La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 213ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Regular Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 68
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Amazing course

1    2/3/2018   2/5/2018
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 0.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Design is challenging, scenic and easy to follow. Tee signs are very helpful with O.B rules. Use of trees is excellent, there are very few trees and this course plays in or around almost all of them. This course has some wide open birdie chances that can easily turn into bogey with a missed shot. It rewards good shots and punishes bad ones, but not too badly to the point where it would ruin your round.
Cons: A couple shots bring the road into play with a bad kick, this is one of the draw backs to an urban course. Also, this course and the park are extremely crowded so there are many small children, joggers, fishermen, etc... to hit. There is one confusing stretch where holes 8, 11, and 12 just sort of get jumbled up and it is hard to navigate.
Other Thoughts: I don't count pro shop as a part of the course, but this pro shop was not much to be bragged about. Better than no shop at all, but they had like 20 discs and some cokes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Always Great

5+    1/10/2018   1/10/2018
Review By: Larswar
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2018
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a short review as there are many others. The pros for this course are spot on. Many pros with this course as you will see.
-Great place to play Disc golf.
-The park is massive, nice grass and tress. Plus another 18 holes on the back side of the park.
-Good placement of pins. Miss your put and you can roll down a hill or worse, nice use of OB. -Many different pin placements, and they move them frequently also.
- Many different shots needed. Mando's and low ceiling shots. Wish I had a better forehand. Rollers come in handy also for those low ceilings.
-Not to crowded during the middle of the week but weekends are busy, plus other tournaments happen at the park also, we were there ounce during a softball comp. really crowded but course always moves smoothly.!!
- Course holds up well in and after rain. Those drainage ditches come in handy and also make for good OB.
- Pro shop on site plus close to a great local disc store discovering the world.
-Many tournaments are played here and the professionalism show with its local golfers and pro shop attendants.
Local pro grew up across the street!! And plays the course. I would love to run into him. Lots of cool looking birds, beautiful trees and scenery. Super fun and inviting place to play that challenges you and makes you want to come back for more. !!
Cons: I don't think there are really any cons on this course. Just some observations:
-It may be a little challenging navigating through your first time. But with a map everyone should be fine, best to bring a map your first time.
-Perhaps some of the tee pads could be a little more level around the tee off area, so you could get a little more run up, Or not be afraid of the drop off the front, some of those dips fill up with water and get muddy also.
Other Thoughts: -This course has a good flow with challenging shots. Great vibe hear, feals great
- The location looks great and plays great.
-This is the place to come have fun challenge yourself and progress your game.
Let those disc RIP. !!
Plus be thoughtful before you decide to like or dislike a review, or get upset with your shot, when your negative it sort of takes the fun out of it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course for Socal

2-4    7/18/2017   7/26/2017
Review By: djtripp20
Played: 52  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid, quality course. Everything is in good shape and the park is definitely maintained very well. The course itself winds around a small pond that is lined with paths and park benches. Even with all the non-golf-playing park visitors we never really crossed paths on the course. If you griplock a drive you could potentially be yelling FORE, but it actually wasn't as dangerous as it looked when I walked up.

Most holes are in the 250-400 foot range and Par is within reach for noodle-arm players like me. There is a good mixture of dogleg left, dogleg right, straight shots, and even a few low canopy drives due to the trees. Most holes are fairly open but MANDOs keep you in check from getting too aggressive. The elevation is more in play than I expected as well. Some baskets aren't visible from the fairway because of downhill slopes. This means your putts can be quite risky as well... but all in a good way!

This course also has all the other great things that warrant a 4 star or better course:

- Dedicated staff at facility
- Friendly club and regular events
- Pro shop on site
- Tons of parking
- Maintained grounds
- Concrete teepads (or paths)
- Tee signs on each hole
- Practice area for putting and approaches
- Scorecards, etc available in pro shop
Cons: If I wasn't playing with a local, it would be quite hard to navigate my way around this course. The close nature of all the baskets means it can be quite confusing to know what teepads go to which baskets. Thankfully, once a local shows you it's not hard to remember for round 2.

The road that surrounds could come in play if your drives miss their target. I watched one guy slam a car window on his distance drive that got away. Thankfully the window held and the owner was cool about it lol.

It would also be nice to see multiple teepads per hole to facilitate some different skill levels. I'm sure the more powerful players would love to see some longer holes. This is a total nice-to-have though... to me as this course is solid as is.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses I've played in Socal. It definitely has the vibe... The entire facility is great. It's definitely worth a visit if you're in the area. Also check for weekly events! Parking is on the east side of the course. Walk up between the tennis courts to the clubhouse and grab a map if you can. Enjoy the round, watch out out for park visitors and other players, and have a great time!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Championship Course

5+    5/1/1998   6/6/2017
Review By: paulbmann
Played: 67  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 28 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Hills, lake, trees (but not too many), well maintained, restrooms, pro shop, 36 holes, great fairways, variety of shots, two-drive holes.
Cons: Could have a few more short holes.
Other Thoughts: Seems to cater to 400 ft throwers, 325 ft throwers will be at a disadvantage.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course!

1    4/1/2017   4/30/2017
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 46  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 4.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -La Mirada Lakeside 18 is a very fun, well-manicured 18 hole course that circles a lake. The course is located in the huge La Mirada Park, which also features numerous baseball fields, tennis courts, playgrounds, and swimming areas.

-The course plays over rolling, moderately wooded terrain. Many different types of trees, hole shapes, and hills offer many different types of shots.

-The setting is very nice. The course plays in a bowl, with the lake at the bottom. Almost every hole is within view of the lake.

-Not dusty like many courses in SoCal. La Mirada is very well manicured with grass covering 99% of the ground.

-A nice pro shop with a great selection of Innova discs. They don't charge you for your round.

-There are nice tee signs showing all of the trees and possible pin locations on each hole.

-There's another course just on the other side of the park!
Cons: -La Mirada is a very popular park, and walking trails wind their way throughout. There are a few holes where pedestrians are in reach, though, especially #13 and #17. In addition, it is very possible to throw into the parking lot (#2) or the road (#5, #13). Be careful.

-Quite a few holes require extremely low shots. I understand that that's how the trees are here, but these holes are really frustrating.

-There aren't hole numbers on the baskets. This would really be nice, as multiple baskets are within view on many teepads.

-Didn't notice any practice baskets.

-The water in the lake looked deep and not too clean. It would take a serious griplock to throw one in, but if you do, it's probably a goner.
Other Thoughts: -It's fun to throw the same shots that the pros do. Yes, they do play a safari layout, but many of the holes are the same.

-The baskets were mixed. Most were Mach III but about 6 had been switched to new Discatchers. I would suppose the plan is to eventually have 100% Discatchers.

-The tee signs are nice, but make sure to print a map to find your way between holes. Twice I skipped a hole on accident.

-My round at La Mirada Lakeside was a ton of fun. I like throwing all sorts of shots, and this course certainly fit the ticket. For sure this is one of the top 10 courses in SoCal. I can't wait to come again to play the Back Course!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun Stuff

1    6/11/2016   6/12/2016
Review By: desdave
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Nice setting in park around spacious man made lake with Ducks and geese. Hilly holes and flat holes. Lots of mature trees to make you decide, very closely, what your move will be.
Cons: As stated repeatedly: Mushy. Granted it was overcast and misty that day, but I could tell that was related to overwatering on a continual basis. Tee signs show several different pin locations, and it was tough for us to tell what pin was in play... perhaps my bad for not going into the pro shop before my round? Do they advise you of this?
Other Thoughts: I thought it was an amazing layout. The guys I played with were much better than me and offered tips, but since they had only played there once before, they were confused on some of the pin positions and distances too... of course, only on the blind holes, of which there are several on this course.

Overall, very fun experience. Its fun to play on some of the same holes I saw on the DGWC videos from here.

  La Mirada Regional Front 18

1    6/10/2015   6/10/2015
Review By: slapsh0t
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: all grass play with mild rolling hills requiring some minor uphill shots and occasional downhill throws. Mature trees come into play on most holes adding to the challenge. Play moves around the lake making it a nice walk. Decent workout
Cons: Haven't played the front for 20 years so needed help with a few tee locations which we figured out after a few minutes of guessing (#11) Park mower messed with us for a few holes on the back and @ 1 point thought he may have chewed a Champion Monarch, but to our relief was a branch.
Other Thoughts: Perfect condition @ 700 am with no trace of wind, actually serene with the birds chirping. Did have to wait for a few morning walkers to pass but were all super friendly.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Loved it!

1    12/11/2014   12/11/2014
Review By: pdnoce
Played: 70  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very clean and well kept. Plenty of challenges with trees and OB.
Cons: Not a one!
Other Thoughts: Would play again when back in the area, played with a local (Trevor) I met won second tee who was very helpful and fun to play with.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites!

5+    7/6/2014   8/14/2014
Review By: T_Birdman
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 46.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent layout, great terrain, Pro shop on site, just a fun course!
Cons: Some muddy and slippery slopes, weekends can be crowded, parking can be tough at times.
Other Thoughts: Front or back courses are good for both beginners and seasoned players, never have I been disappointed while playing here!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 SoCal at its finest!

1    7/1/2009   7/14/2014
Review By: nwdiscgolfer
Played: 79  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 28.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 full 18 hole courses onsite. Beautiful rolling green fairways, concrete tee pads, excellent local golf scene. Variety of shots and distance requirements multiple basket positions on every hole.
Cons: Weekends can be tough with picnickers.
Other Thoughts: If your in SoCal it would be a mistake to miss this one.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.