Crown Point, IN 
Lemon Lake County Park - Blue Share
Uploaded By: Bart Hole #5
3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3

1    6/7/2018   6/10/2018
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 342  Reviewed: 216  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lemon lake blue is one of 4 courses at Lemon lake county park. The blue course is the most open, city park style course we played here (also gold and red). The tee pads are a mix of concrete and rubber. The concrete pads are large enough and grip nicely. The rubber pads too are plenty large enough with good grip on them. These are actually some of the best rubber pads I've played to date. The baskets here are all DISCatchers with a blue band at the top that makes them very easy to spot. The baskets are all in great shape and catch very nicely. The course starts in the same lot as the red course and meanders into about 4 different sections of the park, crossing roads multiple times. This course offers more distance than the red course but not nearly as many trees as the red and especially the gold/silver courses. There is a pro shop/clubhouse onsite that offers a decent variety and selection of plastic as well as food and beverages and restrooms inside. The park grounds were in fantastic shape when we were here. The park was litter free and everything was mowed and maintained to perfection. There is moderate elevation on this course, with the majority being pretty flat compared to the other 2 courses we played. Not as many shots required here either you're mostly just throwing straight ahead of you with a tree in your way here or there. The easiest of the 3 we played but fun nonetheless.
Cons: Navigation. Without a map it would be nearly, if not impossible to navigate this one. After hole 1 you cross the road for the next hole. Them you cross the street again to play hole 3. Cross the street again for the next 4 holes. Then you walk down a different road to play the next 3 holes. Then you cross back again, then again, then again, etc. Basically without an accurate map you'll have no idea where you're supposed to go next. The back third was not what it showed on the map on this site, specifically the last 5 holes I believe. Hole 15 on the map was actually 18 and I had no idea where 15 even was. Pay to play, but for $8 per car per day, this is a totally fair asking price so not really a con.
Other Thoughts: If you are anywhere near here and have a chance to play here, do it. With 4 courses on site this is definitely a destination complex. We played 3 of the 4 and it took about 5 to 5 and a half hours. The pay to play is totally worth the price if you're going to play at least 2 courses or even just the gold/silver once.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Big Blue

2-4    6/4/2017   6/16/2017
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 97  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Decent variety for a more open, parks style course, well manicured
- Good, if aging, baskets and great tee signs
- Part of a large, pay-to-play complex comprised of 4 courses and a clubhouse with pro-shop, concessions, and bathrooms
Cons: - Features many long, open fairways that lead to "tweener" holes for players at some skill levels
- Tee pads can be a bit too short
- Occasionally confusing routing and layout without an up-to-date course map
Other Thoughts: The Blue Course is Lemon Lake's most prototypical parks style course. It features many long, mostly open fairways with a decent smattering of large, mature trees to provide minimal shot shaping. There are a few fairways that play in the woods, and the tighter, tree-lined holes near the start of the Gold/Silver course are among the best the Blue Layout has to offer. However, most fairways allow for whatever shot you are most comfortable with. These kind of long, open fairways lead to a lot of "tweener" holes where, unless you have a big arm, you can't reach the basket for a birdie, but even a bad shot leaves you good chance for par. This results in less exciting rounds and limited score separation for a number of players on many of Blue's holes.

That being said, this is still a very pleasant part of the park to play through, and the equipment is of the same good quality as on the rest of the courses in the complex. I continue to wish the tee pads were a foot or two long, but it's not that big of a deal. The Blue layout has been in flux the last several times I've played, and without a map it is certainly possible to miss some holes or get turned around. Make sure to continue straight past 7's Basket and follow the road to the right to the new Holes 8-10, and not head back to the left to the old #8, which I believe is still labeled as #8 on the tee sign. On my last trip, Red Holes 1 and 18 were currently incorporated into the Blue layout as holes 16 and 17 with the temporary closing of the Red Course. Hopefully the Blue course gets a more concrete layout after the re-opening of Red and some additional routing information is provided to reduce confusion.

The Blue course vies with White for my least played course at Lemon Lake. The Red and Silver layouts are more to my liking, but Blue is still a really solid course with a number of great holes. If you love breaking out your high speed drivers and crushing big hyzer and anyhyzer lines around large trees, this is the course for you, and there is enough variety to not get dull. You really can't go wrong playing any combination of 2 or 3 courses out at Lemon Lake, they complement each other really well and make for a great day of disc golf. The clubhouse with discs and concessions adds great added value (when open), and helps make this a true disc golf destination. Do yourself a favor and take an entire day to play as much golf as you can at Lemon Lake, then drive over to Three Floyds brew pub for some great beer, and talk about all the awesome disc golf you just played with your buddies.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Warm up round

1    8/14/2016   8/19/2016
Review By: knivile1
Played: 55  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.6 Years
Pros: -Most open course on the property (didn't get to play White so not sure how it compares) that I played
-Second longest course on property, only shorter than Goldwhich for me was perfect to warm up my arm before heading to the more technical courses
-Very well manicured grounds
-When you think of "park style" courses, this would make a great prototype to follow
Cons: -Repetitive nature of just letting it rip with no real risk/reward present
-MAKE SURE YOU PRINT AN UP TO DATE MAP: missed holes 8-10 and thought that possibly some baskets and tees had been moved and not updated yet. Didn't find out til the pro shop opened that the layout had changed.
Other Thoughts: This was a great course on my trip to warm up on. No one else seemed to be playing this course when I arrived and I had it all to myself. Less chance of losing a disc due to open nature.

Not the most challenging course ever, but it was enjoyable enough that I have no real complaints.

 One of many gems

1    5/21/2015   1/26/2016
Review By: B3NDER
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lemon Lake County Park is located across 403 acres of land, and includes 4 different, 18 hole courses. Aside from Blue, there is: Red, White, and Gold/Silver.

Course is pay to play (Parking fee, anyway), which his always a positive in my mind. It helps to support the course maintenance, while keeping riff-raff traffic down. A few benches and trashcans throughout the layout of blue.

- Onsite pro-shop (Didn't get to go inside, but I've heard good things)

- The upkeep and overall cleanliness feel to this course was good, I do love a course with a lack of trash and clutter.

18 Holes for Blue (each Innova Discatcher was painted blue to correlate with the course itself), each with its own concrete pad. All of the pads were in good shape. The signage here was very adequate, listing hole numbers and distances.

- Blue seemed to be the 'open' course, with a good amount of distance shots and scattered obstacles about (Mostly just different types of trees). Gold is the only course longer, in terms of distance. The longer holes being 4 (540') 6 (630') and hole 10 (689'). Once you get to the back 9, it gets a little more wooded, with some water as well, but nothing insanely tight. You'll definitely get a chance to air out some drives, as well as work on accuracy later on.
Cons: Since there are no glaring cons that I can even recall, I will do my best to list what I think some people may still consider as 'negative'

- Since this is one of the longer courses on the complex, individuals with shorter distances may not like the front nine, as they require some power throws. I don't have a cannon by any means, but even on the longer holes I was able to score relatively well. Even with decent routing and signage, some of the walks between holes are longer than I generally like.

While there WAS a decent variety, no single hole really stood out to me as "signature" worthy.

Bugs could essentially be a big problem here, as some of the land can get a bit mucky, with standing water and mud. So prepare yourself with repellant or long sleeves.
Other Thoughts: The Lemon Lake complex was a great experience for me, even if I only got to play half of Red, and all of Blue. I would highly recommend you get yourself to Lemon Lake, and make a day of bagging all of the courses. If I hadn't been on my way to big disc golf meet, I certainly would have played the other 3 courses, start to finish as well. This place, from what I witnessed, will not disappoint!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sometimes it's fun to air it out...

1    5/21/2015   6/2/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 455  Reviewed: 213  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 18 hole course in a large park, with several other courses on site. Great land for courses.

One concrete tee pad for each hole. They were all in good repair and plenty long/wide enough. No issues here, even with the longer holes possibly requiring a longer run-up.

One pin position per hole, but I think a couple holes had alternate locations. Hole 10's basket was NOT in the position shown in the pictures here, and was much better. Baskets were all in good repair, and blue in color.

Tee signs at every hole, with all the pertinent information. Navigation was mostly simple, with the transfer to hole 3 a little tricky (go right from 2, not over to hole 10's tee). All in all, easy to get around.

This course definitely caters more to somebody with decent distance. The front 9 is relatively open, but with plenty of strategically placed trees that force lines. Once you get into the wooded (mostly) back 9, the lines are more defined. All in all, you'll use a lot of shots, especially power throws, which helps it to stand out on the complex.

A decent amount of elevation, and a couple holes with water, for good measure. A really balanced course.
Cons: It would be cool to have multiple tees/pin locations, but with several courses onsite, it's probably not a necessity.

There's really not a lot to complain about here, to be honest. It mixes in well with the other courses, but I suppose some people might find it a bit too open on the front side, and some people might not love the long bomber holes.

It's supposedly P2P, but there was nobody manning the guard shack when we got there, so we just parked and played.
Other Thoughts: As an Int player with 370-380' power, I loved this course. Plenty of opportunity to really let some shots go, without fear of losing discs. I was afforded the opportunity to let so big anny's fly, and several spots to just grip it and rip it. Mixed in with the quite nice wooded holes, there was a bit of something for everybody.

This isn't the toughest course around, but I left feeling quite satisfied. I'd love to give this a 4.0, but I think a 3.75 would be more in line, so I'll bump down because of single pin/single tee.

For me, this is a must hit if in the area, and for others, you won't be sorry you played it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/21/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 262  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 15.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The blue course is the second longest course at Lemon Lake with only the Gold course being longer. It takes advantage of some nice elevation changes, the lake is in play of a few holes and a creek's in play on a few others. The front nine is mostly open with a light sprinkling of trees around to keep it interesting. The back nine is a lot more interesting with water in play quite a bit, the shot variety is much more balanced, and the hole length is more varied.

The tee signs list the distance and have a good hole diagram which is very helpful, especially your first time here. The tees are a mix of concrete and grippy brick so I didn't have a problem with them.

Hole 10 is definitely my favorite hole on this course. It's a big, long turnover shot that runs the edge of the lake which is on your right.
Cons: The front nine is rather long and bland with only 2 holes under 300ft. Holes 2 and 9 help to keep it interesting but otherwise it was rather unmemorable. There are some trees on these holes as I mentioned above, but they do little to make it more interesting. This means the front nine lacks risk/reward and is just a small step away from being wide open.

There are a number of healthy walks between some of the holes. I wouldn't say it was difficult to find the next tee, but signage could be a bit better in some places to help with this.

The ground was extremely wet with standing water when I played here. I know it rained recently so I'm not holding it against the course but this was an issue throughout almost the entire round.
Other Thoughts: The Lemon Lake complex is most definitely worth going out of your way to spend a day or two playing here. While all courses here have nice variety on their own, as a whole the courses also compliment each other well. It's very cool that the baskets, posts for the tee signs and benches are color coded to match the course you're playing.

The blue course is geared more towards big arm players, but the wooded holes and water hazards make it good for accurate players with less D. The back nine is tons of fun with a good variety and challenges, but unfortunately the front nine is the major factor stopping the blue course back from being rated higher IMHO. I'm a little surprised how highly rated the blue course is. I know being part of a complex like this can help the rating of all courses, but the front nine is so bad there's no way I can justify rating this over a 3.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lemon Lake Blue

1    7/3/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 153  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lemon Lake - Blue is the most open of the courses in the Lemon Lake complex. It's my personal favorite because I'm a sucker for the "public park" feel. Well, it definitely has that feel, but the awesome thing about it is that there are only disc golfers here, so you have that awesome combination of park without having to worry about hitting non-DGers.

And yet, this course isn't entirely open. In fact, it weaves through woods as well and has an incredible amount of elevation for being in Indiana.

I can definitely see myself traveling out to this complex again. I had an awesome time even though I was just playing by myself. There's a great variety of shots and terrain and it's a relatively challenging course. I could definitely see how the Lemon Lake Complex was a great match up for the 2010 Worlds.

On a side note, the clubhouse stocks Latitude 64 discs! That always brings a smile to my face.
Cons: In the summer the bugs can get absolutely ridiculous, but that's essentially everywhere. Hands down, it was the worst part about playing here, especially since it's next to a swampy area.

To me, it lacked a picturesque signature hole. While all the holes were diverse and interesting, none of them really wow'd me when I stepped up to the tee.
Other Thoughts: I would absolutely recommend a trip to Lemon Lake. There are several great courses on site and the park is an excellent place to relax and just enjoy the game of disc golf. It's very apparent that there's a community here that cares about the courses and works hard to keep them in good condition. The clubhouse exceeded my expectations as well.

Definitely worth it to come and spend the day at Lemon Lake! You'll have a blast!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Front drastic from back.

5+    8/10/2010   7/10/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 348  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 17.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Blue course is a drastic change from the front 9 to the back 9. The land is rather flat and open on the front and wooded with sloping hills on the back.

The baskets are in solid condition. They are Innova Discatchers that have been painted blue. The last time I played hole #10 had a 2nd pin (kingpin).

There is a wide variety of shots and lines on this course. #3 has a long tee pad and most holes have 2 pin positions.

Concrete tee pads.

Adequate tee signs.

There are 10 holes over 300ft. 9 of those are 340 or more. You can throw a driver a lot!

With the use of the maps on this site navigation is not a problem.

Hole #10 is my favorite hole. Long par 4 with a pond on the right. When the pin is next to the pond it's awesome!

There are a few risk and reward holes where you can try to net birdies by throwing over out of bounds.

There are some really fun short wooded holes on the back.
Cons: The front 9 can get a little repetitive with being long and open.

Standing water and mud can be an issued after rain.

Although the tee signs are adequate they are nothing special.

Although the tee pads are concrete they are a little short and some are not flat to the ground and don't allow run ups from behind.

Hole #17 is my least favorite hole. Very short hole hooking left.

There is quite a few long walks on this course as you have to cross the road several times to get to the next hole. If you don't have a map it will be difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: This is a pay to play facility.

If you are not familar with poison ivy there is some at this facility. Educate yourself and take precautions if you are allergic.

The 2010 Pro Worlds did wonders for this facility. 4 courses with a ton of options. There are plans for a 5th course.

The Homie event every October is a must play midwest event. Great atmosphere and always a ton of people.

Here are the results of Pro Worlds. You can get an idea of how the best players in the world scored on this course.
http://www.pdga.com/course_ratings/15193

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Avoid the Right

1    6/10/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 563  Reviewed: 373  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
At the same location as four other courses. Extremely well-stocked pro shop
Cons:
Disc-eating swamp wide-right on #9, along the right-side the entirety of #10, and had completely swallowed tee-13 the day we played. Flow a bit choppy as you hop back-n-forth across the road a few times.
Other Thoughts:
With an average length just under 370', and three holes 550'+, long-throwers should enjoy this course. Over half the holes, mostly on the front nine, would be considered open. For the most part, any danger, i.e. ob-roads, treelines, tall grass, swamps, slopes, etc., on these holes is found along the right-side. Lest the technicians be bored silly, 11-14 (sloping) and 16-18 (flat) offer plenty of tight challenges, keeping the course from merely being one long bomb-fest.

Favourite holes: #9, a subtle downslope, scattered mid-sized trees to miss/stay under, nicely-presented green; #14, a ridge-to-ridge left-turner, open early but squeezing as, at the midpoint, you cross the creek near a covered bridge. Thick canopy and large limbs keep you from going up-n-over, so need to stay low, but not so much that you drop below the basket on the equal-elevated ridge.

With five courses located at a single site, supported by a fine pro shop, Lemon Lakes is a destination which should satisfy a wide spectrum of players for an entire day.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not Blue At All

2-4    6/10/2011   6/10/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 220  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2011
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Scattered mature trees dot the lawn-like gently rolling terrain that comprises the majority of Lemon Lake Blue. The rest of the course provides wooded, tighter "fairway"-ed holes. Marshes comes into play on #'s 3, 9 and run the length of 10's long gradual left-to-right turn. A creek, dry at times of the year, comes into play nicely on 11, 12, and 14. Many holes are longer in length, making this a great course for the big guns while still providing technical lines and a few ace runs on the wooded holes.
- Elevation, while not major, is used very well. A few of the longer holes gradually incline or decline the entire length of the fairway.
- A few holes have significant water risk, helping to break up what would be a largely riskless round played over a huge lawn.
- Amenities: sufficient (although occasionally non-descript) signage, good concrete tees, next tee signage.
- Although at first glance the most plain of the Lemon Lake courses, Blue nevertheless has many beautiful views and interesting natural aspects in addition to its quality discin' throughout.
Cons: - Navigation and flow are the big culprits in bringing down Blue's overall rating. Many above average holes somewhat spoiled by long, initially confusing walks (even with the map), criss crossing the street, and trying to determine exactly which basket to shoot towards.
- #13's tee is deeply submerged (as of 6/10/11) under swamp water.
- Tee signs don't depict a map of the hole, just a very general dotted line. This adds to the confusion first time through.
Other Thoughts: - Located in the spacious Lemon Lake complex. Gold/Silver, Red, and White courses available, as well as an assortment of non-dg related pursuits (sand volleyball, baseball/softball, fishing, walking, playgrounds, etc). Concession stand open during the summer months, selling food and discs. Portajohns and restrooms on site.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.