Albion, MI 
Victory Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Back 9 Jumped The Shark!

1    9/3/2017   9/3/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2017
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Jumped the shark, you ask? "Jump the shark" is a Hollywood TV term that tells when a TV show (usually but not always, a sitcom) goes so far over the top, that it totally and completely escapes reality. The term was created when "The Fonz, from Happy Days, jumped over a shark on his motorcycle. See, when you read a Valkyrie Kid review, you can learn something new. I think this course definitely jumped the shark starting at # 10.

The front 9 at Victory Park plays up and around this lovely, wooded, hilly area. There are some great throws to be made here. Tee signs would have helped. The concrete pads have a giant arrow pointing the way you're throwing but the hole #'s were mostly faded and I didn't see any distances. I liked the # 9 hole playing 330' across a lawn with the basket set on a little hill with a tiny little creek in front. Adds a little challenge.

Now for the next series of holes. # 10, that some players seem to love is a fairly long carry over the water (and the wind was blowing hard today). One could play safe and lay up on the right but even that shot has water on both sides. I wasn't aware of how easy it is to retrieve your discs.

Then # 11 is a 220' straight throw along a 6' wide fairway with the pond on the right the entire length and the creek is present on the right side. If I emptied my bag on this hole, I'd have to fish every single disc out of the pond. But hey! if you guys like these holes, be my guest. I know I'm a wimp.

There were two tee pads for # 12. I wasn't sure which to use but it didn't matter because I couldn't spot a basket and there is a large, murky swampy water holding area right in front of you. No-one can convince me it easy to dredge your disc out if that. I finally located the basket just under 1000 feet out there. This is a silly hole.

I so agree with reviewer NinaFoFiTre regarding hole 14. She called it one of the best looking holes 225' holes anywhere. It's so pretty it could be at Augusta. But like a Bond girl, it's not just beautiful but also dangerous.

Cons: Signage would really help.

Maybe the water holes aren't as scary as I thought. I would love to watch you all throw 10-11-12-14. I think that would be most entertaining.

I never found the # 17 basket but they were getting ready for a concert on the park there. Do they perhaps pull that basket for concerts?
Other Thoughts: After reading the other reviews, I feel my initial knee jerk reaction to the severity of 10 and 11 may have been overdone but I would still skip those two holes every time. I don't want to go wading in the water. People would think I was a old drunk out there stumbling around in the water or maybe a homeless guy taking a bath. Either way, I'll pass.

And I have upped my rating a little.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting Course

1    8/8/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: DiscGolfFreak
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set in a beautiful public park setting. A river/stream along with two ponds make for a beautiful backdrop for several holes. The baskets are in good condition as are most of the tee pads. The grass was cut and well kept when we played. There is a map at hole 1, which we took a picture of as a guide to the course and we were glad we did. You will have to use a variety of shots to score well and not lose discs. Holes 10-14 added extra excitement with the water coming into play.
Cons: Signage is non-existent. If you are playing the first time and do not have a map, you will have a very difficult time navigating. Tee pad for hole 2 was being used as a collection area for limbs and debris. Tee pad for hole 3 was covered with sand, making traction terrible. Course was very wet in many areas. Mosquitoes were terrible. A few holes could have been laid out better. A couple of the water holes, though beautiful, were ridicules.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to play while in the area. This is in a public park and many park users are not familiar with disc golf and had to wait several times, once for several minutes, as not to put anyone in danger. Course could be rated higher by placing a few pins in different positions.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Signs?Map??

1    11/11/2008   11/11/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 94  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 13.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads,front 9 is through mature trees and rolling hills,back 9 steps up the challenge with lots of water and difficult pin placement,once I figured out the course I found it to be challenging and fun,
Cons: Very confusing layout,no signs anywhere,I had to track down the only person on the course to find hole #1 and I still threw at the wrong basket,baskets are numbered but not tees I found myself throwing at the wrong basket more than once,a lot of holes border roads/parking lots making a mistake may result in hitting a car,back 9 is flat and course lacks some variety,
Other Thoughts: Hole #1 is near baseball diamond,tees off next to main road through park,I wish I could give a description of the course layout but it was hard enough when I was there let alone now, Good Luck

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.