Hudsonville, MI 
Hughes Park Share
Uploaded By: rshrevo Hole #7 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Marker



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Limited variety

5+    10/11/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: BlueBells
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NOTE: This course has been redone and is CONSIDERABLY more fun to play. Poles are non-existent

Baskets have been installed
Tee-off "areas" have been implemented
Signage is up and pretty unique
Course design is intelligent, and I would say about as good as it can be for the limited area.
Park is still clean. Really clean.
I've never had to wait here. Ever.
Course plays like a full 18 despite only having 9 baskets, separate tee areas for a singular basket make it seem like the hole is entirely different
Cons: Not too much to argue with here, this course works about as well as it can in the limited area.

Distance still remains a small factor, all the holes are within 160-250 feet. However, as I mentioned earlier, I have no idea how they would change this.

Other Thoughts: All in all, it's probably worth checking out, especially if you live in/around the area, or are passing by.

It's a nice little course that challenges your driving accuracy and consistency.

First tournament held here was won with 7 under (through 9 holes)...a reasonable possibility if you throw a consistent round. General scores seemed to be around 2-3 under for the front 9, more advanced players should shoot for 6 under.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quickie Course

2-4    4/5/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: jdgdreamer
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick play (I was alone on the course and played two 9-hole rounds with two discs at a round)

Easy to see the posts as long as you can find the overview map to find the first tee post.

Even though they are short holes, it gave me GREAT practice with the distance putts and mid range disc work on a couple of the holes.
Cons: This is the first course I've played with the posts as objects...I'm not sure I'm a fan.

I can see where this would be a problematic course when school is not in session. There was only a handful of kids in the park and luckily they knew what disc golf was because the youngest was running to throw my discs back on hole #3!
Other Thoughts: I think that there is enough room to expand the course and either make more holes or make a couple more difficult, and I'm not sure why they can't get catchers instead of the object posts...maybe I'll have to call and see about donating to help improvements?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short

1    7/23/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: Newbie2009
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: easy to follow, trees make it a challenge
Cons: A small and short course even if you play it backwords, a playground in the right next to one of the holes (3 i think). Wooden posts, i'm not a fan of the posts.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

5+    4/12/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: 40oztofreedom
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. Very short. Good obstacle layout. Lots of trees to fly through. Very fun for driving with a putter. Every hole is a possible ace.
Cons: Tight area space. Lots of children playing (primarily hole #2). Size isn't challenging enough for someone who is looking to throw a disc far. Dirt Pads and Pole Holes.
Other Thoughts: This course can be played forward and backwards (which is why it is listed as 18) The tee box is indicated with a pole with a red marker on top, and the hole is marked with a yellow marker. So you can start at hole #1 and shoot from red to yellow, or start from hole #9 and play yellow to red.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Pole Course

4/17/2008   4/17/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely marked and attractive tee poles. Easy to navigate. Short yardage beginner course, with little challenge other than avoiding trees.
Cons: In a very limited space, and you need to be alert for pedestrians and kids as this is very near picnic areas and playground equipment. You can probably play this entire course with just your putter.
Other Thoughts: The PDGA listing indicates that this is an 18 hole course, but I only found 9.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.