Fayetteville, GA 
McCurry Park Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #13 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 365ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Best Course in Atlanta?

2-4    2/7/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: The Drake
Played: 118  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 17.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was one of the best courses I've played in a while. With a great mix of shots and lots of distance to stretch out your arm you won't get bored with this course. Even The wide open shots take some strategy and skill with placement and aren't just long bomber holes for the sake of being long bombers. On top of the long open holes there are some really good tight wooded holes which truly test your accuracy. Its in a great park which when I played wasn't very busy but I can definitely see how it could be based on the quality of the park in general.
Cons: What keeps this course fro being perfect are the first two holes. Hole 1 isn't too bad simply because its very short, but the fairway is only about 30 ft at its widest and 10 non-existent within 30 ft of the pin. Hole 2 takes it a step further with a turnover/sidearm shot with literally no fairway after about 120 ft. I walked the fairway a couple times thinking maybe I'd just missed it. No, it doesn't exist. If you can make it past those two holes though the course really has a great design.
Other Thoughts: If you have time to play one course and don't mind driving a little ways (about 25-30 minutes south of downtown Atlanta) then I highly recommend playing this course. I'm not sure what the locals consider the course par to be but I would venture there are at least a few par 4s out there so I would guess somewhere around 58. Overall its a great course and I look forward to playing it again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 McCurry Park

1    9/19/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course, just about every type of hole you can think of. Lots of power needed to score well on this course. Not very beginner friendly, a good variety of wooded and open holes. Lots of elevation changes. Very well maintained park, but can be busy at times. They have park security that patrols the area so it seems like a pretty safe park.Good signs at every tee that shows the lay out of the hole, as seen in the pics. They do have maps provided by Play it Again Sports. Great course to work on your distance and with some tailwinds you can really get some good distance.
Cons: Very hard to navigate unless you are playing with someone who has played there before. The first 2 holes are in my opinion the worst holes on the course, they are very wooded with no fairways and are very difficult to find. A map is definitely needed to play this course. Since it is a multi use park there is a lot of traffic, especially with picnickers that seem like they are everywhere. Has dirt tees which everyone who has played knows that they always aren't in usable shape.
Other Thoughts: Very good course, a must play if you are in the metro ATL area! Just watch out for other people on the course and watch out for cars as some holes play along a pretty busy road.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 long, some hills and OB

1    11/10/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 233  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 22.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and tough in the wind. Some big hills to shoot off and one basket on a slant. Rollers can be used. Well mowed and clean. Well marked- tee signs large and nice, maps in box and online. Doesn't interfere with other park users too much. Some tight and long holes in the beginning and end make good practice for powerful accuracy shots. The large more open holes allow everyone to wail on a disc so it's fun. Some OB.
Cons: -Dirt tees
-Hole #2
-Nothing else really
Other Thoughts: -Needs cement/gravel/rubber tees and supposedly eventually will.
-Hole #2 needs a complete re-design as it's pointless and without a fairway.

Definitely a must-play in the ATL metro.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Long... and pretty good.

2-4    8/10/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 37.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2008
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very long so you can work on your distance shots here. There are a lot of open holes and holes where you just throw as far as you can and there's not really much consequence where the drive lands. This course plays hard when there's wind as well. You can definitely work on controlling your shots in the wind. It seemed like there was a headwind on every hole. There's some nice elevation change in this park. It's not extreme elevation change but there are rolling hills. The new tee signs are very nice and it has nice new baskets.
Cons: A couple of the in the holes in the woods have no fairway. You just throw and play pinball. The course does not have tee pads and the dirt tees have roots in them in cases. This is too be expected with dirt tees but it would be really nice to have poured concrete tee pads here.

This course does not flow simply in some cases. We were searching around for holes every now and then because we didn't bring a map. The course is in a multi use park. There are picnicers, walkers and kids playing all over the place. One of the times I played the course we had to skip a hole because there was a kids cheerleading practice on it. We would have been throwing right in to a bunch of people if we had chose to play the hole. Be very careful for people on the walking paths as well.

The course could benifit from multiple tee pads. It is definitely not an easy play for a beginner. They won't lose a disc but the holes are all so long that they will be throwing a ton of shots from the current tees.
Other Thoughts: A comment regarding my evaluation of courses. I am not trying to insult or hurt any ones feelings when I review a course. I'm just trying to evaluate the course on what I feel are important characteristics of a good course. Disc golf has become a large enough sport that I feel we should strive for better than we have now. Just putting 18 holes in a park isn't enough. 18 pole holes does not make a disc golf course. It requires tee's, signs, maps, solid course design and constant maintenance. Any less than that and we will never advance the sport to a reputable level.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

5/20/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: sfeather
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is maintained well by the Fayette Parks and Rec department. The grassy fairways have always been well trimmed. The workers go out of their way to mow away from golfers, which is an exception in government service to be sure.

The park is patrolled regularly by the Marshals, and with the volume of family traffic, the park feels very safe.

The course has a great mix of grass and wooded fairways, catering to both the power and precision drivers.

We have a number of youngsters (14 and under) who come and play with our group, and the course does not put them at a serious disadvantage as some other courses do.
Cons: Natural tees.

Lack of onsite signage. Check the files section for an overview map before visiting.

Holes #1 and #2 are poison oak bait. The ground is just covered with the stuff. Do be careful if you come to play.

Holes #2 and #8 are nearly impossible to see from the tee as there is no clearly defined fairway on either.

Because it is a busy park, walkers will cluelessly jump in front of a tee as someone is about to throw.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A great course

5+    6/2/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: Bornabuckeye
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of length and technical shots

Great park, good people, maintained well.

Family and Animal friendly

Nice mix of holes.

Allows for all throwing styles

Close in proximity to Al Lambert over at Play It Again Sports Fayette, who stocks a nice selection of plastic and provides a trade in used selection as well.
Cons: Sometimes the park can be noisy, as there is always something going on. Parties, picnics, and cookouts can get in the way.
Other Thoughts: A great addition that really bolsters the south-side disc golf courses A fun and enjoyable walk and a much better choice (in the summer) if Moseley's grass hasn't been cut. Really enjoy the 18 hole walk as its easy on the legs and doesn't offer a ton of opportunities to lose a disc.

McCurry has enough bite to it to get after the real aggressive types.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long course with promising potential

12/31/2007   6/1/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 524  Reviewed: 117  Exp: 41.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2008
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NOTE: I played the course in Dec 07, so the course was still quite new. There have already been a few changes, and more improvements will be coming.
At 7079 ft, it's a long course. IMO there are 4 Blue CR Par 4 holes: 4, 5, 7, 11, making it a par 58. If you're a long thrower or looking for a long course then this is a good place to go.
Excellent length variety: 5 of 249-299/ 5 of 300-399/ 5 of 400-499/ 2 of 538-551/ 1 of 666
Some elevation change on most holes, but most change is moderate. The greatest is a 24 ft drop. 2 Flat/ 9 Up/ 7 Down.
Good variety of wooded, open, and mixed foliage holes: 10 Woods/ 4 Grass/ 4 Mixed
Cons: When I played the course the tees were dirt and there were no tee signs, only white poles.
Eventually it would be nice to have a map of the course. Tees 4, 14, 17 were hard to find, and baskets 2, 8 were hard to see from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Course Level = Advanced (Blue)
My favorite hole was number 13. It's a flat, straight, very pretty tree lined fairway that's reachable. Overall, I rated hole 18 as the best on the course, though (7 out of 10).
In general, I thought the back nine was a little better than the front nine.
Since this course is new it's still being worked on and broken in. I rated it according to the conditions when I played it instead of according to it's future potential. Since the tees and signs were below average, I expect that the rating will improve when these are worked on.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my detailed rating notes.
You can also read more of my reviews at http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Just Found this Course

3/23/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: dgwynn
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of (very) wooded and open holes. Baskets are in fantastic shape, and course is well groomed. Nice post for what I would assume are signs that are coming.
Cons: Dirt tees, and maybe just a few too many trees on a few holes. Watch out for children and joggers.
Other Thoughts: I'm pumped about the cement tees that the previous reviewer spoke of. That along with the signs that look to be coming, and this will be a very nice course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New Course, Getting Broken In

2/2/2008   2/14/2008
Review By: ndunkin
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very new course. Challenging due to trees and lots of OB's. Mostly flat, some downhill runs, and a few wide open holes for full out huking.
Cons: Dirt tee pads. Cement pads coming soon. Tees not marked yet. Signs are in the works. Lots of joggers and walkers to dodge on the paths.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the holes that play along the road. Tends to freak the drivers out when a disc comes flying at them as they drive by.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.