Colorado Springs, CO 
Cottonwood Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: J.Kasm Hole #3 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 380ft.   3 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Beautiful Course, Lot’s of Hole Variety

2-4    6/26/2019   6/27/2019
Review By: mwolff
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: This course features gorgeous forest scenery (we actually saw more bunnies than we could count) with a mix of 400 and 200 foot holes that allowed my friends and I to stay competitive at our different skill levels. Most of the course is in the shade of the trees which I wasn't complaining about and right next door is a spectacular park with a big field that can be used for driving practice when it's not too busy.
Cons: While not everyone will have this problem, it can be pretty easy to lose discs into the trees and bushes on the couple holes that you can't really see the landing point of your disc from the tee.
Other Thoughts: As a California native visiting Colorado Springs for a couple days this course had everything I needed. Not too challenging, beautiful and the perfect way to get out and breathe in that Colorado air.

Cottonwood

1    9/28/2018   10/8/2018
Review By: lemmmy_acemister
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course
Mixture of tight woods and fairly open shots.
Elevation changes
Great view of the mountains.

Clean and well kept.

Cons: Course lay out is not good if course is busy. I played 7am on a Friday. 2 other guys on course and were a couple of holes ahead of me. This was not a issue.
Not all baskets are marked. With that being said some basket are close together and cause some confusion.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dangerous

2-4    7/23/2018   7/25/2018
Review By: RASmith
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Adds another course in town.
Cons: Dangerous. This course needs redesigned. Fairways often run directly in the path of tee shots for other holes.
Tee signs are inaccurate and few baskets are visible from the tee.

Mostly short holes, the only challenge is determining where drives actually need to go.
Other Thoughts: I first played this course 13 years ago and had no desire to return until this week. Nothing has changed for the better.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Dangerous

1    6/22/2017   6/22/2017
Review By: DiscHuker
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are some fun shots, to be sure. Several different shots where elevation comes into play without having much elevation to work with. Lots of pin positions to keep it fresh for the locals
Cons: This is a dangerous course. Several holes cross each other. Hole 12's basket, the day that I was there, was about 20' from 13's tee. That tee box threw about 10' left of 12's basket and right over the head of someone that parked the hole. Hole 13,14 and 15 have parallel fairways and all 3 of them together are fit into a section about 75-100' wide. There is a walking trail that plays right next to several holes that is very busy and a ripe scenario for hitting someone not paying attention. You might even throw a good shot and hit someone that is not playing golf.
Other Thoughts: This course needs an immediate redesign or it needs to be pulled. I don't like saying that but this place is ripe for a lawsuit if someone gets injured and that won't be good for any of the individuals involved, the community or disc golf in general.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great course to meet new golfing buddies

5+    6/9/2017   6/12/2017
Review By: Krusty
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of holes makes you think about disc choice.
Lots of people willing to let you play a round with them.
Tee boxes in good shape.
Cons: Several holes cross each other.
Park is very busy with non-golfers on nearby walking paths.
Other Thoughts: Fun course with much less chance of losing a disc than several in the area. Not a very long course but plenty of tress. Undergrowth is normally not an issue.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

1    10/15/2015   10/15/2015
Review By: djm7411
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my first time playing on this course. Had a lot of fun, the tees are in good condition. Good course for all levels. A few of the holes can be technical with the trees and a few upwards hills.
Cons: A lot of people play on this course. Big groups, had to wait for groups to move on to next hole. players on almost every hole.
Other Thoughts: Really nice course for this time of the year. I had doubts because of the photos but once you get out and play on it, its a nicer course then the photos. They plan on doing upgrades in the near future for this course. Had a lot of fun playing on it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Back in the Day

5+    8/13/2015   8/14/2015
Review By: Big_Justin
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2016
Pros: Good for different hole and shot types. Nice elevation changes.
Cons: This place has grown over crowded. Some of the pedestrians on the walking path act entitled and actively cause problems for golfers.
Other Thoughts: This was the best place to play in the late '90's and early 2000's. It was never crowded and everyone had fun. Now with crowding and waiting, it lost its appeal.

 colorado springs vacation

1    6/8/2015   7/3/2015
Review By: dooditsmealfredd
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I enjoyed the fact that they had multiple pins, u could play the hole over a time frame and if they did it right you could have variance. The pond in 2 and 3 was interesting, the back 9 had some nice tight shots, and a few real fun tee locations.tons of friendly helpful people.
Cons: The tee signs really didnt give enough information, i feel like as an out of towner they didnt really design it flowingly, and without knowledge of what pin was where it slowed the game down a lot.
Other Thoughts: i feel like this would be a 4 for me if they had actually done the sign posts better. experts may avoid this course as most of the holes are short.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A nice challenging course

1    6/21/2015   7/1/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 558  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has good shot variety with both dog leg L and R holes accounted for.
The tees are plenty long allowing for a proper run up.
Signage is adequate and there were benches on or next to several holes.
Multiple pin placements to keep things from getting stale and providing you with a different look.
Water threat on holes 2 and 3 add to the challenge of the round.
There are tunnel shots and low ceiling shots here as well.
There are also a couple of open holes, 1,4, and 9 come to mind.
This course uses the available trees very well. This makes for some fun golf shots.
Cons: This course will get crowded so if you don't like to wait on others you might make different plans. The walking path comes into play on a few holes, 4 and 5 in particular.
Back tracking from 1's basket to 2's tee was a tad lengthy.
Also the fairway for holes 2 and 3 were wet upon my visit so it may or may not be upon your visit. I don't know how deep it was so I layed up and played it safe. There was still plenty of fairway to work with but some players might not care for this. There is a pallet bridge to help you get to 2's basket and back over to 3's tee so that a good thing.
Being as some holes are close to each other you could possibly hit or be hit by a disc. If you pay attention to your surrounding you should be ok.
Other Thoughts: This is a quality course that gets a lot of play. The shot variety is excellent and will make you focus on your accuracy. There are just enough trees to make you shape your shots, but it isn't so tight that you should be frustrated with your round.
I really enjoyed my round here and if you like a good, solid course that provides a good challenge then you will enjoy this course.
Be patient or arrive early as this course will fill up fast.
I would play this course again if I ever get back out to Colorado Springs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 ok course, VERY busy

1    12/15/2014   3/9/2015
Review By: floophy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course with decent variety of shots. Some holes have elevated pads that are fun and enjoyable. Lots of challening shots due to heavily wooded areas. good tee pads that are very long so you can get a better run up if needed.
Cons: EXTREMELY crowded. I had to use serious caution when playing at each hole because they are so close together and most cross other holes fairways. So busy when we went i was nearly hit by a few discs from other players on other holes. The course plays along side a large path that is very busy with joggers, bikers, and walkers so it is annoying to sit and wait to tee off on some holes for fear of hitting a pedestrian with a rogue drive.
Other Thoughts: Would be much more enjoyable if less crowded and hole layout was better created. Other than that the holes were fun. Bought a new disc from a traveling disc salesman who hangs out at the first hole tee which i thought was neat and convenient.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.