La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Regular Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 64
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Groomed and ready go!

2-4    6/10/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: LiLHomeGirl
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - not super creative but plenty technical to keep newbies on their toes.

- free!

- regulars are very helpful and polite.

- Course character: clean, grassy hills, trees, grass, nicely spaced out.

- drinking fountains available

- feels pretty safe for solo ladies (bring your phone)

- wear your polo shirt if you want- It's not dusty here like other courses.

- hole 19- pro shop
Cons: - Warning: Hole 13. If your disc goes in the dirty lake, there's a chance you will never see it again. Bring a few bucks- because if someone "helps" you get it, they may expect $.
Actual quote: "You have your wallet? Looks like you are you going to play your pretty girl card?" I was worried that he was going to mug me! But grateful he helped me get my disc.

...what happened to the good old days when people helped just to be nice?

- the geese smell bad.

- "rest breaks" are tricky here. You are pretty visible (plenty of people don't care even if there are kids in view).
Other Thoughts: I will come again.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/5/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: astomps
Played: 64  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: +beautiful park
+well maintained, grass is perfect length
+holes 6,7,12,13
+good amount of trees vs. open
+difficulty increased by OB and Mandos
+pro shop
Cons: -on the shorter side
-tee pads are short
-most shots just on a straight line

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome

5+    3/4/2013   3/6/2013
Review By: hk chef
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beautiful park that is well groomed. 2 awesome 18 hole courses. When so cal is windy this place is usually pretty calm. That's a HUGE plus. Lot of nice and helpful people for some of us novice players.
Cons: Quite a few holes in the ground out there. Just pay attention to where your walking and you should be fine. I've seen people take a spill though.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love this course. I play here 2 to 4 times a week. The front is usually crowded but the back is always open. I've read many complaints about the mud. It's really not that bad. The only mud issue I can think of would be hole 5 on the back 18. The basket is on a little slope and it can get slick when wet. It is very nice living 10 minutes away from here :-)

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome !

5+    3/5/2010   3/5/2013
Review By: DonnyO
Played: 1065  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 43.4 Years
3 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Best course in SoCal with 36 holes or the Championship 18 ! Nice Grass through the whole course. Wish there was more tournaments here ! Top rated course with many pin positions !
Cons: Some Mud but getting better with course improvements !
Other Thoughts: Scenic !

3 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 A nice cold December day

1    12/29/2012   1/25/2013
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 42  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pros: this was a truly nice experience. Good tee signs, Lovely clean park. Friendly locals. Good tee pads (or a path to throw from). Big park with other things to do but no issues with overlap from other park users. Played 9 alone and then hooked up w a pair of guys for the second nine. Nice folk.
Cons: Cons: not really any. only con i can think of is there was a little bit of trash an oddly dead birds in a few places. only got confused on once hole we threw to the wrong basket

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 La Mirada

2-4    12/31/2012   1/4/2013
Review By: MightyJeff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 21 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This is one of the classic disc golf courses, and it's exciting to play for that fact alone.
-Friendly locals, and the course flows nicely. There will always be people playing here, and it helps that the people that play here the most are nice and welcoming.
-Beautiful city park with pleny of picnic tables and other activities for before or after your round.
-Fantastic elevation changes. You'll have a few flat holes, but the rolling hills on the fairways make you change your game up a bit.
-Fairly open course, but there's a good use of trees on most holes that mix things up and make you get tricky with your throws. Bonus: there are a good mix of trees, from palms to broad leaves to evergreens.
-Easy to read tee signs on every hole, and multiple basket positions on every hole.
-Nice pro shop on site that has a great deal: bring in your used plastic and they'll give you half of what they'll sell the discs for in store credit. That makes for a good way to trade what you have easily while at a good course.
Cons: -All the holes are pretty much the same length. For my taste, I think a great disc golf course is a course that has the most variety of holes possible, especially when it come to length. I would have liked to see a 700-800 footer or two mixed in, but for the most part, the holes hover between 250-350 feet, making this essentially a midrange/putter course.
-The grass is always soggy. I don't know if it's an irrigation issue or simply that grass shouldn't be grown in Southern California, but every time I've come here I've gotten mud on my shoes no matter how careful I am to avoid mud pits.
-There are multiple pin positions, but the tee signs don't mark which pin location is being used at a given time. This gets tricky on holes with blind spots.
-Some holes use the park's sidewalks as tee pads. It's not a big deal, but...
-A lot of people use this park that aren't disc golfers. Kids on bikes, couples on picnics, and people fishing in the pond are all obstacles at La Mirada.
-There are times when the course layout makes things tight and potentially dangerous, like at holes 14 and 15 where the fairways face each other. If you here "fore", pay attention.
Other Thoughts: You have to play here if you're in Southern California. This is one of the SoCal big 3, along with Morley Field in San Diego and the course at Huntington Beach. I'll play here every time I'm in town, but I think it's safe to say that the reputation La Mirada has built up over the years began before course designers got creative with their courses. Compared to other Championship-caliber courses out there like Idlewild in Kentucky and Water Works in Kansas City, La Mirada is pretty tame. But, a pilgrimage here isn't a waste of time. Happy discing!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rolling hills like the Shire

1    1/2/2013   1/4/2013
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 36  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Super cool locals (Thanks Patrick, both Johnny's, Greg, Andre) for showing us around
-Spacious
-Great tee signs
-Multiple basket positions
-Great concrete teepads (some on sidewalks)
-Beautiful scenery; tons of rolling hills, a pond in the middle, awesome trees, beautifully manicured especially for disc golf
-Lots of cool elevation changes with both uphill and downhill throws
-Interesting use of trees, tree lines, and mandos (trees, concrete gutters, light poles)
-Very little to no waiting when I went
-Local rules (tournament play, Golden state) more on this below
Cons: -Awesome tee pad signs with multiple basket position, but the basket being used isn't marked
-Some spots can get waterlogged and muddy, but very minor complaint
-Its a public park, so sometimes people are walking on the fairways (another minor complaint)
Other Thoughts: First impression is that this place is HUGE. You will never feel that you didn't get to air out your disc here. On top of that, elevation here adds to the lengths of the holes. Local rules are basically playing rivers vs lakes (some holes have concrete gutters running through them, so you can play either left or right of the gutter is a lake (ie OB) or you can just play rivers which is sidewalk and the gutter itself is OB). Golden state sounds awesome...basically playing from one teepad to the next next teepad's basket, which makes for monstrous par 4 and 5 holes.
I liked the front 18 and back 18 equally and if ranked with both combined, I'd give this place a 4.5. I believe a must play if you're in SoCal.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  My FAVORITE To Date!

5+    1/1/2009   11/6/2012
Review By: joshualicari
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2012
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This spot will challenge you in every way and make you a better player. 36 holes of true grit.
Cons: Very easy to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: This is where I learned the game back in the day (2003ish so not that far back). It is hands down one of the finest courses in SoCal.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Southern Cal.

1    3/8/2011   7/31/2012
Review By: Dieno
Played: 32  Reviewed: 16
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great weather in Sotuth Cal. Manicured park that uses everything to make it an experience. Not long but with some tight windows. Enjoyable.
Cons: Lots of others in the park just walking around. You have to be careful and watch. Nice and clean.
Other Thoughts: Classy course ... it's La Mirada!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My Home course

5+    7/27/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: thugjitsu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Scenery
Well Manicured Grass
Very nice locals
Nice surrounding area
Relatively easy to follow
Good use of elevation
Good mix of short and long holes
Pin Placements Change first Friday of every month.
NEW TEEPADS!!!!!
Cons: On a public park where many people dont know there is a disc golf course in there.
Despite us adding trashcans around people still litter
Occasional 'Chuckers' that dont follow rules and dont know how to yell fore
Some dangerous blind holes or holes in semi-crowded areas.
Other Thoughts: Despite this being my home course and I love it very much there is much that i wish we could change. We are in the process of re-doing a bunch of teepads since some of the old ones are quite dangerous. The proshop has also been updated and there is more discs and me and my dad are knowledgable about many question you might have.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.