Richmond, TX 
Pecan Grove Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #4 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 267ft.   3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee (Spring Layout)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Don't bother

1    3/13/2018   3/18/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 982  Reviewed: 352  Exp: 33.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well, there is suppose to be a map at hole 1
Posts mark tees with hole number and distance listed.
Cons: Hole 1 basket and practice basket are missing
Grass tee pads (not a lot of play here so they are still grass)
most of the course is wide open, and I mean wide open.
Other Thoughts: It is not good when you read the "course conditions" and it says baskets 1 to 4 are missing, play the spring layout.

So after starting on hole 5 spring layout, you look over and see basket 4 in the fall placement. So I walked over there and could see 3 basket, then 2 basket. So I went over to play hole 1 and no basket.

Hole 1 is a short little hyzer with a few trees blocking a direct line, but no basket so I played the last tree. Then the rest of the course was in the Fall layout. I walked back across the parking lot (much farther than hole 1's distance) and threw a simple open field shot to a basket in a tree line. Not much to the hole.

Hole #3F is a shorter hole along that tree line, the trees are pretty big, but it is just a little low hyzer.

Hole #4F is almost the exact same shot as 3, but longer.

The a long walk over to hole #5F that throws along the park boarder/road/fence to the basket. Not really any tree's to get in your way. A few bushes I guess you could get stuck behind, but not any real challenge to this 400+ft hole.

#6F post is missing, but you basicly throw from teh edge of the park down 450ft across a small dent, so there is a little elevation. Just not a single tree comes into play.

#7F is a shorter slightly downhill shot with not a tree in sight.

#8F is actually the best hole on the course 400ft shot across from one slight hill to the next with a bush blocking your view of the basket from the tee. But this bush and about 4 others are the ONLY things in this section of the park in the way.

#9 throws back up the slight hill with the parking lot on your right. Unfortunately, I parked in that corner spot and almost hit my Flex with my drive that turned over. Not a tree in sight on this hole either.

Now I was at my car, if I had parked by hole 1, I would have to walk all the way across the park back to my car. I do not like that.

other notes, this was a popular park for other park users. There were very few parking spots along the road. Plenty of parking at hole #1 though.

Would I play here again?

Hell no, this is a wasted space for baskets. There is nothing really to work with in this park. If you really wanted to put in a course here, make it a bunch of 200 ft shots starting from the playground area and make it a family friendly course. 400ft holes, even though they are wide open, are not family friendly.

Have a fund raiser and plant some trees, you could "build" a good rec course here if you wanted, but right now it is a horrible course.


3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/27/2016   12/30/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -wooden tee posts have hole number and distance
-baskets and natural tees are in decent condition
Cons: -two different seasonal layouts; spring is better than fall
-wide open holes with pretty much no obstacles
Other Thoughts: This is a wide open practice course with an alternating layout between fall and spring, presumably since one side has soccer fields and the other has baseball diamonds. I played the fall layout and you have to backtrack from basket 1 to tee 2. Holes 3 and 4 use the tree line but they are still easy hyzers and the trees barely come into play.

Holes 1, 8, and 9 are the same in both layouts and holes 5-7 are shared but in a different order in each layout. So holes 2-4 are the only real difference. The spring layout gives less walking between holes and more challenging lines on holes 2-4. Either way, the course is pretty boring and as another reviewer said, barely better than throwing in a field.

A sign near tee 1 with a map of each layout and an explanation would make it a lot easier for first timers. There are other park users around using the playground or the fields for soccer, baseball, frisbee, etc. It's a decent place to practice if you live nearby but otherwise it's course baggers only. There are better options that aren't too far from here.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 flat open course

1    8/15/2016   9/2/2016
Review By: zonvil
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: never loose a disc here
wide open fairways (field)
good place to practice or learn
couple of baskets under trees which is a challenge
Cons: confusing holes, i think you use two basket for other holes?
mostly open, hot in the summer
watch out for red ant hills
Other Thoughts: if you live close by, it's a good place to throw a disc

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 boring

5+    4/14/2015   4/18/2015
Review By: bransten
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good if u have a family u can disc and they can play at the park....easy to access if u live in the area.....good too air out your arm at this course . Bathrooms a plus
Cons: if it rains it s real wet Boring. Flat with no privacy . if playing for the first time its confusing... And its a far. Walk from hole 9 to the car ... crazy green tees Porly design. It needs a redo ... basket one is missing and the practice basket is missing . Crappy course map and they say it has two layouts but I've lived in the area for 4 years and never seen it change
Other Thoughts: Needs a redo

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing

1    5/12/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: KimD
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice park
Tees are marked with posts
Cons: Holes 2 and 3 are missing.
Wide open fields with no trees.
Confusing configuration.. with it so wide open you can't tell which target to throw at.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't play here unless you live in the area and are just looking for a place to practice!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 at least they have a course...

1    12/7/2012   1/23/2013
Review By: McC.Alexander
Played: 40  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 22.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: +the park is well taken care of
+good place to practice long drives
Cons: -pretty much flat open land
-when i recently visited there were 2 holes missing (i believe it was number 2 and number 3 but im not certain)
Other Thoughts: its a bit of a drive out there so I will probably never play here again but hey, theres a course and I got to disc so Im happy

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A mediocre Practice Course

2-4    6/1/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: NTexas2010
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nearly impossible to lose a disc unless it flies into the outlying tree-line.
- Every hole is a birdie waiting to happen.
Cons: - Every hole plays like the last.
- Very few obstacles make the course less fun, even for someone like me who just wants to go out there and chuck some discs at a basket from a dirt tee.
- More or less a rolling soccer field with baskets dotting various points on the pitch. Entertainment value is limited.
Other Thoughts: Not much else to say that hasn't been said. I would only play this course if you live in the neighborhood and don't feel like making the drive to River Point, or to add another notch on your proverbial Disc Golf Course belt.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Basic

1    12/15/2011   12/22/2011
Review By: DMC89
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find the park. Easy to find the course in the park.
Cons: Wide open. Straight and boring. Played with a mid range and putter only, nothing else needed. Though I played in December the Spring Course was set up. Could not play holes 2 & 3 due to ultimate game and football games happening. Holes 7 and 8 are open but tight, bad throws will put you in the way of others if they are playing at the same time. Unimaginative. Could have made better use of the few trees as obstacles. Probably won't play there again.
Other Thoughts: Restrooms were nasty. Fire ants were present in December. Sticker burrs stuck to my sneaker laces and cut my fingers. If other activities like youth baseball or youth football are happening in the park the parking would be an issue.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better than an open field, but not by much.

1    5/20/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 154  Reviewed: 140  Exp: 17 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great open area to try out new discs, and work on your placements. The holes are long enough for a variety of drivers and mid-ranges to be practiced, so this place definitely beats the open field. The park is very well manicured and the second hole felt like walking a fairway from a ball golf course. The park is well maintained with playground equipment and restroom facilities.

BEST HOLE/S: #6S
Cons: When the biggest pro is, "the course is better than practice in an open field," then you know that's a pretty sad course indeed. On paper things look great - good distance, fall and spring layouts, easy to navigate area - but it just so straightforward and boring that I felt like I was wasting my time. The spring layout offers no a few to no trees on every hole, and every shot it literally the same shot from a different direction.

This course is basically like playing Hohlt Park in Brenham, Texas without the elevation and even fewer trees. Add it all up, and you have a neighborhood course that, if you lived next door, would use it for practice, but nothing more. At least the mediocre nine courses close to it are fun to play.

WORST HOLE/S: Take your pick
Other Thoughts: Not much too really add except, hit River Pointe Church DGC over this place if you're in the area. Heck, I would even take McCleandan Park over playing here ever again. I couldn't even think of a new layout to make it more entertaining - it's just straight-forward boring, so be prepared.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing Special

2-4    2/23/2008   3/26/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 261  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Not much danger of pedestrian interference. Course changes layout in Spring and Fall to alternate between avoiding baseball or soccer fields. Tee signs well marked and uses red bricks to mark edge of tee box.
Cons:
Not very interesting or challenging. Too many (7 or 9 in Spring) holes that are straight shots with no obstacles whatsoever. #3 & #4 on the Fall layout add some minor trees.
Other Thoughts:
A rather bland course of mostly straight-to-the-basket holes. Granted the small park doesn't offer much opportunity for course creativity. Spring layout favors lefties while Fall layout favors righties. Fine for locals who want to toss some discs, but don't go out of your way to play this course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.