Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: goatpiper Hole #1
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 184
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
nice location

1    9/1/2017   10/12/2017
Review By: fartbox
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: tee signs designate pin position
great views and variety of holes
pro shop
putting/upshot coarse
lots of elevation change
very little rough to loose a disc in, most of the rough was just short grass with a few schrubs here and there
unique and nice baskets
a ace on hole #16 wooooo

Cons: smoking only allowed on certain tee-pads
$10 a day
walks between some holes can slow play
Other Thoughts: If I ever make it back to Colorado Denver area this will be a for sure stop again.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A hike, but worth it

1    9/14/2017   9/14/2017
Review By: discgolfer2l
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 21.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just a mile or so from the highway and 40 minutes from downtown Denver, this course is a true escape and well worth the reasonable drive.
I loved the scenery; the course and the landscape coexist nicely. The holes make use of the elevation changes without being impossible. Uphill holes are shorter and reasonable, downhill holes tend to give you a chance to air it out a bit.
Course marking is great, if you get lost on this course you only have yourself to blame
The signs at each tee box visually display all potential pin locations and the current pin location is marked as well eliminating the need for scouting out blind pin shots.
Staff is friendly and pro shop has lots to offer including a nice covered area with picnic benches.
Cons: Really none. Just a warning that you need to be in hiking shape to tackle this course. You don't have to be Lance Armstrong or anything but you should be comfortable with some pretty decent up and downhill ascents/descents.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic place to spend the day. Wish I had had more time to try out the putt and approach course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Worth Every Penny

2-4    9/1/2017   9/4/2017
Review By: bhoppbop
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course layout
Great maps
Variety of hole placement
Beautiful scenery
Very Well maintained with little trash
Has a trade in disc program. Can also buy new or used discs.
Great for dogs, each tee box has a neat little hook for their leash
Cons: Maybe not enough long holes
Other Thoughts: $10 for a day pass

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great destination course

1    8/12/2017   8/24/2017
Review By: newton.hemp
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent tee signs, pin location indicators, tee pads, direction markers to the next tee, grounds maintained very well for cut grass and no trash, and the pro shop was great. The pin locations can make this a pleasant walk about or can really show some teeth for a challenge. Additional feature that was almost as challenging as the regular course was the 20 hole putting course layout mixing the flat meadows with steep uphill, across slopes, and down hill holes to test your ability and tune your aim for the rest of the day.
Cons: I only had time to play the course once during my stay in the area.
Other Thoughts: Beaver Ranch disc golf course is advertised as a destination course and after hearing about it for many years, I was finally able to manage a trip there and see for myself. Agreed, it's a destination course and worthy of the high ratings. The pro shop is well stocked with items needed and a welcome resting place in the shade after a hike around this mountain course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice

1    9/14/2016   9/14/2016
Review By: Mr72datsun
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - awesome property - nice fresh country air.
- bathrooms at the start and out on course
- pro shop with discs and snacks
- good signage
- I was very clear on where to throw on every single hole without needing to walk up the hole to see the basket.
- super easy navigation
- great variety of holes
- I liked the baskets.
- the little short course at the start is a very nice touch.
- low traffic
- good parking

Cons: - I can't throw very far uphill.
- in a perfect world, I'd like to have the tee pads longer on a few of the holes.
- overall no real complaints
Other Thoughts: Kudos to designers.
I really want to come back here on a disc golf vacation with some buddies. Great destination course. Along with others in the area.



4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great P2P Mountain Course

1    8/23/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: markmcc
Played: 185  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 5.5 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This well-maintained 23-hole course is built on a perfect plot of land for DG. Big hillsides covered with large pines and aspen, interspersed with openings and with a large grassy meadow at the base of the hill.

Distances from 150' - 500'+, with very tight wooded holes, moderately wooded holes, and just a couple that are wide open. Many of the holes offer different lines so RH/LH and BH/FH players will have choices.

Virtually all of the holes had uphill, downhill, or sidehill fairways. Hole 13 was such a steep uphill drive that landing without rolling seemed almost impossible. Many of the baskets are on steep enough ground that roll-away potential presents huge risk/reward on longish putts.

Most holes had two or three pin positions, and a couple had four. While some of the alt. positions moved the basket only left or right, most changed the hole length significantly. Hole 8 drove across a grassy valley to a basket placed just up the steep hill on the other side (Position B). The C and D positions place the basket father and farther up the opposite hillside to lofty heights that looked extremely challenging.

A couple of holes had amateur tee pads to eliminate a tight mando (Hole 17) or take a creek out of play (Hole 12).

Ample concrete teepads with good texture. Tee signs included a photo of the hole with each basket location shown, along with an aerial map view. There was a marker showing which position the basket was in. For a travelling disc golfer this was an easy course to play and navigate. Benches at every tee were welcome after some of the steep uphill walks.

The course starts at the check-in trailer where you pay your $10. They have a good selection of new and used discs, along with T-shirts, drinks, and food. The course attendant was friendly and helpful.

Some previous reviews mention a long walk out to Hole 1 and another long walk back at the finish. The current 23 hole layout begins and ends right behind the "pro shop", so course flow is good. Navigation was a snap as every tee sign indicates the direction to the next hole, and there are plenty of "next hole" arrows out on the course.
Cons: Towards the end of my round I started to feel a bit of repetition. I would approach a tee pad and wonder if I'd already played the hole. I guess that with 23 holes there is bound to be some similarity.

There are a few areas where adjacent fairways and baskets make things a little tight. With multiple groups playing you need to be aware of other players.

Plenty of steep bare ground around some of the baskets and on a few of the trails. Wear boots and watch your footing.
Other Thoughts: It is great to see a small Colorado community embrace Pay-to-Play disc golf with this excellent course. Hopefully this P2P model will show other communities that disc golf is a cost-effective activity.

There is a 20 hole putter course in the entrance area which is a great warm-up and plenty of fun.

There are a couple of porta-potties at the parking lot, and a couple of more out on the course. Nice to have those facilities available as this course takes 2+ hours to play.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

1    11/7/2015   11/9/2015
Review By: iahebert
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This was my first time playing the course, and it was a blast. There was about an inch or two of snow throughout the course, but it didn't get in the way of playing. The teepads are *very* well kept, with very clear signage, bag hooks, and a broom at each one. The course offered several challenging and fun holes, not to mention some great views. The pro-shop at the beginning of the course has a solid selection of gear, and the staff is very helpful. Will ABSOLUTELY play again.
Cons: None to think of.
Other Thoughts: If you're hesitant to pay to play. Don't be. Your course fees go into supporting one of the best courses I've personally ever played. Great for novice and advanced players.

There is a lot (a LOT) of elevation change at an already high up course. If you're not used to the altitude (over 8k feet), bring lots of water and take it easy.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 great local course

5+    9/8/2015   10/14/2015
Review By: reverendbacon
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: amazing views, great terrain, very challenging, great variation of skill needed for low score. great beginners course as well, lots of open fairways.
Cons: no bacon is available on the course, anywhere.... (unless i bring my own, then its not a con)

course pictures on here need to be updated. Hole 1 is not hole 1 as described in the pics, that is actually hole 13, if I recall correctly.
Other Thoughts: will play this course for many years to come

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun, worth your time

1    9/27/2014   6/22/2015
Review By: iconoclastes
Played: 60  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is one of 5 that I threw on a trip to Denver last year and it is a solid course that is absolutely worth your time.
*variable holes in terms of difficulty distance and technicality
*very fun
*pro shop at beginning
*very well maintained
*concrete pads
*many garbages and benches
Cons: *it's a hike, and not an easy one
*it's busy


Other Thoughts: While still better than most courses I play (in MN) but after throwing bucksnort and phantom falls, this one falls short. Had I thrown this one first my thoughts might be more encouraging, but don't let that fool you. This is a great course that I would love to throw again.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play Course!

1    5/6/2015   5/12/2015
Review By: Kill Face
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course was very easy to navigate and flowed very well. You couldn't find a better view anywhere much less on a Disc Golf course. Varying fairway types,some tight and wooded some straight up the side of the mountain some open field types and about 6 holes where you have huge elevation drops and can just empty your bag to see how far you can bomb it. I believe all the tee pads were concrete. Locals were very friendly and more than happy to help if you have questions. It cost $5 for a pass to play all day.Its on the honor system during the week so bring cash and put it into the drop box,most weekends someone should be there to collect the money. Some would see paying to play as a con but you can clearly see they are putting the money to good use. I would be hesitant to pay to play a 2 star course but this sport will never grow if its participants dont cough up a little bit of cheddar now and then to make and maintain a high quality course.
Cons: Limited toilets,a couple of port o potties before you arrive at 1's tee pad and one out house around hole 10 I believe. This is not a huge deal,I mean come on you're on a mountain! Just a heads up.
Other Thoughts: I played this course 4 years ago and it was fun but it was a long walk to the 1st tee pad and could get a little confusing navigating the course for a tourist like me. Luckily The Beaver Ranch Foothill Flyers DGC (I believe thats the name of the club) has redesigned the course a bit and now its a 23 hole course with more holes planned! There is clear signage for disc golf parking now as well as a trailer/disc store set up on your short walk to the new 1st tee pad. There is also little yellow arrows throughout the course to keep you on track and flowing smoothly. If you live near the Denver,Conifer,Bailey area or are in town visiting definitely play this course. Its only about 30 -40 min from downtown Denver and its a great drive up into the mountains as well. I look forward to playing this course again in the future.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.