Lorton, VA 
Giles Run Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #16
3 / 289ft.   3 / 351ft.   5 / 801ft.   5 / 833ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
You know nothing disc golfer.

2-4    8/16/2017   8/22/2017
Review By: nickhead
Played: 48  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple layouts for in treating play.
1. Play short to short the first time through.
2. Second time through either short to long or long to long.

These are the layouts to play if you have the time. Distance comes it play but skill is much more nesessary
Cons: Don't play late late I the day. Back 9 can get difficult to find a disc if you land off fair way.

The rough is like 1970 porn brush, it's thick, and messy. Bring a good stick to wack the brush to find your disc If you go off course. Next tee signage at pins is misleading
Other Thoughts: Keep your throw in your line of sight. It's really important here to land on the fair way. Ease up and throw your mids, or fairway drivers, it's mostly a short course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

almost heaven

5+    7/19/2017   7/19/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 102  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Giles Run is almost a perfect course. It is a mostly open park style course that plays over beautiful rolling hills with some tighter shots and some moderately wooded holes. The course features a number of excellent two-shot holes, some longer par threes, and some reachable but guarded par threes. It is a collection of great holes, each one with its own character and challenging in its own way.

The course features a number of opportunities for "heroic shots" as well as a number of opportunities to gain strokes by playing smart, controlled shots to preferred landing zones. It is interesting and challenging for players of all abilities and will push you to improve your game by adding new shots or honing the ones you have.

However, Giles Run has one major drawback -- the worst rough I have encountered on any course -- thorn bushes and vines sometimes 10 feet high and basically impenetrable. I have seen two different people carry a machete on this course (a fact that is actually somewhat disturbing in itself). The rough is sufficiently bad, and sufficiently well defined from the fairways that it plays as OB, and the OB comes into play on every hole. Although the fairways are quite generous in size, and smart, controlled play will keep your disc in bounds most of the time, inevitably you will spend time looking for discs on this course, and you may end up leaving without them.

The rough is bad enough that I have walked off this course thinking it just isn't worth it, and for some people I'm sure that will be the case. But I keep coming back because the quality of the layout is just that good.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best course in NOVA.

5+    2/3/2017   2/9/2017
Review By: Sully68783
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous land. Two tees and two baskets allow every difficulty level from very simple (red to red) to incredibly challenging (white to silver).

Creative and varied hole design. Switching tees/baskets makes many holes completely different.

Has beat in well regarding ticks and mosquitoes, which are still present in summer, but less oppressive than a few years back.

The only course in NOVA where you can really air out your shots (but still requires you to play placement golf).

The best lost and found box/system of any course I've ever been to.
Cons: The rough, in spring and summer, is very rough. This course was carved out of 10' tall blackberry bushes. The park has kept the invasive thorns in place to serve as bird habitat.

Wear long pants and bring a grabber.

Can be very discouraging to beginners.
Other Thoughts: Most locals play red to silver or white to silver. Locals also play tournament OB, where the rough is out-of-bounds (general rule is if it's in thorns, it's OB).

Spray DEET on your bag as well as yourself to keep ticks from hitching a ride.

Please place any found discs in the Lost And Found mailbox near hole 4's red basket.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Embrace the Thorns!

2-4    3/12/2016   3/12/2016
Review By: GreenFieldsDC
Played: 57  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thoroughly enjoyed playing this course; it may be the best in NOVA or the DC area as a whole for a number of reasons.

I played 36 holes from 9a-2p on a Saturday in March, it was cloudy and cool. II played Rec Tees-Silver baskets on the first round, Pro Tees-Red Baskets on second. Crowds (including one group of 7!) didn't emerge until afternoon. I would classify this course as a moderately strenuous hike, by east coast standards, and players should definitely wear decent shoes or boots and long pants.

*In my opinion, one big difference setting Giles Run apart from nearly every other course in northern or central Virginia (and many in nearby MD) is that this course does not have many ticky-tack or unfair tee shots. The course is expansive and is more like a hike than a walk in a muni park. This course is fair and sensibly scored, as well.
Cons: Not for the faint of the hear with the thorny thickets throughout the meadow.

Wayfinding between a few holes can be tricky at first, but folks are very friendly and glad to point the way. Or, retrieve a disc twenty feet from a tree like a dude did for me when I played (!)

#15 and #16 are very, very long (like +600 feet) from the pro tees to the silver baskets.

I lost two drivers off the tee to the thorns. I expected this to be an issue before I played here.

I could see ticks/mosquitoes being an issue with warm weather here.

Encroaching development is an issue here, including a mixed-use commercial and retail center-is currently taking the place of historic buildings across the street from the parking lot. How did the Fairfax County Park Authority allow this massive residential community to be sited so close to this incredible green space??

There are several points on the course where one can witness the encroaching residential development that does take away some peace and quiet but a beautiful course overall.
Other Thoughts: (The) George Washington surveyed and likely hunted these woods as a young man, so enjoy! And yes, that beige tower you see in the distance is part of a prison (Lorton Federal Supermax). In fact, the course is built around what remains of part of the Lorton Workhouse prison for women that operated through the 1970s.

I really enjoyed playing here. It is the one course in the DMV I would suggest to out-of-town DG friends.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 a coarse well worth playing ALLTOUGH

2-4    8/26/2015   9/6/2015
Review By: James McGirr
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A great track of land. rolling hills a lot of open spaces Coarse is designed to accomidate the long thrower as well as an average player. there are two sets of tees as well astwo baskets per hole.
Cons: On a windy day I would not play here.If your disc goes into the ruff you may not be able to get it the thorn bushes are herrendise through out the coarse. to play a round you will walk about 3 miles+. It is possible to get lost. If you could get a map or talk to a local. to find trouble spots there is between I think it is 6 and7 or 7and8 it is along walk and you have to cross acreek
Other Thoughts: I though a lot of the coarse.It was fun to play.Control is a must.Fairways were more than fair.If your disc goes into the brush. You will find that you unable to go into brush to get it thorn bushes are really that bad.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 NICE COURSE

1    1/17/2015   4/6/2015
Review By: Mohawk Mack
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course, but thorny as hell! Fairways are wide open but keep it straight or you will end up in the throny bushes that remind me of the movie SAW. Good mix of holes, up hill, down hill, lefties, righties, lunch eaters, aceables.Playing with a pair of grabbers is advised.
Cons: Um, the thorny bushes that will eat your discs. It's a long course to walk, no the distance of the holes but more so some of the walks between holes. Be mindful of throwing your favorite discs out here. Your sign that this course will wreck your day and game is the lost & found box, it's an old postal mail box. And it's jammed full. The only thing that I didn't care for was the Out of Bounds lines, they're painted with white paint, at least when I played, and seemed to change depending on who paints them. I would like to see a more permanent OB line with stakes and rope, so there's no guessing and wasting time.
Other Thoughts: I liked the course when I played in an Ice Bowl tournament there. I will definitely try it again when it warms up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/25/2014   10/28/2014
Review By: bradharris
Played: 87  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really like courses that use two pins and two tees well. Giles Run does just that. Each of the four layouts provides a new way to play the hole rather than just adding distance. Unfortunately, I only had time to play one layout, so I chose to really test myself on the longest layout. The long layout features a number of well laid out multi-shot holes that can challenge even the best while the shorter layouts provide some relief for less skilled (or less masochistic) players.

Although the course is mostly open, it uses the available features (rolling hills, tress, and yes, thorns and thick brush) to set up some interesting shots. The course really never feels especially repetitive.
Cons: There is one consistent feature that seems to steal the headlines at Giles Run: impenetrable, thorny rough. It's not just the thorns that cause problems, it's also the sheer density. This is some of the thickest rough I have ever encountered. It's not enough to know where your disc landed, if you want any hope of retreiving it, you have to figure out how to get to it. We even sent spotters ahead on especially risky shots. I had one land no more than 10 feet from where the spotter was standing. He was able to point out exactly where it landed, and where it will likely rest for a very long time. There was absolutely no way to get to it.

Playing from the rough is an important aspect of disc golf, but Giles Run takes that element of the game largely out of play.

The fairways are certainly fair, without the rough encroaching too much. But none of us are immune to bad shots, and the risk of losing a disc is present on nearly every shot at Giles Run. This can change the mentality of the round, where the thought process is more about keeping discs in your bag, rather than trying to hit a nice line. This takes a lot of the fun out of a round. With the distance, fun elevation change, and relative openness, this would be a really fun course to play super-aggressively, particularly in casual rounds where score isn't as important. But if you're playing with discs you're at all attached to, conservative is the way to play.

Navigation can be tricky for first timers. Hole 7 is tucked away behind the pond by itself, and then the long walk to 8 has no markings to assure you you're heading in the right direction.

The signage also leaves a lot to be desired. A few holes had map and distance info, but most have only the hole number marked. Especially on the longer layouts, where the basket is often not visible from the tee, more info at the tee would be really helpful.
Other Thoughts: I really want to be able to rate this course better, but I have to settle for a "good" rating. The layout is really done well, but when the signature element is the rough, it's hard to give the course more credit.

Be prepared, bring a map, wear long clothing that you don't mind getting a few tears in, and use discs that you're not especially attached to.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 She's a disc eater!

1    8/31/2014   8/31/2014
Review By: neanderthal85
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course! One of the reasons I started playing was to get out in nature, but not just hiking. This course is perfect! You will walk a bit, but the scenery and layout is beautiful!

I really liked holes 4 and 13/14. Hole 4 is elevated tee across a narrow ravine to a basket off to the right. You have to have a straight shot to get there. Reminds me of ball golf tees. 13/14 is really open, but the baskets are guarded by the woods - 13 the woods are on the right hiding the baskets and ditto for 14. But there is also an old abandoned barn and silo which are beautiful and very scenic!

This is a technical course, especially for beginners. It requires a lot of different shots and approaches, which helps me as I'm learning.
Cons: So the other reviews say it, and I'll repeat it: thorns and ticks. The front 7 holes are easy to access lost discs. Once you cross to 8-16, if a disc rolls into the woods, it isn't pick it up, it's chop it out. I wish I would have taken a picture. It isn't little thorns plants that you can brush aside. It's thick, woody, tangled masses of thorns. One guy who was playing saw his disc and said, "Nope." I looked and it would have literally taken a chainsaw not to rip your skin off.

Also, when you get to the 4th hole baskets, you will see about 5 sets of baskets. 4/5/6/17/18 all share a field. Make sure you use a map (TAKE A MAP!) to figure out which baskets you are shooting at.

In addition, I only saw 2-3 signs. The boxes are nice concrete and all of them have posts with white boards, most have numbers, only a few had laminated course maps. I would pitch in to help buy nice map signs even, as it would really make things easier with some blind baskets.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course in a nice park. The prison is literally next to it - you shoot towards the prison on #2.

Don't be a hero on this course - don't make this the course you swear you're hitting 400 foot drives on, because you will be like me and make a trip to the store to replace the 4 discs you lost afterwards.

The pro tees to silver baskets are serious stuff. Especially 16 - anyone who says they even pared that hole is a pro or a liar. It's 910 feet with two blind throws in narrow (see: 15 foot) gaps.

I would recommend tall socks, bug spray, lots and lots of water, extra discs, and something to poke through rough with - I took a 4 foot piece of 3/4" PVC pipe and that helped a lot. I met 3 other groups and all of them were searching for/had lost discs. The rough is rough - no forgiving.

As others said, there is a near 1/4 mile walk (1300 feet) from #7 to #8 and then from #16 to #17. But it goes down in a ravine with a little creek and is quite nice actually. There are some jaunts from various tees to tees (#14 to #15 to #16 come to mind) with some doubling back. But take a map and you should be good.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Wait till winter or pack in a machete

2-4    6/12/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: mintbucket
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 24.8 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It is a beautiful course with a great mix of up and downs, long tight fairways and short open holes. Very challenging for the beginner.
Lost and Found dropbox
Lots of walking
Cons: Thorns
Ticks
Most holes missing yardage and hole diagrams.
No water fountain
Lots of walking
Other Thoughts: The worst of the thorns are on holes 8-16. You can play an short 9 holes hitting 1-7 and then go to 17 & 18.
Lost 3 disc playing #9&10. Found four ticks when I got home, picked three of my clothes while playing. I was wearing long pants, long shirt and hat.
I'd go back on a nice winter day probably take a machete as well.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun beauriful course, but the rough is bad

5+    11/11/2011   9/14/2013
Review By: djros
Played: 35  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two large concrete tees and two permanent basket positions on every hole with widely varying distance between the four setups. Course is in a scenic park and has nicely mowed fairways that are mowed fairly regularly (the grass is occasionally shaggy, but never too long). The course is set among some nice rolling hills, with a large variety of distances and shot shapes. There are some holes that you always try to ace/birdie, while there also a handful of legitimate two-shot holes to reach the basket (hole 16 from the long tee is probably a good three-shot hole to reach the basket). Most of the holes are fairly open, with just enough obstacles to provide some challenge or force you to work the disc one way or the other. Course makes pretty good use of the elevation in this park. Hole 4 is a fun shot over a valley with a tight gap in the trees to reach the other side of the valley. Hole 12 is the only other really tight hole on the course and is a fun tunnel hole through a bunch of trees.
Cons: The thorns. The thorns. And, oh yeah, the thorns. They are on almost every hole. On some holes, they are pretty thin, but on others they are really thick. I used to always wear jeans, a long-sleeve shirt, and carry an old 3-iron I don't use anymore to help extract discs from the thorn bushes. The thorns are especially ferocious on 15 ad 16 for the long tees/baskets.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really thought the course design here was fun. If it weren't for the thorns, this course would probably be a 4.5, but going in to the thorn bushes even 2 or 3 times a round sucks the fun right out of it. After playing this course regularly for a couple seasons, I got tired of it, and started playing the other area courses to avoid the thorns. Print off the map for your first trip or two around this course. There are a couple of tricky navigation spots, particularly between 7 and 8 and then again between 16 and 17, as there is a decent length walk through a small valley and across a river to get between these holes. As a hiker, I never minded the walk, and even enjoyed it, but it is something that you should know about before playing your first round here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.