Atchison, KS 
Jackson Park - 18 Share
Uploaded By: jace Hole #1 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0


11/22/17: New pin placements on a few holes and a new permanent hole North of hole 7. New long tee pad for hole 5 as well." />
Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Wooded and Hilly Course with a Variety of Shots

5+    8/18/2018   8/28/2018
Review By: krieger41
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of various shot types. Right to left shots, tunnel shots, left to right shots, some OB and Mandos (if playing fairly seriously), uphill, downhill, across valleys, and some Ace run potential.

-Excellent course to learn how to hit lines. If you can hit your lines here, you can score well. If you are off, then the birdies will be few.

-There are several holes that are good beginner holes. Holes 2, 3, 6, 7, and 12/16 (in the short positions) are very manageable distance for beginners, but still have some skill required to get a birdie.

-There have been some recent updates to some of the course. 8's tee pad has some new landscaping that lets you use the full tee pad; There is a new tee pad for the extra hole between 7 and 17 (called 7A) and a new, longer tee position for hole 5.
Cons: -Like most wooded courses, if you get off of the fairway/main route, it can get pretty dicey. There are some decently thick woods around the majority of the course, and if you're playing during the time of year where everything is nice and green, finding a stray disc can be an unwanted adventure. Also, summer=bugs.

-Most holes only have 1 tee pad and 1 basket location. And those that do have more than 1 basket location, the tee signs are not updated to show both spots.

-A majority of the tee pads (except for the two new ones) are not very long, so if you like to get a big run up, it can be tricky. 10 and 12's tee's have a slight drop off from the back part of the tee to the ground, so trying a longer run up on them requires a step-up.

-If you are a fan of flat, wide open courses where you can grip it and rip it, you may not like this course as much. There are only a handful of tee shots where you can really let loose (10, 11, 12 in the long position, 15, 17, and 18. However, you still have to hit a line on most of those holes, so be cautious. Also, on a hot, humid day, walking that hilly terrain can wear you down if you're not ready for it.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course has a lot of good things going for it. Atchison is about an hour or less from the Kansas City Metro, so other quality courses aren't terribly far away. This course has hosted some B/C Tier tournaments, but probably doesn't have the overall distance to host larger, A Tier ones.

This is the course I learned how to play on, and is about 5-6 minutes from my house. The city keeps the grassy areas mowed fairly regularly, so the course usually looks pretty nice. There are a decent amount of fun shots to make me want to come back for more.

I would say improvements could be made by updating the signs, replacing the short tee pads with some longer ones, and putting in a few accessories near some more holes (trash cans, benches, etc.).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Park Course

5+    7/21/2018   7/29/2018
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 104  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation 10/10. This course is situated on the bluffs over the river and there are a lot of pretty steep elevation changes. The holes have great variety with the elevation as well, and a lot of them aren't just up/down/side, but have more complex terrain.
Use of obstacles 10/10. This course does a great job of using the mix of wooded areas and isolated mature trees, along with some roads for OB risk.
Decisionmaking 10/10. With all of the mature trees, there are a lot of potential lines to throw and this course will really make you think about your shot
Course maintenance 9/10. Grass has always been well mowed, course in good condition. The only knock I have is there was a fallen tree for quite awhile that was in the fairway for hole 7. It has since been cleared along with some brush on 17
Navigation 9/10. Course layout is mostly intuitive with signs pointing to the next hole in tricky spots. You can see the basket from the tee on most holes and there are serviceable tee signs
Disc finding 9/10. The woods can be thick in a couple spots, especially hole 8 where it is hard to stay out of them, but for the most part discs are easy to find.
Comfort 8/10. Grass is short, lots of shade from mature trees. Restrooms and water available at start of course. Could use a couple more benches or a place for water in the middle
Tees/Baskets 8/10. The tee pads feel a little small on the longer holes but they're good quality. Baskets are solid
Variety of shot paths 8/10. You'll have to be able to throw a bunch of different shot paths to do well on this course. Holes 3, 6, 10, and 17 require right to left, 7, 9, 13, and 15 require left to right, and 1, 4, 8 require you to throw something straight.
Variety of distance 7/10. There is pretty good variety of distance. The front nine is mainly short with a couple longer holes, and the back 9 is the opposite. Could use a couple of bomber holes.
Challenging all levels 7/10. The front 9 will be on the easy side for experienced players, but they should find the back more challenging. The first time I played this course I was definitely a beginner and I wasn't frustrated at any point. There are two holes with alternate tees to help here (5 and 18).
Variety of openness 7/10. Most of the holes are what I would classify as "moderately wooded". There are a couple more open (2, 5, 9, 18) and a couple that are more technical (1, 8, and 14).
Cons: Alternate hole positions 1/10. I don't play this course a ton, but I have only seen alternate positions on holes 10 and 12, and I'm not convinced that they aren't just changed. I'll give it 1/10 for the benefit of the doubt there. There isn't a ton of extra room but a lot of holes could have some pretty cool alternate positions.
Other Thoughts: Overall challenge 7/10. The primary challenge this course presents is forcing you to carve a variety of shots through the hills.
I really have a hard time finding anything bad to say about this course. It's not like it's world class, and there are certainly things that could be better, but it is a solid park setting course and I'm surprised it isn't busier. I head up to Atchison for the Amelia Earhart festival at the end of July every year and I always make sure to play this course while I'm there. The 9 hole in the back of the park is a good warm-up as well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun Runs at Jackson

2-4    9/24/2017   9/24/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 410  Reviewed: 291  Exp: 15.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think Jackson Park offers a lot if you want a course that rewards and encourages fundamentally sound disc golf shots. It isn't a championship layout, but has plenty of elevation change, and enough trees to create a need for controlled flight. There is also limited heavy rough, a few mandos, and a very tall basket on 12.

The concrete tees at each hole have wooden headers with the distance to the pin routed in them, as well as signs with rudimentary illustrations. The baskets are nice Mach V models. The park is well maintained, not crowded, and has another 9 hole course on the opposite end.

Many of the holes are short enough to reach from the tee, and birdie putts can be numerous. Vertical rise and fall, mature trees and some brushy rough, and possibly wind is all that stands in your way. Even the two par 4's are not to long to get under par.

Hole 1 and 2 are both short, fun downhill runs that can be reached with a putter or midrange disc. The basket on 2 is backed by the road that winds through the park, and poses an OB challenge if you're scoring strictly. 4 plays through a tricky tunnel, across a couple of bridges with plenty of branches in play. 6 is another shorter hole, that is pretty steep downhill, and has a basket protected by trees. 7 offers a nice left to right, downhill and is good practice for a RHFH drive. 8 is the first par four and the longest hole, above the walking path and slightly downhill.

The back 9 begins with the other par 4, on the side of a grassy hill weaving between large trees. 12 is not long but the pin is planted atop a stump, a raised target that adds interest. 13 is a longish, slightly downhill drive with interesting contours. 14 may be my favorite hole. It is a large drop in elevation, and has a pretty long drive through a nice hyzer RHBH window. Don't miss to the right of the road, it drops off steeply into heavy woods. 18 is a decent finisher, where you can mostly grip it and rip it. Not totally flat, and not totally open, but lots of open air and within range of a driver.
Cons: The layout is kind of condensed. Roads, walking trails, and other holes can be nearby in the peripheral. Sidewalks on 8 and 9 are right in the line. A couple of picnic tables are also near fairways.

Signs do a decent job guiding through hole transitions, but you may want to snap a pic of the map if you aren't familiar with the layout.

Some sign maps are kind of vague, and the distance seems questionable on a couple of holes as well. Tees are not huge, but most of the holes are not long enough to require a big run up. Wind can be stiff, and add some degree of difficulty.
Other Thoughts: After getting familiar with the course, I shot a 51, bogey free. The chance to shoot under 50 is not unrealistic. I live about and hour away, and will definitely return to play this one now and again.

While Jackson park is not a disc golf wonderland, it has a lot fun holes with good variety. It is a bit confined on a few holes, but the park doesn't seem to have enough traffic most of the time to make the layout a problem.

With another 9 hole course on the premises, that is of similar quality, I would say most players would find it worthwhile to make the trip. Professionals will likely find it to be easy, but good opportunities to practice different throws for the rest of us, while still enjoying the round. Kind of reminds me of Rosedale Down Under in Overland Park, with more grassy park than brushy rough.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Hilly and Slightly Technical Course

5+    6/20/2017   6/20/2017
Review By: tackettbr
Played: 157  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good Variety of L->R and R->L, elevation, trees
- Great scenery and use of property
- Signs at each tee
- Multiple basket position on most holes
- Local parks department involved in park up keep, mowed frequently
- Bathrooms and pinic/playground area near by
- bag hooks
-trash and recycling on the front 6
Cons: - short Tee pads, < 12 feet
- sings at tee only show 1 tee position and distance
- Few trash cans back 9
- Only one true par 4s
- Only 1-2 wide open drives
Other Thoughts: Great elevation and variety for a small down course. Some describe it as a mini waterworks with elevation. I would agree and say it adds some more technical shots with the density of trees. This is my home course over the last year. Great course for me to run for speed disc golf. Good variety of shoots. Worth coming up from KC to play the 18 and 9 hole course on the same property.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Where's the fairway?

1    5/8/2017   5/8/2017
Review By: paulbmann
Played: 67  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 28.6 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. Holes 1, 5, 18 are good. 18 is my favorite. Restrooms available. Nice pavilion on the hill. Good parking.
Cons: Not many fairways. Trees and hills, but not much sense of fairways here. Tall grass, thick leaves, short teepads, lack of benches. Mando trees in the wrong places. Road in the middle of a fairway on three holes. Thick woods and tall grass where you cannot find your disc.
Other Thoughts: The design suffers from a lack of knowledge of how discs fly because of the random location of trees between the teepad and the basket. However, some people like this. I don't.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Jackson Park

5+    3/2/2016   3/10/2016
Review By: derek1018
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful park and great for kids with a nice playground
Family pavilion
Concrete tee pads
Ace and birdie potential on holes 1-7 &9
Cons: Very short and boring front 9 except holes 4&8
No benches or trash cans
Lots of poison ivy
Back 9 signage difficult to navigate esp finding hole 10
Distance and lines aren't correct on the back 9 signage
Mostly throwing blind shots on the back 9, hard to find discs with leaves all over

Other Thoughts: There's a lot of posion ivy throughout the course so be careful if you lose a disc in the woods or thick brush. This course will be difficult to navigate for someone new to the park.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/6/2014   9/6/2014
Review By: hnosaj
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, good signage, mix of short and long with plenty of hills and trees. Directions to the next hole when its not obvious.
Cons: A little rough on the back 9, fairways were nonexistent, tee pads are a little short, no benches or trashcans.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 TEE PADS ARE IN

1    7/28/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Loomis
Played: 519  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The tee pads on the front 18 are in. The first half of the course is short with the back 9 a little bit longer.
Cons: It's still pretty short. The course could use some retooling but it's a great course and could be an amazing course.
Other Thoughts: I still think the Kansas State Championships should be held here.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Always want to return!

5+    5/4/2014   5/11/2014
Review By: Robust
Played: 92  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 39.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting is a beautifully maintained small town city park on very hilly ground verging on the big valley of the Missouri River.
SITE/TERRAIN:
Quality of Land- 30/30 see description above.
Scenic Beauty- 20/30
Cleanliness- 15/15
COURSE DESIGN:
Variety- 25/30 Long/short, mostly technical, right/left. Only a few big open shots.
Obstacles/Shot Shaping- 30/30 Cool and challenging shots all over this course.
Decision-making/Risk-Reward- 20/30 Not a lot of route options on most holes, but disc and throw choices are tricky. Anhyzer or flick, overhand or not?
Signature holes- 30/30 Course is chock-full of interesting and fun holes. Hole 4: Through a gap in the foliage over a wooden bridge across some open ground with woods all along the right and over a row of tall brush to the pin. About 260 ft. so most experienced players can drive to the pin. No room for error, though. Hole 7: Short slight right shot to well-protected pin across small wooded draw. Harder than it looks. Hole 8: Most notorious hole on the course. 514 ft. down a narrow valley with steeply wooded slopes on both sides. Ribbon of concrete road snakes through. Locals play it all in bounds, which seems reasonable to me. See the photo in the slide show. Holes 13, 14: Both play from a hilltop across a valley to another hilltop with a landing zone dangerously close to a roll that will take you OB. Controlled shot-shaping will produce a bird. A blown shot might mean bogey. Hole 17: Sweet long gentle left-turning shot that follows the park road along a big curve. Heavy woods force you to follow the road. Stay low or you are in the trees. Throw the turn or you are over the road and OB. There is an 8' wide patch of lilies that parallels the road along the entire length of this hole. Very cool to play when they bloom. Hole 18: Long open shot across a large mowed fairway with the right edge defined by the left-turning sweep of the park road on the high ground. The left side of the fairway is probably 60 feet lower than the road. It's like playing inside a giant salad bowl.
Skill levels- 25/30 Probably a tough course for a novice but enough technical difficulty to challenge and entertain the seasoned player.
COURSE AMENITIES:
Baskets- 25/25 In good repair, properly installed, all there.
Signage- 10/15 not great but sufficient. Distances often wrong.
Tee pads: 20/30 New concrete pads this year. Sadly, too short.
COMFORT/CONVENIENCE:
Restrooms- 10/10 Seasonal, maintained by park.
Drinking Water- 10/10 Safe and drinkable, seasonal.
Course Navigation- 20/20 Relatively easy to navigate, map online at this website.
COURSE MAINTENANCE:
Grass and Brush- 40/50 Course is well maintained by the city of Atchison. Sometimes the grass gets a little long, particularly in the spring.
FUN FACTOR: 40/50 Subjective opinion of the reviewer. I love to play this course and can't wait to get back.
Cons: SITE/TERRAIN:
Dedicated use- 10/25 Course is in close proximity to picnic areas, trails and roads. Has not been a problem for me, so far. But, on a busy day this could be some trouble.
COURSE DESIGN:
Multiple Baskets/Tees: 0/30 As of this writing, I am unaware of alternate pin positions or secondary tee pads. Might be a bit boring if you are able to play the course regularly.
COURSE AMENITIES:
Benches- 0/5 There are no benches as of this writing.
Trash Cans- 0/5 Trash cans are scarce, particularly on the back 9 away from the picnic areas. Please be respectful and pack your trash out.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course gets 380/500 by my rating system. The website does not allow a 3.75 rating in a review, so I have to choose between 3.5 (very good) and 4.0 (excellent). I'm rounding up and giving it a 4.0.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and fun

5+    4/22/2014   4/25/2014
Review By: DamonMorgan
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful trees and maintained grass
Open fairways on most of the course
Plenty of trash cans on the front 9
I like the bag holding hooks at each pad
Cons: Short tee pads
Overgrown brush
Difficult to read the signs
The signs are also marked with high pars (hole 10 says par 6)
Needs more trash cans on back 9
Needs benches throughout course
Need stairs between hole 10 pin and hole 11 tee pad
Other Thoughts: League nights are Tuesday at 6pm

There is a really fun 9 hole course in the same park!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.