La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Regular Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Great Championship Course

5+    5/1/1998   6/6/2017
Review By: paulbmann
Played: 67  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 27.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Hills, lake, trees (but not too many), well maintained, restrooms, pro shop, 36 holes, great fairways, variety of shots, two-drive holes.
Cons: Could have a few more short holes.
Other Thoughts: Seems to cater to 400 ft throwers, 325 ft throwers will be at a disadvantage.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course!

1    4/1/2017   4/30/2017
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 37  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -La Mirada Lakeside 18 is a very fun, well-manicured 18 hole course that circles a lake. The course is located in the huge La Mirada Park, which also features numerous baseball fields, tennis courts, playgrounds, and swimming areas.

-The course plays over rolling, moderately wooded terrain. Many different types of trees, hole shapes, and hills offer many different types of shots.

-The setting is very nice. The course plays in a bowl, with the lake at the bottom. Almost every hole is within view of the lake.

-Not dusty like many courses in SoCal. La Mirada is very well manicured with grass covering 99% of the ground.

-A nice pro shop with a great selection of Innova discs. They don't charge you for your round.

-There are nice tee signs showing all of the trees and possible pin locations on each hole.

-There's another course just on the other side of the park!
Cons: -La Mirada is a very popular park, and walking trails wind their way throughout. There are a few holes where pedestrians are in reach, though, especially #13 and #17. In addition, it is very possible to throw into the parking lot (#2) or the road (#5, #13). Be careful.

-Quite a few holes require extremely low shots. I understand that that's how the trees are here, but these holes are really frustrating.

-There aren't hole numbers on the baskets. This would really be nice, as multiple baskets are within view on many teepads.

-Didn't notice any practice baskets.

-The water in the lake looked deep and not too clean. It would take a serious griplock to throw one in, but if you do, it's probably a goner.
Other Thoughts: -It's fun to throw the same shots that the pros do. Yes, they do play a safari layout, but many of the holes are the same.

-The baskets were mixed. Most were Mach III but about 6 had been switched to new Discatchers. I would suppose the plan is to eventually have 100% Discatchers.

-The tee signs are nice, but make sure to print a map to find your way between holes. Twice I skipped a hole on accident.

-My round at La Mirada Lakeside was a ton of fun. I like throwing all sorts of shots, and this course certainly fit the ticket. For sure this is one of the top 10 courses in SoCal. I can't wait to come again to play the Back Course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun Stuff

1    6/11/2016   6/12/2016
Review By: desdave
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Nice setting in park around spacious man made lake with Ducks and geese. Hilly holes and flat holes. Lots of mature trees to make you decide, very closely, what your move will be.
Cons: As stated repeatedly: Mushy. Granted it was overcast and misty that day, but I could tell that was related to overwatering on a continual basis. Tee signs show several different pin locations, and it was tough for us to tell what pin was in play... perhaps my bad for not going into the pro shop before my round? Do they advise you of this?
Other Thoughts: I thought it was an amazing layout. The guys I played with were much better than me and offered tips, but since they had only played there once before, they were confused on some of the pin positions and distances too... of course, only on the blind holes, of which there are several on this course.

Overall, very fun experience. Its fun to play on some of the same holes I saw on the DGWC videos from here.

  La Mirada Regional Front 18

1    6/10/2015   6/10/2015
Review By: slapsh0t
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: all grass play with mild rolling hills requiring some minor uphill shots and occasional downhill throws. Mature trees come into play on most holes adding to the challenge. Play moves around the lake making it a nice walk. Decent workout
Cons: Haven't played the front for 20 years so needed help with a few tee locations which we figured out after a few minutes of guessing (#11) Park mower messed with us for a few holes on the back and @ 1 point thought he may have chewed a Champion Monarch, but to our relief was a branch.
Other Thoughts: Perfect condition @ 700 am with no trace of wind, actually serene with the birds chirping. Did have to wait for a few morning walkers to pass but were all super friendly.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Loved it!

1    12/11/2014   12/11/2014
Review By: pdnoce
Played: 70  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very clean and well kept. Plenty of challenges with trees and OB.
Cons: Not a one!
Other Thoughts: Would play again when back in the area, played with a local (Trevor) I met won second tee who was very helpful and fun to play with.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites!

5+    7/6/2014   8/14/2014
Review By: T_Birdman
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 45.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent layout, great terrain, Pro shop on site, just a fun course!
Cons: Some muddy and slippery slopes, weekends can be crowded, parking can be tough at times.
Other Thoughts: Front or back courses are good for both beginners and seasoned players, never have I been disappointed while playing here!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 SoCal at its finest!

1    7/1/2009   7/14/2014
Review By: nwdiscgolfer
Played: 79  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 28.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 full 18 hole courses onsite. Beautiful rolling green fairways, concrete tee pads, excellent local golf scene. Variety of shots and distance requirements multiple basket positions on every hole.
Cons: Weekends can be tough with picnickers.
Other Thoughts: If your in SoCal it would be a mistake to miss this one.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 LaMa Lakeside

5+    5/17/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: The_Warwolf
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course isn't the longest around but includes a wide variety of challenging shots. With the large hill playing into the picture on the majority of the front 9 you'll find a decent amount of rick/reward opportunities.

The park is very well maintained and has readily available amenities. There really aren't any park goers to cause conflicts.

This is another must-play if you get the chance to visit. A very fun course.
Cons: The grass can get a little swampy, but really it's not bad.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think LaMa has a great setup, not to mention that it sports 36 holes if you include the backside.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 So. Much. Mud.

5+    2/8/2014   2/9/2014
Review By: Schanen11
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great use of elevation, hills, sloped greens, uphill shots, downhill shots. A little bit of everything
-Trees add plenty of difficulty.
-Varying distances, from long bomb holes to short technical midrange holes.
Cons: -I have played this course for nearly 4 years and have yet to see the turf completely dry no matter what time of day or year. There is almost always at least one of the following: swampy areas, standing water, muddy greens... You get the idea.

-Pedestrian traffic as some holes traverse walking paths

-Since it's such a popular course, crowds can get pretty heavy.
Other Thoughts: -This really is a great course. The pro shop and back 18 make it a must-visit for any DGer in the area. It's just a shame that there's so many irrigation problems, I would give a much higher rating if they could get the wet turf under control.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Historical La Mirada Lakeside 18!!!

5+    9/20/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: tommyUnitas
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I play here all the time, it's a great course. Lots of elevation changes. Long holes, short holes, uphill, downhill, aceable holes, nice locals. Restrooms and drinking water available. Pro-shop on site. La Mirada front 18 has a ton of history! Lots of shade and grass. Some great hole layouts. Baskets and tees are all in good shape. All holes clearly marked at tee pads. Baskets are sometimes moved so holes don't get stale.
Cons: Some muddy areas because of irrigation pipe problems. Pedestrian traffic and picnicers during busy times. Because of proximity to sidewalks and pedestrians, hole 1 and hole 18 have recently been shortened. Some see this as a con, some as a pro.
Other Thoughts: You for sure have to play this course. It's got everything. And that's not even counting the back 18, which is just as much a championship course as the front (lakeside) 18.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.