La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #6 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Great course for Socal

2-4    7/18/2017   7/26/2017
Review By: djtripp20
Played: 43  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid, quality course. Everything is in good shape and the park is definitely maintained very well. The course itself winds around a small pond that is lined with paths and park benches. Even with all the non-golf-playing park visitors we never really crossed paths on the course. If you griplock a drive you could potentially be yelling FORE, but it actually wasn't as dangerous as it looked when I walked up.

Most holes are in the 250-400 foot range and Par is within reach for noodle-arm players like me. There is a good mixture of dogleg left, dogleg right, straight shots, and even a few low canopy drives due to the trees. Most holes are fairly open but MANDOs keep you in check from getting too aggressive. The elevation is more in play than I expected as well. Some baskets aren't visible from the fairway because of downhill slopes. This means your putts can be quite risky as well... but all in a good way!

This course also has all the other great things that warrant a 4 star or better course:

- Dedicated staff at facility
- Friendly club and regular events
- Pro shop on site
- Tons of parking
- Maintained grounds
- Concrete teepads (or paths)
- Tee signs on each hole
- Practice area for putting and approaches
- Scorecards, etc available in pro shop
Cons: If I wasn't playing with a local, it would be quite hard to navigate my way around this course. The close nature of all the baskets means it can be quite confusing to know what teepads go to which baskets. Thankfully, once a local shows you it's not hard to remember for round 2.

The road that surrounds could come in play if your drives miss their target. I watched one guy slam a car window on his distance drive that got away. Thankfully the window held and the owner was cool about it lol.

It would also be nice to see multiple teepads per hole to facilitate some different skill levels. I'm sure the more powerful players would love to see some longer holes. This is a total nice-to-have though... to me as this course is solid as is.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses I've played in Socal. It definitely has the vibe... The entire facility is great. It's definitely worth a visit if you're in the area. Also check for weekly events! Parking is on the east side of the course. Walk up between the tennis courts to the clubhouse and grab a map if you can. Enjoy the round, watch out out for park visitors and other players, and have a great time!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course!

1    4/1/2017   4/30/2017
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 43  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -La Mirada Lakeside 18 is a very fun, well-manicured 18 hole course that circles a lake. The course is located in the huge La Mirada Park, which also features numerous baseball fields, tennis courts, playgrounds, and swimming areas.

-The course plays over rolling, moderately wooded terrain. Many different types of trees, hole shapes, and hills offer many different types of shots.

-The setting is very nice. The course plays in a bowl, with the lake at the bottom. Almost every hole is within view of the lake.

-Not dusty like many courses in SoCal. La Mirada is very well manicured with grass covering 99% of the ground.

-A nice pro shop with a great selection of Innova discs. They don't charge you for your round.

-There are nice tee signs showing all of the trees and possible pin locations on each hole.

-There's another course just on the other side of the park!
Cons: -La Mirada is a very popular park, and walking trails wind their way throughout. There are a few holes where pedestrians are in reach, though, especially #13 and #17. In addition, it is very possible to throw into the parking lot (#2) or the road (#5, #13). Be careful.

-Quite a few holes require extremely low shots. I understand that that's how the trees are here, but these holes are really frustrating.

-There aren't hole numbers on the baskets. This would really be nice, as multiple baskets are within view on many teepads.

-Didn't notice any practice baskets.

-The water in the lake looked deep and not too clean. It would take a serious griplock to throw one in, but if you do, it's probably a goner.
Other Thoughts: -It's fun to throw the same shots that the pros do. Yes, they do play a safari layout, but many of the holes are the same.

-The baskets were mixed. Most were Mach III but about 6 had been switched to new Discatchers. I would suppose the plan is to eventually have 100% Discatchers.

-The tee signs are nice, but make sure to print a map to find your way between holes. Twice I skipped a hole on accident.

-My round at La Mirada Lakeside was a ton of fun. I like throwing all sorts of shots, and this course certainly fit the ticket. For sure this is one of the top 10 courses in SoCal. I can't wait to come again to play the Back Course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun Stuff

1    6/11/2016   6/12/2016
Review By: desdave
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Nice setting in park around spacious man made lake with Ducks and geese. Hilly holes and flat holes. Lots of mature trees to make you decide, very closely, what your move will be.
Cons: As stated repeatedly: Mushy. Granted it was overcast and misty that day, but I could tell that was related to overwatering on a continual basis. Tee signs show several different pin locations, and it was tough for us to tell what pin was in play... perhaps my bad for not going into the pro shop before my round? Do they advise you of this?
Other Thoughts: I thought it was an amazing layout. The guys I played with were much better than me and offered tips, but since they had only played there once before, they were confused on some of the pin positions and distances too... of course, only on the blind holes, of which there are several on this course.

Overall, very fun experience. Its fun to play on some of the same holes I saw on the DGWC videos from here.

  Loved it!

1    12/11/2014   12/11/2014
Review By: pdnoce
Played: 70  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very clean and well kept. Plenty of challenges with trees and OB.
Cons: Not a one!
Other Thoughts: Would play again when back in the area, played with a local (Trevor) I met won second tee who was very helpful and fun to play with.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 SoCal at its finest!

1    7/1/2009   7/14/2014
Review By: nwdiscgolfer
Played: 79  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 28.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 full 18 hole courses onsite. Beautiful rolling green fairways, concrete tee pads, excellent local golf scene. Variety of shots and distance requirements multiple basket positions on every hole.
Cons: Weekends can be tough with picnickers.
Other Thoughts: If your in SoCal it would be a mistake to miss this one.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 LaMa Lakeside

5+    5/17/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: The_Warwolf
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course isn't the longest around but includes a wide variety of challenging shots. With the large hill playing into the picture on the majority of the front 9 you'll find a decent amount of rick/reward opportunities.

The park is very well maintained and has readily available amenities. There really aren't any park goers to cause conflicts.

This is another must-play if you get the chance to visit. A very fun course.
Cons: The grass can get a little swampy, but really it's not bad.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think LaMa has a great setup, not to mention that it sports 36 holes if you include the backside.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Historical La Mirada Lakeside 18!!!

5+    9/20/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: tommyUnitas
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I play here all the time, it's a great course. Lots of elevation changes. Long holes, short holes, uphill, downhill, aceable holes, nice locals. Restrooms and drinking water available. Pro-shop on site. La Mirada front 18 has a ton of history! Lots of shade and grass. Some great hole layouts. Baskets and tees are all in good shape. All holes clearly marked at tee pads. Baskets are sometimes moved so holes don't get stale.
Cons: Some muddy areas because of irrigation pipe problems. Pedestrian traffic and picnicers during busy times. Because of proximity to sidewalks and pedestrians, hole 1 and hole 18 have recently been shortened. Some see this as a con, some as a pro.
Other Thoughts: You for sure have to play this course. It's got everything. And that's not even counting the back 18, which is just as much a championship course as the front (lakeside) 18.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A nice cold December day

1    12/29/2012   1/25/2013
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 45  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pros: this was a truly nice experience. Good tee signs, Lovely clean park. Friendly locals. Good tee pads (or a path to throw from). Big park with other things to do but no issues with overlap from other park users. Played 9 alone and then hooked up w a pair of guys for the second nine. Nice folk.
Cons: Cons: not really any. only con i can think of is there was a little bit of trash an oddly dead birds in a few places. only got confused on once hole we threw to the wrong basket

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Rolling hills like the Shire

1    1/2/2013   1/4/2013
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 36  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 1.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Super cool locals (Thanks Patrick, both Johnny's, Greg, Andre) for showing us around
-Spacious
-Great tee signs
-Multiple basket positions
-Great concrete teepads (some on sidewalks)
-Beautiful scenery; tons of rolling hills, a pond in the middle, awesome trees, beautifully manicured especially for disc golf
-Lots of cool elevation changes with both uphill and downhill throws
-Interesting use of trees, tree lines, and mandos (trees, concrete gutters, light poles)
-Very little to no waiting when I went
-Local rules (tournament play, Golden state) more on this below
Cons: -Awesome tee pad signs with multiple basket position, but the basket being used isn't marked
-Some spots can get waterlogged and muddy, but very minor complaint
-Its a public park, so sometimes people are walking on the fairways (another minor complaint)
Other Thoughts: First impression is that this place is HUGE. You will never feel that you didn't get to air out your disc here. On top of that, elevation here adds to the lengths of the holes. Local rules are basically playing rivers vs lakes (some holes have concrete gutters running through them, so you can play either left or right of the gutter is a lake (ie OB) or you can just play rivers which is sidewalk and the gutter itself is OB). Golden state sounds awesome...basically playing from one teepad to the next next teepad's basket, which makes for monstrous par 4 and 5 holes.
I liked the front 18 and back 18 equally and if ranked with both combined, I'd give this place a 4.5. I believe a must play if you're in SoCal.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in LA/Orange counties

5+    6/26/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 23  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Between the trees, lake, and well-manicured grass, the course has a great feel to it. Very peaceful. There are some short holes that are nice for birdies (#1, 3, 6), but that have trees that don't make it too easy. And then there are some looong holes (#12, #16) that keep you coming back out of frustration.

My favorite holes are #2, which has double hills to navigate over and double trees to pass through, and #4 (when the pin is located in the middle of three tight trees). I am constantly frustrated by #10, 12, 13, and 16, but their challenge keeps me coming back.

In my opinion, this course (more so than any other in the area) is the easiest to play through. I play solo a lot and the locals are really cool about letting me play through. It's also really easy to skip around on #3 through #9 if you were to get behind some people that weren't letting you play through.

Also, for the parents out there, this course makes it very easy to push a stroller on, if you are lucky enough to have an infant that will sleep through a round.

The pro shop is a combo tennis/disc golf shop, and it's cool that the disc golf doesn't take a backseat. They are very helpful. Another plus to the course is having the back 18 right next door.
Cons: Pin placement isn't rotated enough for those of us that play multiple times each month.
Gets a little hot in the summer.
Permanently marshy on #13 and #14.
Lots of pedestrians/students walking/playing/picnicing unless you play during work/school hours.
Other Thoughts: #13 has double mandatories that give you a window of about 15 feet to shoot between. Normally, this would be a fun challenge. However, to add to the challenge, the hole has 30-40 feet of elevation drop with very low-hanging trees, so your driving window is crazy small. Also, the mandos occur about 60 feet from the tee box, further complicating things. I have lost four discs on #13, all of which came after I made it through the mandos, but hit one of the many low-hanging branches, causing the discs to roll all the way to the bottom of the hill (picking up speed along the way) before jumping into the lake. Not cool.

However, I have learned that this occurs so frequently that there are *two* guys that come daily with nets to scoop out any discs that fall in. They will call your number if it's written on the back and offer to sell it back to you for $5.

UPDATE: All in all, this is a very fun course to play. I just got back from playing 6 courses in Seattle/Whistler and this is nowhere near as challenging as them--because there is essentially no rough on this course, so I'm changing my rating from a 4.5 to a 4. Still, the course designers made it about as tough as it could be made.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.