Sparta, WI 
Justin Trails - Big Brother DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
5 / 300ft.   5 / 1025ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
J TRAILS ,,,wholesome round

5+    7/13/2016   4/30/2017
Review By: TeebirdDan
Played: 90  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: hole 1 kinda sucks its a thousand ft by a cornfield but after that , the course is really fun .hole 2 is up hill ,and if your not a power arm ,throw for a good second shot .hole 3 is the first spectacular fairway ,down hill fun .The next two go up a logging type road.getting off these fairways is bad ,basket locations are a challenge too. hole 6 is up top of the hill the last two fairways went up . the veiw to the side of this fairway is awsome. the fairway has woods on both sides and drops off steep to either side of fairway . The rest of this course is just as climatic as i described holes 2 threw 6 to be .extreme elevation threw out , some wooded and open fairways . hole 12 has a deep little pond in a spot that really comes into play with the wind sometimes. 18 is a huge downhill for 600+ feet .this course demands your best throws and severely punishes bad ones.
Cons: the worst part about playing this course is not staying on the fairway on the open holes ,these hills are several hundred ft tall and the grass gets thick n high . thiss can mean your disc went hundreds of ft down hill off the fairway into waist high grass .throw plastic you can except loosing is advised .
Other Thoughts: SO great to have courses in this area of western wisconsin hill country ,wish there was more of them . this place is really beautiful . Even though the owners are not themselves discgolfers ,they are really nice and welcoming to us . Remember to bring as much water as you can carry and a high protein snack this course is a real workout just in terms of hiking .

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

All Day Butt Kicker

5+    9/24/2016   1/26/2017
Review By: recca68592
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A beautiful course and an even more amazing atmosphere. This courses offers a wide range of long and short holes, as well as open, wooded, and a range of elevation changes throughout.
Cons: This course is definitely NOT beginner friendly. I recommend only those who are serious about disc golf play this course. Also, I feel the course would benefit from having several water stations placed on it as one can go through a gallon in the first three holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is best played in the spring and fall. I am one of several people who work on the course and I can tell you that this is the best it has looked in years! We have done so much grooming on the course and will continue to do so! A few short tees have been installed this past year and more will be coming in 2017

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing, all the way around.

1    10/10/2016   10/14/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 319  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big Brother is the giant ass kicker course on the Justin Trails property. This is a disc golf destination, with onsite camping and cabins available.

Concrete tee pads, with nearly all holes having two tees. But let's be real. If you're making the trip here, you're playing the longs. If you don't, well...then I think you're dumb. Plenty long, wide and grippy.

Nice Chainstar baskets, which helped greatly with scouting on many holes. One pin position per hole.

Rudimentary signs, but they're decent enough. Hole number, distances, and a rough hole layout. Navigation was relatively easy, as long as you pay attention to the tee signs. Don't assume hole 16 is hole 6, for example.

All the distance your noodley arm can handle. Want to start with a 1205' hole? You got it, tough guy. Big downhill bombers? You've got that too. How about some tight, long wooded lines? Check. On top of that, a decent amount of shorter holes to get those deuces on. But good luck...they'll take a solid shot to get it. As a guy that throws 380-400 (depending on the day), I absolutely loved the distance variations here.

Elevation. So much elevation. Up hills...down hills...back up hills. Your legs will know that you've played Big Brother. A few cool valley type shots are mixed in, which area always fun. Also, a TOTW shot on hole 18, with a narrow gap at the tee...635'? Yes, please.

I'm a big fan of the design here, especially in the woods. Plenty of risk/reward, depending on how you want to attack holes. The rough is tough. If you go off the fairways, you're usually giving up at least a stroke. I was a big fan of the decision making needed on many of the holes here.

A touch of water sprinkled in for good measure on hole 12, which is just a great design.

I'll call it cart friendly (I dragged mine around), but I think if/when I play it again, I'll carry a bag. There's a few spots where I wasn't happy lugging wheeled baggage.
Cons: Wind is going to kick your butt here if it's heavy, especially on the open holes. You're way up high...plan accordingly.

Corn fields suck when you throw into them. So, like, try not to do that, and you'll be much happier. Or have your OH game handy...you'll need it.

Multiple pin positions would be cool.

The only shot I felt like was missing was a cool downhill, wooded hole. The transfer between 10 and 11 was a missed opportunity, in my opinion.

Other Thoughts: Big Brother isn't going to appeal to a lot of people like it does to me. I simply loved it...it's only my second 5.0 in over 180 reviews. Maybe it was the beautiful day. Maybe it just fit my skill set perfectly. I don't know...I just loved everything about it. As an added bonus, the drive here is about as scenic as you could want, through the rolling hills of western WI.

A true destination course, on a property that is a destination. Go play it. Seriously.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Woah Brother!

1    6/11/2016   6/26/2016
Review By: discingcaddie
Played: 57  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very challenging required a wide variety of shots and all the physical and mental stamina you can muster.
Cons: Very demanding hike. I walk an extremely hilly ball golf course for a living and even I needed to take a few breaks in the middle of this 4 hour journey. Some of the undergrowth is extreme and needs to be beaten back or just more foot traffic to wear it in.
Other Thoughts: This is a real deal disc golf course. Not for beginners, but can still be fun to play.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Course!

1    9/19/2015   9/21/2015
Review By: Skeeter3
Played: 100  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course is definitely going to challenge you.
-Nice mix of long and short holes.
-Fairways were well cut/maintained
-Beautiful views from the whole course.
-Nice tee boxes.
-Friendly staff
Cons: -There is a lot of hiking involved in this course as it plays throughout rolling hills (Good shoes is a must!)
-If you go off the fairway, you may spend some time looking for discs. (Don't get me wrong, the course is well groomed). Just keep an eye on your disc if it goes off the fairway.
-Lots of thorns and rough stuff off of the fairways. Evil corn stalks!
-Not geared towards beginners
Other Thoughts: Excellent facility! Excellent Staff!
Camping on-site! Maps & Scorecards in base building.

This is a disc golf opportunity you won't want to pass up! We will be back and bringing more friends next time!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Championship Course

5+    8/6/2015   8/22/2015
Review By: tbouzek
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very challenging
Course is properly maintained
Beautiful rolling valleys
Signage
Cons: Personally I don't believe there is any cons to this course. It's going to take you some time to play but that is what happens when you play a championship course. If your looking for a quickie play the Little Brother and hit the road.
Other Thoughts: If your going to do all 36 holes pack a lunch and bring plenty to drink.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good. Excellent with some maintenance.

2-4    6/29/2015   6/29/2015
Review By: trevorpumnea
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The tee pads are absolutely beautiful.
The baskets are championship and catch very well.
The mowed fairways are nice and the walking paths are easy to navigate.
Great variety of shots and good use of elevation changes.
Technical putting greens and good use of pin locations.
Cons: There are a number of field holes that play similarly.
It can be very difficult to find good tee shots due to the overgrown putting greens.
There are no paths through the rough to access poor shots.
Other Thoughts: This was a great location for a course and the mow job is great. If they had some volunteers to come out with weed wackers it could be back to it's previous glory. There are long walks between holes, but only to create excellent tee shots. This course probably plays very well in early spring and late fall.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging course

2-4    5/22/2015   5/23/2015
Review By: Bogie Bee
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging course with great views. Variety of shots; curling left or right, long tunnel shots, big bombers, elevation changes.
Cons: Fairways on the wooded holes are very narrow. The rough is VERY rough and has lots of pricker bushes that can scratch you up good or snag your clothes. A lot of it is very dense which can make finding your discs very frustrating.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good course that is also very difficult. I personally prefer the easier course (classic) partly because of how daunting the rough is. If you are an expert level player that's very accurate with a big arm, Bug Brother is your course. If you're not quite approaching that expert level of play, I'd recommend sticking to the Classic course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  justin trails. big course. unreal!

1    11/3/2014   11/3/2014
Review By: ewucrew
Played: 49  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Fantastic disc sanctuary with two courses on the property.
Great views. Great difficulty. Mowed tournament style fairways. If you play disc you need to check this place out.
Cons: Long holes
Other Thoughts: Also Nordic activities and hiking available

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 double meh

1    9/5/2014   9/5/2014
Review By: blazerico
Played: 246  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2014
3 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: the course is on a great piece of land and you get to wander through a lot of it during your round. the views on a few holes are great. the back nine kinda makes up for the front nine, but not by much.
Cons: I got really annoyed with this course starting on hole three. I found it really strange that the area around the baskets on holes 3-11 were not maintained. I would look down the trail and expect the basket to be along the mowed area, throw my disc where I figured the basket would be just to find it off to the side among the trees and bushes...annoying. I'm not one to walk the length of a hole to see where the basket is. at a course like this, that would have been a few extra miles.
Other Thoughts: overall it is worth the trip

3 of 20 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.