Vacaville, CA 
Lagoon Valley Share
Uploaded By: Mavurick Hole #20 (Taken 8/2017)
3 / 172ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Vast, Variety, Solid

1    2/19/2018   2/20/2018
Review By: Django Chained
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: > 27 Holes, spread across a large expanse of land in a beautiful valley near a lake
> Course flows through three different natural zones with roughly 9 holes in each - First nine on the shores of the lake, middle nine around open pastures on a gradual hillside, the final nine more in the hills through oak and pine forests
> Three solid elevated launch tees
> Great signage and wayfinding on all holes
> 2-4 pin positions on each hole, which really can change the experience for repeat visits
> Easy access just off I-80, plenty of parking and facilities
> Tons of variety with wide open and long, to insanely tight and short, and everything in between.
> Good use of natural hazards to make you think twice about tee shots and approaches
> Decent tees and baskets on all 27 holes
> 27 holes!
> Not crowded. Played on a holiday and there were probably 25 people scattered across the course.
Cons: > It's a fairly busy park and while the course is mostly on the fringes, there are a number of holes that cross/mix with pedestrian paths and a road so you will need to wait on occasion (but it's not too bad)
> Some of the tee boxes are pretty old and small
> Some of the baskets are old, but they all do the job
> When this place is windy (often in afternoons), this course will be tough to score well on
> Weeds and tall grass could be a problem in the Spring and early Summer, but there does seem to be some mowed areas
> Not really a con, but this is not a beginner course, although there are plenty of holes for new players to play outside of the designed flow.
Other Thoughts: This course has been in existence for a number of years and it seemed to be a forgotten thing so I rarely considered it. But, having played it, this is a solid 4 and I hear the local club is making more investment to improve so it's only going to get better. You just don't see many courses with the expanse and variety of terrain in the Bay Area. It's worth checking out.

 It's getting better all the time

5+    1/15/2018   1/15/2018
Review By: Yog1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Plenty of lines and different shots on each hole. Challenging but not too difficult for the intermediate player.
Cons: Lagoons can and will eat your discs. Wind can be a factor.
Other Thoughts: This course just keeps getting better and better. I just started playing it in 2017 and everything keeps getting updated. From new tee pads to signage to baskets and course maintenance this course is making way for a must play in California. I know that there will be even more improvements in 2018 with the massive amount of improvements from 2017 alone.

If you throw a disc in the water, check the facebook Lagoon Valley Disc Golf Club group. The president often goes in and retrieves discs to get them back to the rightful owners completely free of charge.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Recent work has seriously improved the course

2-4    1/6/2018   1/11/2018
Review By: Phytopia
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
--Signage--

Signs present and in good condition on all holes. They contain par info, distance, a cartoon aerial view of the hole, and current pin position on the sign post. Some also show next tee position. In addition to the tee signs there are a number of just-installed signs guiding between the tees that are further apart.

--Tees--

Tees are concrete or brick, made of varying sizes and shapes. They are easy to find and clean of debris (hole 10 even has its own broom, just in case).

--Baskets--

Most of the baskets are new or nearly new and relatively easy to find. Hole 24 has a blind basket, but thanks to the excellent signage you can get a good idea of where the basket is at.

--Holes--

The holes demand a variety of throws depending on pin position. In general, RHBH hyzers will do you pretty well, but there are enough holes that demand other throws to keep things interesting. Most holes are in the 200-300 foot range, but one can be >600ft and several are in the >400 ft category. Most of the course is on relatively flat ground, but the course makes good use of the elevation that it has, with several throws from higher elevation tees into valley baskets and vice versa. Hole 26 might be the signature hole. You tee off from "lookout point" over a gorge and onto a distant hill at ~475 ft to an elevated basket partially guarded by a lone tree, providing a picturesque yet challenging hole.

--General Course Considerations--

While not every hole has seating, a good number do. I've only played over a 1.5 month stretch in the winter, so my perspective is limited, but the course seems well maintained. There are restrooms and drinking water available.
Cons:
--Tees--

These are probably one of the worst aspects of the course, which is saying something because they're adequate already. Several are on the smaller side and sit on slight hills making run-up for the throw difficult. If they were expanded a bit to allow a proper X-step on the tee I would have no complaints. It appears that several have recently been improved, so I have high hopes for the future.

--Baskets--

Baskets are a mixed variety. Non appear to be top-of-the-line although most are perfectly serviceable. However, a few are showing there are age and should probably be replaced or repaired.

--General Course Considerations--

The park is often crowded with dog walkers, joggers, bikers, etc. This is no fault of the course, since it's a beautiful park, but it can mean waiting to throw for a while until there is a safe gap. While there are trash cans present, they're pretty sparse on the back 18. Finally, there are some weeds, mostly limited to the front nine that have some serious spines on them. For the most part they are avoidable, but if your disc lands in a big patch of them god help you, because those things go straight through the side of a meshy running-style shoe.

Other Thoughts:
I put off playing this course for about two months because of the low score on here, so I was quite surprised when I finally did. It looks like the local club has put a ton of work into improving the course. Just in the few weeks since my first time playing there they have replaced a basket, put up five or so signs to help find the next tee, and several mando signs. I'm sure at the rate they're going that none of my cons will be valid in a year's time. If you haven't played the course yet, go! It's well worth the $3 parking fee.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

What an improvement! Fun, challenging 27 holes.

5+    12/20/2017   1/10/2018
Review By: timothyasteele
Played: 40  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a solid challenging 27 holes to test all of your skills. I like the fact that there are some water hazard holes, multiple pin positions for variety, elevation changes, wide open holes and tightly wooded holes, and a couple "top of the world" type holes to finish off the course.
Mostly great new Mach 5 baskets, with a few still needing to be changed out. Lots of recent improvements thanks to Jordan and the Club, with great signage to mark mandos, next tee pad arrows, some new tee pads, etc.
Cons: There are a couple of unacceptably bad tee pads and also some old baskets that desperately need to be changed (it's in the works).
Exceedingly windy during a lot of the year, primarily April - August, sometimes so that's it's almost unplayable. Get there early during those months!
Other Thoughts: I used to never play this course due to lack of upkeep, horrible teepads, old baskets, and lack of signage. In the past couple years, this is becoming a great destination to play regularly as the improvements keep coming every month!
It will be a 4.5 star course by the end of 2018.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorite local spots

5+    1/7/2018   1/10/2018
Review By: dridge11
Played: 57  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of my favorite things about Lagoon Valley is the variety. Where some courses are just a backhand drive off the tee, upshot, putt, on to the next, Lagoon gives you the chance to throw forehands, backhands, overhands, and rollers. I find myself teeing off with drivers, mids, and putters. Multiple pin positions on most all of the 27 holes keep things challenging and fresh. Some water to contend with, a few road OBs, and a variety of uphill/downhill and technical/wide open. The new signs help with course navigation and if you're in a hurry, it's easy to just play the front 9, or cut out 10-14 and 20-23 for an 18 hole round and still have it flow well. Large course map displayed at the parking area near hole 1.
Cons: The only real con for me is goose poop on a few holes. As most will mention, the wind can be a challenge. I use it as an opportunity to learn how it impacts the flight. Yes, there is water and the opportunity to lose a disc. The grass can be tall during the spring/summer but the city has been good about working with the club to keep it trimmed.
Other Thoughts: The Lagoon Valley DGC is putting a lot of work into keeping the course beautiful and making improvements. New signage, a few new baskets popping up, new benches, new teepads, etc. One of my favorite local courses that keeps getting better each time I play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    1/10/2018   1/10/2018
Review By: Jsykes
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Can play long and challenging
18+ holes
Varity of shot types
Active club and course upkeep
Cons: Can get very windy and some water, may want to bring some backup discs.
Other Thoughts: Love the layout of the land. Lots of room here.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Lots to like

5+    5/17/2017   5/18/2017
Review By: mdegs
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall this is a fun course with many different types of shots: wide open fairways, tunnel shots, downhill, lefty holes. Great use of water without being too intimidating or dangerous -- shots parallel to water, shots over water, a peninsula green (the front 9's signature hole). Some fun bombers.

Most holes have multiple pin locations. You will (or could) use a lot of different discs in your bag. Not too crowded. Pedestrians are present but not usually problematic.
Cons: Teepads and signage are inconsistent. Some baskets are pretty old. Navigation is tricky in spots, though I did find Udisc's map to be reliable. Some of the walks between holes are long.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid course. The locals are steadily improving the tees and signage so this course is definitely worth a visit. I live about 40 min away and only make it here occasionally, but I wish I got here more often.

I recommend using a spotter on select holes.

The parking lot by 26's tee would be a sweet tourney central!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good course with potential

5+    4/22/2017   4/28/2017
Review By: bneezy323
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 27 holes with a variety of shots (water holes, hallway shots, open areas, etc)
- Multiple pin locations for most the holes
- Baskets are moved about every month
- Practice basket at hole 1
- New Tee signs on the front of the course
- Bathrooms onsite (bit of walk to them though)
- Beautiful water scenery
Cons: - Tee pads are not consistent in material or size. Pretty maddening in the back part of the course with tee pads that are 2ft x 4ft stones.
- The city controls the maintenance of the course for the most part. The city only mows the course twice a year and limits the local club to weedeaters.
- Tall grass for a few months makes the course unplayable for a few months (see above).
-Goose shit everywhere near water holes (1-9)
- Multiuse park so people walk everywhere even through the course itself without a care that you're playing.
- Navigation from hole 14 to 15 is confusing and a big of walk. It's like the course is split 14 holes on one side and 13 on the other.
- Pay for parking
Other Thoughts: This course really has potential. If the course got consistent tee pads, signs, and maintenance then I can see this being a destination course. I recommend checking the local club's facebook page before visiting to check the condition of the course before going.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Not the finest but decent

1    5/28/2016   5/28/2016
Review By: kevinsady
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy freeway access
Cons: Hot! Lots of stickers in your shoes.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course, but it ate a few of my discs... Water was magnetic. Bring a few old discs for the front 9 if your accuracy isn't great...
I generally play the Lake Tahoe courses so the heat and weeds were a bit foreign to me.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lagoon

2-4    1/9/2016   2/3/2016
Review By: deft
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2018
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: lots of pin locations and a good variety of shots. this course is long and uses the land to mix up the shots required. both big arms and finesse players will like this course. the grass was short and maintained, which has been a problem in the past. Update the club put in a few new tee pads and a bunch of nice benches. The grass is always cut short now. New pin locations are spectacular.
Cons: it seems more like 3 separate nine hole courses than 27. Update i played this course a couple times recently and there are a ton of improvements. The club put up direction signs and a course map that helps with navigation.
Other Thoughts: the course has undergone a lot of renovation and is playing great. The new club is really making some great changes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.