Troy, MI 
Raintree Park Share
Uploaded By: timg  
Park Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Nice 9 Hole Course

1    1/1/2017   1/4/2017
Review By: MisterJ
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: TeePads/Baskets - TeePads on the first few holes were double wide cement in excellent condition, absolutely fabulous. Baskets in good condition and most marked with hole.

Signage - Pretty good. Distance and hole listed. I've seen worse.

Fun - Definitely this course can provide a lot of fun, it's short and quick, provided there isn't a lot of congestion. The style and layout lends itself to showing newer folks the sports and bringing them in.

Locatability - Google maps and DG course review make finding this easy. It's small so navigating isn't too bad. But if signage was better, had pointers, or there was an updated map, it could help.

Maintained/Bugs - In January, no bugs, and grass was well maintained. But I can see this place should be well taken care of. It's a nice place.
Cons: Aesthetic - Nicely laid out course. Nothing eye catching and wonderful, it's not ugly, just nothing to call it aesthetically positive, kind of like your backyard.

Challenge/Variety - No elevation changes, no water (unless rain/snow/drainage), no major obstacles except trees which are nicely planned. Hole lengths vary slightly, if you throw out the high and low, we're talking 185' to 347' and those 7 average 250'. The trees are placed strategically, so there is challenge, but it's all the same shot.

Congestion - For me, no congestion what so ever because we went in early Jan as snow melted. But I've seen courses like this before. Walkers, baseball, soccer, kids swinging, picnics and dogs, and other new disc-golfers all over. I can see this place getting to be a zoo, don't know, but I can picture it.
Other Thoughts: What's holding it back from higher rating - Better signs, better map to start. But in the end, someone decided this would be a real easy course. If someone dumped some cash and dirt, made some elevation, and aesthetically challenging areas that still allow the park to be used, I would go higher. Kind of like how Bay Court Park is, get the most you can out of that small area.

Kid Friendly - Yes definitely, this place is made for kids, bring them for sure.

Older/Less Active Player Friendly - Maybe not so much. The flatness makes you think maybe, but I assume there would be congestion which means slow pace and standing, and the course may be small but stretches longer than other courses this size and that means more walking and then more standing waiting. Maybe but I'm not sure.

Rookie Friendly - Yes, this park is here to draw in the rookies and entice them to continue.

Average Player Friendly - Yes, but I think the average player will probably get glittery. Like, can we go, can we go, can we go to Fire Fighters or somewhere else after and get excited to keep going. Not that they want to leave, but this place is fun and gets you excited for disc golf and it's a nice warm up.

Pro Player Friendly - Read the average player, but consider drive time and possibility of congestion in the park. Because more so for you, if it is slow going or it takes you longer to drive here than to golf a round, you'll not enjoy yourself, just stay on I-75 and continue up to Holly Woods or go over to Addison Oaks or something.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short and basic

1    6/22/2016   9/16/2016
Review By: Klingmeyer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free. Great for beginners. No underbrush. Quick to play.
Cons: Signage, 9 Holes just go back and forth. Baskets are not marked well and not painted. Flat. Intertwines with entire park area, on a busy day it may be dangerous.
Other Thoughts: Ho-hum

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/1/2016   6/10/2016
Review By: torihanus
Played: 20  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1.) Course is located in the metro Detroit area. Course is also located in a park that consists of soccer field, sand volleyball courts, walking paths, places to grill out, etc. It is always an advantage when you can do more than one outdoor activity in my book.

2.) Course is great for beginners. This course is great for people who have never thrown a disc in their lives and/or children.

3.) Concrete tee pads were the best of the best.

4.) Baskets were double-chained and relatively good condition (minus one).

5.) Course is clean and well-maintained.

6.) Despite the fact that the course is closely knitted together, navigation was simple.

7.) Course is free to play!

8.) You won't ever run the risk of losing a disc at this course.
Cons: 1.) As a seasoned player, course was too easy for my liking, hence why this course is great for beginners or first-timers. I used my mid-ranges and putters for almost the entire course. Not enough challenging factors on the course.

2.) Par numbers were extremely off! I noticed that the par 4 holes were anything over 230ish feet, and any par 5 holes were anything over 300ish feet. Although this only made my score better, it also didn't give me the satisfaction of having enough challenge throughout the course.

3.) Signage is less than mediocre. It reminded me of what Firefighters Park has: hole number, par number, arrow pointing to the basket, and feet away from the basket. I still prefer when they have a basket map of where it is from the tee to the basket.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sadly, Ruined by the Asian Beetle

5+    12/1/2014   1/3/2015
Review By: Zinc_Alloy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Best concrete teepads in the business. That's about it.
Cons: No redeeming value.
Other Thoughts: OK... this is the oldest course in Michigan(I believe) but in 2001 the Ash trees were decimated by the Asian Beetle and nine out of ten trees were removed. They were removed in 2008ish. The pictures posted for this site serve only to remind us of what was. And that was the best short course in the business. Warming up before heading to Fire Fighters, River Bends or Stoney Creek would be the only reason to come here. Three new holes were added which make the course wrap around the entire park now but there was a reason why the course was never expanded from 1978-2008... and that is because it turns into a swap throughout the entire west corner! Regardless of rain amount.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for warmup or quick round

5+    8/3/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: futant462
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for a quick round, especially if other courses in the area are busy. I've never had to wait at any holes at Raintree. Because it's only 9 holes and they tend to be very short distances, you can play the course a couple times in an hour.
Cons: Lots of people roaming throughout the park. Can be hazardous. The final two holes can get a little soggy if there has been rain recently. I will skip them and just play the first 6 holes again.
Other Thoughts: Raintree is usually the first course I play in the Spring because it's great as a warmup and it's almost impossible to lose a disc. I also end up here when Firefighters has a tourney and I just want to play a round or two.

It's a nice little suburban park and it certainly is not the most challenging course you will play. Don't go into it with a lot of expectations. Play it a couple times in an hour and try to hit those aces since the first 4-5 holes are very ace-friendly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Too easy

5+    6/23/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: Sean525
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 6/25/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy course for beginners

The front 9 holes are pretty short. I usually use my mid-range and fairway drivers.

Free

Never gets crowded here, even on the weekends.
Cons: Not too exciting, but it's better than Wagner Park in Royal Oak.

This park is too easy and could us some adjustments. The tee pads are ridiculously wide.

Couple holes are a little too close to the jogging path.
Other Thoughts: Typically I go here when there are tournaments at Firefighter's. The layout isn't bad, the city needs to tweak the holes because quite a few of them are just simply to easy.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Firefighters Jr.

1    4/21/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 293  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- plays through a smallish multi-use park. Course intermingles with walking paths and playgrounds. Potentially dangerous

Teepads-- Comically huge. these are the most unnecessarily huge teepads ever. they are literally 12x12. they are all in good repair but you seriously only need like a quarter of this size for these little tiny throws.

Teesigns-- it's blatently obvious which basket you are throwing to so the lack of a diagram is not a big deal. having the distance is nice but I really think some of the distances are grossly exaggerated, especially on the first 5 holes.

Baskets-- all there, a bit wonky and shallow at times but not awful.
Cons: Challenge-- this course is straightforward... literally and figuratively. there is no variety or challenge here. the lanes are defined by old growth trees and don't provide for "dog-legging"

Other Thoughts:
I suppose this would be good for beginners and for teaching finesse shots.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pragmatic, simple, quick

1    9/27/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: apparition
Played: 44  Reviewed: 38
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Nice, big concrete tees
+ Intact tee markers with # and distance
+ Good use of space
+ Easy to follow
+/- Minimal tree coverage
+ Park is well cared for
+ Parking and restrooms right next to the first tee
Cons: - Baskets are pretty rusty
- Somewhat hazardous, multi-use park
- Tee marker direction (see below)
+/- Minimal tree coverage
Other Thoughts: I've learned that 9-hole courses live up to your expectations only if you don't expect much. Short on time? Not interested in a challenge? Teaching someone to play? Just need to get outside for a little bit? This is your course.

Raintree is a quick, fairly easy to follow loop in a nice multi-use park. I was in town for a conference and played the course in 20-25 minutes after a long day of lectures. I wasn't looking for a challenge. I knew it was flat and I knew it wouldn't take long, so it suited my needs perfectly. The park is well-groomed and seemed very safe. On a late Friday afternoon in September there was a group of 25-30 people playing volleyball, a bunch of walkers, a few picnics, and kids on the playground. The disc golf seemed to be a main attraction, though, with rounds moving quickly with people on almost every pad. I dug the vibe of the park and you probably will, too.

Overall, disc golfers may be able to appreciate it for being a pragmatic, simple course, but in all likelihood will be underwhelmed. No reason to expect anything spectacular, so just enjoy it for being what it is. Things to be prepared for are: somewhat rusty baskets, 75% open lines to each basket (which is kinda fun because you can choose any approach and change your difficulty), and distractions from other park goers. The one and only thing that annoyed me was that the tee markers only had the info on one side and it didn't face the tee pad, so invariably, I would walk up to throw and have to circle back to check the distance. Not really a big deal, but I'm picky like that.

Overall, enjoy this little course for being simple and available.

Thanks for reading!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great For Beginers

5+    9/26/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: Moff
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first 5 holes are fairly short. This helps build confidence for the later longer holes. Trees not to oppressive. I like this park for a quick after work 9 holes.
Cons: Its not 18 so making it a stop on the weekend seems like a waste of time. Tee pads and chains not always in the best condition.
Other Thoughts: Quick and Fun, will play again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nuthin' special, but it's disc golf

2-4    9/7/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 214  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Friendly course in a well maintained multi-use city park: soccer, softball, walking/jogging paths.
Well suited to beginners, young children and intermediate players looking for a quick, "friendly" round.
Most of the baskets are pretty much directly in front of the tee, and while the trees never truly get tight or dense, the tees and baskets are laid out with respect to them to provide several different lines off the tee. Creates some interesting routes good for teaching beginners about finding a line and executing shots to carry that line.
Mostly short, lightly wooded holes, with a few fairly long, open holes (two over 300+ and one 400+) to encourage the use of drivers and keep things from feeling repetitive.
Nice sized concrete tees (oversized on some holes).
Fairly new tee markers with hole # and distances accurately reflect the course redesign a few years ago (replaced the inaccurate signs referred to in previous reviews).
Navigation's foolproof except for the walk from 6 to 7 (walk toward the back of the park, past pavilion and volley ball pit).
Good course for Aces.
No brush or schule - essentially zero chance of disc loss.
Restrooms with running water near 1st tee/parking.
Cons:
Challenge: Low - skilled players should card more 2's than 3's.
Several baskets bent or in fairly bad shape. They still catch OK, but playing with damaged baskets can't help and they look pretty bad up close. (Not an issue during Ace Races because they only throw to the good ones and supplement with quality portables).
Completely flat. I used to accept terrain "as is," but there are creative, aesthetic, inexpensive ways to elevate a couple of baskets to make players at least think about laying-up and increase risk/reward.
Layout isn't conducive to playing multiple rounds. Navigation's a snap, but holes 7-9 take you out to a different section of the park, and while 9 heads back towards hole 1, the walk back is lame. They could have arranged the holes to make the return better. I've heard they plan to add to the course, which might address this issue, but until then, it just leaves you hanging.
Other park visitors not really aware they're walking in the fairway. Others see you playing but have no clue that bad shots could endanger them. Caution and courtesy are warranted.
Other Thoughts: Earns every bit of "reasonable" that 2.0 represents; better than merely "passable," falls short of short of "typical."

Wind can come into play to make things a bit more interesting. Outside the possibility an Ace, there's nothing here to bump up fun or excitement. Certainly not worth making a trip or going out of your way for, but, if the immediate neighborhood and need a quick fix, stop in for a round with no time spent looking for discs. Unless you're truly a beginner, you'll enjoy pretty much any other course in the area more.

Course pix are old - not that many trees anymore (yeah I should take some new ones, but I never get out here).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.