Rocky Mount, NC 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: teej Hole #1 (Taken 7/2017)
3 / 232ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Orange Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 Next >
 A nice walk in the park

1    3/5/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 411  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 40.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
NOTE: The course has been redesigned since I played there. Two holes were added before hole 1, so 2 others were removed. My review reflects the layout in March 2009.

*What stood out to me most was the nice manicured grass with scattered trees and bushes. This one of my favorite types of terrain because the trees provides challenge but it's not too punitive if you go off the flight path. My wife would enjoy a walk here.
*The fairways are well defined.
*The course is very First Timer Friendly (FTF) because it's easy to navigate. There are wooden "Next Tee" arrows under the baskets and the next tee is marked on the tee signs. You don't need a map.
Cons:
-The grass and dirt tees were a little below average. Since they aren't framed and the front is not marked players can tee off from either side of most tee signs.
-The course is flat. The biggest elevation change is a drop of 3 ft.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 900.)

You be the judge-
My favorite holes: 7 & 14. They have very pretty trees and green grass with challenging lengths.

Although I like this type of terrain a lot, there's not a lot of variety with 17 holes being mixed grass and scattered trees, with 1 open hole. The fairway shapes are also somewhat lacking in variety with a majority of straight shots (12 St/ 3 Lt/ 3 Rt). The hole lengths on the layout I played had 9 holes of 200-299 ft. with 3 of 170-185 and 6 of 310-360 ft, so the course plays rather short for longer throwers. There's almost no water in play except for a creek behind 2 holes. The tee signs and baskets were slightly above average. There were very few amenities-- no maps, practice basket, or message board. For me, as a White level player, there were an abundance of 3s to be had; in fact, it felt bad to take a 4. The course is just a slight bit too open for my taste, but it's still a good solid course, with great terrain, that's fun to play. The course is not quite compelling enough for me to drive the 65 miles from my home, but if I'm ever in the area I'll be glad to play here again.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

~More detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are available in the Files section.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Gold Course Addition = Awesome

5+    6/15/2018   7/10/2009
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 37  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2018
Pros: This review is for the Gold course:

Wow. I played a doubles round at this course and had one of the most fun disc golf experiences I've ever had. So many fun holes! The 900-footer in particular was phenomenal. The shape of the fairway really rewarded a combination of distance and accuracy (but mostly accuracy). Loved the OBs on this hole (and the clear markings with the white spray paint). So many long holes are just two back-to-back long straight drives, then a putt.

The course was very well-maintained when we played - no issues at all with long grass, etc.
Cons: This park is in a somewhat sketchy area of town. When my brother and I played most recently, we were panhandled on hole 1...then again (by the same guy) on hole 13.

Additionally, the road where everyone parks comes into play on two holes and there is definite danger of hitting a parked car if your throw is errant.

Other Thoughts: This used to be my least favorite course in Rocky Mount, but is now probably my second favorite. Huge kudos to the RM club and the Parks department for what they've done here!

 Course Redesigned: July 2009

5+    7/5/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: sonny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 35.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course and fun to play. Big open fields nearby for field practice. Part of large city park with other amenities (picnic shelters, spray park, carousel, train, baseball, basketball, volleyball, and tennis courts).

Navigation signs have recently been added to help with a couple of the tricky transitions.
Cons: Red and blue tees are natural grass. No trash cans.

Recent removal of some trees and shrubs have reduced some of the former challenges.

Other Thoughts: Blue tees have been moved since hole distances were added to this site. Course is now a good bit longer and some holes which used to share blue/white tees now have separate blue tees (5, 9, 15, & 18). Sunset from the blues is the most challenging of Rocky Mount's courses..

I live within walking distance to this course and have played all three designs. Each redesign has been an improvement. Course now flows better and completes a closed circuit with #18 ending back at hole #1. A nice 9-hole loop is also available by playing holes 1-7 and finishing with 17 and 18

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Let it fly

5+    6/6/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: brooksjames80
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.9 Years
Pros: Never crowded here.
A few holes to ace. Away from rif raf. Good place to bring a dog if you are playing alone.
Cons: Maybe a little to easy. Although it helps the ego.
Other Thoughts: This course is on FEMA land. Used to be a neighborhood and is now just open land and trees. Looks like a nice neighborhood with no houses. Plenty of open space.

 Could've been the best course in E. NC

5+    2/8/2009   2/9/2009
Review By: oldpirate
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The location has the potential for being one of the best courses in the state.
Cons: There was little thought put into the continuity of the course. Finding the correct tee for the next hole can be a pain. Most holes throw the same, if you are a righty bring a Rock and a putter and you are set.
Other Thoughts: The course has been worked on since its original debut but it is really a shame. RM already as a descent beginner/intermediate course in Englewood. This course should have been the crown jewel.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 upset park

2-4    2/3/2009   2/3/2009
Review By: Virtual PBandJ
Played: 89  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 31.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: very few
Cons: i have played both layouts. the original and the current layout that was changed about a year ago. both are very poorly designed courses
Other Thoughts: I gave the course a .5 rating not for being a bad course, but for wasting land that could hold an amazing course. you could fairly easily install a course that would be the best in the area

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs help

5+    7/12/2008   1/16/2009
Review By: ngpbeaver
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 18.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners and ams.
Cons: Based on hole lengths the course plays a little longer than Englewood. But the the layout as it is, the walk is more like Farmington. If you don't have a guide, good luck finding the next tee.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sunset Park

1    11/17/2008   11/21/2008
Review By: bears_rule
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 20.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2008
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely fun course set in a beautiful location playing mostly in the open. Quite a few Ace/Birdie oppurtunities can be found in the first 5 holes.

The layout plays on flat open land so elevation would appear to not be a factor. However, some of the better lines to take you to the Baskets require height on your throws in order to make it over 8-12 foot bushes. You can literally invent different lines every time you play. I threw a majority of the holes differently, switching from forehand to backhand quite often.

There are a couple of tight fairways with options of taking huge Anhyzers or backdoor hyzers with height to avoid tress. Some holes play blind and provide a more natural feel to the course. Sunset Park ROCKS.
Cons: Only negative for this course would be the lack of concrete tees. I talked to a local that explained the fact that this course is on FEMA land so therefore concrete tees might never be cast, stupid government.

The layout can confuse you the first time out. I would refer to the course pictures to help navigate. It plays back forth over a few streets.
Other Thoughts: This course is clearly a work in progress and will eventually be one of the best in the area. I drove an hour to get to this course and I plan on driving it again quite often

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 sunset park

5+    3/6/2011   11/6/2008
Review By: ecupirate82
Played: 48  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well designed. Some challenging holes as well as a few birdie holes mixed in. Very beautiful course my wife says!
Cons: Long pads need to be concrete. Needs trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Fun course and very clean. You can shoot a very low score from white tees.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sunset Park

5/9/2008   5/9/2008
Review By: bgreen
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Is mostly open over old neighborhood. Many of the holes are around pine trees and around or over old 8'-15' bushes and shrubs that were left after houses were removed. This is the main challenge.
Cons: Can be a challenge to find the next Tee, you will have to cross the old roads that are there (little to no traffic). On some of the first holes you need to watch where you stand and place your bag due to fire ant hills.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course and well worth playing. Quite enjoyable.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.