Fairfax Station, VA 
Burke Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #12 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 223ft.   3 / 269ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Red Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Solid Course

1    10/28/2011   10/30/2011
Review By: lancesven
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The signs were great here. The course flowed really well and was easy to follow. There were pro and am tees on nearly every hole which made it more challenging.
Cons: There weren't many 4 holes and no 5 holes. It would have been nice to air it out on a few but a flick shot was always enough.
Other Thoughts: Some of the Pro tees were covered over a bit, so it didn't seem like they were played all the time. But always check to see if they are there, they make it a more enjoyable round.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park

2-4    6/25/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: VaDGer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great signs. Good mix of open and wooded holes.
Cons: Busy. A lot of other foot traffic through the course; dog walkers etc. I couldn't find any maps and I am sure I couldn't have navigated this course without help of a local player I joined. Fairly congested, long throws will put you in another fairway
Other Thoughts: This is a good recreational course. Other enjoyable things to do while in the park.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Obstacles Galore

2-4    3/10/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: Brent Renken
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a course where you wouldn't think there would be one. It challenges you to make precision shots on 90% of the holes which is good for those with a soft touch and bad for those who like to let her rip with all they have. I like that there are a lot of tree's lined up directly in your path and that the mandatories make it near impossible to cut through the ruff but the short distances leave you in danger of overthrowing the basket if you do happen to get through. This, of course, is a part of the fun. Most of it is in the forest but there are a few holes that cross into open terrain designed to let you air it out. The holes are well marked and you're unlikely to lose your frisbee.
Cons: $8 fee. Heavily used course means your either waiting or passing through a lot. Errant throws easily wind up on other fairways since the holes are packed in so tight and there are walking paths right next to the baskets. The same reason you respect the tree obstacles leads you to hate them as well once you hit the point of wishing you could just chuck the disc out without the thunk that comes with the effort.
Other Thoughts: It's a great course to practice with a variety of discs and to test out various throws. The overhand throw came in handy more than once. Forehand and backhand throws were needed as well. It's a good course and you'll be happy you played it but it's not the best available in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Winter at Burke Lake

5+    12/18/2010   12/20/2010
Review By: thanxmikey
Played: 61  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 24.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Please keep in mind this round was played with 3 inches of snow on the ground. The tees boxes were not slippy at all. They are made of that coarse concrete that has a slight roughness to it. This helped with traction alot and although I could not use as much leg action in my throw it was close considering the conditions.

There were only two other groups of golfers so we had the whole course practically to ourselves.

The snow made it easy to find discs. The last few times we played here the leaves got thick so this was a nice treat.

Course in good shape.

Bathrooms are open in main house before hole # 1.
Cons: A lot of hikers on trails but not enough to impact throws.
Other Thoughts: I was elated to be out playing a game of golf on a brisk december day. temp was about 31 but no wind and a very nice day.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Been Awhile.

5+    11/30/2008   11/30/2010
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's been awhile since I played this course so if there is a new layout I haven't seen it. This was always a fun course to play. My wife (fiance) at the time lived close by to this course and it was always a great place to go play a round before I went to work. This course is slightly short but this doesn't mean it is by any means easy. The holes for the most part are densely wooded which forces you to be accurate instead of just having huge throws. Great flowing layout very easy to follow and navigate the course. I tended to play early in the morning and during weekdays and the crowds were rarely a factor. The length of this course made it great to play a quick round if you are in the area.
Cons: I do remember one weekend when I was trying to play and spent 10 minutes waiting for a family who's child had wandered away from the carousel. I really did not want to shot while the child was there but they were in no hurry to get off the fairway. During the fall months the leaves on the ground can be brutal for finding a disc that you know is sitting in the middle of the fairway
Other Thoughts: Sometimes they do try to charge you if there is a guard at the guard house and you do not have a local ID. I would usually give them my fiance's (wife now) address and just tell them I had not gotten ID changed they never really questioned me.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 mini amusement park

1    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 250  Reviewed: 222  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the best part is the amenities: vending machines, restrooms, mini golf, ice cream parlor, Carousel, train rides, playground, etc.
Beautiful new tee signs that have a screw to mark basket location.
Concrete tee pads.
excellent place to introduce the sport.
Good Discatcher baskets
Cons: $8.00to get into the park
Holes are really short, 1/3 of the course is under 200 feet. Average hole is 217 feet. Longest hole is 293, so Drivers are not needed.
Course is crowded, pedestrians are often in dangerous areas and walk very close to baskets.
Other Thoughts: Course looks like it is a very family friendly place and disc golf is a side attraction. This course would be a place to bring the family and you can sneak away for 45 minutes to play and get back to your family, or introduce them to the sport here.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 my local spot

5+    9/14/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: kennykaka
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: New hole placements! This has made for some significant change in course play. Maps are very nice.
Cons: soda machines are constantly only take change. people/families strolling threw the course, there is a sign that warns them but they don't care. I just don't pay attention to them either. People get offended I don't understand!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly surprised

1    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: Jermy
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 2 Concrete t-pads for every hole
- Baskets are in good shape (especially since its such an old course)
- Lots of amenities, great place to take a family for the day.
- Nice mix of shots, very forgiving layout makes for a casual low stress round
- Very difficult to lose a disc
- Holes are easy to find and have VERY nice new signs that show both t-pads and all pin placements
- mostly wooded keeps it cool during hot days, as well as a nice lake breeze
Cons: - Can be extremely crowded and unsafe, I think i heard "FOUR" yelled 5 or so times today haha.
- Might be too easy / short for some
- Some of the holes cross over other holes, so you have to keep an eye out for other players alot.
- No place to practice putting
- costs 8$ a car to enter the park on weekends / summer
Other Thoughts: I played 2 rounds today, the first one was really quick with noone in the way. The second round was much the opposite, lots of large groups and discs flying over other fairways and regular park goers walkin dogs down fairways and things about doubled the amount of time it took to play.

I was considering giving this course a 4, its close, but some of the layout decisions and safety issues are kinda a big deal. The pro t-pads are great even though few people use them. I really appreciated the extra work taken to put them in.

The course is VERY beginner friendly, short holes, not alot of places to lose discs at, very forgiving. The signs are absolutely awesome, very nicely done and informative. I really enjoyd being able to work on my mid range throws alot at this course.

I would definitely play this course again, but I wouldn't pay 8$ to do it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great for casual player

1    7/31/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: dbertrand
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: As a casual player, this course is perfect for me. Holes are generally short and wooded, so accuracy is more important than length. New signs at every tee box with hole map & length are welcome addition. Also added some new hole placements.
Cons: Some holes are close to well used trail, so watch your errant throws. Also get the occasional oblivious park user wandering through.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  First & Favorite (So Far)

5+    7/29/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: TidBitWitIt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are all types of holes on this course, open and closed, long and short, blind and obvious. It's a beautiful cluster of fun.

You'll often see pro's out and about because of how fun this course is and how inconsistently difficult it can be.
Cons: During certain times of the year, some hole locations can get a little peculiar and ridonkulous --- as far as how deep in the woods they are.

Families sometimes obliviously walk through the course - on weekends mainly - that walk aimlessly and slowly, but yet, amazingly, straight down the middle of the fairway, staring at the people in front of them with strange plastic saucers in their hands.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, it's ace-able at times, it's perplexing at times, and yet it's almost always fair while playing all par 3's (except #15 when they reposition the hole mad deep in the woods). Conclusion, it's tough to just play one round.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.