Castle Rock, CO 
Matney Park Share
Uploaded By: jugglerbri Hole #12 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 317ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Great Wide Open West

2-4    1/27/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 14 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have not encountered any issues with crowds. There are restroom facilities in the parking lot. The fairways, tee pads, posts and baskets all flow logically and I was never turned around nor did I need to consult the map often. Large rocks and sage keep it interesting. The distance is honest and the down and then back up hill make for an interesting wind round.

This course shows signs of local care and I trust that there are reasons and good people behind the design decisions here. I am glad to have played here and overall I'd rate it as "fun" on the fun scale. I felt like I could have gotten by with only a handful of discs. The views here, and all of Castle Rock, are fantastic. The neighborhood feels nice and cozy.
Cons: My dog had issues with the cactus in his paws. If you are not in the mood for a wind game this will not be our cup of tea. The tee pad are not paved. The yellow plastic in my bag blended in with the prairie so I had a few issues finding things. This open space is little more than an empty undeveloped lot amongst different housing tracts. I've only played in the cold but with the wind in the open seem to me like a good place to burn and dehydrate in warmer months.
Other Thoughts: Wide open treeless and windy is my personal least favorite type of course. The first time I played here was in the dead of winter and the wind added many strokes to my game. The map on this site doesn't show it but to the west of #1's tee are a ball field and parking lot. That is where you want to be, 1-3; the rest of the course is in the great wide open across the street. I big arm on a calm day would love this course. I would recommend this course for all types of players; big arm should enjoy it, with a caution for golfers looking for obstacles.

Gordon1018's suggestion of using the cap rocks as hazards sounds like fun and I will try that next time I'm here. The designer and local club did well for what they have to work with.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/1/2010   11/3/2010
Review By: Leroy
Played: 178  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course map at two locations. Mowed fairways. Power poles and bushes are used as obstacles when available. A view of the whole front range from Longs Peak to Pikes Peak, at least 120 miles. Rock formations add a subtle beauty.
Cons: Tee pads are lumpy. No trees. Somewhat windy.
Other Thoughts: I expected this course to be super boring like playing in the middle of a Kansas wheat field, but instead really enjoyed it. You are not going to use every shot in your bag of tricks here, but if you want to try out your straight game this is a lovely place to do it. Inbetween the brush and the rock formations this course is a beautiful example of life in the high desert landscape. Castle Rock has done a decent job with this course considering what they had to work with.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hot Mess

1    7/10/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: Freakyjazer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some very long holes for long drives. Good baskets.
Cons: Lack of variation. Hard to find discs in the long grasses and bushes. Several baskets are surrounded by large rocks that beat up discs. No trees, very windy.
Other Thoughts: Long pants. Extra water.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mw New Home course

5+    7/16/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: gordon1018
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great views of the surrounding area. Easy to find the next Tee and holes when the fairways are mowed. The terrain is great on the Back Nine, with the caprocks and a little more elevation change. Teepads in good if not great condition. Map and signage are in good condition. In nice neighborhood with great park and playground nearby
Cons: Windy days can make an enjoyable round into a nightmare. Best to play earlier in the day before the afternoon thundershowers hit. The front nine is a little boring with pretty much just straight long throws. If it's not too hot, wear long pants for the brush. Occasionally we have Mosquito troubles, but it hasn't been too bad lately. A can of OFF might be a good accesory though
Other Thoughts: I moved to Colorado, and literally live down the road from this course. I've played it a lot due to convenience. I'm not going to say it's my favorite, but it does the job. As I said earlier, play in the morning, when it's not as windy. If you only have time for 9 holes, play the back nine. Using the Cap Rocks as virtual "hazards" makes it a lot more fun and adds a lot more strategy to the course. We play that if your disc is sitting on top of any exposed rock formation you get a penalty stroke, but still play it from where it lies. Grip it, rip it and air out on the front nine. Fairly long course and good if your in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Open and easy

1    4/1/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nicely kept disc golf course on top of a mountain. Wonderful views all around. easy parking right next to the first tee with a large course map there as well. Clean. No graffiti. Not so much as far as elevation changes, but what they do have is used well. Navigation wasn't too much of an issue as there are well defined trails that lead from basket to teepad. Crushed gravel teepads are in decent shape and the baskets are nice. The back half of the course changes things up a bit with the large rocky surface on the fairways and tee areas. A few holes do have trees that add to the challenge.
Cons: Not a hole lot of variety of shots. Most are straight on. It felt as though most of the holes were the same length as well. The open terrian doesn't help much when trying to add difficulty in the course design that only trees can do.
Other Thoughts: This course is on the low end of the challenge spectrum. Long, straight shots are the order for the day. However there are enough changes from hole to hole that doesn't make you feel like you keep playing the same hole. I enjoyed the awesome views of the surrounding mountians and had a nice relaxing time here. There is a large sign at the edge of fairway 17 that states a new high school is going to be buillt on this site. Unsure when that will be. Don't feel you need to go right out and play this course before it is pulled, but if you are in the immediate area, you might want to try it out and stretch your legs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 ZZZ, ZZZ, ZZZ...

1    1/16/2010   1/17/2010
Review By: DGWookie
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The tee boxes are fairly large and filled with crusher fines - I like this a little more than concrete. Totally open area and way easy to navigate. The course was almost trash free. Hole #15 is the best hole of the entire course. The most you can see from the tee box area is the top of the basket.
Cons: Crazy amounts of mud right now!!! The course really is not challenging enough. Without major obstacles this place can get boring fairly quickly. Take a driver and a putter - that's all you'll need.
Other Thoughts: Bring your Ipod to help break up the monotony.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A great view, could use some layout changes

2-4    3/14/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 59  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 16 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had stated in my Westminster DGC review that Westminster had the best view of the Front Range, but that was before I played Matney. You can see from beyond Pikes Peak to beyond Longs Peak. It is breathtaking. The low rock features greatly improve the aesthetics of the course on what would otherwise be an empty field. Hole number one at the parking lot has a large welcome sign with a large map and rules. There were also maps of the course located in the attached box. This was repeated at hole #4 after crossing the street. The tee pads are well marked and the baskets are good quality.
Cons: Overall, this course has very little technical difficultly beyond throwing it far. There are very few obstacles and almost every drive is wide open. The rocks never really come into play as baskets are set in front of the larger rocks instead of behind them. I played on a calm day, but I could see how the wind could wreak havoc on a round. A few of the pins have been moved and the map has not been updated with location and distances.
Other Thoughts: Matney Park is a very well funded park in a very nice area. There are outhouses, a huge new playground, basketball courts and even an artificial turf multipurpose field. It is located in a upper middle class family friendly neighborhood. I take into consideration context when reviewing courses and this is where I will dock some points off of Matney. The larger park is designed for families with children and the course does not layout well for children playing disc golf. In my opinion, the course should fit in with the purpose of the park. It needs to be a bit shorter. I even saw some families with kids simply playing the first three holes over and over again. Holes 4-18 require stronger arms and/or a lot walking on exposed terrain. I would recommend making the front nine as a whole a bit shorter and looping it back to the parking lot and then making the back nine longer for older kids and visitors and looping it around as well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 All About Conditions

1    11/3/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 112  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The weeds were mowed which made it easy to figure out where you were supposed to throw and where the next tee was. There were two nice large signs with a map of the course on them and one sign looked like there was a place for maps or score cards or something. It was very easy to find discs.
Cons: Setting makes windy days exceptionaly bad. There are no trees of any kind. Tees are literally just posts with numbers on them. While there was a varience in lengths it was hard to tell because of the wind conditions. Even the long hole did not feel as though it was as long as the map says. Without wind there is very little challenge on this course. The interesting "rock hazards" made for interesting terrain but will eat discs.
Other Thoughts: I picked a day to play this course that I thought was going to have a nice light wind and although I did not make it there at the optimum time I felt like I was in a wind tunnel the entire time. I considered stopping after a few holes but pressed on and then realized about halfway through that without the wind there was very little challenge to this course. I would say that this is a good course for beginners but the rock hazards will force them to buy new discs sooner.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Lots o fun

5+    9/13/2008   9/23/2008
Review By: Vino
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 23 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of hole distances. Beautiful views of the rockies. Pin placements can make you work for it, behind scrub oak, behind or on top of rock formations. Love the terrain, rock formations, very easy to find arandt shots. Fairways are cut from tee box to pin, tall "rough" beyond that.
Cons: No tee boxes, soon to come, the city is working on it. All holes have a par 3 rating, I'm working on that as well as yardage markers on each tee. Also working on next hole signs to make finding the next tee easier. The wind can be strong, best time to play is early morning or late afternoon.
Other Thoughts: The course is built "around" where the school will be placed. If anything 1 or 2 holes might have to be moved but the course will remain unchanged. Park in the playground parking lot, the first tee is behind the restrooms. I do not work for the city, only trying to help them out.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Raw

1    8/30/2008   8/30/2008
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only DG course within miles. Good elevation challenge. Good tee posts.
Cons: The wind was the only real obstacle. Doesn't demand a variety of shots. Not good footing for the drives. Watch out for cacti.
Other Thoughts: I was just visiting and it was very windy, but it probably usually is due to being on top of a mountain.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.