La Mirada, CA 
La Mirada Regional Park - Front 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Regular Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 79
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Lake Course

1    2/13/2021   2/21/2021
Review By: Sol Baird
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2021
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good parking. Restroom near tee #1. Great course. Very clean park. Liked the elevated tees on 7 and especially the 9th hole. Liked the last 5 holes on the back nine, especially the 17th elevated tee off. This is my favorite Sou. Cal Disk course. Not too crowded at the end of Saturday (or Sunday).
Cons: Some people picnicking on blankets in the park; but as many as the back 18 course. Watch out for the water and downhill rollers!
Other Thoughts: Very friendly disk golfers.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course

1    6/26/2020   7/10/2020
Review By: chrishall1010
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, very well maintained. All grass. stoked to play second every course with baskets. Lake was beautiful, ducks, great day out playing with friends. Can't wait to play back 18.
Cons: Online map I found seemed to be out of date.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/21/2019   9/22/2019
Review By: Nate32
Played: 61  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: La Mirada Regional Park is in the town of La Mirada and has 2 18 hole disc golf courses. Both of these course play in a humongous but busy park. The front 18 is a little different than the back 18. The front 18 plays around this very attractive lake as well as a nice small pro shop.

A few nice things about this course are that it gets very well maintained as well as great hardware. The baskets are decent Mach 2s and have been worn out a little bit. There are concrete tee pads that range in how large they get. Big black trash cans as well. Very nice tee sings as well that are colored.

This course basically plays on really nice grass that is probably cut and watered every day. They also need to add some of the holes a little out of the walking paths. Beautiful tall palm trees on this course give it a nice touch.

This course also plays through hills and a few small wooded shots. One of my favorite holes is hole 14 or at least it used to be. They moved the tee pad back but we still could not play it because some people were sitting right in the middle of the hole.

On every hole they said the tee pads could be slippery. I would believe that would be in the winter though. I did not have a problem with that. Some of the holes are hard to navigate your way around. I did it without a course map but some of the holes are a little bit of a walk in between.

I had a fun time here but the back 18 stands out to me more. Some of the holes on the back 18 are very nice with the same sort of layout. I would like to see them bring back the discatchers and move hole 14s tee back up. There is also a tournament here on the European Tour. Very fun watching it. I hope to go up and see it some time as well.
Cons: One problem with this course is that there are 3 discatcher baskets and the rest are Mach 2 baskets. If they were to complete the course and make it a little nicer it would be to add all discatchers. I had a few nasty spit outs. There are also way to many people on this course. Some picnicers were camping right in the middle of two holes near the very end of the course. Every time we yelled fore they thought if was funny.

I do get that this course gets really crowded but I wish some of the park goers would stay near the lake. That might bump this course up to a 4.5 if some 3 year old was rolling down hole 16 fairway. There is also no practice basket. There are a lot of holes that play near the road. And I mean right on the road. Lot of people have got car razzed on this hole.
Other Thoughts: I like the layout on some of the holes but they need to re route the holes very very close to the road. Lots of pedestrians as well as people fishing. There are lots of people on the course that did not read the sign when they entered the park. It said watch out for flying objects.

The back 18 is great though I have no problem with playing the back 18. It is almost the same but there are way less people. Also the back 18 has fully equipped with discatcher baskets. Pretty new ones too. A few little touches to this course and it is good to go . But I don't think the amount of people on a Saturday night will change.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

California dream

1    6/17/2019   6/18/2019
Review By: b-mart
Played: 65  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 10.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Flew into town to watch the Cubs play the Dodgers and figured I might as well bring my discs. I do the same thing any weekend at home: Ballgames and disc golf. But every now and then you have to get away to do it. So I did. Seemed like this was a must play, so off I went.

Equipment: The teepads all have signs advising you that they can be slippery, so feel free to throw from beside them. None of them were slippery in my experience. They were long enough and grippy enough. The baskets seem to be a bit older, but they all catch beautifully and there are no complaints. I was actually surprised that they were in such good condition. This park gets a LOT of use, and none of them had that beat up condition that most park courses get from kids climbing on them. This course seems to be well taken care of and you get the sense that the local club takes a lot of pride in it.

Navigation: Every tee has a sign that gives all possible pin positions. It doesn't offer you any lines, but I kind of like that. There's something about learning a course for yourself. A lot of them show other tee locations on them too.

Design: The design is where this course really shines. It has it all. There's elevation. There are defined lines and open holes. Uphill and downhill shots. Right and left turning. A vast majority of the pins are placed on slopes, so you really have to think about how your disc fades out. And a few of them have nice roller lines along with your typical air shots. And there's a pond, but it doesn't really come into play. It's nice to see it though.
Cons: Equipment: A few of the teepads had seen better days. Specifically hole 13. The pad was uneven and sloped down. It was a surprise considering the beautiful condition of the rest of the property.

Navigation: This is where the course suffers. Sure you can use UDisc. And you should. But there needs to be something more here. Signs from the parking lot to the pro shop would help. So would tape on the baskets. Or those little plastic pieces on the baskets that find on the back course. Really anything to help navigate. I didn't see a course map anywhere on the property, and there weren't any next tee signs either. The course flows pretty well but it's still a miss not to help visitors on an otherwise amazing course.

Design: I don't know. A shot across the pond might be nice, but then you'd have a long walkout. And that's the closest I can come to a con on this course design.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play for anyone who happens to be in the area. It was pretty busy with pedestrians, but as long as you're aware of where they are? They're pretty good at being aware of where you are too. The locals I crossed paths with seemed pretty laid back too. And even though there were waterfowl around, I didn't find myself dodging duck poop either. It's very hard to find something to complain about on this property. It's just a great place to air out some discs. So get out there and do it!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    7/10/2018   10/2/2018
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 327  Reviewed: 316  Exp: 24.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2019
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: La Mirada park features 36 holes of decent park style disc golf. And paired with the Back 18, this is clearly the best place to play what seems to be a fairly wide radius. This is a very nice park with large mature trees and neatly mowed green grassy fairways. Elevation is a key feature here.

My favorite thing about the front was the couple of holes (#6 stands out in my mind) that had the basket sitting in a circle of tall palm trees. Anyone not from California will no doubt love this feature the first time throwing into them.

A bonus for disc golf (and all outdoor activities) in this area is that the weather is comfortable all year round.
Cons: The name and reputation just did not live up to my expectations. There is decent to average play here, but nothing that really stands out when compared to so many other courses across the country. Don't get me wrong, it was a fine round of enjoyable disc golf, but not much stood out as special or left me wanting to come back and play again.

There was a walking trail throughout the course that came into play quite a bit. I had to wait on many of my throws for walkers (and some slooow walkers at that) to clear out of my throwing line.

A couple holes play really close to the road. No isolated feel here, plus the added fear of a poor drive ending up on the road or hitting a car on #7, 12, 13.

Navigation was not intuitive in some spots. #9 tee beside #7 basket (easy to skip 8), walk down the hill to #11 tee, walk back towards an area already played to get to #12 tee, after #13 walk past #16 tee and #15 basket to get to #14 tee (you will play your way back)

The small lake is scenic but is not really a factor.

The majority of the better holes are in the first half as it gets weaker over the last few holes. Holes 14-16 were noticeably bland, and 17-18 are not much better. (I am guessing the whole park used to be 1 course with less holes, and in an effort to get 2x18 the better holes were kept and many filler holes were created. If not the case, it is what it looks like.)
Other Thoughts: I was able to make this historic (and one of the oldest- 1976) course as my 300th course played! Always enjoyable to play where so many people before me have played, especially knowing the major contributions that this region had to disc golf in general.

As a 36-hole group, I would rate them around a weak 3.0 but as stand alone 18-holers I give the Front a 2.5 and the Back a 3.0. The best 18 holes of the 36 might rate around a 4.0, but there are too many poor filler holes that bring it down. Still the best of the what I have played in SoCal up to this point (includes El Dorado and Huntington Beach).

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/23/2018   9/23/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 168  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: La Mirada is a very nice multi use park. There is a disc golf pro shop with snacks beverages and disc inside. The front course starts out in front of the building. The course has a good layout and wraps around the park. Good tee signs telling you were the pin is located, and well maintained course. Has some really fun shots and ob can come into play on couple with paths and road/parking lot. Good baskets and mix of distances and elevation keep this course fun and not feeling repetitive. The shot back to the parking lot on the front 9 is my personal favorite as can be easy birdie but leave it short might have a nice death put with ob behind it
Cons: My only cons is a couple baskets play a little close together and some of the pins you're not sure if that's the right pin for your hole. After finishing 7 make sure to walk back to 8 as 9s pad is by 7s basket and you might accidentally skip hole if you haven't been there before.
Other Thoughts: This course might be a little confusin for first time players but is a great course. Hole 13 is a insane mando shot through a tiny window and a par is a great feeling on that hole. I wish the water came into play a little more, but it's still very beautiful

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 (Nearly) As Good As It Gets

2-4    8/4/2018   8/18/2018
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 40  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 12.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great layout. Makes excellent use of the property, featuring uphill, downhill, doglegs left and right, wide open "grip it and rip it" shots, and shots that require more precision.

- Challenging. Many of the holes are long, and none are easy.

- Well kept. I hardly saw any trash at all, and the grass is well maintained.

- Pro shop on-site. Their disc selection hasn't been stellar lately, but they do carry discs from several manufacturers and, most importantly, snacks and drinks!

- Good, clear signage at every tee pad.

- Beautiful scenery. Plays like a ball golf course, and the lake is a nice feature (though it doesn't come into play very much).

- Historic. As several of the tee signs will point out, this course was the second permanent DG course in the world, after Oak Grove.
Cons: - Park patrons and children from the nearby school can make some holes unplayable from time to time.

- Navigation. At a few points it was unclear where the next tee was. Without many locals around to point us in the direction, we ended up missing a few holes my first time here.

- Several holes play right next to a street, where the other side is lined with houses. The street isn't very busy, but it does limit the "escapism" that you feel.
Other Thoughts: If this property were used for DG only, this course might be a 5. On top of the historic value of being the 2nd permanent course in the world, it's very well designed and offers something for every type of player. Well worth going out of your way for!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 So L.A.(ma)

1    8/1/2018   8/15/2018
Review By: coyotepower
Played: 87  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 15.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Legendary course
-Fun shots. The "Hey, Ive seen this on TV" factor
-Park conditions are movie set quality
-DG History
Cons: Nothing major.
-Navigation could be better
-Lots of people out, but hey, its a sweet park!
Other Thoughts: Day 1 of a 12 day trip was LaMirada. Not terribly difficult but there are a few uphill tester holes. Baskets in good shape. Enjoyed my experience very much here. Grass felt like a country club. Small pro shop with a few discs. People on the course but nothing a wave of the disc and a hello wouldn't accomplish.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 High Expectations

1    8/8/2018   8/8/2018
Review By: AeroPurt
Played: 53  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great use of the terrain.
- Beautiful pond in the middle of the park.
- Restrooms on site.
- Pro shop on site.
- Landscape is maintained well enough.
- Concrete tee pads on every hole.
- Tee signs showing layout of each hole and distance to hole.
Cons: - Layout was pretty confusing because the baskets weren't numbered.
- Baskets were pretty beat up.
- Pond doesn't come into play as much as I expected.
- The pro shop doesn't have much in the way of disc golf supplies. The wall of discs was pretty empty. It was mostly just a good place to grab a Gatorade or an ice cream bar.
- Tee pads weren't quite long enough to get a good run-up on the longer holes.
- There were a few spots where having a local show you around would've helped because it was difficult to determine what basket you were throwing at since they were so close in some places.
Other Thoughts: - I was visiting LA for the first time and had high expectations for this course since it was used for the Disc Golf World Tour. It was still fun to play, I just expected it to look much nicer than it did.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 La Mirada DGC Front 18

1    7/4/2018   7/4/2018
Review By: Tdelano3
Played: 36  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 34.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -great course design uses the terrain extremely well, making the most of the hilly landscape
-concrete tees and great signage at every hole
-mix of older/newer baskets, all functional and fair
-decent flow to the holes, making navigation fairly straightforward; still recommend using a course map the first time out
-located in a clean, beautiful multi-use park with a pro shop and another 18 hole course on site
-the locals! I'm from upstate NY here on vacation, and I was a fourth to a group that epitomizes why our sport is so incredible...my playing partners were great dudes, and not only helped me navigate and choose lines, but also made the experience that much better just for their company!
Cons: -the only cons I could come up with were that a few of the tee pads were a bit short, and that the baskets weren't numbered...neither of which detracted much from playing
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course on the morning of July 4th (today). Not only is the layout a tough but fair challenge, but the park is beautiful & well-appointed to boot. Add to that the generosity of Zac, Dustin and Matt, my new local friends who let me tag along with them today, and it really made the round much more enjoyable. This is the first SoCal course I've had the chance to play, and it was amazing all around- great course, awesome partners, and brilliant LA weather made this one of my favorite rounds of all time!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.