Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: goatpiper Hole #17
3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 183
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Fun course, but not the beatdown I was expecting

1    8/26/2017   8/31/2017
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 336  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 21 hole course (not 23 as listed here) just outside Denver and up in the hills. The site also has hiking, zip lines (outside company) and other activities onsite.

Concrete tee pads, one per hole. These were all in very good shape and well done. Plenty long enough and wide enough. It must have taken some work to get some of these in.

Decent baskets, but unique. I'm not sure if these are homemade or what...but either way, they performed just like you'd want them to. One basket per hole, with several pin positions on most holes.

Good tee signs, with lots of information. Full color map, shows pin positions, distance, etc. Each sign post also has an indicator for which pin position the basket is in, which is always a nice touch. There are also next tee arrows for nearly every hole, which help a ton with navigation. There was barely a time I had an issue with getting around, even as the only guy on the course. Also, each hole had a dog leash holder, and many had benches, brooms, and bag holders as well.

As you'd guess, there's a lot of elevation in play here. Nearly every hole has you throwing uphill or downhill. Also, at about 8300' of elevation, you'll be taking a lot of factors into consideration when choosing discs, especially if you're from a lower lying area (WI, for instance).

Lots of mature trees provide most of the obstacles here, along with some well placed mandos. A few tighter lines can be found, but for the most part you'll be avoiding a few obstacles on your way to the pins.

There is definitely a serenity factor here. Being out there early (around 7am), I ran into a decent amount of wildlife, including a couple large bucks that weren't too happy to see me. It certainly doesn't affect my rating, but let's just say one of those bucks wasn't too happy with me and caused me to take the long way around to my disc.

Decent variation in distances, for the most part. Plenty of ace run type holes, if that's your bag.

Nice little disc shop onsite, with a super cool owner. Stop and shoot the blues with him...you'll be happy you did.
Cons: With that said, it's hard to not see that there's a ton of short holes here. Even with the added elevation, I threw exactly three drivers the entire round (there were a lot of pins in the shorter positions, to be fair..but definitely not all of them), and nothing over a speed 10. This is definitely a course that could benefit from two baskets per hole, or two tee pads per hole. It got a little repetitive, as it felt like anything uphill was short, and anything downhill was longer, but in either case it didn't call for a huge shot.

No water shots to be found here.

I really wish there had been more tight fairways. There was a lot of open shots, or shots where you basically had to miss one object. A few forced lines, but not all that many other than straight ahead or open. While quite aesthetically pleasing, a lot of the holes just didn't offer a ton of challenge...and when the fairways DID tighten up, it was almost to the point of poke and pray.

$10 pay to play...to me, not a big deal, but some people don't dig it.
Other Thoughts: This is a darn fun place to throw frisbees, for sure. In all the long positions, I'd probably give it a 4.25...in the format I played, maybe a 3.75. It feels like a lot was left on the table here and that it could become a GREAT course with a little extra added to the golf. With only one set of tees, you're kind of a slave to whatever pin positions are in, which is indeed a bummer for the traveling player.

The course is well manicured and loved, and it shows. If you're in the area, it's most certainly worth your time to go play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good mountain course

1    7/26/2017   8/6/2017
Review By: hawk12
Played: 227  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 27.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, mountain course with some excellent views and really good land for a disc golf course - read great property that other courses do not have.
Fantastic signage, great concrete tees, bag hooks, dog hooks, pro shop on site - read a LOT of amenities that other courses do not have.
Elevation to spare, some hole were unreal steep, yet I felt only 2 holes had real steep down hill shots, and neither was a bomber...
Very well maintained, clean, no trash, clear fairways (mostly). Nice challenging course, and better than anything else I playing in that area so far.
Some very very good holes were here, nice lanes, nice design, nice fairway shapes. I felt it was fair for lefty/righty, and had good variety in shot selection also.
Well build and well constructed course, with great amenities and property.
Cons: Well, here is where I differ from most reviews.

I think the land could've been better utilized. There was 1 solid par 4 (long pin only as the short was another par 3), the rest were tweeners in the longs, or just longer 3s. Tweeners give little scoring separation, and can make for less than exciting golf. With excellent property like this, design some great par 4s and blow to doors off everyone that shows up with great holes - not just great views and great amenities.
I was a little let down for a 4.6something course that had so few higher par holes.
Some of the par 3s were even less than expected, and had almost no line to the pin - I think that was hole 5, really a poke and hope hole. Others were less imaginative holes that with a little more time discovering the land prior to installing could've been epic. Long story short, there is such great potential with this land, how was there not a dozen that that I will remember forever?
Several of the holes had some rather long backtracking walks to the next tee, I feel this is another thing that with better planning/designing could've been avoided.
Last con, whoah, hole 18 finishes pretty much half way up 1s fairway and you walk right back down 1s fairway... not the safest plan.
Overall the design fell well short of my expectations and does not fall in line with most the other courses rated this high.
Other Thoughts: Overall I liked this course and would come back to play it again, and give it a 3.75-4. I simply think its overrated based on the design potential left on the table...
Amenities like almost no other course, and views and property like very few courses get to use - yet the potential of the land was not maximized and the par 54 style golf (yes I'm aware its a par 69), over 23 holes = ALL par 3s? How do you not have par 4 golf up there, this course is not that old?

There was too much left to be desired for me to give this course a higher rating.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Alright Course When I went

1    9/6/2016   10/5/2016
Review By: TSmith
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Amazing downhill shots that make the up hill worth it.
Nice people running the shop.
Tough Course that will challenge all levels, a lot of risk reward shots.
Some nice scenery.
You can let loose with some long shots down hill.




Cons: A lot of loose gravel that can effect shots, normal for area.

The lines on all holes were not well defined. One hole in particular you could not get to the hole unless you pinball off of 5 birch trees, truly a waste of a nice hole.

Went there shortly after a tourney and the pins were not in their normal position, signage wasn't right on all holes.

First few holes are forgettable



Other Thoughts: Was first time in that terrain and elevation, definitely had an effect on the round.

A violent wind storm came in and the wind was something to fight against all day.

Would play again when I knew tourney pins were still in the ground.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mountain Course

5+    7/6/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: JoetoriousDGP
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The variance of shots on the course and amount of trees for a Colorado course with little to no underbrush make this an epic course. Plus the views and terrain changes are great! The tee pee is a great spot to take a break after hole 3 to catch your breath after the walk up the hill from holes 1 to 3.
Cons: A little hilly on a few holes that can cause you to search for a while for your disc if it rolls, but it also motivates you to make it a good shot on those few holes so not really a con, but a challenge of the course.
Other Thoughts: Pay to play, but worth the $5 for sure. It is not a beginners course, but intermediate to advanced players will love it. I still recommend it for beginners though due to low possibility of losing discs and no water hazard except for hole 21 which you can skip or lay up if you want to. My favorite course in Colorado so far, but haven't gotten out to many of the other mountain courses yet.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and challenging mountain course

5+    8/16/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: EvergreenJC
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great course design and this course will require a lot of shot making. A good mix of short ace holes and a few bomber holes. This used to be my favorite course and has potential to be even better than it already is.
Cons: The tee boxes are poorly maintained, who am I kidding they aren't maintained at all.

There's an often less than chipper ranger that will hunt you down for your $3, even if you've already paid he'll want to check.
Other Thoughts: A good course and the design is awesome. However, whoever is collecting the money on this course is NOT putting it back into the course.

I recommend going down the road to Bailey DGC or Mountain Meadows DGP. At both the fees are put directly back into the course.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful and challenging

1    8/18/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: joeharker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: great mountain view
very well kept
excellent layout
clear where to find next tee
diverse challenges
from tree dodging, to open long bomb, to crazy elevation challenges
Cons: missing the fairway can cause some brutal rollers down the hills

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Conifer / Beaver Ranch

2-4    6/22/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Moss
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of technical and challenging holes. You don't get a lot of heavily forested holes down in Denver, so this entire course is a treat.

Beautiful environment. Good signs. Benches at every hole. Really a quality experience.
Cons: In a few places, if you put a disc on edge, it might roll hundreds of feet down the mountain!

If had to choose a legitimate con, there were some uneven dirt tees that you could slip on.
Other Thoughts: This course was really fun. I checked it out on a weekday afternoon, and couldn't wait to bring my buddies up here to see it. A totally different experience than the courses in the city.

Some people might consider the steep climbs and occasionally difficult terrain a con, but I think it just adds to the experience. Bring good shoes.

Also, make sure to bring cash to pay for the required daily tags.

Both times I've played have been a blast. Highly recommended.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I like!

1    6/17/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: vagabond
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging. You won't get bored. A lot of tight shots between trees, shots up hill, on side slopes etc. It honestly reminds me a lot of Hanson Hills, in Grayling Michigan which is another excellent course. The terrain and shot variety is very similar. Nice benches at every tee, and good signage.
Cons: Not really any cons to this course in my opinion.. Its not really a "mountain course" It is in the mountains, but its really just built around some hills.
Other Thoughts: Their is a ban on all outdoor burning in Colorado right now, yet I still saw a lot of cigarette butts along the course. WTF is wrong with smokers??

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Golf

1    1/27/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: rbnorris32
Played: 118  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.3 Years
7 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Like Phantom Falls, this course was phenomenal. And again like PF, this is not the most difficult course, but it is very scenic and rugged. If you like hiking in addition to disc golf, play Beaver Ranch. All of the holes were fun and challenging. The signage was great and really helped with navigating the course.
Cons: Some of the holes were a little short. But after playing PF my arm was tired anyway.
Other Thoughts: Would give it a 4.25 if possible. I prefer this course over PF mainly because of the environment. I think they should both be played regularly though! On 1/27/12 there was snow on a majority of the course. It only affected the tee pads and in a couple of places it was deep and powdery (around hole 16 and 21). For the most part you disc will stay on top of the snow. Don't be a fair weather golfer and get out there!

7 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play

1    3/10/2011   3/10/2011
Review By: WellHungSmurf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
8 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: +Great course where you must decide to thread the needle, or go around. Or better yet, can't go around. You must throw straight
+Accuracy is rewarded
+it wasn't very crowded for us, and this course is so large even if their were more people would not have been a problem
+A scenic course and full of smells of pines
+2 600 ft+ holes.
Cons: - It kicked my butt, not a horrible thing. But, your calves will burn
- the .5 mile hike to hole 1, on the walk out I assure you it feels like a mile
Other Thoughts: I think it's worth the drive, one of the best i'v played on. Watch where your discs go, spent 30min looking for two discs... And tip.. DO NOT follow the road, we missed the first 3 holes walking up the road. once you cross the river, tee one is near a wooden bench..

We went and it was icy and hole one was covered in snow. Bring hiking boots, and lots of WATER! Do not skip water folks

8 of 15 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.