Doyline, LA 
Lake Bistineau State Park Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #13 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 197ft.   3 / 197ft.   3 / 247ft.   3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Birthday Trip!

1    3/25/2018   3/27/2018
Review By: MadGame32
Played: 34  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2018
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Technically diverse course
-Multiple pin locations
-Good use of tree marking to show path to next hole
-Bathrooms were usually nearby if needed
Cons: -No welcome sign
-Length only on tee signs
-No designation of current pin location
-Dirt tee boxes
-There is some water in play that will eat disks
-Some holes dangerously close to campers and day users.
-Some tee sign lengths were incorrect
Other Thoughts: This course is located in the middle of the park. It took us a while to find the first tee, and we were confused on whether the lengths at the tee meant there were two tee boxes or two pin locations. We quickly realized it signified multiple pin locations. I though having pin placement flexibility was good, but it was hard to know which was in play with no tee sign other than length. Navigation between holes is greatly helped by arrows placed on trees throughout the course. There were some good holes, but there were also some bad ones. I personally did not like the 888 ft hole 7. I did like being able to launch a drive without worry of being too long, but it seemed silly to have absolutely nothing in the way that had to be worked around. I was also confused on where the goal was. I did not realize the white posts marked where the hole finished in the woods (FYI). I did like the finish of the hole, but the length seemed to be just something to make long bombers happy. Hole 8 is a safety concern. There were campers near the basket placement that had to move for us to safely finish the hole. We drove expecting the hole to finish left, but it was tucked into the woods to the right. (Very confusing)

I played this course to check Louisiana off my list of states played. It was an OK course, but could use some tee boxes and improved signage to really move up a level.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Disc Golf close to I-20

2-4    8/22/2015   9/14/2015
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 85  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2016
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful state park on the shore of an impoundment about 20 minutes south of I-20 to the east of Shreveport, Louisiana. The course winds through open, moderately wooded and forest areas around the lake. The first five holes stick close to the lake shore in a moderately wooded area with hole 4 having a short water carry. Hole 5 is followed by a tunnel shot and then two holes that go through a large open area. Hole 9 follows a power line right of way with significant elevation change (first down and then up if the basket is in the long position). Holes 10-14 go through forest with several of the holes following old roads. The last four holes bring you back out into the moderately wooded areas around the lake shore with the last three having the lake to the right.

When I played, the lake had been drawn down, so I did not get to experience any danger of a lost disc, but it appears that this danger is pretty low, even on the hole with the water carry.

This course is only moderately technical but it still offers a lot of challenge and I found it to be a fun course to play. It starts at parking lot by the lake and finishes at a pavilion near that parking lot. The transitions from forest to moderately wooded areas keep the course from being only technical and give the opportunity to use those distance drivers occasionally.

The Pavilion has bathrooms and is a good place to rest and enjoy refreshments after the round.

There is a good mix of hole difficulty with only a few holes that don't require some amount of shot shaping. In comparison to Lake Claiborne, one of the three State Park courses in North Louisiana, this course is more open, with a little more involvement of the lake as a hazard.

It is only $2 per person to play all day. There are camping and cabins on site with at least one of the cabins right on the course.
Cons: Navigation is not all that straightforward. The course needs better signage. In some cases, the signs are there and we had no problem finding our way from 9 to 10 despite a bit of a walk between those holes. But other holes, such as 16, weren't as easy to find, even with one member of our group having played before. We also had to scout ahead to find the basket on several holes because there was no meaningful tee sign and no way to determine what basket position was in use.

There is precious little elevation on this course - another distinction from Lake Claiborne. The only holes with any elevation were 9 and 16, and even on those holes, the elevation change was not much of a factor.

Holes 7 and 8 just don't fit all that well with the rest of the course IMO. Hole 7 is a very long hole that is wide open for the first two throws. Just throw as far as you can twice before you throw into the woods toward the basket. Hole 8 has a mando and isn't as wide open, but it also sticks out from the rest of the course and I think, along with 7, it doesn't live up to the challenge and fun standard of the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: Before the course at Lake Claiborne was built, this course had the highest course rating in Louisiana and it is apparent to me that it certainly deserved that distinction. This is a course that left me wanting to play it again.

This is also a course, along with Lake Claiborne, that should be considered by anyone traveling through Louisiana on I-20 and looking to play disc golf. It is well worth the effort and is the quickest detour from that route of any of the State Park courses in North Louisiana.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good State Park Course

2-4    12/17/2014   12/17/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 234  Reviewed: 212  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is great to see a Disc Golf Course in a state park. It is $2 to get in for the day, but that is a minor expense for playing a nice course. Be sure to ask for the map/scorecard when you check in.

The course winds through several areas of mature forest. Most holes are in the trees and require a careful drive, but a couple are quite open.

Hole 4 requires a drive across a short neck of the lake, but the carry is short. Holes 5, 16, 17 and 18 play along the edge of the lake, but it isn't really in play.

About half of the wooded holes are clean enough that a errant tee shot will still give you a fair look at the basket. But others are very thick along the edges, and a drive fading into the edge will leave you with a tough second shot.

Hole 7 is an 888 foot shot across an open grass field. The basket is tucked about 100' back in to the woods, and there are black-and-white painted posts on either side of the gap to give you a hint of where to drive. Hole 8 comes back across the same field, so these two holes are your opportunity to air it out.

Hole 9 is a tight drive down a power line clearing, with thick brush on either side of the fairway. It is narrow, and difficult not to fade your drive(s) into the edge.

Hole 16 is a blind drive over a rise with the basket tucked out of sight to the left. Hole 18 is a nice finishing hole that returns you to the parking area.

There is a huge parking lot near the Hole 1 tee, a couple of restrooms along the way, and plenty of trash cans. Tee signs are basic, giving hole number and distance. Tee pads are natural, which fits in well in this environment.

Most holes have a couple of basket positions, and in some cases you'll need to walk up to see the basket. A few holes offer a two tee positions.
Cons: Tee signs are very basic, with no hole diagram. I always appreciate a map, especially when I'm only going to have a chance to play a course once or twice.

A few of the tee pads were a bit rutted out, and some were a little muddy and slick.

There is little elevation on the course, so the challenge is limited to missing the trees.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice park course. We camped here a few nights and enjoyed both this course and the ones at Lake Claiborne.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful location

1    8/22/2015   5/14/2014
Review By: Mung
Played: 45  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2015
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Gorgeous location next to Lake Bistineau
Nice mix of holes, short, long, open, tunnel
Well groomed
Disccatcher baskets with dual locations
Cons: Poor signage; hard to determine basket location
Must have map; course mixed with hiking trails
Course is far from any major city.
Dirt tee-boxes
Other Thoughts: The first time I played this course, was after a daylong rain, so all the teeboxes were muddy, and the lake was high. Had to find the basket on several holes then walk back to tee off, as there is no sign telling you where basket is, nor which pin placement is being used.
Maybe bring a boat and go fishing after play. The lake is supposed to be excellent for fishing.

I played it again recently, and the lake had been drained, so no real water hazards. Tee boxes, though dirt, were really not bad when they were dry. Really no one else out there. I think if i played this regularly, it would be one of my favorites.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    7/1/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: matt_robertson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Good mix of long/short holes, water holes, "tunnel" holes, etc.
Discatcher baskets.
Mostly shaded.
Bathrooms & water fountains
Cons: Usually high humidity & mosquitoes.
Tiring to play during the summer.
Other Thoughts: Small fee to get into the park.
Can be confusing to navigate - be sure to get a map at the entrance!

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Bistineau: A beast fo' sho'

1    10/20/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 391  Reviewed: 287  Exp: 15.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lake Bistineau DGC is an excellent course located next to a very cool lake. There are plenty of trees to negotiate on holes that cover a full range of left/right shots at varying distances. The lake is near the course in places, but only once did I throw near the water. It looked to be lower than normal perhaps. There are dual pin placements on many holes, and a few of the longest holes offer short tees if you don't feel up to those 800 footers. Tee boxes were natural and generally nice and level. All tees had numbered posts with distance to both pin positions. Each of the baskets was in decent condition. There are benches, tables, and trash cans placed all through the course. Scorecards with a map are available at the park entrance.
Cons: A more detailed map would have helped in negotiating the course. The layout had some long walks between holes that weren't well marked. I never played here before, so baskets that were not visible from the tee pads gave me some trouble, also. Some of the grassy tees had pine needles slightly compromising the footing. Bug spray may be a good idea. There were plumes of gnats around the last three holes, and we were warned about some kind of mites at the park entrance.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course very much, and would love to play it again. Definitely on my list of favorites. Some upgrades with maps, signage, and maybe concrete tee pads would boost my rating, but it is a great time all the same. Will test your skills in accuracy, and power. Birdies are possible, but you got to be on your game to shoot a low score on this beast.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the Drive

1    7/19/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 515  Reviewed: 267  Exp: 30.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I had heard this was a good course from those that have played it, I was NOT disappointed.
1st, only $1 to play all day, sweet. They even gave me a map of the course (thank goodness)

The course has several very pretty shot though classic cypress trees covered in moss along with lots of very tall pine trees.
There are only a few short must get birdie holes. Many of the holes were longer drive, upshot holes for me. (my max distance is 350)
A few of the holes were great tunnel shots.
Cons: Not the greatest tee signs. At least they were all marked.
Non existence tee pads. Luckily it was dry the day I played so no mud.
The course did have a mando, I am not a fan of those. (and yes I missed it)
The longest hole on the course was over a large field with no trees. Land a good drive on the left so you can make your 2nd shot.
Other Thoughts: I literally drove 233 miles to play this course (it was 120 miles out of the way of where I was going overall)

In my opinion it was well worth it. The course flows pretty good and was a very pretty course to play.

Even though I was tired and it was hot, I managed to shoot a 58 and was happy with it.

I WILL be playing here again the next time I can swing it.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Bisteneau

1    1/15/2011   1/15/2011
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 43  Reviewed: 11
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tough course. Wide variety of holes. Very clean, no trash anywhere. There were very few easy holes.
Cons: Tee boxes could be better. Lake is drained so it doesn't look as nice as it could have. Sometimes it's a bit hard to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Very nice park. One dollar to enter per person for parking, but it's well worth it for the course. Bring a map or know where you're going. Even playing scrambles it was a little difficult. Tons of tight shots and slim fairways.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Disc golf with a view!

1    3/27/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: vtsquid
Played: 21  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well Groomed, Played in, Great Parking, GREAT views, Nice clear baskets, well thought out and all in all, a great experience! A few open fields for hucking and some tight spots for controlled throws. Some holes have more than one basket or tee. The ranger has maps some times, so ask when you pay for parking. If not, don't worry its not that had to navigate! #7 basket is at the end of the filed tucked in the woods where the two white poles are!
Cons: Hole 3 was hard to find the tee, I think the sign is missing and hole 7 is hard to find the basket because it is tucked away at the end of the field!
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course! It has everything you want, open fields to just huck, and areas where you need your control! There are some shots near the water so be careful! You have the option to camp there if you want, and It would be a great way to spend a whole day there! I could be muddy in areas (hole one two and three maybe) So bring some boots, but most of the time I bet its fine. There are bathrooms and trash cans along the course as well!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bist

2-4    8/10/2012   8/4/2009
Review By: championlog22
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2012
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 4X4 posts marked every tee
Distance listed for both hole locations
a few short tees on some holes
water available after hole 8.
multiple hole locations
good mix of left/righty shots
nice water shots
Only $1 per person to play all day!
regularly mowed!
Cons: Map was TERRIBLE
park rangers seem to not even acknowledge the disc golf course here

construction on holes 15-18 should be done by end of August 2012 but they failed to tell me this on the way in. I played them anyway.
Some holes were in long and some were in short so most of the time you are teeing off blind

natural tees were not in the best condition
Other Thoughts: The map was horrendous. Very hard to find hole 16 and I had played the course a few times 2 years before. Map needs to be revised to include short and long position. It seemed to only have the long position on the map and sometimes the short position would be the opposite direction. Park rangers don't care about disc golf. They didn't even know the State Championship was going to be hosted here in a little over a month. Great long course that is tournament material.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.