Montevallo, AL 
University of Montevallo Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #14 (Taken 2/2018)
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Poke And Hope Success

1    2/6/2018   4/19/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.889 Rating) A recreational course with a mixture of open and wooded holes.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - I think the difficulty here is set perfectly for a University setting. Veteran Rec players should be able crack par here often. Beginning and novice level players will be able to get a challenge that isn't overly oppressive and intermediate level players will have enough to keep them entertained.
- GROW THE SPORT - No doubt this course will aid in introducing the sport by offering students easy access to learn the game at a course on school grounds
- NATURAL BEAUTY - I scored the course about average, but since I was grasping for nice things to say, I decided to list its beauty under the pros. Several nice woodsy plays. Hole (11) was my favorite being a 15 foot wide s'n lane that plays about 25 feet downhill. About half of the course is open, but considering that the open portion of the landscape is well maintained and groomed, it isn't a total loss.

Cons: No major issues with Montevallo, it just lacks full development.
- TEES - Not in great shape. They are generally gravel beds but a few are being inundated with dirt and mud. There is some substantial pitting at a few of them and I teed outside the implied box a couple times to get footing.
- CHARACTER - In addition to poor tees, no multi tees, alternate basket locations or a practice basket. Several tees are out in the elements and there are no benches. There is a rules of game posting at tee (1) but no course map or community board. I'm sure there are restrooms are inside the campus buildings, but as a guest, they are probably unavailable.
- UNIQUENESS - A touch below average. There's a good mix of open and woodsy holes. However several of the open plays don't have one tree in play. Elevation is a minor factor on 4 or 5 holes and maxes out at around 30 feet on any one hole. Water is in fringe play on three holes but it did not affect how I played those three holes. There are six tunnel shots. two finish straight, three finish left and one is an S play. All of the holes are par 3s and the entire layout is generally short.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Advanced players are going to consistently shoot 10 down or better here. The longest holes are almost all completely open and the most heavily wooded holes are all sub 230 feet. Myself as an intermediate level player, I shot 8 down on first attempt.
- HOLE 17 - This hole has no discernible angle to the basket. The natural low arcing line is cut off by overgrowth and even the best throws probably don't get to within 50 feet of the basket. I walked up and down the line twice and eventually decided to throw a prayer of a sky hyzer. I hit a few light braches and parked it. Success.
- NAVIGATION - Pretty bad but doable. As stated under character, no course map on site. Hole signage is just white numbered posts with distance. There are no directional cues of any kind, but at least the posts are viewable from a far distance. I probably tacked on an additional 10 minutes of recon to complete my round. There's a sizable gap after hole (1) and the transition from (10) to (11), (12) to 13) and (14) to (15) are all tricky without onsite arrows. I made a map of my findings and posted it to DGCR for the next adventurer.
- WIND - A half open layout, so expect wind on most days. I was personally got lucky and got a day without any gusts to speak of.

Other Thoughts: A nice start for a course but it feels unfinished. How can a course that's been in the ground this long (10 years) not have more amenities? I know the course is getting some substantial play as the garbage cans were full and there was tee pitting. I would have guessed that some university student or a group, would taken this course under their wing and given it some more upgrades. Oh well, maybe next year's class.
- TIME PLAY - About average. Figure two hours for a foursome.
- RE-DESIGN - From reading the past reviews it appears that this course got a substantial tweaking about 3 or 4 years ago. From what I gathered, the layout is now much shorter (over 1,000 feet) and has more woodsy holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    7/29/2017   7/29/2017
Review By: UnopposableThumb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a really fun beginner/intermediate course. You play through woods, elevation changes, and drop offs behind the basket, making this course have a bit of everything. It flows very well, 1 hole is hard to find (can't quite remember the hole number, maybe 14) but this course offers a fun challenge to beginner/intermediate players.
Cons: Only con I can think of is that hole 4 is not well trimmed, so the greenery gets rather wild in all areas. Can be hard to find a disc, or a good spot to attack the basket. My friends didn't like it, but I didn't mind.
Other Thoughts: The course's small gravel tee pads are not any good. I throw from the grass beside them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

1    9/9/2015   9/9/2015
Review By: sparker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its convenient, sparsely used, and a nice beginner course.
Cons: Its very short. The course has been redone with 7 new basket locations since the last time its been reviewed. 6 of the new holes are densely wooded and extremely short (2-4 and 15-17). Some might say the new holes are technically challenging; others would suggest they add a lot of luck. You are going to hit a tree, its just a matter of how far down the path you go first. There are still problems with respect to signage. Finding the 15th basket would be near impossible without some sort of heads up. ... Its across the road, up a small embankment.
Other Thoughts: With just a little commitment this could be a really good course. Adding some benches, signage, and trash cans would be great. The loose red rock from which you throw is not as bad as I had originally anticipated. There a couple of holes (4 and 15) where some leveling of the ground around the tee would be helpful.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 beginner friendly

2-4    3/16/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 137  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 18.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good baskets, beginner friendly, not crowded either day I was there. well maintained.
Cons: Dirt tee pads which are quite "worn" on most holes. Course holds water in several places which could potentially make some holes unplayable after rain. signage is fairly non-existent. Too many wide open holes.
Other Thoughts: It's not a bad course and it has potential but it needs work. The navigation is ok but after #11 you have to go through some bushes to the next hole with no sign and #14 is in plain site so the natural assumption is that it is the next hole. Some signs would definitely be a plus. The layout flows ok but a lot of the holes are just completely out in the open. There are some woods there that are used for a couple of holes but I certainly feel like they could have put a few more holes either in the woods entirely or at least tucked some baskets into the edge of the woods. Nice little course to play if you are nearby but I wouldn't go out of my way to play there.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

UPDATE: Maybe the Best Recreational Course in the Area, After Redesign

5+    2/25/2017   10/24/2012
Review By: rhynoman
Played: 27  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 20.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, easy, and mostly short.
Nice college campus setting.
Good mix of wooded/open and elevation variety.
Perfect for taking kids or a reluctant disc golf spouse.
A few garbage cans at strategic points.
Large 4-ft-ish posts for tee markers, most with footage.
Birdie fest.
Easy hikes, with mostly short walks on and between holes.
Cons: Not any benches that I remember.
No hole layout signs, course map, score cards.
Pretty simple.
Other Thoughts: Congrats to whoever did the redesign on this. This is a great playing recreational course. I don't really know how to grade things like this on a curve. This is a great course for what it is, as long as you understand going in that this isn't a challenging course for serious players. Old-school shorter holes, like you don't seemuch anymore. I think every areaneeds a good recreational course, and this is probably one of the best I've played.

Montevallo was on my "never play again" list, until recently, when I saw an online map of the redesigned course. It's still not a destination course for serious competitive play, but this is well worth our 25-minute drive. It's a very easy walk, compared to almost anything else in the area. The new wooded holes on the front side and the back fix the old problems of the course being very unbalanced in play. It's really pretty good variety now.

Grab some friends who've never played, a stack of 150 class discs, hit discourse. Your resulting score will also be good on your self-esteem while you grow the sport.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Easy Course

5+    7/5/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: bpartrid
Played: 81  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Not crowded
*Enjoyable
*GREAT CHANCE FOR AN ACE
Cons: *Not well thought out
*Not really any actual tee pads
*Not technical at all
Other Thoughts: Get ready to unleash your driver! Unless you live in the Birmingham area or close by, I wouldn't plan to make a stop here for disc golf when there is much better out there.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 not very challenging

1    11/23/2011   11/23/2011
Review By: DrumPhil
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes, beginner friendly, decent practice course, well mowed grass, easy walking
Cons: only two or three holes had any kind of obstacles, wide open, dirt tees get muddy, no concrete tees, not much challenge, almost every hole gives an advanced player a good chance for birdie.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/25/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: Justin L
Played: 50  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well maintained beginner friendly disc golf course set in a beautiful college campus backdrop. While advanced and open level golfers will find it lacking in challenge it can still provide an enjoyable round and get you some solid mid-range practice. The course designer did a nice job of providing an introductory level disc golf course that has some potential to be lengthened in the future.
Cons: Most players don't mind natural tees, but some tees at this course are unlevel for no apparent reason. Hole #14, the longest hole on the course has a downhill teeing surface. By backing this tee up 50' this problem could have been eliminated. Other minor cons include some course flow issues and lack of benches.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunatly this course has limited potential to rise to a higher level due to the lack of trees and technical terrain. It's still an enjoyable course in a beautiful college setting. It's definitely worth a play, just for the mid-range and putting practice!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/31/2010   3/31/2010
Review By: DGADavid
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Great starter course, Good course to see if you can go the distance to the basket, and a lot of chances for an ace!
Cons: Not much of a challenge to play, confusing to find hole 12 and 13. course has a lot of walking in between holes. Tons of cars to hit on the first hole because it plays down the side of the gym parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Good course to build a little confidence and introduce a new player to the game. When you finish hole 11 turn to the woods on the left of the basket ( if you are facing the basket from the tee box ) and walk into the woods to tee box 12

  Fun little course

1    2/15/2010   2/15/2010
Review By: widjit
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great technical couse with lots of elevation change and many chances to ACE. not alot of trees but the use of the elvation makes up for it, and the times that there are trees the holes are pretty technical.
Cons: not alot, tee pads would be nice, and got lost like every one else on between 11 and 12.
Other Thoughts: fun course worth the trip from birmingham or montgomery

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.