Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: andylibrande Hole #18 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 184
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 18 19
nice location

1    9/1/2017   10/12/2017
Review By: fartbox
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: tee signs designate pin position
great views and variety of holes
pro shop
putting/upshot coarse
lots of elevation change
very little rough to loose a disc in, most of the rough was just short grass with a few schrubs here and there
unique and nice baskets
a ace on hole #16 wooooo

Cons: smoking only allowed on certain tee-pads
$10 a day
walks between some holes can slow play
Other Thoughts: If I ever make it back to Colorado Denver area this will be a for sure stop again.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A hike, but worth it

1    9/14/2017   9/14/2017
Review By: discgolfer2l
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 21.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just a mile or so from the highway and 40 minutes from downtown Denver, this course is a true escape and well worth the reasonable drive.
I loved the scenery; the course and the landscape coexist nicely. The holes make use of the elevation changes without being impossible. Uphill holes are shorter and reasonable, downhill holes tend to give you a chance to air it out a bit.
Course marking is great, if you get lost on this course you only have yourself to blame
The signs at each tee box visually display all potential pin locations and the current pin location is marked as well eliminating the need for scouting out blind pin shots.
Staff is friendly and pro shop has lots to offer including a nice covered area with picnic benches.
Cons: Really none. Just a warning that you need to be in hiking shape to tackle this course. You don't have to be Lance Armstrong or anything but you should be comfortable with some pretty decent up and downhill ascents/descents.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic place to spend the day. Wish I had had more time to try out the putt and approach course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Worth Every Penny

2-4    9/1/2017   9/4/2017
Review By: bhoppbop
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course layout
Great maps
Variety of hole placement
Beautiful scenery
Very Well maintained with little trash
Has a trade in disc program. Can also buy new or used discs.
Great for dogs, each tee box has a neat little hook for their leash
Cons: Maybe not enough long holes
Other Thoughts: $10 for a day pass

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

World Class

1    8/27/2017   9/3/2017
Review By: Ghetto Leprechaun
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Scenic
Technical
Huge drive opportunities
Extremely well maintained
Someone on-site
Cons: Honestly, nothing. This course may be too challenging for beginners but will be fun nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: If you like this one check out Sipapu Ski Resort, Vadito, NM. Both world class, mountainous, challenging.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun course, but not the beatdown I was expecting

1    8/26/2017   8/31/2017
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 336  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 21 hole course (not 23 as listed here) just outside Denver and up in the hills. The site also has hiking, zip lines (outside company) and other activities onsite.

Concrete tee pads, one per hole. These were all in very good shape and well done. Plenty long enough and wide enough. It must have taken some work to get some of these in.

Decent baskets, but unique. I'm not sure if these are homemade or what...but either way, they performed just like you'd want them to. One basket per hole, with several pin positions on most holes.

Good tee signs, with lots of information. Full color map, shows pin positions, distance, etc. Each sign post also has an indicator for which pin position the basket is in, which is always a nice touch. There are also next tee arrows for nearly every hole, which help a ton with navigation. There was barely a time I had an issue with getting around, even as the only guy on the course. Also, each hole had a dog leash holder, and many had benches, brooms, and bag holders as well.

As you'd guess, there's a lot of elevation in play here. Nearly every hole has you throwing uphill or downhill. Also, at about 8300' of elevation, you'll be taking a lot of factors into consideration when choosing discs, especially if you're from a lower lying area (WI, for instance).

Lots of mature trees provide most of the obstacles here, along with some well placed mandos. A few tighter lines can be found, but for the most part you'll be avoiding a few obstacles on your way to the pins.

There is definitely a serenity factor here. Being out there early (around 7am), I ran into a decent amount of wildlife, including a couple large bucks that weren't too happy to see me. It certainly doesn't affect my rating, but let's just say one of those bucks wasn't too happy with me and caused me to take the long way around to my disc.

Decent variation in distances, for the most part. Plenty of ace run type holes, if that's your bag.

Nice little disc shop onsite, with a super cool owner. Stop and shoot the blues with him...you'll be happy you did.
Cons: With that said, it's hard to not see that there's a ton of short holes here. Even with the added elevation, I threw exactly three drivers the entire round (there were a lot of pins in the shorter positions, to be fair..but definitely not all of them), and nothing over a speed 10. This is definitely a course that could benefit from two baskets per hole, or two tee pads per hole. It got a little repetitive, as it felt like anything uphill was short, and anything downhill was longer, but in either case it didn't call for a huge shot.

No water shots to be found here.

I really wish there had been more tight fairways. There was a lot of open shots, or shots where you basically had to miss one object. A few forced lines, but not all that many other than straight ahead or open. While quite aesthetically pleasing, a lot of the holes just didn't offer a ton of challenge...and when the fairways DID tighten up, it was almost to the point of poke and pray.

$10 pay to play...to me, not a big deal, but some people don't dig it.
Other Thoughts: This is a darn fun place to throw frisbees, for sure. In all the long positions, I'd probably give it a 4.25...in the format I played, maybe a 3.75. It feels like a lot was left on the table here and that it could become a GREAT course with a little extra added to the golf. With only one set of tees, you're kind of a slave to whatever pin positions are in, which is indeed a bummer for the traveling player.

The course is well manicured and loved, and it shows. If you're in the area, it's most certainly worth your time to go play.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great destination course

1    8/12/2017   8/24/2017
Review By: newton.hemp
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent tee signs, pin location indicators, tee pads, direction markers to the next tee, grounds maintained very well for cut grass and no trash, and the pro shop was great. The pin locations can make this a pleasant walk about or can really show some teeth for a challenge. Additional feature that was almost as challenging as the regular course was the 20 hole putting course layout mixing the flat meadows with steep uphill, across slopes, and down hill holes to test your ability and tune your aim for the rest of the day.
Cons: I only had time to play the course once during my stay in the area.
Other Thoughts: Beaver Ranch disc golf course is advertised as a destination course and after hearing about it for many years, I was finally able to manage a trip there and see for myself. Agreed, it's a destination course and worthy of the high ratings. The pro shop is well stocked with items needed and a welcome resting place in the shade after a hike around this mountain course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good mountain course

1    7/26/2017   8/6/2017
Review By: hawk12
Played: 230  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 27.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, mountain course with some excellent views and really good land for a disc golf course - read great property that other courses do not have.
Fantastic signage, great concrete tees, bag hooks, dog hooks, pro shop on site - read a LOT of amenities that other courses do not have.
Elevation to spare, some hole were unreal steep, yet I felt only 2 holes had real steep down hill shots, and neither was a bomber...
Very well maintained, clean, no trash, clear fairways (mostly). Nice challenging course, and better than anything else I playing in that area so far.
Some very very good holes were here, nice lanes, nice design, nice fairway shapes. I felt it was fair for lefty/righty, and had good variety in shot selection also.
Well build and well constructed course, with great amenities and property.
Cons: Well, here is where I differ from most reviews.

I think the land could've been better utilized. There was 1 solid par 4 (long pin only as the short was another par 3), the rest were tweeners in the longs, or just longer 3s. Tweeners give little scoring separation, and can make for less than exciting golf. With excellent property like this, design some great par 4s and blow to doors off everyone that shows up with great holes - not just great views and great amenities.
I was a little let down for a 4.6something course that had so few higher par holes.
Some of the par 3s were even less than expected, and had almost no line to the pin - I think that was hole 5, really a poke and hope hole. Others were less imaginative holes that with a little more time discovering the land prior to installing could've been epic. Long story short, there is such great potential with this land, how was there not a dozen that that I will remember forever?
Several of the holes had some rather long backtracking walks to the next tee, I feel this is another thing that with better planning/designing could've been avoided.
Last con, whoah, hole 18 finishes pretty much half way up 1s fairway and you walk right back down 1s fairway... not the safest plan.
Overall the design fell well short of my expectations and does not fall in line with most the other courses rated this high.
Other Thoughts: Overall I liked this course and would come back to play it again, and give it a 3.75-4. I simply think its overrated based on the design potential left on the table...
Amenities like almost no other course, and views and property like very few courses get to use - yet the potential of the land was not maximized and the par 54 style golf (yes I'm aware its a par 69), over 23 holes = ALL par 3s? How do you not have par 4 golf up there, this course is not that old?

There was too much left to be desired for me to give this course a higher rating.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/4/2017   8/5/2017
Review By: jphur
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good mix of uphill/downhill, open/tight, short/long.
Enjoyed the challenge of roll away potential on some holes. Makes you think a bit more about laying up vs gunning for it.
Course direction is great. Signs for each hole and pin placement indicators. Arrows directing to next basket. All top notch. Clearly some investment into this course.
Cons: Not much. Could use a longer tee pad on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Pro shop is great. Friendly staff. Nice selection.

I'm a bit out of shape so some of the uphill sections at elevation can be grueling.


1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Venue

2-4    2/2/2016   2/7/2017
Review By: vonWangus
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 2/20/2017
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great mountain views.
-Each tee has a map with all pin locations easily marked and identified.
-Each post is marked with the current location by a bolt in the post next to the appropriate pin.
-Elevation of tee and distance to each pin is listed.
-Brooms, benches, baghooks at every teebox.
-Great mix of open bombers and tight line tee shots
-Elevation changes.
-20 hole "putting" course that has different "tees" to each basket.
-Great exercise.
-Several ace-able holes.
-Risk/reward going at most baskets because of severe roll away potential
-23 holes large course is the perfect number.
Cons: -I honestly can sit here trying to think of a negative for several minutes and won't get one....It has everything, mid-course restrooms, trash cans, benches, brooms, snacks, sells discs.
Other Thoughts: It costs $8 per person per day to play. So bring cash. This course is a straight gem.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play!!

5+    8/12/2016   10/9/2016
Review By: Sonofaveach
Played: 130  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great shot variety throughout 23 holes. You will need every shot in your bag. Plenty of tight holes and open fairways, and everything in between.

The scenery is stunning: you will rarely see anything manmade other than a zipline course and a couple houses nestled high in the alpine mountains.

Very friendly staff with a decent pro shop. I've had good luck having my plastic returned to the shop as well. There is much room for error on some of these VERY steep and slanted fairways!!

Multiple pin placement make for tons of variety throughout the course. You will never play the same course twice!!

The hike is great by itself, disc golf just improves the experience!! I took my woman out there the last time I had the pleasure of being in the Denver area and she absolutely loved it.

They have built and extended a sister course that primarily serves as a putter/midrange experience. It's a great way to prepare yourself for 23 holes of intense hiking!
Cons: This course is located on the east side of the Rocky Mountain range. It rains on and off almost constantly, which may increase the chance of slipping while traversing the terrain.

The price to play the course is constantly rising, but it's worth it!

Not much to add here.... This course leaves you wanting to come back again and again.

Other Thoughts: I first played this course in 2012, during which they were making changes and adding holes to both courses.

What they've done with the course since the first time I played is remarkable. They continue to impress every month or year I get to make it out, as I am from the KC area. Throughout the 93 courses in 13 states that I've had the pleasure of playing, this one takes the cake! If you are in the area, make the drive. You will NOT be disappointed.

If you have the time, make a day out of it and head down CO 285 and check out Bailey DGC for a similar, albeit less maintained, experience.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 18 19

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.