Milford, NJ 
Alexandria Township Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #2 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 181ft.   3 / 178ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3

1    10/4/2016   6/30/2017
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 146  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alexandria Township Park is a large park with many things to do. A big parking lot and port-o-potties greet you at the beginning. Luckily, the course has for the most part been designed in disc golf-dedicated parts of the park, so there is little interference with these other activities. It sounds like with the redesign the holes close to the road are no longer. Please note that I played the course before its current redesign, so take my review for what it's worth. I still think I can hit the basic aspects that this course offers before and after.

There is a nice variety of wooded and open holes. You get to play through some tight lines while having plenty of chances to let loose on longer, open holes. The two tees give you a little extra variety as well.

I especially enjoyed the wooded holes here, which gave a quality variety of shot selection and lines between them. These were well designed and were nice in breaking up from the more open holes.

Any elevation that can be used has been used nicely.

Some thoughtful pin positions that play near the edges of tree lines or among trees.

Navigation is pretty simple, with colored tape used on the baskets. I always think that this is a simple touch that goes a long way. The tee signs and baskets are in good shape.
Cons: Some of the open holes begin to feel repetitive. Not a fault of the design though. The designers did a nice job using the land offered. It's too bad that the setting doesn't offer more wooded shots.

I didn't experience any problems with rough since I played here in October, but clearly the course has some issues with that from what other people have pointed out. This seems to be a consistent detractor in the warmer months.
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised when I found this course by accident, heading to Nockamixon. It offered a pretty quick round. As others have mentioned, you're not really going to be amazed here, but I know I'd play here a couple times a month if I lived in the area. It's a nice round to stop by for a quick, stress-free round. Worth stopping at too if you're traveling through to play some of the great nearby courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not bad!

1    6/28/2015   6/28/2015
Review By: illogical
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 8/16/2017
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course with decent layout. Quite a few different shots through the course.
Cons: Rough gets rough when not maintained.
Some holes can be repetitious.
Good of you are in the area, but it could use some love and updating.
Other Thoughts: Good course if you're in the area. It can be frustrating if it's over grown, but when it's fresh cut it's worth the go around.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A good mix

5+    5/2/2015   5/5/2015
Review By: UCC Wizard
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: Closest course to me, good mix of wooded, and open holes, and a few decent elevation change holes. Lots of par 3's but few easy ones. Clean park setting. Course always seems to play harder than it should for me, and probablyly the reason I keep going back.
Cons: Like others have said, no signature "WOW" hole. Tee boxes and fly mats are showing serious wear. Walking paths near hole 2 & 3, not a big deal as this park is about as out of the way as you can get in this part of NJ. Back nine has a lot of hungry tall grass.
Other Thoughts: This course is not a WoW course, but it has enough of everything to keep tugging me back. There are few real negatives, and probably why this course is growing on me the more courses I play.

 Alexandria Township Park

1    12/14/2014   12/16/2014
Review By: Afropirg
Played: 31  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of long and short holes
Long and short tee boxes for each hole
Cons: Nothing memorable
Felt repetitive on the back 9
The rough (see below)
Fly mats that were pretty worn out
Other Thoughts: Not a horrible course but a decent one. Maybe a once in a while go visit course.

Some wooded shots, but mostly wide open shots where the only thing you need to worry about is going in the high grass rough. I'm not a fan of course's that the only difficulty is letting the grass and shrubs grow out to be waste or chest high and mowing a fairway out of it.

Usually with courses you can pick a single hole that is almost like a signature hole...something you can say to your friends...Damn hole 7 is unbelievable. Whether it be scenic or a challenging hole. This course lacks that "wow" hole.

About halfway through you start feeling how repetitive it is. Oh another long par 3 that I gotta make sure I keep it on the fairway. Ah a downhill shot that I want to make sure I stay straight followed by an uphill shot that you want to stay straight.

I may also be spoiled, with the time it took to get to Alexandria Township Park we could've gone to Nocki, Sellersville, Boyertown, Tyler, Tinicum, South Mountain, Little Lehigh or French Creek.

I may come back again, but it will be more of coming to play because you're bored going to any of the above mentioned courses rather than because this is such a memorable course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/25/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: FlyingHyzer
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - 18 holes.
- Well defined fairways, mowed.
- Nice park setting
- No fairways crossed or ran close.
- Not too long for beginners, and a fun birdie/ace run fest for the vets.
Cons: - Poor/ no signage
- Hard to find hole 1's teepad.
- No benches, or seats.
- Nasty tall grass eats up discs.
- a lot of the holes seem the same.
- only some tee pads were rubber flymats, and a few of the rubber matts were dry rotted and ripped up.
Other Thoughts: I hit this course because it's only an hour away from my house, and is right up the road from Tinicum park. It's a decent little course that utilizes the land provided. The first tee pad was hard to find but once we found it we had no problem navigating the rest of the course. I will play this course again, but only if I'm playing Tinicum also. I wouldn't drive out of my way for this course, but its worth a try if you're in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 under-appreciated

5+    5/2/2014   5/2/2014
Review By: mmblink86
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: course flow and planning make excellent use of the land, where elevation change is the number one pro. mostly every hole has a change in gradient. playing from the blue tees provides the course's best views and most challenging layout. requires every shot in the bag, from finesse understable putter touch shots to penetrating tomahawk skips. rewards accurate drives with fair and makable upshots and putts. new fly mats (blue tees again) are great for grip when damp. hope they are installed on every hole. and finally, i was the only one on the course.
Cons: since i've played the course before, i have a feel for the layout and distances. however i can see where a first time player would be frustrated by signage when compared to other courses. i must say, though, that most holes have a clear path and view of the basket
Other Thoughts: today was my first time back to Alexandria since I started playing in 2010. i usually go to the flatlands of tinicum, however after today, i will be coming here much more often.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, Solid Course

2-4    1/1/2014   1/27/2014
Review By: thecoasterman589
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mix of short, more technical holes and some long, open holes that will satisfy a big arm
The baskets are in great shape
There are some moderate-to-large elevation changes as well as some flat holes
Baskets have markers on top of them telling where the next tee is
There are two tee locations (blue and red)
There are some moderately wooded holes
Relatively easy navigation between holes
Cons: Not much signage
Holes 2 and 3 require you to throw a shot directly over a walking path (usually there aren't many walkers anyway)
Other Thoughts: This course is great for recreational play, and for beginners transitioning on to harder courses. If you are looking for a harder course though, you can take the (approximately) 10 minute drive to tinicum park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Park Course

5+    11/29/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 78  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2015
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *There is a lot of open holes and a couple of wooded holes, so you need to rip it on some holes and have finesse shots on others.
*I like how there is a piece of duct tape on the top of the basket that shows you where the next hole is for the red and blue tee
*There's two tees, one for recreational players and another for advanced players
*It is a full 18 holes so if you are looking to waste some time and play a round of disc golf, this round will take you about an hour to an hour and a half
*Alexandria provides a mix of short 160 foot holes and a bunch of long 360 foot par 3's
*The designer used the terrain perfectly
Cons: *Some holes may be too short or easy for advanced or pro players
*Many people walk on the walking paths and some holes go across the paths. Watch out for them
*Some of the baskets are rusting and bending but most baskets look new
*In the summer, this course will eat up your discs, so don't always throw a disc you love in the summer
*The tee boxes can get slippery after a rainy day, and the tee pads are just natural dirt so they have roots sticking out of them
*The signage is poor on some holes for the red, and most for blue
Other Thoughts: This place was decent but not the best course ever

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice quick course

1    1/4/2013   1/4/2013
Review By: vanzandt
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: its combined with an actual park with a playground,basketball courts and baseball fields..the even have a mini bmx track..this is pretty cool actually,but the course goes off on its own tangent and uses alot of the open field.throwing uphill and downhill is pretty cool and there are some straight shot holes as well.took about 45 min for my buddy and i to complete.clean
Cons: a little tough to navigate at the start but the course starts to make sense after a while...we played in the winter but in the summer you could loose a disc easy in the thick rough.par 3 mostly(not really a con).and on hole 2 and 3 you could hit a walker or joger if ya aim just right at em!
Other Thoughts: clean park the baskets are nice and its pretty quick.could hit tinicum the same day.thought it was gonna be dumb but it was pretty cool..

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting Dispertion of lawn chairs

1    5/6/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: Kavie_Large
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I like the change in elevation on this course. Some good challenge from the blue tees. Wooded but not too woody. Tall grass keeps the fairways very tight. Drive, approach , and putt are the name of the game.
Cons: While there is direction indicated no detailed signs are provided. Some of tee's end with an abrupt 4 inch rise. What's up with the par 3 obsession?
Other Thoughts: Who carried all those chairs out there? If you don't tell me what's out of bounds it's all in for me.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.