Madisonville, KY 
Madisonville City Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11 (Taken 12/2016)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
A Pleasant Stroll Through A Graceful Park

1    7/4/2018   9/12/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 310  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.294 Rating) A beautiful medium length city park course with a few moderately wooded holes.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - I smiled the whole time. Several holes have either plays or views toward the lake. The picturesque interactions between this lake edge, the rolling landscape and the older pines are delightful. It very much reminded me of Taylor Lake in Largo FL, an old favorite of mine. The setting at Madisonville is even better though, because there aren't eight foot gators lurking in the weeds. The holes away from the lake are generally nicer looking as well. There are a lot of eye pleasing valley shots between holes (9) and (15).
- CHALLENGING - With a correction in par structure to current PDGA guidelines, this course would read as an Intermediate level course. There are several par 4s on Madisonville that would be par 3s on a newly built course. For example, hole (5) is a lightly wooded 365 footer. Hole (14) is a 400 foot RHBH hyzerbomb, which unfortunately is something I only see others do. On the flipside, there are some challenging legit par 4s holes out here. Hole (10) is a test of length and placement off the tee, and then threading the needle on the approach with a dogleg play to the right. Only three birdies have been recorded on this hole on DGCR out of 77 rounds.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This course manages to find the perfect middle ground between too easy and too hard. The one set of tees will work good for 800s thru 935 rated players which is a vast majority of the day to day players.
- CHARACTER - The basics are done well and there are a few other nice extras. First off, nearby tee (1) is a nice looking course map and practice basket. The tee signage is the typical HB Clark style and they are still in great condition after 10 plus years. The tees were all in great condition and were a healthy 5 feet by 12 feet in length. The baskets are DISCatchers, all of which were in great condition on my visit. There is also good tee shading, shelters with picnic tables and restrooms. Missing items are alternate tees, only holes (7) and (8) have multiple tees. There is also a lack of seating at the tees, see cons.
- NAVIGATION - Adequate with the hole signage and course map. Roughly two thirds of the next tee signs can be spotted from the preceding basket. I do however recommend having a printed map otherwise players will find themselves pulling up picture of it on their phone multiple times. There are zero navigational cues on the layout. Tee signs don't even show next tee direction.
- UNIQUENESS - The hole variety is indeed above average, however when I compare it to other courses I've rated 3.5 or above, it would fall below average among those courses. There are lots of moderate and mild elevation changes in the 20 to 30 foot range. There seems to be an overabundance of valley plays. Water comes into play on four holes and its always on the left. Basket guarding is light, but there are a few tight tree gaps to split. The diversity in shot shaping however is what's lacking the most. Most of the holes are lightly wooded and a couple are completely open. There's only one dogleg hole and there are no well-defined tunnel plays. There are ten listed par 4s, but only a handful are legit.
- MAINTENANCE - A well maintained city park course. The grass in one section in the park was maybe 6 inches high, so I'm going to assume that they mow alternating sections by-weekly.

Cons: A solid course with few issues.
- LACK OF SEATING - A course this established, this hilly and this nice, needs more seating. Not everyone has a Zuca. I only recall 2 benches on the entire layout.
- SAFETY HAZARDS - Hole (1) plays down a park road where I had to wait for a couple cars. Tee (16) plays really close to a pavilion and so I abbreviated my throw with people nearby. Hole (18) plays along a major walking path. A few other holes also have small walking paths in play.
- WATER HAZARDS - Four holes have the potential to take plastic. I personally chickened out on (8) and went straight to the drop zone. Upon checking Google Maps post round, it's a 320 foot water clear. Hole (7) is a wonderful and terrifying play with water along the entire left side. Hole (16) is similar, but it has more room to work with. Holes (7) and (8) both have drop zone tees to mitigate some of the hazard risk for those not ready for that level of challenge.
- TERRAIN - There's a lot of moderate elevation change that could be an issue for those that struggle with inclines and declines.
- SPACING - Several fairways edges are shared. Holes (3), (8), (9) and (15) all parallel each other. I was arguably in another fairway 3 times on my round. Not the worst spacing by any means, but players need to be cognizant of other disc golfers on occasion.
- TIME PLAY - At 7,295 feet, Madisonville is going to take a bit longer than the average 18 holer. I personally finished solo in 90 minutes. A foursome will likely finish in about 2 1/2 to 3 hours.

Other Thoughts: I very much enjoyed this course. It offers just about everything I enjoy about disc golf. Most regions I've been to would be pleased to have a course of this caliber in their town. Despite the new exotic thriller next door at Mahr Park, I'd being willing to bet that this course gets more daily play. These two courses in town makes Madisonville a great day trip destination.
- PERSONAL NOTE - I know this comes off as bragging, but I threw in a 250 foot shot on (13) for an eagle 2. I had a poor 210 foot drive and just quickly picked the same disc up and threw it. Center chain smash. It was my highlight of the day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bridges of Madisonville City

1    4/11/2018   5/15/2018
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 215  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 single concrete tees with tee sign and single position Discatcher baskets playing through a pretty city park setting with some gentle elevation changes, some open spaces with large mature trees, and a lake.

Nicely maintained course with no rough to lose a disc in. Good course to watch your discs fly. Restrooms and other city park amenities. Park open until 10pm.
Cons: Only one set of tees and basket position set for intermediate to advanced level players, however the Champ and Rec courses are just down the street. Not much variety in line shaping and distance, really only need to bring a driver and putter to score well.

High potential for interference with other park users, I had to skip hole 2 due to other parkers playing in the fairways, and there were a couple holes I had to wait for walkers to clear out the way.

Took me awhile to find hole 1. Some potential to lose a disc in the lake on a couple holes, especially hole 8. The alternate tee pad for hole 8 is in the fairway of hole 3. Only one loop of 18 holes back to hole 1. Can be a bit muddy in the lower laying areas of the course.
Other Thoughts: Madisonville City Park is an above average intermediate to advanced level disc golf course. It might be a bit long and intimidating for rank beginners, while for the pros it might be a little repetitive and easy although a relaxing break from the Mahr Champ course. The good thing is that this course pretty much fills the gap between the Champ and Rec courses down the street at Mahr Park.

I really enjoyed holes 3-8, 10-13 where most of the wooded holes are, and also enjoyed the par 4 hole 16 by the lake.

This is probably the most popular disc golf course in the area for the local players. For the traveling players like myself it's not a destination course like Mahr Champ, but it's a good course I'd recommend playing if you happen to be in the area. I also highly recommend Brother's BBQ for a good quick eat in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Marvelousville

1    8/16/2016   8/24/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 410  Reviewed: 289  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Madisonville City Park is a very cool course. It is set in a great park with a lake at the center, gently rolling grassy hills, and a good amount of nice old trees. All of the equipment is nice, the layout is easy to follow, and most of the holes are really fun. Starts a little slow, but after you finish the first hole and cross the road it gets better in a hurry. Hole 3 is a where it starts getting interesting. The length is extended and the pin location is hidden on the opposite side of the next hill. 8 plays over the water if you have the confidence in your arm to use the long tee. I really liked the three hole run on 12 through 14 that have the most elevation change and a few more trees. There is not a a lot of heavy rough that will eat discs, and the holes that play close to water do have alternate tees to make them less risky.
Cons: Not a super technical course. High level players will probably tear this one up. A couple spots where you might need to wait on traffic, other park users or other players.
Other Thoughts: I liked this one a lot. Easy enough to play a quick round, fun without major frustration. Only played one time, shot a 62 (-2). Ten par 4 holes and 8 par 3's, could be slightly over parred. I will gladly take it though, felt good to get a round in the red on a trip full of courses that were mostly kicking my butt. Check this one out if you're in the area and have time. I bet you will be glad you did.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 SO SOLID

5+    5/21/2016   5/23/2016
Review By: SMontgomery
Played: 49  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Variety of shots, beautifully manicured, good flow...overall great great great course.
Cons: Park can be busy with picnics and other events.
Other Thoughts: Can be tough to find the first time. Worth a stop on your way through...even after Mahr opens officially.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/25/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: AdamE
Played: 262  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 15 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Madisonville City Park is a beautiful park with rolling hills and a lake. The course plays around most of the lake and there are good views throughout the round. There is no rough here, just mature trees so there's no problem with loosing a disc (unless you throw one in the water). Navigation is pretty good, there were a few places I had to stop and look around but overall it was fine. There are big concrete tees and Discatcher baskets with yellow bands making it easy to locate the baskets. The course has moderate elevation changes on some of the holes and the tall, mature trees are fun to throw around.

Two of the four water holes have alternate tees to make them friendly to beginners. Hole 7 is a fun 610' par 4 teeing off right next to the lake and forcing a water carry, it's easy to play it very safe or as dangerous as you want, and the basket is just 40' from lake. Hole 8 is another forced water carry about 350'. Both these holes have alt tees which take away the water carry and make them more approachable to players who might not have the control or distance.
Cons: The course is mostly open. Not that there aren't some places to get in trouble, but overall the course is open with only a few mature trees to beat so poorly thrown shots are rarely punished unless it's on one of the 4 water holes.

The shot selection is poor here. There is only one hole that forces a turnover shot for a RHBH players.

There is not a good variety of distances here. Only 2 holes under 300ft and only 5 under 350 make this a pretty open grip and rip course.

The alt tee on 8 to avoid the water carry is in 3's fairway making it a little dangerous. 16's tee seems a bit close to the restroom and could bring it into play with an errant shot.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing here and would certainly play here more if I lived closer. If you're in the area you should definitely stop here for a round.

Weigh all the pro's and con's and this is a beautiful, above average course on the cusp of being excellent, but IMHO the openness and lack of variety in shot selection and hole length hold it back from getting a 4.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tournament Worthy

1    3/30/2014   3/30/2014
Review By: goosefraba1
Played: 69  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm just going to freeform this one. When I pulled into this park, I couldn't help but notice the beauty of the surroundings. In way of beauty, this course has it all. Mature trees. Check. Lake. Check. Rolling greens. Check. Just a course full of eye candy. Without detailing every hole, here are some things that I noticed. This course gives you plenty of room to air some shots out. Some of the shots are Memorial-esque.... like hole 7 or 8 where you cross water and then have a low ceiling shot. Great hole. Speaking of which, the short pads on 7 and 8 are pretty awesome. Love how this course plays over some steady elevation change. This course is the type of course that is just begging for an A tier tournament.
Cons: I still feel as if there is room for improvement here. Many of the baskets could just be moved 10 feet or so in order to make a more challenging green. My biggest concern is the 3 pads fiasco beside the playground.... with trees right beside the pads. That is just asking for the course to get pulled. It is all fun and games until a kid takes a 175g disc travelling at 35mph to the throat. Hole 9 plays downhill and then backup, but there is no way to get to the basket because there is a branch blocking the shot. Just little things like that. 11 through 14 are monotonous back and forth down the hill.
Other Thoughts: Overall, great course. Plenty of challenge here. I feel like this course could have been made even better if there was just length added for length's sake in places. The land given allows for a blue level course.... I feel like this is a blue level course that tries to reach too far.. making several tweener holes. Would be interested in seeing the alternates and how that would change the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Date: 3/31/2014 Designer Response by: HB553
A tier scheduled for May 17-18, 2014 with 9 extra holes added.

 Grip It and Rip It

5+    4/8/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 49  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. The park itself was very nice
2. The course is laid out well. I played here again yesterday and there were around 400-500 people in the park and we still didn't have much of problem with our round.
3. The signs are helpful
4. The concrete pads are in good shape and allow for a long run up.
5. I absolutely love that fact that on several holes you can just let it fly. Holes 2,3,8,10 and 16!
6. There are some shorter, more technical holes that require fade and turn-over shots.
7. I like the fact that there are two tee boxes on 7 and 8. Both long pads bring the water into play, while the short tees allow the water to be more easily avoided.
8. Lots of mature trees on this course. Many are in play, and while others can be used as shade during the summer months.
9. Baskets are in fine shape.
10. I have only played this game for 6 months, but I found the course VERY playable!
Cons: I have played this course a number of times and the only drawback to me is a drainage issue on some of the holes near the pond. Honestly, I am nit-picking.
Other Thoughts: This course suits my eye and my game. I would play here ANYTIME!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Madness at Madisonville

1    1/18/2013   2/19/2013
Review By: harr0140
Played: 1023  Reviewed: 480  Exp: 9.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Excellent challenge on this course. There is all sorts of trouble out there to get you. It is not an easy course for anyone, even the pros would be challenged.
2) Nice concrete tees are available on this course. It is a good thing because when I played the course had just received a fair amount of rain/snow melt.
3) Discatchers are in decent condition.
4) Arrows underneath the baskets really help with navigation.
5) Tee signs have Hole #, Distance, Par, and a Map.
6) Golf clubhouse has some discs and bags and such for sale. The lady behind the counter said they loved having disc golf and are excited about their large tournament every year.
7) Typically park-like courses are not my favorite, but there is enough other challenge and beauty here to keep my interest.
8) Very large and mature trees on this property. The lady in the clubhouse said it used to have a lot more mature trees but a storm had come through and taken a lot of big trees out. What a shame!
9) Alternate tees are available on the water holes which makes the course more beginner friendly.
10) The course seemed to be well taken care of. The turf was in good shape, the leaves had all virtually been removed from the turf areas which really helps keep the turf healthy.
11) Distance variation is huge ranging from the 200's to 600's with everything in between. I love it when courses have a huge variety of shots because it makes for a ton of interesting throws. You need big drives, placement drives, upshots, recovery shots, layups, and putts. It makes for a complete experience.
12) Very nice map and kiosk area at the first tee. The whole area is surrounded with mulch which just makes perfect sense. They knew it would all become compacted and the turf would die so they put mulch down to make it look nicer.
13) Signs are located on top of 4x4 posts which also have a number on all 4 sides which helps navigation.
14) Rolling elevation changes on this course make for a really scenic and pretty course.
15) I love a course where I can throw in the air and on the ground. While a roller shot is not essential for a good experience, I sure do enjoy throwing that shot. I think I threw a handful of these on this round.
16) Practice Basket is available near the first hole.
17) Hole #8 is the ultimate in risk/reward holes. It has a shot straight at the basket but is about 95% water carry and over 350' to carry, or you can throw out to the right with 150' carry and a bail out area to the right. Then you will have another 150-200' approach over another small water area. This is a very unique hole layout that creates some score separation for sure.
Cons: 1) The road and also a couple sidewalks are not super close, but could be considered in harms way depending on who is playing.
2) Lacks the ultra tight wooded holes I love to play. It is simply not a feature available in this park. I cannot blame the designer, but it is something I like to see on every course because I feel it is an integral part of our sport.
3) I do not remember many benches on this course.
4) One place I can remember being somewhat dangerous. The bathroom (I think) next to the playground by Hole #3/4 15/16 was definitely in the way on one of the drives.
5) I am pretty sure at some times in the year, there will likely be a lot of goose poop along the edges of the water.
Other Thoughts: There are just not that many things I can say bad about this course. While I also have a lot of Pros written down I just cannot give this course a rating higher than 4.5. It lacks just a couple things . . . unique basket locations. Everything was somewhat cookie cutter and in the middle of the turf with 15-30' green around the basket. If some of the baskets could have been elevated or perhaps some green areas that were landscaped out. While it is mostly open and moderately wooded, it feels more open than it is. It does not have any super tight wooded holes which I really like to see on a course with everything. If this course was in my backyard I would probably play it everyday because of how diverse it is.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Best in West KY

5+    12/28/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: Bobs DG 12
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Everything from just being a well kept park to having some great holes to challenge every part of your disc golf game. The teeboxes are large with room for a big run up. The signs are very descriptive and accurately depict the holes. Every basket seems virtually brand new and are kept well. This course can also offer some scenic views for example hole 8 is a very nice hole. This course will test every shot in your bag and do so with some pretty large elevation changes on holes, as well as some flat holes that run near a lake. This course will also handle some big arms, I can throw about 400 ft. and this course gives me ample opportunity to let it fly.
Cons: Not too many with this course, I wish the course would start and finish with a little bit more of a bang 1 and 18 are bit boring. Sorry kind of picky but like I said not many cons on this course
Other Thoughts: This is a course I will travel to any day when I am looking for a premium Disc Golf experience and I highly recommend it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Amazing Course

5+    11/18/2012   11/20/2012
Review By: Pillsbury778
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: For a first time player this course is a great one for a new player. A lot of long holes. Gives you a good chance to find out what your discs will really do. Whenever I get a new disc I love to play here simply because if I have a new disc I go out in the huge fields they have there and throw it a couple of different ways. It also gives a new comer to the sport a good way to learn how their disc will fly when it is thrown a certain way. You will also find out what style you want to throw. Side-arm or backhand, jump putts, putting style. I have a friends that is beast at turbo putting. We call him Turbo Travis. He can hit one no matter what the distance and he practiced all of his putting there at Madisonville. That's also where I go to practice my putting, and I tell you what it really helped me when it came to putting in tournaments. I have improved my game so much playing at Madisonville. I love playing there. The Madisonville pro shop and City Council are actually talking about putting 2 more courses in there so that we can bring more people for the Tourney they have each year. The touney has grown every year, and in the past 2 years. We have had 7 different National Series pros come to the tourney in all. They have come here and destroyed, but i watched them after my round one day this year, and it was very amazing to watch them play and hit the gap like it was nothing. The worst hole I saw from them was hole 12 down the hill. David Feildberg threw and nicked a tree and kicked so far away, and came back and got a 4. He was very upset and then the next hole he got a 365 ft deuce off a lucky tree hit. Wish i recorded it. I was amazing. best shot i have seen in my life. Anyways, I think that for a new comer to come to this tourney next year would be a great experience for them. I would show them so much to just to be around the great atmosphere the tourneys bring. I have honestly never seen a mad person at a tourney, and even if they did get mad, they would soon after apologize. I have done it many times. The last tourney I went to I was on my way to the hole I was starting one and had to walk all the way back to the score chart to see what card I was on cause they changed it 2 times. When I finally figured out what card I was on I stomped off all mad and at the end of that round I went to the tourney director and apologized for what I did. It is such a great environment at a disc golf tourney. Great people and great times. I have gone to so many tourneys in the past few year and have never payed out and have still had the time of my life. I love the people that I see at tourneys. Great people and I love every moment I have ever played disc golf. Disc golf is my life. I will play disc golf until I loose both my limbs and can't walk. I will never stop playing.
Cons: Absolutley NO CONS!!
Other Thoughts: Amazing place to play in the winter.

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.