La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 353ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Regular Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 76
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
California dream

1    6/17/2019   6/18/2019
Review By: b-mart
Played: 64  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 8.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Flew into town to watch the Cubs play the Dodgers and figured I might as well bring my discs. I do the same thing any weekend at home: Ballgames and disc golf. But every now and then you have to get away to do it. So I did. Seemed like this was a must play, so off I went.

Equipment: The teepads all have signs advising you that they can be slippery, so feel free to throw from beside them. None of them were slippery in my experience. They were long enough and grippy enough. The baskets seem to be a bit older, but they all catch beautifully and there are no complaints. I was actually surprised that they were in such good condition. This park gets a LOT of use, and none of them had that beat up condition that most park courses get from kids climbing on them. This course seems to be well taken care of and you get the sense that the local club takes a lot of pride in it.

Navigation: Every tee has a sign that gives all possible pin positions. It doesn't offer you any lines, but I kind of like that. There's something about learning a course for yourself. A lot of them show other tee locations on them too.

Design: The design is where this course really shines. It has it all. There's elevation. There are defined lines and open holes. Uphill and downhill shots. Right and left turning. A vast majority of the pins are placed on slopes, so you really have to think about how your disc fades out. And a few of them have nice roller lines along with your typical air shots. And there's a pond, but it doesn't really come into play. It's nice to see it though.
Cons: Equipment: A few of the teepads had seen better days. Specifically hole 13. The pad was uneven and sloped down. It was a surprise considering the beautiful condition of the rest of the property.

Navigation: This is where the course suffers. Sure you can use UDisc. And you should. But there needs to be something more here. Signs from the parking lot to the pro shop would help. So would tape on the baskets. Or those little plastic pieces on the baskets that find on the back course. Really anything to help navigate. I didn't see a course map anywhere on the property, and there weren't any next tee signs either. The course flows pretty well but it's still a miss not to help visitors on an otherwise amazing course.

Design: I don't know. A shot across the pond might be nice, but then you'd have a long walkout. And that's the closest I can come to a con on this course design.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play for anyone who happens to be in the area. It was pretty busy with pedestrians, but as long as you're aware of where they are? They're pretty good at being aware of where you are too. The locals I crossed paths with seemed pretty laid back too. And even though there were waterfowl around, I didn't find myself dodging duck poop either. It's very hard to find something to complain about on this property. It's just a great place to air out some discs. So get out there and do it!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    7/10/2018   10/2/2018
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 308  Reviewed: 298  Exp: 22.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2019
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: La Mirada park features 36 holes of decent park style disc golf. And paired with the Back 18, this is clearly the best place to play what seems to be a fairly wide radius. This is a very nice park with large mature trees and neatly mowed green grassy fairways. Elevation is a key feature here.

My favorite thing about the front was the couple of holes (#6 stands out in my mind) that had the basket sitting in a circle of tall palm trees. Anyone not from California will no doubt love this feature the first time throwing into them.

A bonus for disc golf (and all outdoor activities) in this area is that the weather is comfortable all year round.
Cons: The name and reputation just did not live up to my expectations. There is decent to average play here, but nothing that really stands out when compared to so many other courses across the country. Don't get me wrong, it was a fine round of enjoyable disc golf, but not much stood out as special or left me wanting to come back and play again.

There was a walking trail throughout the course that came into play quite a bit. I had to wait on many of my throws for walkers (and some slooow walkers at that) to clear out of my throwing line.

A couple holes play really close to the road. No isolated feel here, plus the added fear of a poor drive ending up on the road or hitting a car on #7, 12, 13.

Navigation was not intuitive in some spots. #9 tee beside #7 basket (easy to skip 8), walk down the hill to #11 tee, walk back towards an area already played to get to #12 tee, after #13 walk past #16 tee and #15 basket to get to #14 tee (you will play your way back)

The small lake is scenic but is not really a factor.

The majority of the better holes are in the first half as it gets weaker over the last few holes. Holes 14-16 were noticeably bland, and 17-18 are not much better. (I am guessing the whole park used to be 1 course with less holes, and in an effort to get 2x18 the better holes were kept and many filler holes were created. If not the case, it is what it looks like.)
Other Thoughts: I was able to make this historic (and one of the oldest- 1976) course as my 300th course played! Always enjoyable to play where so many people before me have played, especially knowing the major contributions that this region had to disc golf in general.

As a 36-hole group, I would rate them around a weak 3.0 but as stand alone 18-holers I give the Front a 2.5 and the Back a 3.0. The best 18 holes of the 36 might rate around a 4.0, but there are too many poor filler holes that bring it down. Still the best of the what I have played in SoCal up to this point (includes El Dorado and Huntington Beach).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    9/23/2018   9/23/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 87  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 9.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: La Mirada is a very nice multi use park. There is a disc golf pro shop with snacks beverages and disc inside. The front course starts out in front of the building. The course has a good layout and wraps around the park. Good tee signs telling you were the pin is located, and well maintained course. Has some really fun shots and ob can come into play on couple with paths and road/parking lot. Good baskets and mix of distances and elevation keep this course fun and not feeling repetitive. The shot back to the parking lot on the front 9 is my personal favorite as can be easy birdie but leave it short might have a nice death put with ob behind it
Cons: My only cons is a couple baskets play a little close together and some of the pins you're not sure if that's the right pin for your hole. After finishing 7 make sure to walk back to 8 as 9s pad is by 7s basket and you might accidentally skip hole if you haven't been there before.
Other Thoughts: This course might be a little confusin for first time players but is a great course. Hole 13 is a insane mando shot through a tiny window and a par is a great feeling on that hole. I wish the water came into play a little more, but it's still very beautiful

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

(Nearly) As Good As It Gets

2-4    8/4/2018   8/18/2018
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 39  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great layout. Makes excellent use of the property, featuring uphill, downhill, doglegs left and right, wide open "grip it and rip it" shots, and shots that require more precision.

- Challenging. Many of the holes are long, and none are easy.

- Well kept. I hardly saw any trash at all, and the grass is well maintained.

- Pro shop on-site. Their disc selection hasn't been stellar lately, but they do carry discs from several manufacturers and, most importantly, snacks and drinks!

- Good, clear signage at every tee pad.

- Beautiful scenery. Plays like a ball golf course, and the lake is a nice feature (though it doesn't come into play very much).

- Historic. As several of the tee signs will point out, this course was the second permanent DG course in the world, after Oak Grove.
Cons: - Park patrons and children from the nearby school can make some holes unplayable from time to time.

- Navigation. At a few points it was unclear where the next tee was. Without many locals around to point us in the direction, we ended up missing a few holes my first time here.

- Several holes play right next to a street, where the other side is lined with houses. The street isn't very busy, but it does limit the "escapism" that you feel.
Other Thoughts: If this property were used for DG only, this course might be a 5. On top of the historic value of being the 2nd permanent course in the world, it's very well designed and offers something for every type of player. Well worth going out of your way for!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

So L.A.(ma)

1    8/1/2018   8/15/2018
Review By: coyotepower
Played: 87  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 13.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Legendary course
-Fun shots. The "Hey, Ive seen this on TV" factor
-Park conditions are movie set quality
-DG History
Cons: Nothing major.
-Navigation could be better
-Lots of people out, but hey, its a sweet park!
Other Thoughts: Day 1 of a 12 day trip was LaMirada. Not terribly difficult but there are a few uphill tester holes. Baskets in good shape. Enjoyed my experience very much here. Grass felt like a country club. Small pro shop with a few discs. People on the course but nothing a wave of the disc and a hello wouldn't accomplish.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

High Expectations

1    8/8/2018   8/8/2018
Review By: AeroPurt
Played: 52  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great use of the terrain.
- Beautiful pond in the middle of the park.
- Restrooms on site.
- Pro shop on site.
- Landscape is maintained well enough.
- Concrete tee pads on every hole.
- Tee signs showing layout of each hole and distance to hole.
Cons: - Layout was pretty confusing because the baskets weren't numbered.
- Baskets were pretty beat up.
- Pond doesn't come into play as much as I expected.
- The pro shop doesn't have much in the way of disc golf supplies. The wall of discs was pretty empty. It was mostly just a good place to grab a Gatorade or an ice cream bar.
- Tee pads weren't quite long enough to get a good run-up on the longer holes.
- There were a few spots where having a local show you around would've helped because it was difficult to determine what basket you were throwing at since they were so close in some places.
Other Thoughts: - I was visiting LA for the first time and had high expectations for this course since it was used for the Disc Golf World Tour. It was still fun to play, I just expected it to look much nicer than it did.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

La Mirada DGC Front 18

1    7/4/2018   7/4/2018
Review By: Tdelano3
Played: 36  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 33.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -great course design uses the terrain extremely well, making the most of the hilly landscape
-concrete tees and great signage at every hole
-mix of older/newer baskets, all functional and fair
-decent flow to the holes, making navigation fairly straightforward; still recommend using a course map the first time out
-located in a clean, beautiful multi-use park with a pro shop and another 18 hole course on site
-the locals! I'm from upstate NY here on vacation, and I was a fourth to a group that epitomizes why our sport is so incredible...my playing partners were great dudes, and not only helped me navigate and choose lines, but also made the experience that much better just for their company!
Cons: -the only cons I could come up with were that a few of the tee pads were a bit short, and that the baskets weren't numbered...neither of which detracted much from playing
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course on the morning of July 4th (today). Not only is the layout a tough but fair challenge, but the park is beautiful & well-appointed to boot. Add to that the generosity of Zac, Dustin and Matt, my new local friends who let me tag along with them today, and it really made the round much more enjoyable. This is the first SoCal course I've had the chance to play, and it was amazing all around- great course, awesome partners, and brilliant LA weather made this one of my favorite rounds of all time!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

classic socal course

1    6/20/2017   5/8/2018
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 325  Reviewed: 263  Exp: 12.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -beautiful park with well-manicured grass and a large pond
-a significant amount of mild to moderate elevation change
-mostly open layout with a few trees to avoid or force lines
-lots of greens on an incline
-tee signs showing multiple pin locations (some with many locations but no current location indicator)
-concrete tees or pavement in decent, but not great, condition
-pro shop onsite, bare bones but convenient
-plenty of parking
-tons of other activities onsite
Cons: -very high traffic park; tons of pedestrians to avoid especially on the hillside next to the pond; walking paths throughout
-many holes are very close together. it's open enough that it shouldn't be a problem if you are staying aware but on a busy day with lots of ams you could be ducking a few errant drives
-other than maybe the downhill drive on hole 9 or the double mando on 13, there are few memorable holes
-it's hard to find trouble on this course unless you hit multiple trees. bad shots aren't punished and there is no testing your scrambling skills
-OB roads in play on a handful of holes
Other Thoughts: La Mirada is a legendary SoCal DG park that has hosted generations of disc golfers. The courses here appear to have a strong scene with a great club and lots of local events. It is always cool to play at a place with so much history, being one of the first handful of permanent courses.

That said, after playing the Front 18 I was struck by how dated the course feels. It had to be amazing in the 70's and 80's but today it feels cramped and unmemorable. I think it speaks to this that the La Mirada Open features a gold layout combining many holes into 18 between the Front and Back courses.

The subtle elevation changes throughout the layout and especially the steeper downhill and uphill drives on 9-11 are the course's strongest element. The holes are very lightly treed so there are places to avoid, ceilings to stay under, and some lines to hit but for the most part you can take any approach you like off most tees. There is not much trouble to find unless you hit multiple trees or hyzer into the street; bad shots are not punished and it takes 2 bad shots to bogey.

The course is immaculately clean and well kept. The excellent grass is mowed and there was no trash anywhere; impressive for a suburban course that gets tons of traffic. It's a great place for a relaxed round, and you'll need the slow pace because you'll definitely spend some time waiting on pedestrians. It's no surprise for such a beautiful park but the course seems to always be packed with other park users.

I'm glad I got a chance to play here and I hope I can make it back to play the Back 18 sometime. If you have time to play both courses it's a no brainer destination. Lots of locals seem to think it's the best SoCal course around and while it's better than most of the small, overpacked LA courses I think I have to say I prefer Oak Grove, Sylmar, and even Elysian Park.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course

1    2/3/2018   2/5/2018
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 71  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Design is challenging, scenic and easy to follow. Tee signs are very helpful with O.B rules. Use of trees is excellent, there are very few trees and this course plays in or around almost all of them. This course has some wide open birdie chances that can easily turn into bogey with a missed shot. It rewards good shots and punishes bad ones, but not too badly to the point where it would ruin your round.
Cons: A couple shots bring the road into play with a bad kick, this is one of the draw backs to an urban course. Also, this course and the park are extremely crowded so there are many small children, joggers, fishermen, etc... to hit. There is one confusing stretch where holes 8, 11, and 12 just sort of get jumbled up and it is hard to navigate.
Other Thoughts: I don't count pro shop as a part of the course, but this pro shop was not much to be bragged about. Better than no shop at all, but they had like 20 discs and some cokes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Always Great

5+    1/10/2018   1/10/2018
Review By: Larswar
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 21.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2018
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a short review as there are many others. The pros for this course are spot on. Many pros with this course as you will see.
-Great place to play Disc golf.
-The park is massive, nice grass and tress. Plus another 18 holes on the back side of the park.
-Good placement of pins. Miss your put and you can roll down a hill or worse, nice use of OB. -Many different pin placements, and they move them frequently also.
- Many different shots needed. Mando's and low ceiling shots. Wish I had a better forehand. Rollers come in handy also for those low ceilings.
-Not to crowded during the middle of the week but weekends are busy, plus other tournaments happen at the park also, we were there ounce during a softball comp. really crowded but course always moves smoothly.!!
- Course holds up well in and after rain. Those drainage ditches come in handy and also make for good OB.
- Pro shop on site plus close to a great local disc store discovering the world.
-Many tournaments are played here and the professionalism show with its local golfers and pro shop attendants.
Local pro grew up across the street!! And plays the course. I would love to run into him. Lots of cool looking birds, beautiful trees and scenery. Super fun and inviting place to play that challenges you and makes you want to come back for more. !!
Cons: I don't think there are really any cons on this course. Just some observations:
-It may be a little challenging navigating through your first time. But with a map everyone should be fine, best to bring a map your first time.
-Perhaps some of the tee pads could be a little more level around the tee off area, so you could get a little more run up, Or not be afraid of the drop off the front, some of those dips fill up with water and get muddy also.
Other Thoughts: -This course has a good flow with challenging shots. Great vibe hear, feals great
- The location looks great and plays great.
-This is the place to come have fun challenge yourself and progress your game.
Let those disc RIP. !!
Plus be thoughtful before you decide to like or dislike a review, or get upset with your shot, when your negative it sort of takes the fun out of it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.