the home course.

-We got a little confused going from the front 9 to the back 9, just because we didn't look at the map beforehand. It would be nice if there were a little sign reminder about where to go. (Basically you just cross the park, passing the pavilions and parking lots, to get from 9 to 10.)

-No real elevation changes, but Va Beach is a flat place!
Other Thoughts: My favorite holes were #2, where you throw over a hedgerow, and #8, where you throw out onto a peninsula. (It's not as dangerous as it sounds, so long as you make sure your shots are controlled, even if that means giving up some distance. The hole is not too long, so doing this for ams won't really give you too many extra strokes.)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Vacay Disc Golf!

2-4    8/22/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: jeditden
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -2 large differently colored concrete tee boxes and baskets for every hole.
-Accurate signs showing you where each basket is as well as distances for both tees.
-Nicely maintained facility with bathrooms on site
-Hole 8 was especially cool playing out to the edge of the water.
-Mostly open fairways with only a few obstacles/wooded holes.
-Wasn't crowded at all, though we did play early in the middle of the week. Dunno how it gets come weekends.
Cons: -Some holes felt a little too open/similar. Just a chuck it as far as you can get feel.
-Not enough garbage cans on the course. But on the flip side garbage wasn't an issue that I could see.
-Maybe it was just the time of day we played (Before 9am) but the ground was pretty soggy on some of the holes, despite it not raining much at all.
-The grass was being mowed as we were playing, but they need a lawn bag for all their trimmings. My shoes looked like camouflage by the end of the game.
-Since it's a mostly open course, some of the "fairways" are real close to each other. 7, 8, and 9 in particular.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the nicest parks I've seen. Super large and lots of stuff to do other than disc golf. Scenery wise it's awesome. Some signage directing you to the next holes would be helpful if you don't have a map. Hole 5 is across the street from 4 on the other side of the fence, and as other folks have said. It's a decent hike between 9 and 10. I prefer my courses to have a nice out and back design, but that's a personal preference I don;t think counts as a negative. On the whole, this was a great course. It's about 30 minutes outside of Virginia Beach in the middle of farmlands, but it's worth the trek for sure if you are down there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 knoxstephen5

1    6/15/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: knoxstephen5
Played: 55  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice variety of open holes, long and short holes, and some wooded holes. It is in a beautiful park and it wraps around the edges of the park so that there is little distraction from others at the park that are not playing disc golf. I have played this course several times this year and there is rarely a lot of others playing so there is no waiting. Most of the time i play there is actually only a few other people playing. Me and my girlfriend played there on fathers day and that was the most people we had seen there so far. This has become our favorite course in the hampton roads area! There are picnic areas throughout the park if you need to take a break and eat and bathrooms here too. I highly recommend spending some time in this beautiful and uncrowded park throwing some disc!
Cons: There is a little bit of a walk between holes 9 and 10. Just follow the edge of the water to the left and go past the boat launch area to find tee for 10. Other than that there is nothing negative to report about this course. Look at a map before you play if you have never been here otherwise you may get a little confused.
Other Thoughts: The best disc golf course in the area( even though i feel we need more courses around here). It is well worth the drive!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.