Beaverton, OR 
Greenway DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brody Cannon Hole #7
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Good neighborhood course

1    8/31/2019   9/5/2019
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a beginner, it's a good course to play. Most of the holes are open. Bordering rough not so bad in most areas. Maybe longer throwers are the only ones in jeopardy of losing a disc in the creek or deep in the tall grasses. Park is better maintained than I had seen in videos and pictures. Very clean and well-attended to. While there is the walker/disc golfer conflict throughout, I appreciate having runners and walkers in the park with me. The better holes are nos. 7 and 8. You have to get through a close gap at no. 7 and throw into a grove of trees for no. 8. I like that nos. 1-3 (especially 3) allow you to warm up your drive with their openness. Pads and signage very good.
Cons: The linear park does mean conflict with other park users. Most of the holes are straightforward throws without much challenge. If you have a consistent drive, you will be bored to death. But if you are a beginner, trying to establish your technique, this is a great course for you.
Other Thoughts: There is a business park on one side (where you park your car and walk over a footbridge; yellow farmhouse is crowded by business park buildings) and a nice residential neighborhood on the other side. I like that the park folks respect the beavers and their dam building that causes the flooding between 4 and 5. I don't mind walking around, and the alcove field that is nos. 5 and 6 is a nice break from throwing around or over pedestrian trails. I brought one of my nieces who is now hooked on the game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better than expected

5+    6/28/2019   6/28/2019
Review By: DarkRye
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Better fairways than I expected with decent variety of shots. If you enjoy Lunchtime, definitely check out this park. Nothing wooded or elevated per se, but they did a good job incorporating what was already there.
Cons: Weird shaped park (long and narrow), and you have to navigate around a flooded area to get to hole 5 from hole 4. But, there is both a trail and a concrete path that will get you around the swamp so it's not a big deal. Because of the park's shape, hole 9 is pretty far from hole 1. Unfortunately the tree on hole 2 fell down and was removed (gorgeous tree!). Kind of wish we could add a water gap hole over the flooded area.
Other Thoughts: I avoided this course for a long time because of the lack in quality of courses of this type (city park courses in South Portland are known to be meh). But I'm very happy I checked it out. Sure, it's not the most technical or advanced but it definitely finds a way to provide me with what I want out of a course. Interesting obstacles/fairways, a good use of the space. Definitely one of my go-to's for a quick round closeby.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/9/2016   10/20/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 61  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2016
Pros: -Nice little course in a multi-use park. It plays along the Fanno Creek Greenway in Greenway Park.
-Great beginner course. Longest hole now is only about 350, and it is fairly open.
-Well maintained
-I suppose it is a good after-work round. Quick and easy with just enough trees to make it interesting. The holes are well designed. Holes 4 and 8 were my favorites. 4 is a short tunnel shot through a grove of willow trees. 8 is a longer turnover shot with trees near the basket.
-Nice playground if you have kids.
Cons: -Really hard to find. You have to park at the Fanno Creek Farmhouse and walk along this trail to the first tee. The park is secluded among office buildings and stores and this is the only spot to park.
-Old hole 5 was flooded by the mighty beaver damming Fanno Creek. To get to the new hole 5 follow directions on the new map on file. It's quite a long walk, with no signage.
-Course routing is terrible. I suppose they just squeezed in holes where ever they could, since the park is so small, but you need the map to find your way on your first time. Hole 9 is really far from hole 1.
-A very popular pedestrian path winds through the entire course. This is the biggest con, by far. On almost all holes you have to wait for bicyclists and pedestrians. They have the right of way, which is frustrating but I guess that's what it has to be. Weekend rounds are especially terrible.
-Hole 2 is the worst hole ever. 150 ft to a deformed basket, wide open.
-Most of the holes have bush thickets just before the creek. You won't go in the creek, but you will have to poke through thorny bushes to find your disc.
Other Thoughts: -If you're a local it may be a good practice course but definitely not on the weekends. Joggers and cyclists abound. You'll end up waiting so much, finding another course or a disc store is a better use of your time. Play It Again Sports is nearby and they have a great disc selection.
-Not a course I'd want to play again.

  Beginner friendly course needs a bit more attention to detail

1    8/24/2015   8/24/2015
Review By: hotchkii
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The holes that do have signs have nice ones. Distance to the basket, par information, maps and out of bounds.

-Fairly short holes, good for beginners and families.

-Grass and brush is well-maintained.

-Nice mix of open holes and strategically located trees to keep shots interesting.

-Located in a very pretty park with a long paved walking paths and play equipment for the kids. Bathrooms available.
Cons: -Holes 5 and 6 do not have signs and are several minutes walk away from hole 4. Finding the basket for hole 5 isn't intuitive for first timers, and because there are no signs you'll end up wondering if you're in the right place.

-Some informational signs are placed at a 90 degree angle from the tee, which makes it difficult to use the given map because you have to rotate everything in your head.

-No water fountains in the park.

Other Thoughts: My biggest beef with this park was the spotty signage after hole 4. Holes 5 and 6 have no signage, and the signage on holes 7-9 are also spotty. One the whole it is an enjoyable quick course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth going out of your way for

1    8/4/2015   8/5/2015
Review By: wispoman
Played: 88  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy, good beginner course. Convenient location (it was 5 minutes drive from my hotel)
Cons: Flat, no variety of shots, a few trees but mostly open, many pedestrians. Tee 5 took me a while to find since map on file is incorrect because of flooding.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good practice course for locals

5+    7/3/2015   7/9/2015
Review By: volklaero
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Park setting, well manicured and maintained grounds.

Several fun and pretty holes.

Great course for beginner/intermediate players.

Great course for date night

Hole 4 and hole 8 are my favorites. 4 plays just over 200' under a weeping willow tree. 8 is a longer throw into the most wooded green on the course.

New hole 6 is a nice addition to circumvent the flooding.
Cons: So....FLOODING is a big issue. There have been fences put up that block the walking path, but disc golfers have made a trail that wraps behind the fence to go right to tee pad 5.

The flooding smells, takes a few minutes to walk past.

The 9th hole requires a walk back (about 5 minutes) to the parking lot / 1st tee. Not a huge deal, but annoying if you want to play 2 quick rounds.

Can get crowded.

PEDESTRIANS have the right of way, and they are often in the way. Walking paths go right through the entire course. It is mostly safe, but you do need to watch for bikes and path occupants.

Basket 2 has been vandalized and the cage is tilted. It also might be the worst DG hole in Portand - 150 feet maybe with a banged up basket...throw a putter, move on.
Other Thoughts: This will never be a very highly rated course.

With that said, I have had many good rounds here with some beautiful sunsets. It is a good practice course, especially for mids/putters or beginner/intermediate players. Great for date nights like I said before, and last time out my wife and I saw many couples playing.

Can play nine holes in about 30-40 min when not crowded.

5 minutes from my house, this course makes it super easy to get a quick DG fix and let off some steam. I complain about some things, but I am very glad to have this course nearby.

Flooding Im sure will be an issue in the winter. In that case, I usually play holes 1-4 a few times as they stay the driest and are close to the parking lot.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners/quick rounds

5+    9/22/2012   10/23/2014
Review By: jnicola
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1- Very beginner friendly.
2- Easy to navigate layout
3- Enough variation to require a few different shots or thought consideration.
4- Few longer distance holes to disenhearten beginners.
5- Grass is typically well maintained.
Cons: 1- Get's swampy when the rainy season hits. Borderline unplayable.
2- Foot traffic is a bit of a concern, but It never bothered me anytime I went?
3- Some built up vegetation if you throw off the course into the thick.
Other Thoughts: It's not award winning, but I've played some pretty bad courses before, and honestly this is pretty good for what it is. Not every course has to be an experts wet dream to be a great course. It's good for what it is, and if you're trying to use it for something it isn't and don't like it, you only have yourself to blame!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great Practice Course

5+    8/20/2014   8/22/2014
Review By: Ace of Fades
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Depending on the time, fast play.
-Great place for warm-up/practice with new disks.
-Middle of bustling metropolis.
-Great use of space.
-Grocery store very close-by.
-Well manicured fairways.
Cons: -Can be very busy during prime-time weekend hours.
-Floods due to wildlife. (Beavers making dam's in particular)
-Popular for foot traffic and family's at the work-out structures around hole 4.
-Extended walk from hole 9 back to hole 1 (If you intend playing more than 9 holes which i commonly do)
-Kind of short for advanced players.
-Gets VERY wet during winter months.
-Some of the baskets tilted.
-Not very challenging hole locations.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a great course if your warming up, or just want to practice some accuracy. Many of the holes are mid-range distance, with a couple worth shooting a solid drive. I personally like it because it's within biking distance. Waiting for pedestrian traffic can sometimes be a little irritating and i've nearly hit people i did not see coming. On hole one, don't miss high right, because the small forest will swallow your disks. There are plenty of trails through it, but if you catch some wind, it will be hard to find. I've also found on windy days in particular this course is difficult to play. It's fairly wide open so wind plays a HUGE role in your shots in 10+ mph wind. I do really enjoy having a course this close though, with easy location holes for practice when i purchase new disks. It's definitely not a course worth making a trip out to just to play, but if your within a 5-7 mile radius, definitely check it out. It can be fun with a small group of buddies, especially with all the ace opportunities!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Only if you have to

1    6/12/2013   8/2/2014
Review By: Rakoz
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - quick play...when not too crowded
- very beginner friendly
- as good of use of space as possible
- take the kids/sig other/parents
- flat easy terrain
-decent upkeep
Cons: - multiuse to the point of inefficiency for disc golf
- short. Putters only needed for the most part
- straight.
- Geese. They make a mess
- Floods
- Not a lot to offer
- much better courses in the area
Other Thoughts: Just ok. There are superior courses in the area. Ok for warm up or cool down. Just too much other stuff going on in the park to be a useful disc golf park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good park 9 hole

1    6/23/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Dadio
Played: 145  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 35.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a nice example of how to put a fun course into a fairly narrow mixed use space. This course is in one of the many narrow parks along creeks in the West Portland metroplex. Well maintained park with a ton of walking trails. The course has good pads and baskets. Good use of trees to provide some difficulty on this flat course.
Cons: Some of the signs have been vandalized and not replaced yet so I was glad we played with a local young teen. Could have found the holes but would have been hard around 6-8.
Flat and fairly open so an easier course, not all bad but not very challenging for experienced player. Fairways often cross walking paths so I would not want to play this course when busy. We were there early on a Monday and still had to wait a couple times for walkers.
Other Thoughts: One of the best examples of this type of course I have played. Just hard enough to be interesting in a really nice setting. Worth hitting on way through if don't have time for bigger courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.