Fayetteville, GA 
McCurry Park Share
Uploaded By: sfeather Hole #12
3 / 391ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
 Fun Course for an out of towner!

1    5/26/2018   5/30/2018
Review By: Hustano77
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Playable for all levels of experience and ability

Pros could birdie every hole with a good drive

Variable hole types

distance of holes were fun for an amateur
Cons: Walkers everywhere! Can be very nerve racking when you are on holes near the walking trails

A few holes are very plain with no real challenge (3 or 4)
Other Thoughts: As a short thrower (drives of 250 feet or shorter) this course gave me the opportunity to par every hole. The wooded section gave many options and routes to take. Overall I enjoyed the cleanliness of the park and the course was just a fun time. I have a solid home course but if I had my choice McCurry Park would be a great one! I plan on going back next time I visit south Atlanta.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Almost really good

2-4    4/14/2018   4/17/2018
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 87  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is course I feel could be very, very good, but settles in at around the 'very good' level +/- a few points. The course has several excellent holes and a few that leave me scratching my head, wondering what in the world they were thinking.

Overall the course offers a good bit. You have some crushing holes (#2, #17, #18), some tight, technical shots (#3, #7, #8) and some that I thought "Really, did you forget what you were doing?" (#14, #15). And then there were a few holes that you needed eyes in the back of you heard to keep from getting wacked (#12, #13, #16).

Just too many little things, in my simple, humble opinion that keeps this course from being 3.75 to 4.0 stars. Here's the break down of good, bad and just...dang.

#1 - Can we all say, 'Yawn'. The first hole is like the front door to a house. It should be thrilling, interesting, fun. It should INVITE you in to play. This is a 'grab you favorite driver and crank it 300' to an open basket. Only thing that makes it fun, is that it's on a small rise. Yippee.

#2 - Still yawning...Let's throw over 500' across a field to a basket hiding behind a wall of trees. Not even a defined gap to throw through. Just rip the snot out of the drive and HOPE it penetrates.

#3 - Now this is a GREAT hole. Long RHBH anyzer shot down a tight corridor of trees. Hit the line and have a shot at a bird. Hit anything else and well...you're in bogey land. Great hole!

#4 - Not bad, another 400' wide open grip and rip across across a plot of land, but this one is narrowed by a creek to the right and pavement to the left. Throw in some mad wind and you have a challenge.

#5 - See notes for hole #1, essentially the exact same shot...Nothing to see here, folks, time to move on.

#6 - pretty good. Another grip and rip (yeah, I was surprised at this) across a mostly dry ditch. But basket is decently guarded, so it makes it a tough 2 or tricky 3

#7 - Is a really good touch shot hole, tight and straight until dumping left. Add a little right-to-left wind and a simple hole to park becomes a real challenge!

#8 - You want tight? By golly you get it! Super tight, slight left bend and about 270'. Hit ANYTHING and you're in trouble! Takes real finesse to park this one!

#9 - This is one that had me scratching my head a bit. Nice, 300', slight uphill drive. Only problem...there's a picket line of trees to HOPEFULLY throw through. More of a poke and hope hole.Take ONE tree out, make a serious gap and hole would be much better.

#10 - Fun hole! Two gaps - Anhyzer or laser to the basket

#11 - Another good hole, easy birdie shot. Just an uphill hzyer to the basket

#12 - I like this hole, it's tough, takes talent to throw a 390' anyhzer shot. The problem is...it runs parallel with #13 & #16. Gotta have eyes out of the back of your head!

#13 - Relatively straight shot, slight down hill with the basket to the right. Big problem is you're throwing slightly toward #12. A bad kick and folks on #12 are ducking.

#14 - I stood on the tee pad shaking my head. Super tight, down hill with a basket sitting now where near the flight patch of the disc. Hole slants left, basket sits to the right guarded by trees. The best line is RHFH flick down a gap...except there's a raised garbage can there just about in the line you want to throw! Move the garbage can to open the gap, or reposition the basket. I've birdied this one, but it was more of a sever poke and hope than a great shot.

#15 - Just not a fun hole. Super tight without a decent line to the basket. One or two trees removed would make it a fun, but still tough hole.

#16 - Pretty good hole, average length, slight up hill to the basket. Best part is basket is beside path. Just how badly do you want the birdie?

#17 - Definitely the signature hole on the course! Save your arm because you are going to want to UNLOAD your bag! 400' hole from a bluff. Basket is straight away. Most fun shot on the course!

#18 - If you have an arm after #17, hope you have some in reserve cause this is another bomber hole. But you have to keep it level as their is a relatively low ceiling. It's a par 4, but threes are possible to two perfect drives.

Cons: Several of the holes had trees off the tee pad you have to split immediately. Nothing like having to shape your shot from the get-go. And the walls of trees you have to penetrate to approach baskets (#2 & #9), that takes the fun out of great drives

Course could use a few more benches. I think I only saw a couple

Walkers...every...where! A pretty day, you are going to have to wait to throw.
Other Thoughts: I think this course could be a solid 3.75 maybe a 4 with the removal of just a few trees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 McCurry Park

5+    7/10/2016   7/13/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 186  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 7.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has concrete tee pads

Has tee signs with most updated numbers

Has alternate basket placements for some holes

Has some benches throughout course

Course flows pretty well except for between holes 2&3, 13&14

Has next tee markers that are indicated by tape on the basket's cage

Has good mix of wooded and open fairways

Most holes have slight changes in elevations

Well-maintained

Free Parking at multiple locations

Restrooms
Cons:
Walking path meanders throughout the course and cuts through fairways of 1, 2, 10, 11, 17 and runs along holes 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 16

Course can get crowded with other parkgoers which can interfere in playing many of the above holes

Nasty overgrowth along the stream at holes 3 and 4 - beware of briars and chiggers!
Other Thoughts:
Course was renumbered back in 2014 so some of the earlier reviews could be misleading. Starting hole has been moved up 5 holes in rotation to where #6 used to be so that disc golfers can now park close to both #1 tee pad and #18 basket - much more convenient than the previous layout. The numbers on the baskets have been updated to reflect the change. I recommend playing this course early in the morning to minimize the parkgoer interference that one can expect playing on the weekends.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Above Average Georgia Course

5+    4/20/2015   7/9/2015
Review By: NinaFoFiTre
Played: 292  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 25.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very Nice Park, Well Maintained city park, grass always trimmed
-Good Equipment, Innova DISCatchers, Nice big concrete tees, Tee Signs.
-Good setup for events, with pavilion, bathrooms, etc.


Cons: - Couple holes have the pin locations placed in a random batch of trees, without a distinct green, which is common for Georgia.
-Couple of dangerous holes that play towards a busy road, over and around walking paths, track.



Other Thoughts: It lacks a little fun factor, its better than most courses in the state but lacks the pizazz that would make it a must play. It has a few poke and hope holes. The layout could have been a little better especially if the layout went in reverse direction, it would also be much safer if it flowed in the reverse direction. It also lacks some shorter holes that could help develop some players. Its pretty much a pro style course, but there are not many pro caliber players in the area. If it only had rec tees I could give it a 4 because the park is outstanding.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Really Fun

1    3/22/2014   3/23/2014
Review By: DiscGolfMaster
Played: 55  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice elevation changes. great mix of open and wooded holes. The wooded holes were very fun to play because the woods were primarily large pines. Most courses I play there is a lot of shrubbery in the woods, so not dealing with that was fun.

Several nice long holes. I'm not the best driver out there, but I am getting close to the 400 mark on flat land, so it was great being able to actually really launch some drives. One hole was 720 ft, you can barely see the basket, it was awesome.

Lots of opportunity for shaping your shots, I used all my discs, incredibly fun.
Cons: Got lost a lot. It's hard to figure out what hole is next sometimes. and some of the baskets aren't labeled correctly, even some of the tee off signs have the wrong number on them. There are no next tee signs, and this course needs them desperately on several holes.

We couldn't find 12 after playing 11 and just skipped to 14 since it was close by. Then later we found 12 and 13 when we were on our way to 17. Evidently, after 11, you have to walk waaaay down through several holes to get to 12 and 13, and there was no way to know this. No path or signage.

Lot of pedestrians there on Saturday. Some kids picked up my disc at one point and started throwing it around. A fellow golfer was kind enough to tell them not to for me, since I was several hundred feet away unable to do anything.about it myself.
Other Thoughts: If this was my local course, I would know it well and would not need signs, and I would rate it a 4 disc. But I live 3 hours away and was slightly disappointed that it was not in better shape when I arrived.

Number the baskets correctly, and put in some next tee signs and this course would be great. Like I said, it was extremely fun, and I really want to go back today since we are still in the area, but probably won't be able to.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good course!

1    3/14/2014   3/17/2014
Review By: Jpuder
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a very good disc golf course. It plays fairly long and has a good mix of wooded and open holes. In my opinion, the back 9 has a more creative hole design (wooded, open, elevation changes... etc) than the front 9.
Cons: This course probably deserves a rating of 4/5... but on several holes we stumbled around trying to follow the map by the tee pad only to realize that the baskets were mislabeled. I'm guessing this course has been recently redesigned but someone needs to go through and match up each basket with its correct number. A few locals also told us that there was a map of the course layout near hole 1 but we could not find it.
Other Thoughts: We are not locals.. we were just passing through the Atlanta area. We would definitely play this course again next time we are in town.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun course

5+    1/3/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 67  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of heavily wooded and open holes. Many elevation changes and some challenging mandos/ob's. Mainly well manicured and the locals are usually quite helpful if you need direction.
Cons: Plays very long for beginners on the front 9, but not too bad. This is a park of many uses so be mindful of the pedestrians and people attending sporting events.

The area around the football field gets filthy after games, occasionally spoiling the look of the normally excellent park.
Other Thoughts: Starts out with a couple of short and heavily wooded holes. Moves to a series of more open and very long holes for a bit.

Back 9 has tons of mid distance holes with ace chances. Very good course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My First Love

5+    1/5/2014   1/18/2014
Review By: heartman
Played: 89  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The first course I ever played and where I honed my craft.

- Well manicured multi-use park. Grass height is never an issue.

- Discatcher baskets are in overall good condition with multiple pins on a handful of holes (with plans for more alt pins I believe).

- Concrete tees on every hole in overall good condition ... not too grippy, not too slick

- Hyzer holes, anny holes, multishot holes ... all of the above!

- Front 9 plays longer and more open. Back 9 plays shorter through mature pine forest with zero undergrowth and a handful of ace runs.

- Excellent use of available elevation (4, 10, 11) and interesting greens (6, 12, 17)

- 3 true par 4's (5, 7, 8) requiring some degree of thought. 5 and 8 require placement shots off the tee, while 7's drive is more of a Max D shot before trying to skip to the green on your second shot.

Cons: - It's not the easiest course to play blind. Definitely bring a map if you've never played out here before. Next tee signs or stickers on poles showing what direction to go would be great.

- Tee signs are not the most accurate (I believe they were from the original design ... some holes/distances are ever so slightly different)

- Hole 1: It's a tight shot and a rough hole to begin on, no doubt. I personally lopped several branches back in November that improved it slightly ... but it can still be depressing. Gotta execute right from the start. (there is an alternate Hole 1 being experimented with during weekly action: teepad is to the right of the concrete and slightly back throwing down a wide funnel to a pin ~50' from the road ... never played it, but it looks like a good hole)

- Hole 2: Ahhh, the number one complaint of this course by basically all of Metro ATL. Technically Hole 2 is a par 4 from the poured concrete tee with tee sign, however us locals play par 3 from the old picnic table concrete slab directly to the right of #1's pin. The par 4 pad is a great idea, however with the overgrowth on the left gap it is not really a viable option (and the pavilion does somewhat come into play).

From the par 3 pad: It's a tight gap, no doubt about it, but it's also very easy to sneak through (and yes it's incredibly easy to ricochet off a tree 100'+ in the wrong direction too). There are 3 trees that if removed, would greatly improve this hole: the two trees that intrude on the right side of the fairway (one of which defines the gap which taken out would widen the first gap that must be hit by ~3', and then the tree directly behind it on the right side ~50'-75') ... as well as the skinny little dogwood? on the left just about where you want to start hyzering to the left pin (and the left pin is the better pin IMO and is rarely in the right pin)

... however, to be able to take the 3 trees out that I would like to, the county said that 3 trees must be planted elsewhere in the park. And as the club has no money currently, doing so is not an option.

- Personally I feel that the tee on hole 6 is about 3' too short. The tee is in good shape, just a weird length ... and the ground behind it does not allow for a smooth transition between natural --> concrete with ~4" difference in height

- Hole 14 is kinda a poke and pray to get through the tree line ... would be nice to have a more defined fairway.

- There are short tees scattered throughout the course, but not clearly labeled and typically only used for tournaments. The course overall is not really beginner friendly (but if you play it a lot starting out, it will force you to get better quick)

- As it is a multi-use park there are lots of people not necessarily aware of disc golf ... in the fall, sometimes football/cheerleaders are in the fairways some weekends (specifically 5 and 10). Pedestrians have right of way (be sure to check on 4 for any walkers), just wait, take a sec and rest, and then throw.

- Not many trash cans around the course oddly enough for this type of park: put it in your bag till you see one. (not that big of a con)

- Swings scattered throughout near some tees, but no benches at every hole (not that big of a con as I carry a stool)
Other Thoughts: - To score well, being able to accurately throw 300'+ is a must ... ideally 350'+

- High replay fun factor

- Bathroom available near Hole 14's pin. If winterized than Porta John usually in loop parking lot by playground

- There are talks of making Hole 6 the new #1.

- Like 'Fayette County Disc Golf' on facebook for latest updates on when action is going on (usually dubs in Sundays at 10am, and I believe a singles league started on Saturdays at 11am)

- Am I slightly biased in my review? Probably, but I did try to be as objective as possible and try and highlight the pros/cons as I see them.

- I can see how people who only play it once, would rate it lower due to the cons that I listed, but as a local and as I know the various nuances of the course, I truly think it deserves a 4 Disc rating.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 McCurry Park Disc Golf Course

5+    12/6/2013   12/8/2013
Review By: smokfraglerock
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course plays around and through a large multi-use park. Both park and course are well main-tained year round. Grass never gets too long in summer and underbrush never gets out of control.
The park is safe for families with two playgrounds near the disc golf course. Park features pavilions for picinics. Great place for a family outing.
The course itself has a good variety of holes and does not repeat itself. The baskets are solid DiscCatchers. Each hole has a concrete teepad and most have a level area for longer run-ups. OBs increase difficulty without being unfair.
Mandos are well placed to increase safety on the course.
Signs are fairly accurate and show alternate tee postitions.
Trash cans are all around the park so you don't have to carry trash for long stretches.
Local regulars are friendly, helpful and will point you in the right direction if you get lost.
Course has a mix of open and techincal holes.
Open holes have some technical challenge. I.e. 6 and 10 have the baskets on small hills, and 7 and 11 have the baskets guarded by trees.
Cons: The course does not have forward tees. Beginners may find this course too challenging because of the length of some holes.
The course gets really crowded at peak times. Other park activities can spill over onto the course, making some holes unplayable at times. The course plays close to other park activities, the playgrounds, and walking paths.
Walkers will probably slow down your round but they have right of way so bring your patience.
There are few benches on this course and none at the tee pads.
Navigation of this course can be confusing the first time. Bring a map or play with someone who knows the course.
Other Thoughts: Holes one and two play through trees. Three brings you out of the woods but trees are the dominant feature of this course. Four is an elevated tee to a basket guarded by small trees. Five through seven are pretty open. The basket for six is on an island hill. Downslope on two thirds of the green. Seven is a long par 4 made more difficult because the basket is thirty feet in the trees. Eight is wooded. Nine through eleven are open. Basket for ten is on a hill, basket for eleven is in trees. Twelve through sixteen are shorter and in more trees. Seventeen and eighteen are longer and the basket for seventeen is on a slope.
Coming from Highway 19-41 Lovejoy use the first park entrance and park at the second playground. Hole one is across the park road by the bulletin board.
Coming from GA-54 Fayetteville use the second park entance and follow the above directions.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/30/2013   12/7/2013
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Gorgeous park setting , good mix of short and medium length holes . several really great holes .
Cons: Slightly difficult to navigate first time . A few really tight tree-lined holes . Some pedestrian interference on occasion .
Other Thoughts: One of my personal favorite ATL courses .

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.