Vacaville, CA 
Lagoon Valley Share
Uploaded By: DesignerJoe55 Hole #1 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0


$3/car parking fee" />
Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Good course with potential

5+    4/22/2017   4/28/2017
Review By: bneezy323
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 27 holes with a variety of shots (water holes, hallway shots, open areas, etc)
- Multiple pin locations for most the holes
- Baskets are moved about every month
- Practice basket at hole 1
- New Tee signs on the front of the course
- Bathrooms onsite (bit of walk to them though)
- Beautiful water scenery
Cons: - Tee pads are not consistent in material or size. Pretty maddening in the back part of the course with tee pads that are 2ft x 4ft stones.
- The city controls the maintenance of the course for the most part. The city only mows the course twice a year and limits the local club to weedeaters.
- Tall grass for a few months makes the course unplayable for a few months (see above).
-Goose shit everywhere near water holes (1-9)
- Multiuse park so people walk everywhere even through the course itself without a care that you're playing.
- Navigation from hole 14 to 15 is confusing and a big of walk. It's like the course is split 14 holes on one side and 13 on the other.
- Pay for parking
Other Thoughts: This course really has potential. If the course got consistent tee pads, signs, and maintenance then I can see this being a destination course. I recommend checking the local club's facebook page before visiting to check the condition of the course before going.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lagoon

2-4    1/9/2016   2/3/2016
Review By: deft
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: lots of pin locations and a good variety of shots. this course is long and uses the land to mix up the shots required. both big arms and finesse players will like this course. the grass was short and maintained, which has been a problem in the past.
Cons: it seems more like 3 separate nine hole courses than 27. Navigation can be tricky here, the first time i played i only found 24 holes. tee pads range from decent to terrible. the wind can make this course a challenge.
Other Thoughts: the course has a lot of potential and with a little work could be one of the best courses in the area. If this course had better signage and tee pads it could easily be a 4 star course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok course, pieces missing

1    12/22/2015   1/18/2016
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 123  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- 18+9 holes
- Alternate pin positions
- Tee Signs with distances
- Pin indicators on some of the tee signs
- Concrete/Brick tees
- Conveniently off the highway
- Brightly colored baskets
Cons:
- Pay parking
- Mostly flat boring layout
- Eclectic mismatching tees
- Pedestrians, multi use park
- Bad navigation signage hole 12 and beyond
- Goose dump all over fairways 1-9
Other Thoughts:

The course is located along a dried up lagoon that was surprisingly bustling with joggers and dog walkers at 8 am on a Tuesday morning. The first 9 holes were fairly simple, on flat ground, and easy to navigate. The back 9 plus the bonus 9 holes were on the other side of the road and worked their way up the hillside. I really liked how some of the signs indicated the current pin position. I barely ever see that done on most courses I've thrown. This was especially helpful for figuring out which basket to throw to on holes 4, 5, and 8 as they all overlap with each other. I was also glad to have a stool to place my bag on for the front 9 as each one of those fairways were completely covered in goose crap.

There were a few things that brought my course rating down. Besides the course being kind of bland the most notable were the often slick disproportionate dimensions of the concrete teepads and the horrendous navigation past hole 12. I had to tee off from behind or to the side of most of the concrete pads. Others were either very too narrow, short, or both. The signs on the back side were confusing. I couldn't tell if they were outdated or just neglected. It was the kind of nonsensical fairway jumbling that only a local would know. I saved a map on my tablet and I still had problems. I would have liked to see a couple more holes that involved the hillside instead of the ones over/around the pond. I would have liked to give it a 2.75, but that's not an option, so I gave it a 3 because it's got potential.

Remember to bring exact change or oddly enough your checkbook, there might not be an attendant working the fee hut at the entrance to the park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Random Doubles at Lagoon Valley

1    9/6/2015   9/13/2015
Review By: thest3v3mc
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was down visiting from Portland and brought my discs with me with plans of driving up the coast and playing all the way. This was my first stop as I was staying in Davis a couple of days before I headed north. I happened upon a group of locals who were just starting a round of random doubles and joined up. It was nice to have a group to play with since I didnt know the course. We split into 2 groups of 3 twosomes and headed out. Our group started on 10 so I played the course 10-27 then 1-9

Overall there was a great mix of short technical shots, big bombs and birdie opportunities. Tee pads were good, signage was ok but at the same time I wasnt paying close attention because I was mostly relying on the group to give me an update on the hole we were playing. The guys I met were great. Welcoming and informative. Saw an ace on hole 2
Cons: It was hot and dry that day and because of the openess of some of the holes the wind can really play a factor. Not a lot to complain about overall though.
Other Thoughts: I lost a disc on one of the holes and one of the guys went back later and found it. I hooked up with him before I left town so I could start my tour with a full bag. Thanks!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of changes

5+    2/21/2014   2/26/2014
Review By: dbdg707
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Goon Squad, the local crew, have recently added a lot to the course. Great signage, new tees and bark around each green. Even a broom at almost every hole.

Locals are really helpful.

Back 9 has some top of the world chances.

Bonus holes now have signs too.

Usually some of mainstays out selling discs for cheap.
Cons: Water shots on 4-7. You can lose a disc with a crap throw. Or lay up if you want. Your call. Not as bad as folks say.

Randoms have been known to stroll fairways.

A few holes run along the road. On a busy day, walkers can be an issue.

Wind can be tough.
Other Thoughts: Give it a shot.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lagoon Valley local

5+    10/12/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: gda659
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only 3 miles from home and I can take my dog or ride my mountain bike on the course.
The extra holes beyond the 18 provide some interesting and challenging play, but you might need a local to show you the way. It's free if you park outside the gate. Start at 15 from the Butcher Road side or 12 from the Pena Adobe side. The baskets on the 18 holes are nice Mach 2. The bonuse hole baskets are a mix, but quite serviceable.
Holes 14 and 17 are my favorite with the elevation changes. It feels good to watch a good drive on those holes. Lately, 15 is growing on me, too.
Cons: Wear gaiters or tall, all leather footwear in the summer, the foxtail and star thistle are nasty. The map is inaccurate and the tee boxes and signage need work. It doesn't help that some of the signs have been vandalized. It's hot during the day and the wind can be awful and make the water holes especially hazardous. The ponds are foul with at least 6 to 8 inches of muck on the bottom. I've hit water on 5 different holes so far. I'm sure I'll make it 6 some day soon, especially if someone changes the basket location on the 5th. I haven't played yet during rainy season. I expect it to be very wet and muddy in places.
Other Thoughts: Better tee boxes and signage would help a lot. In this climate, it's expensive to have a nicely groomed landscape, so I can appreciate the almost wilderness park aspect, but losing your disc in tall grass and getting your shoes, socks, and shins tore up are going to be part of the experience. If Disc Doug finds your disk in the pond and you have your number on it, he'll give you a call. There are others who wade the waters and aren't so considerate.
There are lots of other park users, walkers, horses, mountain bikes, dogs, and others. They're not always cognizant of the course and how it plays. For me, I'll play it as much as possible because it's here. It may not be destination worthy, but if you are passing by, give it a try. If it's not too hot or windy, it should at least be a good time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not friendly to beginners, not that much fun for seasoned players

5+    12/23/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: miniboult
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy to follow tee signs (except finding the back 9)
-Good course layout map posted right before hole #1
-Some easy holes for beginners
-Some challenging holes for seasoned players
-Winds can make rounds interesting
Cons: -Pay to Play
-Water hazard holes not friendly around lake
-high density of non disc golf traffic. This is a dog park as well as a hiking park.
-many hole placements too close to road traffic.
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes on this course can be fun (17 and 18 are top of the world type shots, though much shorter). The layout of the course is OK, but i would have preferred more holes away from the road. several holes run right along the park main road. The water holes are not friendly to beginners, so i suggest they skip them or be prepared to lose plastic. Overall a B course grade. Some technical shots, but mostly straight driving.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Day in the park

1    3/28/2011   3/30/2011
Review By: evac1599
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course played really well. Didn't have any trouble figuring out where the next hole was. There is a good variation of chalenging holes. Just minutes off the I-80.
Cons: Not all tees are concrete. Signs could use a bit of work. Plan to huck a couple in the water. It's too tempting to try to run it. All the grass on the back nine needs some cutting. You may spend a lot of time looking for a shot that you saw land. Alternate holes should have better marking. I had a local play me through the whole course. If you know where you're going, this course is a great time.
Other Thoughts: It would be cool to see this thing get finished 100%. My opinion this is one of the best courses i've played. If it were trimmed up it would be an excelent rated course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Poop Adobe

5+    3/22/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: LhDave
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has a lil bit of everything regarding hole type, open, tight, up, down,left, right, tunnels, water.
Most holes offer several line options
Water fountains, Bathrooms, plenty of parking
Park has tons of other stuff to do, perfect to keep family busy or make a day of it.
Course is a little long, makes for good exercise.
Cons: Inconsistent tees, front are concrete back have natural
Signs are old and faded but a little look ahead fixes that.
Wind at times is beastly
When the grass is tall, keep an eye out
Outta shape people might not like for length and the few hills.
Previously noted there is a very small community of locals, an organization/club would be awesome.
Other Thoughts: The parking fee is enforced by the city, not because of the disc golf course. The fuzz will ticket for not paying, 40 bucks for not paying a measly 3 bucks, so pay up! !!! also if you dont pay the 40 say goodbye registration

Pond and the lagoon can be quite foul, tons of poop in there, if you retreive a disc keep it outta the bag. stink to high hell

Drinking is prohibited, keep it down or tucked in the cart

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/7/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lagoon Valley is a beautiful setting with lots of nice people and fun activities going on
-Great place to take your dogs if you have any, just make sure to keep them close to your side and cleanup up their poop!
-Great variety of holes, especially if you do all of the bonus holes. Has a couple great downhill bomber holes, one good uhphill hole, large and small fairways.
-Nice elevation changes
-love the variety of bonus holes on the front part of the course. Bonus holes on the back - not so much.
-well thought out basket placement
-Good variety of distance.
-usually not over-crowded
Cons: -TALL GRASS ON THE FAIRWAYS. This is by far the biggest drawback for me on this course. You will spend an average of about a half an hour a round looking for your disc which as submerged into the weedy abyss.
-In my openion, water comes a little bit too much into play on this course - especially Hole #6. I'm sure the locals love it however because they are constantly out there scavenging for sunken discs in the pond and pullling them out in large numbers.
-Don't recall it having any real true dog leg holes
-Hard to navigate
-Flow is not that great
-Some long walks between holes
-Tee pads are either crappy or non-existent
-Not well maintained. Given that this is a pay to play course, it definitely needs more TLC.
-Signs worn down and not that helpful.
-Baskets a little old and out dated
Other Thoughts: If this course just had a little more TLC it could be a 3.5 to 4 star course easily.
This would include cutting back the grass on the fairway regularly, setting new tee pads, getting some new signs (including some signs that direct you to the next hole)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.