Virginia Beach, VA 
Munden Point Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #15
3 / 185ft.   3 / 265ft.   3 / 265ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Short Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 relaxed

1    2/21/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: whiskeytreefrog
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two tee's, and two baskets for each hole - 4 shots.
decent mix of shots.
few people there; no waiting. people seemed nice.
beautiful scenery.
well maintained, wont lose a disc in the woods, maybe in the water though!
Cons: water hazard on # 8
a lot of open area shots with a slight turn or a bush in the way.
monotonous shots. no variety.
anyone can put baskets up randomly in an open park. no challenge. even from the long tees the distances arent that varying.
Other Thoughts: awesome scenery and not many people. there are playgrounds, cookout areas, basketball courts and much more to do here. can make a day going here and play a few rounds from the different tees/baskets.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/30/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 115  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2012
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is rarely crowded but it is a hidden gem. The course is mostly open. Water in play on 2 holes.

-clean and safe
-2 tees, 2 baskets per hole
-concrete tee pads, long tees dyed red
-beautiful park on the North Landing River
- away from civilization
-practice baskets
- 2 sets of clean bathrooms (1 near tee #1 and 1 near tee #10)

Signature hole: #8 out to a penisula
Cons: There aren't many obstacles but it can still be challenging.
- can be windy
- Snakes near the water hazards.
- No elevation
- long walk from #9 to #10
-bathroom near the 1st tee is not open in winter
Other Thoughts: The park is located on Pefley Rd. off of Munden Point Rd. The 1st hole is near the basketball courts. The practice baskets are across the road from the 1st tee to the right.

Tricky navigation spots:
After #6 look to the right for the next tee, straight ahead is #8's tee. After basket nine follow the perimeter of the park past the boat launch to find tee #10. Other than those it isnt hard to find your way around.

This is my home course and I will gladly be your guide!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course in the Middle of Nowhere

2-4    6/26/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course located, way, way South of Virginia Beach. It really isn't on the way to anywhere. Even if you're on the way to the Outer Banks, you've still got to drive a long way from the freeway to get here. But once you do, it is worth it. The terrain is flat, but that really isn't much different from any other course within 2 hours drive. The Tidewater area's only thing that resembles a mountain is an old landfill (Mt. Trashmore.) But it is almost impossible to lose a disc here on any hole other than the infamous #8, and you've got to work pretty hard there too. The entire place is MANICURED. I mean the grass/bushes/shrubs etc. It's all perfect, like someone's little garden. I would go to this park just to look at the landscaping. Plus, the fact that it is way out there means there isn't much of a wait. In the two days I went there, I saw three or four other groups playing total. Like Bayville, there are two teepads and two baskets on each hole. Unlike Bayville, they are on every hole, rather than just some of them. Hole #8 is very scenic, of course, but there is water near a number of the other holes. You have to look closely though, since it is hidden behind a very thin layer of trees, just thick enough to keep your disc from going through into the water that nearly surrounds the course. You rarely get out into the thick trees, but when you do there are a few thorns out there. There are lots of fun shots on this course. There are 3 playgrounds here and the course is very family friendly. My 5 year old even played a couple of entire holes (shot a 7 on #5.) The bathrooms by #1 were locked one day, unlocked the next. Can't explain that. Nice cold water in the fountain though. The tees are all concrete, and these are the first tees I've played that I can actually start my run-up on the teepad. So nice. The signage is awesome. The only possible place to get even a little lost is between #9 and #10, but if you print out the map on the links page, you'll have zero problem. In fact, if you just know that you need to walk to the other side of the boat ramp you'll have no problem. You will not get lost here. People who think this course has "navigation issues" need to travel more. Aside from 9/10, you can see the next tee easily from every basket. Every tee (both the short and the long) has a nice sign next to it with an accurate picture and what seemed to me to be quite accurate distances.
Cons: The really big con about this course, IMHO, aside from how far it is from a major highway, is that too many of the holes are open shots. Sure, there are a few scattered trees, but when you really look at it, you can throw a standard straight shot with a standard fade on almost all of them, whether you're throwing right handed, left handed, back handed, or forehanded. If you're playing short-short, you're throwing almost all putters/mids off the tees (some really good ace-runs with tons of easy birdies, I was really disappointed that I only shot -5 my first time there.) If you play long-long, far too many of the holes are just wide-open "huck-it" holes. And if you can't huck it at least 350 feet, you don't stand a chance at birdie on most of them. I generally throw 250-300 and found that there were a lot of holes where I just wound up and let it go, then ended up with a 50-100 foot approach shot and an easy putt. Not very interesting. (I ended up +6, but few of those bogeys were due to hitting trees. Most of them were just poor approaches/putts.)
Hole #8, of course, is MUCH more interesting if you're playing long-long. Over 600 feet, a true par 4, which requires a driver be thrown on your second shot down a 60 foot wide peninsula to a basket all the way at the end with water 20-30 feet behind it. You should be proud to card a 3 on this hole and I'd feel honored to see someone deuce it. Playing short-short, the water almost doesn't come into play. Same with #9.

What I really, really would have liked to see is hole #9 located on the next finger over from hole #8, with the long tee on the #8 finger, and the short tee down on the next finger so the rookies didn't have to try to cross the water. Oh well. I'm sure they thought of it but were probably vetoed by the park folks. THAT would be an epic shot worthy of losing a disc.
Other Thoughts: Aside from the obvious #8, #3, #7, #10, and #12 were fun.

I don't know if I'll ever make it back, but I'm glad I took the time to go at least once.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Vacation Golf

1    6/13/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: Brida
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is in a very well taken care of park with lots to do beside disc golf. They have running water and clean bathrooms. The course is flat but they have tried there best with some really well placed trees, plus the water is a factor on four of the holes. I like the fact that there are 2 pads and 2 pins for each hole that way as your game expands you don't out grow the course, also a group of players on different levels can play together without anyone being board or over extended. Every hole has a bench close to it so you can take a break and every pad hase a metal sign with a map and distance on it. The park office also has maps for all the players.
Cons: Not much shade and on the day I was there I could have really used to get out of the sun for a little. They also could use signs pointing you on from some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed this course and can't wait to play it again on my way to NC for vacation...

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 At least you're at the beach

1    9/11/2007   4/11/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 34.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2011
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There is a lot to do in the area and you are playing golf. #8 is an epic shot, might be wise to throw something expendable on this one if you plan on going for it. Beautiful scenery. The park itself is well kept, the fairways are as manicured as ball golf fairways.
Cons: The designers just weren't given much to work with here. Flat as a pancake and lightly wooded. What obstacles that are there are used, but it's basically field golf. It's also a pretty good haul from Va. Beach, it's at least another 20-30 minutes from Rudy Inlet
Other Thoughts: The words flat and mostly featureless are what comes to mind when I think of most of this course, with #8 being a major exception. There are a handful of pretty decent holes other than #8, and the rest are driving range. I don't know if Blue Pete's is still there but if it is you can get a great meal nearby. I get down to VA Beach a couple times a year, I'm glad I played it once but I probably won't make the drive back out there.

I guess I'll have to give this track another try since every review since mine has given it 3-4 discs. Hopefully the saplings have grown to force more shot shaping, I recall throwing straight at the target off most every tee. I'll give the long tees a look as this may add some obstacles. Others have correctly pointed out the steady breeze as a factor here. I'd call that as a pro since this is definitely part of learning the game. If you want calm you can always hit up Bayville ;-)

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 firdt time munden

1    2/8/2009   2/9/2009
Review By: bobojones666
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Fun course good range of wooded and open. good area to go too not crowded at all.
Cons: can be very windy. The water holes can be tricky in the wind. could use some more elevations
Other Thoughts: would be good if they added some back holes

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course, takes a while to get there

1    10/25/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: Drew Craft
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent layout, Nice views, two tee pads, two disccatchers per hole
Cons: Signs after 4 and 9 to point you in the right direction
Other Thoughts: This course was crazy windy, the water was crashing over the sides on 8 and 10. Overall, I shot good, and cant wait to get back out there when Im back at the beach

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/1/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: swellerdiscgolf
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/14/2009
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a nice course in a great well maintained park. There are 2 concrete tee pads and 2 pin placements for every hole. It is usually pretty quiet with no wait to play. It is an open course and easy to see most of the pins from the tee box. The signage is easy to follow and give the distances for anyone who likes that. Water comes into play on holes # 8 and 9. With a breeze off of the water, it could get a little tricky, but it helps to keep it cool in the summer.
Cons: It is a far drive from any kind of civilization. There is no elevation change to speak of. Would be better if park used mounds of dirt to make some elevation changes. There is a long walk from the front 9 to the back 9, with no directions on how to get there. I would also like benches and trash cans at every hole, but that is nit-picking. Sometimes the grass can get a little high in the field, and the underbrush on the side of the course can get a little thick.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful well maintained, family friendly park. There are playgrounds for the kids, shelters to host parties, basketball courts, baseball fields, and a boatslip. It feels like the park was made for disc golf not the other way around. For all you parents with kids out there, it is a STROLLER FRIENDLY course.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Open Layout Course

8/7/2008   8/9/2008
Review By: Aaron D'Angelo
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great, well kept course in a large open municipal park on the water. 2 concrete tee pads for each hole with good signage at each tee. 2 baskets for each hole and a bench at every back tee and trashcan at nearly every hole. 4 ways to play really give you a lot of choice to play this course, even has a great practice area.
Cons: It's in the middle of nowhere and takes a bit to get there. The bathrooms were locked up? (At least on the #1 tee) I couldn't find any information on the course, besides direcitons anywhere online. Not truely knowing the par was annoying.
Other Thoughts: I'm not kidding when I said that it is in the middle of nowhere. That being said however, this is a great course and well worth the drive to play, and I am very glad I did.

There is no real elevation, and no true wooded holes. The open layout uses trees and bushes with a couple mando routes and OB areas to give you some challenge, and a bad shot by a beginner (me) can still be overcome and get you back into play. If you play the Gold course - rear tees to long baskets, it will give you some good distance to try and overcome. Wind can be a great factor here but it wasn't too bad the day I played.

I didn't need a map to get around, however there is a good portion of the park that must be traversed to get from the front to the back 9.

#8 would be the signature hole, and when windy could be very dangerous especially when playing the rear tees on this long hole as it is set close to the water.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Rural Waterside Course

1    4/14/2006   9/12/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 78  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Setting, tee pads
Other Thoughts: Setting is the key appeal of Munden Point. Though technically in Virginia Beach, the course is actually in the still rural southern area of Virginia Beach, a mere four miles from the North Carolina border. The course plays through a perfectly maintained city park in this rural area and sits upon the beautiful and undeveloped North Landing river. So while the water is only a factor on holes 8 and 9, the river is in view for most of the course and the view is completely natural - water and marshlands, no houses or other signs of development. In terms of setting and natural beauty, Munden Point is one of the best disc golf courses I've visited.

The course itself, however, is a bit on the easy side. While the course features nice concrete teepads, it's not particularly long, even from the pro tees, and is mostly open, though bushes and trees provide some challenge on most holes. This park looks fairly new, and lots of young trees and bushes are in play on the course, so perhaps in five or ten years the course will be considerably more challenging. The course does have two particularly long holes, and a couple of holes that are not entirely straight shots, but overall it's a par 3 course and good players will probably break par, even from the pro tees. Munden Point is well worth the drive and the effort, though; it's a beautiful course in a beautiful part of Virginia.

Favorite Hole - #8 - One of the longer holes on the course plays out to a pennisula with the basket at the very end on the river.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.