Conifer, CO 
Beaver Ranch Share
Uploaded By: goatpiper Hole #18
3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 188
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 18 19
Good mountain course

1    7/26/2017   8/6/2017
Review By: hawk12
Played: 233  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 27.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, mountain course with some excellent views and really good land for a disc golf course - read great property that other courses do not have.
Fantastic signage, great concrete tees, bag hooks, dog hooks, pro shop on site - read a LOT of amenities that other courses do not have.
Elevation to spare, some hole were unreal steep, yet I felt only 2 holes had real steep down hill shots, and neither was a bomber...
Very well maintained, clean, no trash, clear fairways (mostly). Nice challenging course, and better than anything else I playing in that area so far.
Some very very good holes were here, nice lanes, nice design, nice fairway shapes. I felt it was fair for lefty/righty, and had good variety in shot selection also.
Well build and well constructed course, with great amenities and property.
Cons: Well, here is where I differ from most reviews.

I think the land could've been better utilized. There was 1 solid par 4 (long pin only as the short was another par 3), the rest were tweeners in the longs, or just longer 3s. Tweeners give little scoring separation, and can make for less than exciting golf. With excellent property like this, design some great par 4s and blow to doors off everyone that shows up with great holes - not just great views and great amenities.
I was a little let down for a 4.6something course that had so few higher par holes.
Some of the par 3s were even less than expected, and had almost no line to the pin - I think that was hole 5, really a poke and hope hole. Others were less imaginative holes that with a little more time discovering the land prior to installing could've been epic. Long story short, there is such great potential with this land, how was there not a dozen that that I will remember forever?
Several of the holes had some rather long backtracking walks to the next tee, I feel this is another thing that with better planning/designing could've been avoided.
Last con, whoah, hole 18 finishes pretty much half way up 1s fairway and you walk right back down 1s fairway... not the safest plan.
Overall the design fell well short of my expectations and does not fall in line with most the other courses rated this high.
Other Thoughts: Overall I liked this course and would come back to play it again, and give it a 3.75-4. I simply think its overrated based on the design potential left on the table...
Amenities like almost no other course, and views and property like very few courses get to use - yet the potential of the land was not maximized and the par 54 style golf (yes I'm aware its a par 69), over 23 holes = ALL par 3s? How do you not have par 4 golf up there, this course is not that old?

There was too much left to be desired for me to give this course a higher rating.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/4/2017   8/5/2017
Review By: jphur
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good mix of uphill/downhill, open/tight, short/long.
Enjoyed the challenge of roll away potential on some holes. Makes you think a bit more about laying up vs gunning for it.
Course direction is great. Signs for each hole and pin placement indicators. Arrows directing to next basket. All top notch. Clearly some investment into this course.
Cons: Not much. Could use a longer tee pad on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Pro shop is great. Friendly staff. Nice selection.

I'm a bit out of shape so some of the uphill sections at elevation can be grueling.


1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Venue

2-4    2/2/2016   2/7/2017
Review By: vonWangus
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 2/20/2017
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great mountain views.
-Each tee has a map with all pin locations easily marked and identified.
-Each post is marked with the current location by a bolt in the post next to the appropriate pin.
-Elevation of tee and distance to each pin is listed.
-Brooms, benches, baghooks at every teebox.
-Great mix of open bombers and tight line tee shots
-Elevation changes.
-20 hole "putting" course that has different "tees" to each basket.
-Great exercise.
-Several ace-able holes.
-Risk/reward going at most baskets because of severe roll away potential
-23 holes large course is the perfect number.
Cons: -I honestly can sit here trying to think of a negative for several minutes and won't get one....It has everything, mid-course restrooms, trash cans, benches, brooms, snacks, sells discs.
Other Thoughts: It costs $8 per person per day to play. So bring cash. This course is a straight gem.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play!!

5+    8/12/2016   10/9/2016
Review By: Sonofaveach
Played: 130  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great shot variety throughout 23 holes. You will need every shot in your bag. Plenty of tight holes and open fairways, and everything in between.

The scenery is stunning: you will rarely see anything manmade other than a zipline course and a couple houses nestled high in the alpine mountains.

Very friendly staff with a decent pro shop. I've had good luck having my plastic returned to the shop as well. There is much room for error on some of these VERY steep and slanted fairways!!

Multiple pin placement make for tons of variety throughout the course. You will never play the same course twice!!

The hike is great by itself, disc golf just improves the experience!! I took my woman out there the last time I had the pleasure of being in the Denver area and she absolutely loved it.

They have built and extended a sister course that primarily serves as a putter/midrange experience. It's a great way to prepare yourself for 23 holes of intense hiking!
Cons: This course is located on the east side of the Rocky Mountain range. It rains on and off almost constantly, which may increase the chance of slipping while traversing the terrain.

The price to play the course is constantly rising, but it's worth it!

Not much to add here.... This course leaves you wanting to come back again and again.

Other Thoughts: I first played this course in 2012, during which they were making changes and adding holes to both courses.

What they've done with the course since the first time I played is remarkable. They continue to impress every month or year I get to make it out, as I am from the KC area. Throughout the 93 courses in 13 states that I've had the pleasure of playing, this one takes the cake! If you are in the area, make the drive. You will NOT be disappointed.

If you have the time, make a day out of it and head down CO 285 and check out Bailey DGC for a similar, albeit less maintained, experience.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Alright Course When I went

1    9/6/2016   10/5/2016
Review By: TSmith
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.7 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Amazing downhill shots that make the up hill worth it.
Nice people running the shop.
Tough Course that will challenge all levels, a lot of risk reward shots.
Some nice scenery.
You can let loose with some long shots down hill.




Cons: A lot of loose gravel that can effect shots, normal for area.

The lines on all holes were not well defined. One hole in particular you could not get to the hole unless you pinball off of 5 birch trees, truly a waste of a nice hole.

Went there shortly after a tourney and the pins were not in their normal position, signage wasn't right on all holes.

First few holes are forgettable



Other Thoughts: Was first time in that terrain and elevation, definitely had an effect on the round.

A violent wind storm came in and the wind was something to fight against all day.

Would play again when I knew tourney pins were still in the ground.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Nice

1    9/14/2016   9/14/2016
Review By: Mr72datsun
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - awesome property - nice fresh country air.
- bathrooms at the start and out on course
- pro shop with discs and snacks
- good signage
- I was very clear on where to throw on every single hole without needing to walk up the hole to see the basket.
- super easy navigation
- great variety of holes
- I liked the baskets.
- the little short course at the start is a very nice touch.
- low traffic
- good parking

Cons: - I can't throw very far uphill.
- in a perfect world, I'd like to have the tee pads longer on a few of the holes.
- overall no real complaints
Other Thoughts: Kudos to designers.
I really want to come back here on a disc golf vacation with some buddies. Great destination course. Along with others in the area.



4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great P2P Mountain Course

1    8/23/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: markmcc
Played: 194  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 5.7 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This well-maintained 23-hole course is built on a perfect plot of land for DG. Big hillsides covered with large pines and aspen, interspersed with openings and with a large grassy meadow at the base of the hill.

Distances from 150' - 500'+, with very tight wooded holes, moderately wooded holes, and just a couple that are wide open. Many of the holes offer different lines so RH/LH and BH/FH players will have choices.

Virtually all of the holes had uphill, downhill, or sidehill fairways. Hole 13 was such a steep uphill drive that landing without rolling seemed almost impossible. Many of the baskets are on steep enough ground that roll-away potential presents huge risk/reward on longish putts.

Most holes had two or three pin positions, and a couple had four. While some of the alt. positions moved the basket only left or right, most changed the hole length significantly. Hole 8 drove across a grassy valley to a basket placed just up the steep hill on the other side (Position B). The C and D positions place the basket father and farther up the opposite hillside to lofty heights that looked extremely challenging.

A couple of holes had amateur tee pads to eliminate a tight mando (Hole 17) or take a creek out of play (Hole 12).

Ample concrete teepads with good texture. Tee signs included a photo of the hole with each basket location shown, along with an aerial map view. There was a marker showing which position the basket was in. For a travelling disc golfer this was an easy course to play and navigate. Benches at every tee were welcome after some of the steep uphill walks.

The course starts at the check-in trailer where you pay your $10. They have a good selection of new and used discs, along with T-shirts, drinks, and food. The course attendant was friendly and helpful.

Some previous reviews mention a long walk out to Hole 1 and another long walk back at the finish. The current 23 hole layout begins and ends right behind the "pro shop", so course flow is good. Navigation was a snap as every tee sign indicates the direction to the next hole, and there are plenty of "next hole" arrows out on the course.
Cons: Towards the end of my round I started to feel a bit of repetition. I would approach a tee pad and wonder if I'd already played the hole. I guess that with 23 holes there is bound to be some similarity.

There are a few areas where adjacent fairways and baskets make things a little tight. With multiple groups playing you need to be aware of other players.

Plenty of steep bare ground around some of the baskets and on a few of the trails. Wear boots and watch your footing.
Other Thoughts: It is great to see a small Colorado community embrace Pay-to-Play disc golf with this excellent course. Hopefully this P2P model will show other communities that disc golf is a cost-effective activity.

There is a 20 hole putter course in the entrance area which is a great warm-up and plenty of fun.

There are a couple of porta-potties at the parking lot, and a couple of more out on the course. Nice to have those facilities available as this course takes 2+ hours to play.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course! A must play!

1    7/17/2016   7/20/2016
Review By: Javy818
Played: 24  Reviewed: 10
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I drove from Denver to Conifer. The road was beautiful! Amazing mountain views and Red Rocks Amphitheater is along the way which is another destination I have always wanted to visit.

$10 to play. The lady in the stand was super nice and makes some GREAT trail mix. Plus she invites you to "eat with us later!".

I met up with some locals who let me tag along with them. Very important cause the course is very long and I had no idea where to go most of the time.

Every Tee pad has brooms, dog hooks and clear signs of where you are shooting.

Cons: Not enough trash cans.

Altitude sickness can sink in if you aren't used to it. Take in the views and hydrate!

Stable drivers are useless here.

Other Thoughts: Very clean course! The Bloom tournament was the day before and I didn't see any trash or graffiti on the course.

Only a 45 minute drive from Downtown Denver and it's a scenic drive.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    6/18/2016   7/6/2016
Review By: H.E. Pennypacker
Played: 101  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great views, challenging mix of technical and open shots. Be prepared for a great workout as well. Great pro shop with lots of discs and refreshments for sale.
Cons: Can get a little crowded on the weekends, but that's to be expected for such a great course relatively close to Denver.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome!

1    11/7/2015   11/9/2015
Review By: iahebert
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This was my first time playing the course, and it was a blast. There was about an inch or two of snow throughout the course, but it didn't get in the way of playing. The teepads are *very* well kept, with very clear signage, bag hooks, and a broom at each one. The course offered several challenging and fun holes, not to mention some great views. The pro-shop at the beginning of the course has a solid selection of gear, and the staff is very helpful. Will ABSOLUTELY play again.
Cons: None to think of.
Other Thoughts: If you're hesitant to pay to play. Don't be. Your course fees go into supporting one of the best courses I've personally ever played. Great for novice and advanced players.

There is a lot (a LOT) of elevation change at an already high up course. If you're not used to the altitude (over 8k feet), bring lots of water and take it easy.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 18 19

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.