Dover, OH 
Deis Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 254ft.   3 / 435ft.   3 / 486ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Blue Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Big Hike!

2-4    4/2/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 43  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2011
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Plenty of parking and pavilions for large groups
- The map is put together very well and in great detail
- 3 tees per hole
- Almost every tee is concrete and well maintained
- Signs on the tees are simply amazing! Whoever created these put some serious effort into making this a premium course.
- The baskets are well labeled and in great shape
- The flow is fantastic considering that this is a 10K foot course with hole #18 ending at hole #1. You will spend a lot of time tee'ing out and backtracking a hundred feet or so to the next tee but I do not consider this a con because the fairways do not overlap and the land was utilized to it's fullest. Hole's with a bit of a walk are #2 to #3, #10 to #11, #11 to #12 & #16 to #17.
- No walking paths so you wont be bothered by hikers and bikers! It's just disc golfers in their element.
- Low disc golfing traffic both times I was there
- Bathrooms are on the premises but I did not investigate them
- Very clean with plenty of trashcans
- No vandalism
- Upkeep is grade A! People work hard to keep the fairways clear and the grass cut
- Extreme Distance with intense elevation changes
- There is a large and very nice public pool
Cons: - Next tee signs. Could use a few more even though the map is very accurately made.
- Could use more benches
- Could use a concrete tee for #14 because the downward grade of the natural tee could cause a bad stumble
- This course could be considered 'too wide open' for those that need the intricate throws through thick woods
- There are a few Blue/White tee signs that need updated. It appears that some of the Blue tees were added after the course was initially installed. If you play Blue tees like me, keep a copy of the map with you because you may be playing from the White tee even though it's labeled Blue on the tee itself.
Other Thoughts: - This is a challenging course no matter your level of expertise.
- Exercise? HA, you'll feel the burn playing this course.
- Most challenging hole is #15. Wide open to start then turns into a small uphill tunnel alley.
- Favorite hole is #14. This hole is INSANE!! You throw off the top of a huge hill out into a massive open area. You can choose any type of throw and really experiment with which type of throw is better. I got decent distance off an overstable disc doing a hyzer-flip but I really maxed out my distance using Champ Leopard on a very small S curve right then small fade left, landed about 80' from the basket for an easy score of 3.
- This phenomenal course is a MUST to play! Worth the trip for sure!

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Spectacular

1    10/15/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: whitefedora
Played: 313  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely amazing. Everything about it: the views, the design, the foot traffic(few people were there when I went). I really loved that the fairways were really well kept and even though the rough was not super treacherous, the course design itself was quite challenging.
Cons: Hole 18 only has a concrete pad for the red tee unfortunately. This might be my only negative thought on the whole course.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely worth trekking out to. I live a couple hours away and I'm looking forward to my next visit already.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Expert Course

1    8/7/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 99  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 17.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is just phenomenal. I dont see anything here that is not to like. It is beautiful. The course is located in such a nice area. The layout of the course was amazing. They have you start at the parking lot, then go all over the park and right back where you started. To start on hole number 1 with a 827 foot hole is awesome. Really it is for all people because they have the three different tees. Personally i played from the white tee but everyone that i saw there was throwing from the red tee. So if you are a good player i would tell you to go from either the white tee or the blue tee. But even though i didn't play the blue it looked very challenging. Really at all of the tees they have concrete launch pads. The launch pad is nice so that you are stable when you throw it. I really like courses with the concrete launch pads. There is great elevation changes. This is probably the best course for elevation changes that i have ever played. The DGA pins were very nice with the double layer of chains. The sign at the tee was probably the nicest that i have ever seen. First they have the par and distance like all of the others do. But the on thing that really caught my eye was the picture on there pointing to the pin. I have never seen this before but i think that it is amazing because if you cant see the pin right away the picture points you there and then thats when you know where it is. It is not a confusing course. Many courses that i have played take you everywhere and you dont know the way to the next tee. That is for sure not the case here. You could navigate throughout the course without a map, but personally i printed one out just in case. When you go into the woods they are just so wide and so fun to play in. The trees are very tall and very well taken care of. Every hole is different and challenges you differently. While some challenge you in distance others challenge you in accuracy. On the very first hole there is a yellw sign with an arrow pointing down to the pin. This is very nice because on that hole you really cant see the pin, so this really helps. It is actually connected to the pin. Like i said before this course is just phenomenal. So it may be a little challenging but it is full of fun.
Cons: Really i have no clue what to put here. To tell you the truth there are only a couple of minor cons. On only like two holes the blue tee doesn;t have a concrete launch pad. Also on a few of the middle holes the white and blue tee is mixed and it was kind of hard for me to figure this out. Thats it for the minor cons.
Other Thoughts: I cant even explain this course into words it so amazing. These holes are just so much fun. I would play here all day if i could. I was in the area and thought that this may be somewhat nice, but i was so surprised and i will be coming back here very soon. So what if its four hours from my house i would drive here every day if i could. My favorite hole is hole #17. They have a skinny fairways surrounded by big pine trees. You need to be very accurate to get a good throw on this hole. It is my all time favorite hole and i even triple bogeyed it. I think that soon this will be one of the top courses in the country. In my mind it already is one of the top courses. If you are ever in the area you have got to come here and play this course. There is no way that you could be disappointed. I strongly reccomend that you go here and have the time of your life, like i did.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Huge. Lush. Awesome.

1    7/31/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: Conect11
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.5 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Three pads per hole.
Very professional and helpful signs / maps.
Perhaps as challenging a course as you'll find in Ohio.
Course designers are clearly lovers of disc golf.
Huge and expansive with lush, rolling hills.
Beautiful scenery.
Large variety of different shots.
Lefty and righty friendly holes.
Some holes reward risk, many reward conservative play.
Cons: If you are out of shape this course will be happy to let you know that fact.
Watch out, black widow spiders observed in wooded area on hole 11.
Other Thoughts: My friends and I went to the legendary Deis Hill Park course on July 31, 2010. This course is huge, the pro pads will have you throwing nearly two miles by the time you complete 18 holes. I agree with the posters who said that this course will give be happy to let you know you're out of shape, and that playing it twice is a test of will.
Once you find hole 1 (a monstrous 900+ footer on the pro pad) navigating the course is easy. Park by the first hole; the next parking lot is by hole 4, and there is a monster hill to climb to get back to hole 1 if you make that mistake, like we did. I can't get over how much real estate was used to create this course. Beautiful woods and ponds, lush, rolling hills, scenic drops that can turn what looks like an easy 10 foot putt into a 400 foot nightmare if you miss. I have mad respect for Deis Hill Park. Not sure if my body could handle it every week, but definitely worth checking out. The tee pads are all concrete, and each has a very professional looking sign and map. I was rather entertained by the fact that each hole has a name, such as "Tornado Alley, Kings Row, Turn for the Worse" etc. "Turn for the worse" lives up to its name, especially if you're a lefty. (like me) I'm still having nightmares about that hole. (11) Kings Row (17) is a tunnel straightaway shot through a bank of majestic trees. To the left is a paved road, to the right a hill that will send your disc 400 feet to the bottom if you miss. Ouch. Hole 15 ("Tornado Alley") plays up the opposite side of the hill next to an amphitheater through the woods. This course has an awesome mix of tight and technical and open long shot holes; sometimes these even get combined. One thing that I was amazead by was how empty the course was on a beautiful Saturday. I would have thought with as highly rated as this was that we would have been waiting to play, but no; there were only two other groups there. (and on such a large course you'll really never be in each others' way.) Go visit the good people of Dover, Ohio, and put Deis Hill Park on your list of must play courses!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Wow!

1    7/16/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: kinger
Played: 50  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2011
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
~Variety throughout the entire 18 holes
~Amazing condition with great amenities
~3 sets of 12' concrete tees that create 3 distinct ways to play this beast of a course
~Great signs and wonderful baskets
~ All terrain provides for a nice hike
~Good flow, easy to navigate, well laid out course
Cons:
~Hole 9 doesn't finish near the start, no biggie if playing a full round
~It's not closer to my home
Other Thoughts:
Located 30 minutes directly South of me, I have been eagerly waiting for the right opportunity to make my way down and play this course. You can tell right away that those who designed this course had a fun time in doing so. Challenging yet not overly intimidating (unless you play from the blue tees) I enjoyed every single hole on this course. Plenty of technical holes requiring tight angles and precise navigation. You start in an open area and wind yourself along roads, shelters, into a wooded setting then out into more open fields where you can really let your discs fly. Eventually you work your way past an amphitheater along a gravel road, through 2 rows of narrow evergreens and finish along the side of a hill. This course had my heart going and my mind racing almost the entire time. Simply a fantastic place, and a must stop.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Strong-Armed

1    7/2/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 528  Reviewed: 369  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2010
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
Three concrete tees per hole, the exceptions being 7 & 8, where white=blue tee, and 18, no concrete on blue nor white.. Each tee had great signs, showing the distance, shape, and even a photo of each hole. Practice basket.
Cons:
Hot summer day => pool usage => cars parked close to #15's fairway. Small parking lot may come into play at midpoint of #5.
Other Thoughts:
The course plays in the open space, between clusters of woods, and at times, within/through said patches of woods, of a very large public park located a few minutes off I77. Elevation changes will be evident on most every hole - you'll experience quite a workout playing here. Should throw a fair blend of left/right/no turning shots, and with some extremely long and open holes, you'll have plenty of chances to throw your distance drivers. For this review, I played the course from the whites.

Nothing quite says "Big Arms Welcomed Here!" than hole-1 being 800'+, wide-open, right-to-left slope, with a blind (large, visible arrow helps you find it) basket located behind an out-of-bounds parking lot, and having a tree-filled hill behind! Big-armed blasters should enjoy very long, very open holes 1, 13-14, and 18. Prefer a little less open, little less length? Somewhat shorter, mostly open with either a couple of large trees and/or a cluster/edge of woods to avoid, challenges can be found on nearly half the holes (3-5, 9-12, 16). Want tight woods and/or narrow lanes to hit? Scratch that itch on holes 2, 6-8, 15, 17.

Favourite holes: #15 was an interesting hole - wide-open initially, uphill to a small opening at the edge of a woods (which is where the red tee was located). From there, a sharp left-turn (i.e. straight from the short tee) up a tree-filled slope, needing a little right-fade at the end to find the basket. Also liked #8, slightly downhill initially, needing a subtle right at the midpoint, tree-lined the bulk of the length, opening up a bit with some scattered trees towards the end.

As an alternative to starting at hole-1, find 20th street, and follow the signs to the pool - only $2 to enter, adult-only swim for 15=minutes on the hour, and tee-10 is at the back of the pool's parking lot.

Very good course that should provide you with a pretty good workout, and plenty of distance-driving opportunities.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Deis Hill Park

5+    7/5/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: e_dragon2110
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Well maintained
too much focus on long drives from the tee
plentaly of trash cans
Cons: No water foutians
Hole 11 should be a par 4
restrooms are usualy locked
Other Thoughts: Good course but could use a little improvement. vending machines would b nice or even water foutians along the course.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Exceptional

5+    3/19/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: Mike C
Played: 122  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2017
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -The best teepads and tee signs I've seen. The Teepads are all concrete except for a few, and the signs have excellent pictures and distances listed.

-Navigation is very easy.

-Extremely well maintained. The grass is always kept nice and short.

-There are multiple benches and trashcans scattered through the course.

-Huge drives. Between the white and blue tees there are drives between 400' and 900'+ long. Hole 1 from the blues is nearly 1000' long, which is a nice change of pace from the many deuce runs on nearby courses. I can't express how nice it is to be able to rip full power drive after full power drive and not be in danger of running past the basket. Not many courses cater to players with over 450' of distance, so Deis Hill is special to me.

-3 complete sets of tees, nearly all of them with their own color coded signs. Having 3 different tees for every hole adds a lot of replay value to the course and lets you tailor the experience to your skill level. Reds offer a lot of ace runs, while whites and especially blues will be challenging your distance.

-Hole 14 blue tee. It's on top of a huge hill where you can just bomb drives and watch them sail for a long, long time. It's not unusual to see players emptying their bag here.

-Extremely pleasant surroundings. Nice variety in tree size & species, plenty of shade in between wide open distance holes, picturesque water fountain with encircling walking track complete with swinging benches, full size swimming pool etc. This is a park I would enjoy going to even without my discs.

-Extremely little interference from non-discgolfers. 3, 4 and 5 play near a road and walking path, but they do not intersect with any of the holes.
Cons: -If you are out of shape, it will make you fully aware of that fact. Have brought people with me to this course that didn't even throw the last few holes because the elevation whipped them. I guess this would be a con to some players but to me it's a pro because I find the trek invigorating.

-Hole 5 plays over a small parking lot where one or two cars are often parked. Take caution going for the RHBH hyzer route.

-You eventually have to leave. =/
Other Thoughts: I've tried hard to think of anything bad to say about this course and it's tough. It's a phenomenal course and I have trouble understanding why it's gotten some negative reviews. Yes, there are many long holes...if you don't enjoy that play the red tees. There's a variety of shots in terms of lines, distances and elevation changes, and there's a good mix of open and wooded holes.

I usually play mostly whites, 14 blue and a few reds on holes that I don't care for the white tees much (Danhyzer comes to mind, hole #6, and hole #15).

I can't express enough how much I enjoy this park. This would be worth driving to as a destination. If you have the time, you could make a day out of playing Dover, Massillon and Canton, as they're all fairly close and very good courses.

2017 update: Upon playing more courses I've lowered my review from a 5 to a 4.5. I feel Deis Hill could stand to have more tees in play on the more open holes (#1, #13, #18), and there are one or two other minor qualms I can think of that prevent this course from being perfect. I still consider this in the top tier of courses I've played, but I consider Moraine State Park, Renny Gold and Rolling Pines a half-step above it.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Home Sweet Home

2-4    11/26/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: nightgoat
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate, some of the best hole signage I've ever seen. Having been playing in south east Virginia for the last 6 years, its nice to see and play some serious elevation changes. The tee from the blues on 14 was bad ass, never played a giant drop off like that before. Lastly, its 3 miles from my moms house, so when I make it up here 2 times a year now, its a little less boring.
Cons: I agree with some of the previous reviews that a little more usage of some trees or some sort of diffulculty on the wide open holes would have been nice. It is one hell of a workout, 2 rounds back to back is a test of will.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good.

1    11/14/2009   11/16/2009
Review By: Technohic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great concrete teepads
Great signage
Well kept
plenty of trash cans (dont litter people)
Elevation changes
Bombers paradise
Cons: Lacks shot variety
Overly focused on long shots
Good shot will still leave you with bad footing at spots
Restrooms were locked, which is not nice on such a long course.
Other Thoughts: Well, for the most part this is a very nice course, great for long throws without worries for the most part but lacking in technical shots other than hyzer or anhyzer.

With how big it is, I think the course could afford to have a random tree obstacle here and there to make shots more interesting and probably add a few holes just in the long walks from your last basket to the next tee. There was a lot of back-tracking like they were crammed for space but that is obviously not the case.

The hills make you feel like a mountain goat by the time you are done and makes shots interesting with elevation changes but also can make footing difficult to unsafe in spots.

Hole 2 was about the only tight hole and from there, it wasnt much more than a hyzer or anhyzer shot, dictated to your largely what you will do, not leaving much choice in shot selection risk vs reward.

There were bathrooms there, in one spot, which happened to be locked when we were there. Given the course size and the ammount of liquid you are likely to drink, I think it would be a nice addition to get some sort of restroom out there at some point that is accessible at least during day hours. Otherwise, you are encouragin guys to go in the woods and discouraging women from likely wanting to go out there at all.

I do find this to be a very good course so I want to finish on the positives. The teepads and the signs are the best I have seen. This is also a great course for people with big arms who want to really air it out and the course is nicely kept which is an accomplishment given its size. A+ as far as this area goes.

All in all, I know now I had no business having my fiance out there as it was a bit much for her, and the same for my 10 year old, but to test myself for distance, I would return.

To be clear, if this reveiw is comming off as negative, it really isnt. If anything it is the best maintained course, tees and signage that I have ever seen and it is only lacking in a few extra obstacles that might make some holes more interesting and maybe more accessible restrooms, other than that, it is likely frustration of the challenge it creates in distance which only would inspire me to play it again to slay the beast.

Worth the outing for the dedicated disc golfer.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.