Maurertown, VA 
Signal View DGC Share
Uploaded By: esnyder22664 Hole #11 (Taken 6/2015)
4 / 302ft.   4 / 400ft.   4 / 542ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
First visit - well marked

1    2/10/2019   2/11/2019
Review By: psvines
Played: 28  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I stopped here while passing through the area, by myself on a cold February Sunday afternoon. Playing solo at a new course can often be a trying experience due to poor or missing signage. I was pleasantly surprised to not encounter any difficulties finding my way around the course. All 18 holes have tee box signs describing the hole, as well as an arrow to the next tee. Between the more difficult transitions there were additional signs on trees.
There is ample differences in the holes to require a variety of throws.
Three tee choices offer good options for various skill levels; I went with white due to first time on the course and no other eyes to help me search.
Cons: As others have noted, the par 2 designation is kind of goofy, so I simply played all holes as a par 3.
The tee signs noted 2 basket locations and on a couple of holes I had to walk towards the basket to determine where and what to throw. Not a big deal, I was alone and the only player on the course.
Other Thoughts: The second time through should be more enjoyable and relaxing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful course

1    10/28/2018   11/1/2018
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 215  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 27.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located just minutes off I-81 in a beautiful county park which seems much more remote than it is.

The course is on rolling grassy terrain that often uses the woody edges of the park for a more technical challenge. Overall the park is well maintained and this atmosphere is what make this so pleasant. The course plays about 2/3 as a more open course and 1/3 that is more woods based.

I must say there are a few interesting creative holes here, but the course suffers overall from a lack of pizzazz. I would say 11 is the closest to a signature hole as you'd find (a hole that starts open, bottlenecks about 300' out, then has a sloped grassy approach in a small pocket surrounded by trees).
Cons: Though the signage and baskets were top notch, the tee pads really were suffering. They are the rubber variety and are not laid on flat ground. They are wavy, rutted and outworn. If they are damp (like the day I played) they get really slippery. And if little bits of soil mix with the water they get dangerously slick. I chose to stand to the sides of the pads.

Another glaring issue is the assigned pars. Many are par 2's. I agree with other reviewers in the thought that it's crazy to have a fairly technical hole #4 be a par 2 when the previous (easier and shorter) holes 2 & 3 would be a more obvious choice for par 2. I felt robbed on hole 9, (a 275-ish foot hole) when I got my 2 and it felt like a birdy, but alas was not. I feel the par 2's should all be 3's personally. And if you are playing from the long blue tees, par 2's would be ridiculously hard.

Sadly, you complete the course with a string of 5 holes in which all are nearly wide open. Hole 14 is wide open uphill shot. hole 15 is a long uphill par 5 which is bordered by trees on the left and a barb wire cattle fence on the right. I swear my 1st three shots hit the base of that darn fence, but I kept thinking you cannot retrieve one that goes over! Anyway, that par 5 should be a 4 ( I had a tap in 5 after playing the hole with complete mediocrity. Hole 16 is bordered by the same fence. I feel that the hole would have had more interest if the tall grass on the left was OB, but it wasn't- so the peril of going OB right disappeared somewhat. The exception to this group is 17, which has an interesting pond which you can go over or around. But 18 is a slight downhill wide open shot with no trees or challenges to be found.
Other Thoughts: Please go to this park for the beauty and solitude and a fist full of neat holes and you will have a good time. I feel this course could be improved with some layout changes and addressing the par issues.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in the Area

5+    6/19/2018   6/19/2018
Review By: esnyder22664
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There is a little bit of everything - water, trees, elevation changes, long and short holes. The parks and rec department has done a lot of work on the course in the past year, and it looks great.
Cons: Holes 15 and 16 are lined by a barbed wire fence on the right hand side. If the cows are in the field, going out of bounds can get interesting.
Other Thoughts: I've played all of the courses within a two hour radius, and this one is by far my favorite. I've been playing it three or four days a week for the past seven years or so, and I still love it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Signals

1    6/11/2017   6/16/2017
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 325  Reviewed: 320  Exp: 15.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signal View is a course that has potential to be good. Judging by its lack of upkeep, I'm thinking the course isn't going to be consistently meeting its expectations.
- In a vacuum, I like most of the course's holes; its overall design, and the flow of the course throughout the park. In the grand scheme, the parts are greater than the sum, leading to some frustrations.
- The first 6 holes were a solid beginning to your round. #1 is a great warm-up hole: a 363-foot uphill layout that lets you stretch your arm right off the bat. Rough on the left, and some well-placed trees closer to the basket add in a little more challenge.
- Hole #4 is a fun downhill, wooded layout. #5 is a dogleg right that plays up a hill once you're around the bend. #6 is then another slight downhill that starts open and ends in the woods. Unfortunately, it's a while before you get another stretch of good holes.
- The front nine plays mostly in the woods. The back nine is mostly in the open. On a 90-degree summer day, I felt that stark contrast in the layout.
- Course does require players to pull out all the different shots, and discs, throughout the round. Based on the course design, you may only need a certain disc one time during your round, but you'll be glad it's in the bag when you need it.
- The course only plays 5432 feet from the white (normal) tees. I say only because the course feels much longer. Between the elevation variances, and some thick field grass that eliminates skip shots or rollers, it felt considerably longer than that.
- #17 is a fun shot simply because of the pond you must throw over or around. The last 5 holes are all open layouts. The pond is about the only thing that gives any of the closing holes any identity.
Cons: The course hasn't gotten a lot of attention and/or regular maintenance. That, or some holes are just poorly designed. I'm looking at #7 as the biggest culprit. The fairway is either designed to only be a couple feet wide, or the underbrush has grown up that there isn't a true landing area for tee shots. I guess it's good it only took me 5 minutes to find my disc 15 feet to the right of the 5-foot wide fairway.
- The baskets all have the incorrect numbers on them. Once you start playing, you figure it out. At first, I had to keep checking out my map to make sure I was on the correct hole/throwing to the correct basket.
- The grass in the open-field (mainly #15 - 18) is of the thick, heavy variety. Why's that matter? It means no skip shots; no rollers; no bounces. Once the disc hits the ground, it's stopped. Also, you'll feel it as you walk through the grass as you're taking bigger steps just to make your way through it.
- What is Par? Well, according to the designers, par is 2 on holes #4 & 9. #4 is a downhill, 239-footer; #9 is a slight uphill hole (either 309 feet according to this site or approx. 240 feet according to the tee sign). Why aren't #2 or 3 par 2s when both are shorter layouts? It's simply a gimmick and a bad attempt at one, at that.
- For a course that wasn't that long - average hole length 302 feet - there are a lot of blind tee shots. Just off the top of my head, I had to scout the basket on holes #3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12 & 13. If the fairways were in better shape, perhaps I'd be okay if my disc went off-line. Instead, this made for a very slow round.
Other Thoughts: This is another above average course along the northern Virginia I-81 corridor. For such a sparsely populated area, it's impressive how many courses are in this region. And they're all good to very good. The downside is that it's hard for the local disc golf clubs to keep up maintenance at these courses. That's evident at Signal View.
- The course has a couple of distinct feels throughout the round, based on terrain and typography. The first 8 holes are a typical wooded course. Holes #9 - 13 are slightly wooded with a different type of tree and look. #14 - 18 are your wide-open holes. By the time I'm trudging along on #16, the first couple holes were a distant memory.
- A simple way out breaking up the open holes? After hole #1, make the current #16 - 17 your next two holes, then begin your stretch in the woods. You'd then finish the course with only 3 open holes, breaking up the monotony. There would be almost no additional walking (if any) and it'd make for a better flow throughout.
- I thought #11 could be the course's signature hole. Signage is needed to know exactly where you're throwing as there seems to be several openings in the tree line, any of which could be the fairway. Either scout it first, or take your chances. Simple arrows could help improve the feel of this hole.
- Signal View seems a course that should be highly regarded. With a couple of workdays, lots of man hours and, ongoing attention, this is the makings of a 4.0 rated course. In its current makeup, it's far from that.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely start, lackluster finish

1    5/18/2017   6/4/2017
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 210  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The use of elevation is one of the positive attributes during the front half of Signal View. Hole #1 offers a nice warmup with a fairly open fairway that starts downhill and then proceeds uphill to the basket. Holes #4, #5 and #6 incorporate excellent elevation changes as well.

Several short tricky holes (such as #2, #3, #12 and #13) prioritize accuracy and will punish an errant shot.

Three different teepads for each hole provides a challenge suitable for the disc golfer's skill. While the rubber tees aren't completely level, the traction seemed pretty good. (However, the red teepads were much smaller than the white and blue teepads.)

The park was clean and the course appeared well maintained.
Cons: According to the PDGA, "designing par 2 holes is not recommended." This recommendation should have been heeded. Instead, Signal View features three holes listed as "par 2." In a previous review, Big Al suggests that the reason for the par 2 holes was so that the course could remain at a par of 54. If he's right (and evidence would suggest he is), this is a terrible reason. Hole #9 is the most ridiculous of the "par 2" holes, as the length and obstructing trees mean it's hardly a "gimme" hole. And after a long hike from Hole #8 that might take your breath away, arriving at Hole #9 and discovering that it is a "par 2" might lead to convulsions of horrified laughter.

The last four holes of the course are boring and disappointing. Not only are they wide open, but Holes #15 and #16 feature a barbed wire fence as a right-side border. Errant shots won't likely be retrieved. Plus, considering the length of Hole #15, it should be listed as a par 4, not a par 5.

Hole #14 is described as having a "mock water hazard," which is a fantastic example of egregious design and is the epitome of unnecessary gimmicks. Either dig a pond or leave the fake hazards to miniature golf.

While navigation wasn't too difficult (though I struggled to find the white teepad for Hole #6 as the sign is missing - the pad is past the corner of the fence on the hill), the course map sign may be difficult to follow. The course would benefit from a few "Next Tee" signs.
Other Thoughts: The current rating of Signal View is inflated due to its reputation as a nine-hole course. Doubling the number of holes appears to have made the course worse. The negatives of this course - par 2 holes, barbed wire fences and its lackluster finish - affect its rating.

However, there is some enjoyable disc golf at Signal View. The first 13 holes provide quality challenges and good diversity with solid use of elevation.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Definition of Solid

1    4/29/2016   5/17/2016
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 161  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signal View is the definition of a solid course, having an appeal for many different players. This is a well maintained, scenic park located in close proximity to multiple main highways. The course loops around the park and does a nice job of taking you in and out of the woods throughout the course. This is the best attribute of the course, as it offers the chance to let you play through many different settings. There is a pretty even mix of open, moderately wooded, and tight holes so the course satisfies most preferences of hole types. You will get plenty of chances to open up with your high speed drivers and to throw stand-still drives on short, very tight holes.

This would be a good course to take beginners to. The three tees do a nice job of changing up the look of a hole and the shot selection, accommodating all players. The blue tees are challenging while the reds are pretty straight-forward. They wouldn't be too frustrating for new players, but the good variety of woodenness would allow them to learn different types of shots.

Elevation - while not significant - is incorporated well. Rolling hills are in a few places as well as a few downhill shots.

Navigation was very straight forward. I never had any trouble and the 'next tee' signs were helpful.

Highlights for me were holes 4 and 17. 4 is a fun downhill shot to a blind pin in the woods, while 17 gives you the only water shot on the course with its basket right on the edge of a pond. It is a very well done pond shot.
Cons: There's not a whole lot of glaring cons here, but a few flaws nonetheless.

On the par 2's, I wouldn't necessarily mind them if they made sense, but how is hole 3 a par 3 and hole 4 a par 2? It makes no sense, as 4 is nearly twice as long and hard as 3, and it seemed like their main aim was to make sure the course had a par of 54. The other par 2's seemed random as well. Nothing that should affect the enjoyment of your round, but it just seems odd.

Although I liked 17, the course finished up with basically four straight wide open holes (minus a tree here and there). Kind of a letdown to close out the course.

And while there were a few interesting holes, nothing got me really excited here. Even the wooded holes were a little bland (minus 4) and there was pretty thick rough bordering the tight fairways.

The rubber tees were uneven at times.

Barbed wire is on the edge of some fairways (holes 9, 15, and 16) so discs will most likely be lost on bad shots.
Other Thoughts: Signal View has been on my radar since it was the top ranked 9-holer. It really is a picture of a "solid" course, not having too many significant cons but also not offering any real amazing qualities. It does a great job of offering different settings to play through and it suites players of many different levels. The mountainous backdrop behind the cow pastures give the park a peaceful setting, one I wouldn't mind playing at regularly. Definitely worth hitting up in an area that is growing in its quality of courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    3/8/2016   3/8/2016
Review By: smoovetosser
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good signs easy to spot the next hole, great maintenece good placement of tees and baskets with multiple tee options. Good use of park terrain. Combination of wooded and open holes with varying distances and right and left turning holes.
Cons: Lots of pedestrian traffic but manageable. Also a couple of par 2 holes which is unusual.
Other Thoughts: Would love to play this course again really enjoyed it. Great course to play if you driving 81 and need a break.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good, but 3 Par 2s?!

2-4    12/12/2015   12/13/2015
Review By: cecilthelionfan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great mix of elevation and open/wooded holes!
- Good rubber tees.
- Signage was decent, but probably could be better.
- Thorns and rough seemed to be in pretty good shape.
** Favorite Hole - #6 - I loved the tee shot.

Cons: - Par 2s! I know there is a debate about whether 2s work or not, but you can put me down for not.
- Barbed wire fencing on a couple holes.
- A couple holes seemed to be missing signs.
Other Thoughts: With the exception of the Par 2s, I really did enjoy this course. The setting is very nice, and for a Saturday the park did not seem too crowded. I will definitely try to make my way back in the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Signaling Views of the Great Shenondoah Valley!

1    5/2/2015   5/4/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 219  Reviewed: 196  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 rubber tees with red, white and blue tees and single Discatcher baskets and typically 2 pin placements. Good variety of mostly open and wooded holes and great use of the rolling elevation, pond, OB and natural features. Navigation was fairly easy and signage good. Bathrooms by ball fields. Close proximity to Interstate 81 and Route 66.
Cons: Basically one big loop of 18 holes. A little bit of hike between hole 8 and 9. Barbed wire fences on the boundary. Red tees are basically natural, very short rubber. Couple holes were missing tee signs. Decent chance of losing discs in the OB and pond. I donated a brand new Starlite Boss to the cows on hole 15 after it flipped and never came back inbound, eat more chicken - mooo.

Holes 2 and 3 are not really golf shots IMO, these are very short hard turning tight tunnels with nasty rough. The Blue tees on holes 7 and 8 were a bit unfair and not really much fun to play. Hole 6 plays a little close to the playground. Could use some more benches at the tees.
Other Thoughts: Signal View DGC is set in the Shenondoah County Park on a Great Shenondoah Valley ridge top with gorgeous sweeping panoramic vistas of the Blue Ridge Mountains to the east and the Ridge-and-Valley Appalachians to the west. A vast rolling cow pasture provides an OB boarder along the entire east side of the course.

The course starts out with beautiful hole 1, mostly open with a gap to hit and the tall pines protecting the basket. Holes 2 and 3 were a bit disappointing after that start. I really enjoyed holes 4, 5, 6, and 7. Hole 8 from the Blue tee was a bit ridiculous, but otherwise a decent hole. Then you walk the ball field to splendid and slightly elevated hole 9. The rest of the holes are all solid with a couple legit par 4s and a par 5 on 15. Hole 13 is the only suspect hole on the back half and it's listed as a par 2! From the Blue tee you play to the basket in the blind and have to go over the pines for the ace or par 2, otherwise you pitch to the shorter tees and play from there for a bogey 3 or throw in par 2. Hole 17 is probably the signature hole playing over the pond on top the ridge. Hole 18 ends the course with a nice open and slightly elevated bomb back to the parking lot.

Overall Signal View is a very good course and well suited for players of all skill level. It's not a must play as it has some flaws, but you will not likely be disappointed playing here and will find some very nice golf shots along with some spectacular views!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Now 18 Holes

1    10/19/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: HawaiiJack
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety. Great scenery.
Cons: Rubber mats for tees, and the Red tees have only mini mats.. Long walks between some holes.
Other Thoughts: This course recently expanded from 9 to 18 holes. The 9 hole course was championship quality and several original holes remain. The new layout shows a lot of imagination. Every hole has Blue, White, and Red tees and 2 basket positions but only one set of baskets. There is a mix of open and woods with dense
briars. There is a large sign with the new course layout and scorecards near the parking area. The course map on the scorecard is really too tiny to be useful but there is adequate on-course signage with nice tee maps and helpful Next Tee signs. Nice use is made of the rolling terrain and conflict is avoided with other users of this narrow multi-purpose park.

A staggering range of skill testing is available with the widely spaced multiple tees plus alternate pin placements and beginners to pros can find satisfaction and challenge. Some holes on the back nine seemed a little dull after surviving the narrow wooded sections but I assume summer rough and frequent winds
on this ridge will bolster the course's defenses. #17 makes for a nice signature hole and winds will ask questions of every thrower regarding laying up before the water hazard, taking a route around it, or going for it. I have a feeling there are going to be a lot of wrong answers. There is a cover photo for all time waiting if a talented photographer can catch a disc in flight amid rising waterfowl with the basket and the stunning ridge beyond as the backdrop.

The most controversial feature of the expansion will no doubt be the creation of several par two holes. I suspect the legitimacy of a hole which is an ace run from Red tee to near pin and nigh unreachable from Blue tee to far pin being an across the spectrum par two will be questioned, as well as should par twos exist in disc golf?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.