Hudsonville, MI 
Hughes Park Share
Uploaded By: MisterJ Hole #13 (Taken 5/2017)
3 / 232ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Ace Runs, No Risk

5+    9/17/2017   9/18/2017
Review By: KetoDude311
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Ace runs. At least 50% of the holes can be aced which adds a different element of excitement to the round.

+Compact design means navigation is easy and obvious.

+Cleanest bathroom facilities I've encountered on a disc golf course/in a park so bring the wife/girlfriend/etc.

+Genius use of the limited space makes for lots of variety and many holes even have multiple fairways, making up for how short most holes are.

+You can easily get in 18 holes in 30 minutes if there's nobody else on the course. IF...

+No poison ivy anywhere on the course. Literally the only course I can think of (in the area) that doesn't have any poison ivy.

+No water or other hazards that can take one of your discs. A beginner may risk throwing over a private fence on hole 3, but he'd REALLY have to grip lock it.
Cons: -Unorthodox layout. 9 baskets with 18 tees. If there's anyone else on the course, their game becomes entangled with your game. You really have to wear your head on a swivel if you golf with other people on the course. Because of the layout, I won't play this course at busy times. It's pure frustration.

-Tee pads are WAY too close to the baskets. It's fine if you're in a setting where everyone understands disc golf, but because of the nature of this course, there are a lot of players that don't know to look for discs flying at them. The other down side is that a lot of players don't know to shout "FORE!" if their shot is headed for a person.

-Every hole is around 250 feet or shorter so the drivers never come out of the bag. Sometimes you just need to rip a drive and you can't do that here.

-If you don't challenge yourself to take "back door routes", the course will be too easy for most people.

-The other park facilities are fairly busy and I've had numerous rounds where some kid sees a "frisbee" on the ground and he decides it's his new toy to just pick up and walk off with.
Other Thoughts: This course has made me more accurate with my approaches, but it really hasn't done anything to improve any other aspect of my game. It's fun because of all of the ace runs, but only if you don't have to share the course with a bunch of people.

I like to challenge myself and do things like playing skip shots and forehand spike hyzers that I normally don't throw in a round because they're not as "dependable." This course feels like a disc golf playground sometimes because it encourages you to get out of your comfort zone with its seemingly "easy" tee shots.

When you have the course to yourself, it's actually pretty fun. When there's more than two groups on the course you might as well play somewhere else, unless you like standing around and dodging flying objects.

Overall, the course is pretty fun if you don't have to share it. A beginning disc golfer could learn a lot from this course, but not out of necessity.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Better Course When No-One Else Is Playing!

1    9/2/2017   9/4/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hughes Park DGC is a great course to bring that beginner to play. Only six of the 18 holes are longer than 200'. The rest are just short, little pitch and putts through this wonderful, small section of park with a scattering of trees. At the beginning of the course there are picnic tables, a kiosk with map and garbage cans. The concrete tees have a front kick board with the hole # and distance. I haven't seen this before and I think it's a great idea. The baskets are older DGA models with fewer chains than newer ones.

The course suffers from this layout that has 9 baskets with two tees playing to each basket. This results in confusion and some unsafe throws. The good news is most throws are just approach shots and I doubt if anyone's getting hurt. Playing the back nine when others are playing the front nine can get crazy especially when others are oblivious to others on the course. The front nine has concrete pads while the back nine has natural tees.

For rec players, seniors, beginners, families and youth, this course can be great fun. Intermediate players on up will probably be bored.
Cons: Poor design with criss crossing fairways in a small space. Having two pads for one baskets works on other courses but here there are problems.

Recreational length.

Nest tee pads can be very close to previous basket. I guess it could be an issue but it didn't bother me. Just be aware.
Other Thoughts: I liked this little course a lot. It probably would be better off without the back 9. That is where the course's problems start and end. When you think about it, there are few places where you can take your 10 year old to play without the worry of nasty rough, water or too much distance. I say, give this course a break, warts and all and let the folks playing her, go merrily on their way in a state of disc golf nirvana.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pitch and Putt Chaos Theory, Hucker Style

1    7/23/2017   7/23/2017
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 68  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 13.2 Years
16 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: - There are 9 baskets in decent shape
- The grass is mowed
- The playground is nice along with the other non-disc golf amenities
- Navigtion is a snap. I mean when you put the tees so freaking close to the baskets obviously it should be no problem.
- at least the course is playable.
Cons: - Egad. Outside of Lake Township park this has to be the absolute worst layout I have ever seen. With the people on this course paying VERY close attention to who is throwing where is an absolute must unless you enjoy getting struck by flying plastic. With the odd layout of 9 baskets and 18 tees there is a plethora of crossing fairways and other assorted nonsense. More specifically:
> 17 and 6 cross
> 16 and 7 essentially thrown RIGHT AT each other.
> 11 throws right at the 12 tee.
> 2, 11, 13 all criss-cross in a spaghettified mess.
> 9 and 14 cross
> There's at least 6 or 7 spots where a tee pad is WAY too close to the previous basket.
- This course offers no challenge. At all. Boring wide open fairways with stupidly short holes and a park with zero elevation change. So short, you could conceivably play an Ace Race here with no adjustment to tee locations. But then there's all the layout issues to deal with...
- Tee pads on the front 9 are decent concrete pads but then the back nine reverts back to dirt with a toe-kick.
- Distances on a lot of these toe-kicks are totally wrong.
- There weren't any benches or trash cans that I recall seeing but by the time I even thought about that I was way too focused on trying to not be hit by random discs coming from everywhere.
Other Thoughts: This is the worst layout I've ever seen. Lake Township and it's wonkiness doesn't compare to this insanity. Also, its just too easy.

I just do not understand why in the world anyone would think 18 holes would fit in this space. 9 holes...maybe. 9 holes with dual tees? That's really pushing it. But even using 9 baskets using 18 tees needs way way more space than this. If all the playground equipment and pavilions were removed you might have enough space for a ridiculously short 18. Just goes to show huckers on copious amounts crystal should never, ever design a course. Like ever.

Play here when there are few other DG'ers on the course. Otherwise skip it and and play somewhere else. I mean like, ANYWHERE.

16 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 Fun ace run course

5+    8/5/2013   12/5/2013
Review By: hellbound
Played: 77  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short game course that has you seeing anything from a putter to a midrange ace run attemps. More than one time in a round you could be holding your breath or screaming get in the basket.

With the space the park has they out did them selves to give you a chance at a challanging pitch and putt kind of place
Cons: This park sees enough foot traval to see some kind of tee pads put in.

plays too close to the play ground.
Other Thoughts: I moved from grand rapids three years ago and everytime i make a trip back home i always try to make a stop here for a quick round to warm up the arm. I would not say this is a out of state destination but as a semi local it is worth a look or two.


4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Huges Park

1    3/17/2012   3/20/2012
Review By: jwetter
Played: 96  Reviewed: 30
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -nice little park
-good variety of holes, there is a lot of trees that make sure you have to do a variety of throws
-18 holes
-there is really good flow, I never got lost and there are very short walks between the basket and the next tee
Cons: -Only 9 baskets
-dirt tee pads
-not a large variety of distances, every hole is fairly short
Other Thoughts: Fun little course to play if you are in the area!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/15/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 305  Reviewed: 288  Exp: 7.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic--I like the small town park feel of this course. Old growth trees and little places to lose discs.

Baskets--nice. even though it's 18 holes for 9 baskets, they are in nice condition and are grippy.

Routing--Relatively easy. Big "Start" sign at first tee. next tee is typically close to the previous basket and pretty easy to find.

Traffic--very light, I was the only one on the course, but that could be reflective of the course.

the park itself--nicely laid out, playground equipment is well out of the way of the DGC.
Cons:
Challenge--little to none. I threw a -4 the first time through, many many birdies but a couple bogeys because of bad putts :(

kick strip tees-- Tees are dirt and have a 4x4 with the hole and distance, etc on them. they get covered in dirt easily and can be hard to see if you don't wipe them off with your foot.

"dual" tees v. 18 hole course--I can imagine if you were playing during prime times waiting and trying to figure out who's turn it is could get confusing. thankfully, the tees/pins don't line up 1/10, 2/11, etc... there is some variety.

other crap in your way--there are telephone poles/lines, buildings and other obstacles that pose threats to your lines. One in particular is a guy wire from a pole that is directly in your way putting on one hole.
Other Thoughts: It's not that it's not a nice park and a fun time. Just rating this one based on how I perceive DGC's now. I like more of a challenge. I like to be frustrated, in the end it's still disc golf.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ace run Shorty!

2-4    7/23/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: raptor4you
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short ace run holes that helps work on midrange, upshot, and putts all day. Different lines to try different shots. Begginer friendly.
Cons: 9 pins with 18 pads. Many pins are located next to two tee pads, so many times there are either people shooting direclty at you or you are waiting for people to finish a different hole or the hole that is directly next to your tee pad. No cement, all flat, very little distance variation.
Other Thoughts: Patience is a virtue on this course as you will need to wait for people to play to the same pin you are shooting. There are also fearess squirrels and a few hawks on the course that you will likely see.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginners Course

1    7/14/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: jarnson
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Very short holes, you can expect to birdie every hole with a mid-range or a putter.
* A little challenging with the trees and the confusing backwards play for the back nine holes. Just be sure that they are clear before you throw
* Again, with it being a mid/putter course, not too much is in the course to challenge you besides the road at holes 1, 2 (and their back holes) and then trees, building, people, etc.
* Very clean course, not usually crowded
* Ground tees, with the information on in-ground tee markers, hole number/distance/etc.
* Baskets are fairly new, good conditions, they are all used twice.
* Bathrooms here!
Cons: * Too simple, not enough to challenge the normal golfer, birdie every hole (you should at least)
* With the tees being used twice, it causes two groups of players to come at it sometimes at once. Just be respectful and it shouldn't be a problem, but you know people...
Other Thoughts: I gave it a 2.5 due to the simplicity of the course, not because of anything to do with the community/overall course. It has to do with the fact it uses the baskets twice and that it is a fairly EASY course, all putter and mid-range. Not a bad course for beginners and golfers that want to practice mid-ranges and longer putting distances.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/8/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: Ninja Librarian
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *New Baskets

*Set up nice for bringing beginners
-No long holes
-enough trees to make you practice several different throws but not enough to frustrate new throwers
Cons: *Tried to make an 9 hole course into an 18
-at baskets have 2 tees throwing at them. If that wasn't bad enough many of the tees are less than 10 feet from another basket.

*Natural Tees

*"Signs" telling you the where to throw, distance and par are in the ground and often covered with dirt making them hard to read.
Other Thoughts: If you could be guaranteed to be the only group on the course it would probably warrant a 2.5, but if there is any other group there you will run into them.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Leave the Drivers in the Car

1    5/24/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 89  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Signs (Sort of) they have wooden posts for the end of the tee pointing at where the basket is where a distance (Although I think they seemed very off at time)

-Some Great Pin Placement especially as they are used twice. They even have Wooden Blocks on top of the baskets telling you the number when facing it.

-They do mix it up so that all the baskets are getting used in a different flow on the back 9 so it's not 1 2 3 4 ect.

-Great place to learn mids and putters a lot better(nothing over 300)

-Easy to find your way around.

-The first hole has a sign that says "Start" making it very easy to find.

-Clean
Cons: -Can seem to get jammed up a little bit because of the shared baskets(2 other groups were playing while I was there and I ran into both of them)

-Dirt Tee pads(besides hole 17 which has a grass one)

-Hole 3's and 11's green are on the tee pad of hole 4

-Playground in the middle of it, although it didn't seem to come into play or get in the way while we were playing.
Other Thoughts: This place is not your normal pitch and putt. There are some good lines, and I would say this place is lightly wooded. It seems to flow very well and easy to find your way around. There are a lot of pins placed right of the tee (lots of turn overs for RHBH). For a short quick course I would say this could be one of the better ones in Grand Rapids Area.

Seems that if people are here you are bound to run into them. It's a very nice clean park, and is also multi use. Has basketball, a Net for volleyball or badminton.

Complete side note, it seemed like discs popped out of these baskets quite a bit. They have the huge bottle park.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.