Raymond, CA 
Hensley Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: jasonandsharon Hole #17 (Taken 3/2015)
3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Make the trip to play this course!

1    3/6/2020   3/22/2020
Review By: Lonhart
Played: 308  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 26 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Excellent course with a wide variety of shots, distances from 200 to 700 ft. Something for everyone, and challenging but fair.
- Off the beaten path, so it is likely you will have the course to yourself. I did not see any other disc golfers, and only a few hikers and someone fishing in the lake.
- Baskets are in great shape.
- Trees come into play on many of the holes, but usually allow multiple approaches and routes to the basket.
- Lots of elevation gains and drops, often with scenic views of the lake and the hills.
- Scenic terrain, with rocky outcrops, incredible flowers in spring.
- Most baskets are visible from the tee.
- There is a course map posted on the kiosk at the small parking area.
- Signs near each basket indicate the distance and direction to the next tee. Use trails also indicate which way to go.
- Restroom (pit toilet) at the parking area, but no others.
- Interestingly, 8 of the baskets (starting at 7) are set in big blocks of stone. Very sturdy, to be sure, but some are a bit low to the ground.
- Be sure to bring plenty of water, particularly if playing in the summer.
Cons:
- The tee signs seen in some of the earlier photos are missing. No distance or direction information at each tee.
- The tee pads consist of decomposed granite, and in many cases, the front areas of the pads have ruts in them from use.
- There are no benches, trash cans or other amenities, except at the parking lot.
- You have to pay to enter the Recreation Area. I went to the Hidden View Recreation Area initially (coming in from Raymond). The Hidden View entrance had a manned entrance area, where I paid for a day-use parking pass. Then I drove (>10 min) to the Buck Ridge Recreation Area, where the course is located.
Other Thoughts: I played on March 6, 2020. This is a very scenic course, and the disc golf was great. With the exception of the tee pads, I thought this was a great course. Almost all shots have vertical changes and there is a mix of long throws and more technical shots requiring a great deal of flight shape. Although I live 2.5 hours away, I am already looking forward to tackling this course again, ideally in the spring, since it was spectacularly beautiful.

If there were cement tees and alternate pin placements, I'd boost the rating to 4.5.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Off the Beaten Path

1    11/28/2018   11/29/2018
Review By: slippingdiscs
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery
Lake views
Challenging shots
Good hill workout
Baskets in great condition

Cons: Way out-of-the-way location
Poor hole markings and signage
Confusion as to which way to throw on some holes
Have to pay to park

Other Thoughts: This is a great course for its scenery and variety of shots. There is some confusion as to which way to throw. The shot from the first hole is up toward the hill not across the pathway. There is a sign after the first basket indicating the direction to the second tee. Signs continue through the 13th hole then just disappear. Another disc golf website gives a specific address to this course, which is wrong. This site is correct in its directions.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

1    3/20/2018   3/20/2018
Review By: Byron.oneil
Played: 43  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great altitude variation, beautiful course, challenging but open. Very similar to Hogan.
Cons: All signs have been destroyed, DG tee-pads were a little eroded, but very playable. Markers for tee pads but some were missing hole number, got lost for a bit at 6-7.
Other Thoughts: Really cool basket placement, around granite and Oaks.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Foothill Fun

1    11/13/2016   11/14/2016
Review By: my3fischersons
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: + The INCREDIBLE VIEW and ENVIRONMENT
+ The uniqueness of the landscape and elevation changes
+ Challenging holes
+ Pet friendly
Cons: - Course signs are a little beat up or missing, but the map is pretty darn accurate
- Some tee boxes definitly need work, many just needed a little raking
Other Thoughts: I think it was on the 6th tee, we were greeted by 2 beautiful eagles. Great spot for pictures of the peaks and valleys. Even my 16 and 14 year olds appreciated the amazing views. We will definitely be back soon!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mighty fine foothill flingin'

1    11/27/2015   12/1/2015
Review By: NateD
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/6/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Really loved the elevation changes here and the use of the rocks and trees in the landscape.
-Very nice variety of shots with some alternate lines available.
-Challenging, but not overly so for newer players. More OB and mandos could readily be added for tournaments.
-Who can resist memorable ridge top and downhill throws?
-Beautiful setting, even in a drought year with the lake quite low.
-Played the course in the late fall and the conditions were great - nice temps, low grass/weeds. I can imagine in the dead of summer it would be a completely different experience, but that's nature for ya.
-Liked that many of the baskets were permanently embedded in granite blocks/boulders. This made many of these baskets easier to spot from a distance. Nice touch.
-Camping on the other side of the lake (though oddly not noted in the info for the course).
Cons: Because this is a remote course, and I personally like the rawness and unmanicured nature of disc golf in general as opposed to ball golf courses, it's hard to be too nit picky and critical of this sweet course.

-Better durable tees, instead of sand. Didn't bother me much and I see hard surfaces as more of a necessity in well travelled/urban courses.
-Alt pin or tee locations would be a bonus to add versatility. But again, being less visited and remote, this really seems like a luxury here.
-Higher quality permanent signs. They appear in pics to have been better at one time (vandals?), but were laminated paper when I visited. Some posts were down on the ground. Also, didn't like that the distances on the signs were in yards while the map was in feet.
-"Next tee" signs would be helpful in a few places, though much of the course has good logical flow.

Other Thoughts: I would play this course again in a heartbeat when traveling thru the area. Locals (who are likely few and far between) are lucky to have this place to play, and if it weren't so remote (which is most definitely part of it's charm), I imagine tournaments would utilize this course regularly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 18 Hole Gem in the rough

1    4/23/2015   4/23/2015
Review By: jasonandsharon
Played: 489  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 35.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes on some of the most picturesque landscape in the foothills. Beautiful views of Lake Hensley and the Sierras up into Yosemite National Forest. Holes are well thought out with huge elevation changes and very nicely crafted shot selection. Uses rock outcropings and trees to create added difficulty. Would make a very nice tournament level course. Awesome top of the world type shot on hole 6.
Cons: TEE PADS, TEE PADS, TEE PADS, These are some of the most F-d up teepads I've ever seen. Deep, deep ruts that render them pretty much useless. DG tees that look like cat litter boxes well torn up. On a lot of holes I ended up throwing off to the side rather than try to break my neck. Tee signs are present but sometimes confusing but you will get the gist. Very tall grass present everytime I've played making for some disc hunting. No water. Drinking fountain on hole 6 wasn't running. And the usual other CA wilderness cons, heat, snakes, mountain lions, and the such.
Other Thoughts: This course could be a four star plus course in par with Black Butte Lake or New Hogan in feel and play if it weren't for a few things holding it back. The teepads are by far the definite drain on the course, and a little effort there would go a long way toward bringing this course higher. A little more maintenance on the fairways tall grass would bring it close to perfection. I think I am the first to review the course since the new 9 was added, previous reviews I believe are based on the original 9. The new 9 plays and feels very similar to the original. The original 6 holes play the same as before with number 7 being a new hole playing off in a new direction.

Fun Fact: On the top of hole 6 there was a ten foot granite marker which I believed to be a memorial of some kind it turned out to be a grave for Major James Savage the Euro-American discoverer of Yosemite Valley. It is planted at the top of the hill with a magnificent view up the lake and river valley into Yosemite. But does anyone else feel a little weird teeing off from someone's grave.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Course In The Sierra Nevada Foothills!

1    4/7/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1449  Reviewed: 1395  Exp: 41.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great terrain for a course with rolling hills, deep valleys, the ever present waters of Lake Hensley and the Sierra Nevada mountains in near distance make this one of the more eye pleasing courses you're going to play. The baskets and signs are new and top notch. The pads not so much. The course would be easier to follow with a few directional or next tee signs. It's long enough to be challenging. The wind was howling on the day I played added to the difficulty. # 6 is 708' straight downhill with a natural fairway, glorious views from the top and benches to sit a spell and take in your surroundings. Do take some time here. The surrounding vista is absolutely breathtakingly beautiful with the blue waters of the lake on two sides of you and the mountains past that.

# 4 is another gem of a hole. It's 338' over two small valleys to a peek-a-boo basket behind a rock outcropping and the hole plays on a fairly steep side of the hill.
Cons: The teepads are a little on the small side and need some serious rake work. They're currently in pretty rough shape with plenty of ruts and grooves.
The tee signs are informative but they don't always face the right direction. I expect the signs to help me spot or locate the baskets. These signs often faced in another direction thus slowing me down.

Other Thoughts: I doubt you'll ever have to wait for other players on this course. I doubt you'll ever see another player way out here. It's pretty lonely. Bring water on warm days. There were some buzzards circling overhead. Maybe they knew something!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/2/2011   12/4/2011
Review By: KC559
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Amazing views throughout the course especially in between Hole 6 and 7
-Course is easy to navigate
-Very nice tee signs
-Good variety on holes with elevation changes

Cons: -If you go during the Spring or Summer months there can be a lot of snakes on the course so be careful
-Could use more benches especially due to the hilly nature of the course
-Water fountain located between Hole 6 and 7 barely worked. Be sure and bring water you will need it on this course
-Natural tee pads have holes and are uneven. Be careful its easy to lose your footing and slip.
-Discs can be hard to find due to long fairly thick grass throughout the course. Try to keep an eye on where your discs are landing


Other Thoughts: Parking is a little confusing for a first timer. Be sure and stop at the top of the hill and fill out a self parking deposit envelope with $4. Be sure and place the detachable portion on your dash to avoid a citation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 hensley ca

1    2/21/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: giantsfan4life1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - 9 permanent holes
- tee signs are there
- elevation changes
- amazing views
- 9 temp placements are sweet
Cons: - hot weather brings snakes
- lots of hiking
- seasonal
Other Thoughts: Great course with the tourney we had. it was permanent 9 and a temp. 9. Fun course great views and some long holes. i miss my apache thats in the abyss of lake hensley but otherwise nice course as is better as an 18 hole.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Stunning Views

1    6/22/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: adh56
Played: 113  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great use of elevation changes. Uphill, downhill, across valleys, etc.
-Stunning views of the lake from the course.
-Nice tee signs
-Variety of shots required to reach baskets from the tee pads
-Good Flow. Covers alot of ground but circles back to hole 1 nicely.
Cons: -The natural tees are nice but vary in size and some have some uneven spots.
-Could use some trash cans and benches
-Tee signs are in odd spots in relation to the tee pads. (I actually threw the wrong way from tee 2)
Other Thoughts: An expansive 9 hole course that offers some stunning views of the lake from the course. Great use of elevation here with the signature hole being a 708ft downhill on #6. Wearing pants or gaiters would be highly recommended as the foxtails and other plants can be vicious (and very annoying).

Some directional signing to point out where the disc golf course is would be very helpful. The relatively close course at Eastman lake has that as well as a really nice info board, so why not?

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.