Beaverton, OR 
Greenway DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brody Cannon Hole #8
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Horrible Course.

1    8/21/2021   9/5/2021
Review By: creeddude98
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Holes 1 through 4 are great.
Cons: After hole 4, the course is dominated by flooding caused by the beavers. The City of Beaverton refuses to fix the problem. Losing discs in fanno creek is not fun, especially when its filled with horrible algae.
Other Thoughts: Don't even bother playing this course. There are others around that are lightyears better than this course. Unless you just want to play the first 4 holes, the rest is not worth the effort.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Short Course

1    7/14/2020   7/14/2020
Review By: disc_destroyer69
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun shots, well-manicured fairways, convenient location, and a really pretty setting. It was a course worth your time but only once in a while.
Cons: There were a lot of pedestrians throughout this course which didn't bother our playing too much but on some holes we had to wait a few minutes. This was also a pretty crowded course with probably 10 other groups playing while we were there. It was a bit challenging navigating from hole 4 to the tee at 5 because beavers made a damn and flooded out the trail. The tee signs were fine but on hole 6 I think the basket was moved and the sign was incorrect.
Other Thoughts: Was a pleasant experience overall especially in the warm summer sun. There was a variety of different characters playing, families, serious players, and even some crackhead looking type people. On a lot of the holes, it's pretty easy to get your disc caught in the rough, so I would advise keeping your shots low. There wasn't a whole lot of long holes anyways.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    1/9/2019   5/1/2020
Review By: Nate32
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Greenway DGC is located in Beaverton Oregon and has a very decent typical short course. This course has some fun shots and a variety of shots.

This course is equipped with concrete tee pads and mach 5 baskets. There are no tee signs which might make it a little tricky to navigate your way through but a course map might be helpful.

This course is short and pretty fun although it has its challenges. Holes 1,2,3 are all pretty much the same distance wise but these holes are sometimes impossible to play when pedestrians are walking in and out of the park. Hole 1 is apparently the longest hole although it does not look like it. Course is well maintained in the summer but in the winter it is another story.

The first few holes are pretty good although it can get very crowded. All course amenities are pretty typical for a standard course. This course can be pretty fun in the summer on a nice day.
Cons: Set aside from that this course is super wet in the winter. One time it flooded when I went and they closed off 3 of the holes. The flooding looked pretty bad.

Not to mention this course is almost impossible to find on your first go. Although it is right next to a busy street parking is a issue. Apparently this park is right next to a very popular hiking trail so you get the stream of bikers, pedestrians and everyone else. Sometimes work out groups come to stretch right in the middle of one of the holes.

Beavers made a dam right in the middle of the course when it was flooding so some of the holes were gone for 5 months. I would recommend going to this course on a pretty warm day but not to warm.

I think they should have placed this course somewhere else.
Other Thoughts: I am really only going to play this course on a summer day.
Holes 1,2,3 should be placed somewhere else as they are impossible to play when people are constantly jogging through here.

This was the first course I ever played and probably not the one I should have chose.

Lots of small issues with this course can lead up to big problems. All the holes are pretty short and don't offer much of a challenge if you are looking for a long range course. It is also kind of likely you could loose a disc on some of the holes in the back.

There are huge thickets left and right on hole number 5. The pictures might make the course look nice but in general its not a very good unless you play it in the perfect season.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good neighborhood course

1    8/31/2019   9/5/2019
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 61  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a beginner, it's a good course to play. Most of the holes are open. Bordering rough not so bad in most areas. Maybe longer throwers are the only ones in jeopardy of losing a disc in the creek or deep in the tall grasses. Park is better maintained than I had seen in videos and pictures. Very clean and well-attended to. While there is the walker/disc golfer conflict throughout, I appreciate having runners and walkers in the park with me. The better holes are nos. 7 and 8. You have to get through a close gap at no. 7 and throw into a grove of trees for no. 8. I like that nos. 1-3 (especially 3) allow you to warm up your drive with their openness. Pads and signage very good.
Cons: The linear park does mean conflict with other park users. Most of the holes are straightforward throws without much challenge. If you have a consistent drive, you will be bored to death. But if you are a beginner, trying to establish your technique, this is a great course for you.
Other Thoughts: There is a business park on one side (where you park your car and walk over a footbridge; yellow farmhouse is crowded by business park buildings) and a nice residential neighborhood on the other side. I like that the park folks respect the beavers and their dam building that causes the flooding between 4 and 5. I don't mind walking around, and the alcove field that is nos. 5 and 6 is a nice break from throwing around or over pedestrian trails. I brought one of my nieces who is now hooked on the game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Better than expected

5+    6/28/2019   6/28/2019
Review By: DarkRye
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Better fairways than I expected with decent variety of shots. If you enjoy Lunchtime, definitely check out this park. Nothing wooded or elevated per se, but they did a good job incorporating what was already there.
Cons: Weird shaped park (long and narrow), and you have to navigate around a flooded area to get to hole 5 from hole 4. But, there is both a trail and a concrete path that will get you around the swamp so it's not a big deal. Because of the park's shape, hole 9 is pretty far from hole 1. Unfortunately the tree on hole 2 fell down and was removed (gorgeous tree!). Kind of wish we could add a water gap hole over the flooded area.
Other Thoughts: I avoided this course for a long time because of the lack in quality of courses of this type (city park courses in South Portland are known to be meh). But I'm very happy I checked it out. Sure, it's not the most technical or advanced but it definitely finds a way to provide me with what I want out of a course. Interesting obstacles/fairways, a good use of the space. Definitely one of my go-to's for a quick round closeby.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/9/2016   10/20/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 66  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice little course in a multi-use park. It plays along the Fanno Creek Greenway in Greenway Park.
-Great beginner course. Longest hole now is only about 350, and it is fairly open.
-Well maintained
-I suppose it is a good after-work round. Quick and easy with just enough trees to make it interesting. The holes are well designed. Holes 4 and 8 were my favorites. 4 is a short tunnel shot through a grove of willow trees. 8 is a longer turnover shot with trees near the basket.
-Nice playground if you have kids.
Cons: -Really hard to find. You have to park at the Fanno Creek Farmhouse and walk along this trail to the first tee. The park is secluded among office buildings and stores and this is the only spot to park.
-Old hole 5 was flooded by the mighty beaver damming Fanno Creek. To get to the new hole 5 follow directions on the new map on file. It's quite a long walk, with no signage.
-Course routing is terrible. I suppose they just squeezed in holes where ever they could, since the park is so small, but you need the map to find your way on your first time. Hole 9 is really far from hole 1.
-A very popular pedestrian path winds through the entire course. This is the biggest con, by far. On almost all holes you have to wait for bicyclists and pedestrians. They have the right of way, which is frustrating but I guess that's what it has to be. Weekend rounds are especially terrible.
-Hole 2 is the worst hole ever. 150 ft to a deformed basket, wide open.
-Most of the holes have bush thickets just before the creek. You won't go in the creek, but you will have to poke through thorny bushes to find your disc.
Other Thoughts: -If you're a local it may be a good practice course but definitely not on the weekends. Joggers and cyclists abound. You'll end up waiting so much, finding another course or a disc store is a better use of your time. Play It Again Sports is nearby and they have a great disc selection.
-Not a course I'd want to play again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Beginner friendly course needs a bit more attention to detail

1    8/24/2015   8/24/2015
Review By: hotchkii
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The holes that do have signs have nice ones. Distance to the basket, par information, maps and out of bounds.

-Fairly short holes, good for beginners and families.

-Grass and brush is well-maintained.

-Nice mix of open holes and strategically located trees to keep shots interesting.

-Located in a very pretty park with a long paved walking paths and play equipment for the kids. Bathrooms available.
Cons: -Holes 5 and 6 do not have signs and are several minutes walk away from hole 4. Finding the basket for hole 5 isn't intuitive for first timers, and because there are no signs you'll end up wondering if you're in the right place.

-Some informational signs are placed at a 90 degree angle from the tee, which makes it difficult to use the given map because you have to rotate everything in your head.

-No water fountains in the park.

Other Thoughts: My biggest beef with this park was the spotty signage after hole 4. Holes 5 and 6 have no signage, and the signage on holes 7-9 are also spotty. One the whole it is an enjoyable quick course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth going out of your way for

1    8/4/2015   8/5/2015
Review By: wispoman
Played: 95  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy, good beginner course. Convenient location (it was 5 minutes drive from my hotel)
Cons: Flat, no variety of shots, a few trees but mostly open, many pedestrians. Tee 5 took me a while to find since map on file is incorrect because of flooding.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good practice course for locals

5+    7/3/2015   7/9/2015
Review By: volklaero
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Park setting, well manicured and maintained grounds.

Several fun and pretty holes.

Great course for beginner/intermediate players.

Great course for date night

Hole 4 and hole 8 are my favorites. 4 plays just over 200' under a weeping willow tree. 8 is a longer throw into the most wooded green on the course.

New hole 6 is a nice addition to circumvent the flooding.
Cons: So....FLOODING is a big issue. There have been fences put up that block the walking path, but disc golfers have made a trail that wraps behind the fence to go right to tee pad 5.

The flooding smells, takes a few minutes to walk past.

The 9th hole requires a walk back (about 5 minutes) to the parking lot / 1st tee. Not a huge deal, but annoying if you want to play 2 quick rounds.

Can get crowded.

PEDESTRIANS have the right of way, and they are often in the way. Walking paths go right through the entire course. It is mostly safe, but you do need to watch for bikes and path occupants.

Basket 2 has been vandalized and the cage is tilted. It also might be the worst DG hole in Portand - 150 feet maybe with a banged up basket...throw a putter, move on.
Other Thoughts: This will never be a very highly rated course.

With that said, I have had many good rounds here with some beautiful sunsets. It is a good practice course, especially for mids/putters or beginner/intermediate players. Great for date nights like I said before, and last time out my wife and I saw many couples playing.

Can play nine holes in about 30-40 min when not crowded.

5 minutes from my house, this course makes it super easy to get a quick DG fix and let off some steam. I complain about some things, but I am very glad to have this course nearby.

Flooding Im sure will be an issue in the winter. In that case, I usually play holes 1-4 a few times as they stay the driest and are close to the parking lot.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners/quick rounds

5+    9/22/2012   10/23/2014
Review By: jnicola
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1- Very beginner friendly.
2- Easy to navigate layout
3- Enough variation to require a few different shots or thought consideration.
4- Few longer distance holes to disenhearten beginners.
5- Grass is typically well maintained.
Cons: 1- Get's swampy when the rainy season hits. Borderline unplayable.
2- Foot traffic is a bit of a concern, but It never bothered me anytime I went?
3- Some built up vegetation if you throw off the course into the thick.
Other Thoughts: It's not award winning, but I've played some pretty bad courses before, and honestly this is pretty good for what it is. Not every course has to be an experts wet dream to be a great course. It's good for what it is, and if you're trying to use it for something it isn't and don't like it, you only have yourself to blame!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.