Dover, OH 
Deis Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #7 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 213ft.   3 / 318ft.   3 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Very Good.

1    11/14/2009   11/16/2009
Review By: Technohic
Played: 17  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great concrete teepads
Great signage
Well kept
plenty of trash cans (dont litter people)
Elevation changes
Bombers paradise
Cons: Lacks shot variety
Overly focused on long shots
Good shot will still leave you with bad footing at spots
Restrooms were locked, which is not nice on such a long course.
Other Thoughts: Well, for the most part this is a very nice course, great for long throws without worries for the most part but lacking in technical shots other than hyzer or anhyzer.

With how big it is, I think the course could afford to have a random tree obstacle here and there to make shots more interesting and probably add a few holes just in the long walks from your last basket to the next tee. There was a lot of back-tracking like they were crammed for space but that is obviously not the case.

The hills make you feel like a mountain goat by the time you are done and makes shots interesting with elevation changes but also can make footing difficult to unsafe in spots.

Hole 2 was about the only tight hole and from there, it wasnt much more than a hyzer or anhyzer shot, dictated to your largely what you will do, not leaving much choice in shot selection risk vs reward.

There were bathrooms there, in one spot, which happened to be locked when we were there. Given the course size and the ammount of liquid you are likely to drink, I think it would be a nice addition to get some sort of restroom out there at some point that is accessible at least during day hours. Otherwise, you are encouragin guys to go in the woods and discouraging women from likely wanting to go out there at all.

I do find this to be a very good course so I want to finish on the positives. The teepads and the signs are the best I have seen. This is also a great course for people with big arms who want to really air it out and the course is nicely kept which is an accomplishment given its size. A+ as far as this area goes.

All in all, I know now I had no business having my fiance out there as it was a bit much for her, and the same for my 10 year old, but to test myself for distance, I would return.

To be clear, if this reveiw is comming off as negative, it really isnt. If anything it is the best maintained course, tees and signage that I have ever seen and it is only lacking in a few extra obstacles that might make some holes more interesting and maybe more accessible restrooms, other than that, it is likely frustration of the challenge it creates in distance which only would inspire me to play it again to slay the beast.

Worth the outing for the dedicated disc golfer.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not What I Expected

1    11/7/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 153  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 16.9 Years
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Long
Challenging
Well Kept
Hole Number 14 was great
Cons: Repetitious
Too Open
It's challenging but only because the make each each hole really long. Maybe if they tried mixing up shot types more instead of just long and open.
If your not in shape this one will wear you out
Other Thoughts: I heard a lot about this course and saw it was rated really high on this site so I was excited about checking this one out. But I gotta say, it didn't live up to what I was expecting

It was challenging but almost every hole was an long open field shot. There was nothing wrong with the course I just thought it was kinda boring. Be ready for a hike. The course isn't that long but you'll spend a lot of time lugging yourself up and down hills.

Hole Number 14 saved the course. I gave it an extra half a star just for this hole. No matter what your skill level is you should play this hole from the expert Tee Pad. I love big holes that are overlooking the fairway from on top of a giant ledge or hill, you don't see it enough, but out of the ones I have, this is one of my favorites.

I'm willing to allow for the possibility that I'm rating this course kinda low out of frustration. I didn't sleep much the night before, so I was kinda grumpy. Also, I definitely didn't bring my "A" game that day. It was one of those days that I just wasn't feeling it. But the guy I was with didn't care much for it either so maybe it's not all just me.

I would recommend it if you live nearby but I wouldn't make it a priority if your looking for a road trip

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging!

1    10/1/2009   10/29/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 243  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 30.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous park

Nice elevation changes

Well maintained

Nice pads and baskets
Cons: Lacks diversity

Not enough obstacles/hazards
Other Thoughts: Wow. This course is what I was hoping for. I read that it was a long course. I like to grip and rip. I could certainly do that here.

There were very few deuce opportunities and really no ace runs come to mind. To have long 400-800 foot holes is nice, but in my opinion, there should be at least a couple short holes mixed in. Also, it was almost entirely open.

The elevation changes are sweet. I actually over shot a 450 foot hole. Yes, it was down hill, but it sure felt great watching it sail. On other holes, you look at 600 feet and think, oh, I should get there in three, but the subtle uphill change makes throwing 300 feel more like 400...and you take a 4.

Challenging and beautiful with heavy rolling fairways and diverse pin placements, this course is sharp. If you are a novice, expect some high scores and some motivation to get better. As an experienced player, you wont want to wait too long before another chance to tame this bad boy.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Long Is Not Hard.

5+    6/6/2009   9/24/2009
Review By: PsyStal
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2015
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Deis Hill is a very well maintained course. The grass is always cut, the brush removed, and tees and baskets kept in great condition.

The scenery is fantastic, and the park as a whole is a really great place to spend a day. Forests, fields, lakes...Deis Hill has it all.

The course is long and open, so it also helps put your shots in perspective, and lets players experiment broadly with the flight patterns of their discs and various throwing techniques.
Cons: Deis Hill is extremely long, but it lacks any real challenge. Most of the holes are fairly open and straight; those that do dogleg often do so in odd places and at inappropriate angles.

Unfortunately, Deis Hill's length makes it less desirable for both new players and veterans alike. New players will at first enjoy the open space to work with, but the distance quickly wears out the arm and becomes intimidating and daunting. Veterans will quickly grow bored of "grip it and rip it" shots at such frequency.
Other Thoughts: Deis Hill has a lot of potential, and a lot of space to work with. They could easily have used the land to make two 18 hole courses that are more varied and challenging, but as it stands, it's nothing special. Especially considering the other courses nearby, like Arboretum and Lincoln, Deis Hill just isn't that great.

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Does not disappoint

1    8/22/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 247  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2009
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
Awesome course with a bunch of great elevation change holes and really nice shot variety. Three sets of tees from which to choose, almost all of which have trapezoidal concrete pads of ample size. Three tees provide a variety of holes for all skill levels. The tee signs/posts are color coded for the tees (red, white, and blue) making them very easy to spot. Tee signs have a photo of the hole marking the basket location, a detailed map of the hole, OB rules, fairly accurate distances, realistic pars, and creative names for most holes. The baskets are double chain DGA's in nice shape. For navigation issues and hidden basket issues there were large "next tee" signs pointing the way. The park was in gorgeous shape with mowed fairways and pastures.
Cons:
Poison ivy, lots of poison ivy, the biggest leaves of poison ivy I've ever seen; but stay in the fairways and you're safe. Parking by tee #1 can be limited for large events. There are a couple holes where the road comes into play so be wary of cars before throwing a disc. There was one blue tee that felt crammed in (#17): not only is there insufficient space for a decent throw, the ground is uneven, and without a marked Mando you can "cheat" the hole by throwing around the trees (which isn't a realistic option from the white tee only ~50' closer). UPDATE: the course designer has informed me that the blue 17th tee will eventually be cleared and pushed back into the woods when concrete is poured.
Other Thoughts:
This course has continued to improve over time so put more stock in the more recent or recently updated reviews.

Hole #1 starts off with a 900' bomb (from the blue tee) over a picturesque "valley", the basket is behind a small hill and not visible so there's a large orange sign with an arrow attached to and pointing at the basket. That's the type of attention to detail that was put into this course that make it top notch. Hole #14 from the blue tee is a fantastic shot from up the hill by the road with at least a 100' drop in elevation, very cool hole. Oddly, this course has no water hazards, something a bit surprising on a high class course like this.

The park is multi-use with several picnic shelters, trails, and a swimming pool. Those amenities don't interfere with the course for the most part.

Be aware there are multiple course maps floating around some of which are out of date with respect to a few changes that were made, most notably hole #12 was moved so the fairway is no longer adjacent to all the houses.

This is absolutely a destination course, one of the best I've played. Drive out of your way to play this one, you won't be disappointed.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/24/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: rcracer757
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: By far the best course I have played on so far. To think I was less then 30 min away and never played there until now. There is short holes really long holes twisting holes an excellent variety of shoots. The tees and signs are the best I have seen anywhere. The tees are shaped really wide and get a little more narrow. This helps left and right handed players equally. The signs are highly detailed. Plus there are many signs showing the layout to the next hole. I give the course an A+++.
Cons: If I have to post a con to the course. I guess I could say it is really bad if you throw the disc the wrong way on hole on. You will regret the walk that awaits you.
Other Thoughts: This course ROCKS!!! It will challenge you mentally physically and maybe even spiritually.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  First Course/Home Course

1    7/6/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: Mantis3333
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful Layout. Great workout, these are the hills I ran in high school cross-country. Paved Tees. Great Maps of each individual hole.
Cons: Gets a little confusing between holes 12-14.
Other Thoughts: This is my practice location. Anytime I'm not traveling, I will be playing this course.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Ohio!

5+    6/15/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: rtiedemann6
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All around very strong course. Good mix of long drives and shorter holes. Some holes very open, so if you hook or slice, you're not on a nature walk. New tee signs, nice baskets; the course is really new. The upkeep is fantastic, all tee pads are clear, fairways defined, and wooded areas trimmed nicely.
Cons: Some of the holes are rough for a new player, distance wise.
Other Thoughts: This course is fantastic, second to none in the state. Similar to Pickerington in difficulty, elevation changes and variance of shots. You can see all different kinds of shots and there are holes for everyone.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 WOW !

1    6/8/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: Mando
Played: 116  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Situated on a scenic hilltop in Dover City, the course starts at the high point and plays around the vast expanse of an immaculately-maintained park with all the amenities. One of the most aesthetically picturesque courses imaginable, it even has a fountain near #5.
Everything was freshly mowed which is a huge job considering the acreage involved.
The new tpad signs are the best I've seen on any course with a photo,drawing and even a nick-name for each hole.
3 huge trapezoid-shaped concrete pads on nearly every hole.
3 Color-coded posts for each pad which eventually will have it's own sign.
The red white and blue posts are really nice because you know exactly where your next pad is when you finish a hole.
Unlike most DG courses where red is the red-headed step child,red, blue and white tees are afforded the same first class attention to detail, so you really have the equivalent of 3 courses in one.
Red-4550,White-8005,Blue-9350.
Good flow, easy to follow.
Huge (long and wide) open holes with significant elevation changes,bordering islands of woods on several holes. It also has a few very well-designed wooded holes and a couple with large, scattered hardwoods (#3-#5). The front nine had alot of variety and interesting holes for an open course.
The course is easy to get to, just off I-77 and would make a great trifecta with A-spiker and Lincoln Ridge (Oak Ledges).
Cons: The only con is the worst poison ivy that I've seen on a dg course. Otherwise this course has 5 stars written all over it ! Either stay out of the woods, wear long pants,long-sleeves and gloves or plan on scrubbing down with Technu afterwards (we did).
Other Thoughts: First course played in Ohio and what a treat ! We played the whites and every other course I've played paled in comparison to the grandeur of this one.
I don't have the arm for long, open courses, but Deis Hill transends your personal preferences with the astounding attention to detail throughout the course. I whole-heartedly agree with the earlier review describing Deis Hill as a world class course. If disc golf ever becomes an Olympic sport, Deis Hill would have to be a serious contender as the host course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/6/2008   4/21/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2009
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Some of the most longest holes i've seen in disc golf . Very well maintained and very beautiful. Multiple tees offer multiple distances. Red blue & white . Most holes have concrete tees

Hole 1 shoots over a valley that drops about 200 to 300 ft(estimate) An errant shot on this hole and it will make about 15 mins longer, as make you tired.

There are a handful of holes 6,7,8 wich are nestled in the woods. For the most part this entire course requires a great deal of arm ....and well legs as the elevation changes are abundant.

For the most part course is grip and rip.
Cons: Alot of walking. Alot of poison Ivy.
can't really complain here.
Other Thoughts: They could probably add 4th and 5th tees with the amount of distance on these holes. Drink plenty of water, and wear very comfortable shoes, as this course takes at least 2 hours to play.

Pavillions walking track bathrooms and a swimming pool are among the ammenties

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.