Shawnee, KS 
Shawnee Mission Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #7 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 334ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 A nice course

5+    4/23/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: kguyty
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Tees and baskets are in good condition
- Benches and trash cans at most holes
- A good challenge for all skill levels
- A good variety of holes - a few wooded, a few wide open fairways, decent elevation changes on the back 9
- A fun course that is challenging, but not frustrating for new players
Cons: For some reason, I am not a huge fan of holes 2 and 3. Other than those holes, I really enjoy this course.
Other Thoughts: A good course. Good for beginners, intermediates, and upper-echelon players. I enjoy the challenge of this course. The hole distances are long enough, but not too long.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/5/2011   1/12/2011
Review By: Timmylom
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was really open and peaceful, the land was beautiful. The tee boxes are well maintained and clearly marked. Paths are mowed from basket to the next tee, and there are benches at every tee box incase it gets busy. Plenty of elevation changes.
Cons: Not very challenging for more experienced players. Mostly straight holes. Trees are mostly not a factor, however wind could be a HUGE factor.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful land. Very peaceful and quiet. Too bad I live 500 miles away, I'll definitely stop here and play this one again when I'm in town.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for all skill levels!

5+    8/10/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 52  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Though open, the pins are far enough away to make each hole a bit of a challenge.
Wind can effect the course, providing another good obstacle.
Not a busy course, but well maintained.
Good to learn on, and advanced players can work at getting under par.
The new hole locations/benches/and all other new things make this course very fresh and exciting.
Cons: I would prefer to have a few holes that are pretty short and very techincal and then also have a couple holes that are much longer and much more open.
A water hazard would be nice too.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course in Kansas City. Beginners would love playing here because its not too long and its fairly wide open.
More advanced players would love playing here because of the great mix of longer holes with technique involved.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 SMP

1    8/7/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: AaronHieb
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a very nice course with good distance and turns. There is a ton of shade for those hot and/or rainy days. It is a nice par 3 course with lots of obstacles to have fun with such as trees an woods.There were a few holes that I wanted to throw multiple drives on such as holes 6 and 7. The course is also mowed very nicely on the fairway.
Cons: I dont like how the rough is about 3 feet tall but its kinda fun with the challenge.I dont like the woods having tall grass and being pretty deep on holes 16 and 18 because I almost lost my driver probably 3 or 4 times. There are also no visible bathrooms. I also dont like how there is alot of space in between holes because there could be a few more smaller holes. There are also no holes that are less than about 250-245 ft.
Other Thoughts: Lots of walking. Pretty course thogh

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Shawnee Mission...

2-4    8/4/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a slightly hills, prairie-like park. There are lots of slight uphill/downhill holes. The first few holes are moderate distance and moderately technical. Then It becomes mostly open with maybe 5-10 trees on each hole. Concrete Tees on every hole. Tee signs are great and very easy to read with all the necessary information. Baskets are in good condition and there are multiple pin placements on almost every hole. 17 and 18 are good finishing holes. 17 is a blind anhyzer shot and 18 is a blind hyzer shot.
Cons: No trash cans or benches in the park. After hole 6, there aren't any fun holes. It's almost like it was supposed to be a 6 hole course and the rest of the holes are just to get back to the parking lot. Anyway, after 6, all of the holes are straight and open, up and down a field.
Other Thoughts: This course has all the basics, just none of the, "wow factor". Good tees, good tee signs, good baskets, just not a good course design. I still rated this course a 3.5 (very good). I really enjoyed this playing this course, but it just wasn't good enough for a 4.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Where the Wild Turkey Rome

1    3/24/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 239  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 31.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Coming down #18, I had 3 huge wild turkey just pop out of the woods and started walking down the fairway with me. It was really cool. This place has some elevation, great tee pads, great tee signs, and decent baskets. The fairways are mowed nicely. You can tell it is well maintained. They have a message board and you really don't need a map as it is fairly easy to follow along.
Cons: Between many of the holes, there was enough space to put another hole in there. So expect to walk a bunch. Most of these holes are straight shots and I did not really feel much accuracy needed to navigate yourself through the holes. This place needs more trashcans, needs benches, and there was no bathroom on the course that I saw.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is not really doing it for me. This was just an OK layout for me. There really isn't anything wrong with this nice course. I just didn't have that feeling where I wanted to throw multiple drives on any particular hole.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/28/2010   3/2/2010
Review By: wraithman
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained throughout summer. Fairways are cut at least weekly. Makes it look like golf course with roughs. Trees in play on most holes. A few dog legs. Couple shorties. New cement boxes. New signs, Alternate pins. Added trash cans and benches to holes 1,4,10,13,and 16. Holes 1-3 start near the parking lot. and course follows across the street throughout a section of the park. Holes 12-16 go up and down a stretch with the downhill being long for great drives. and the up hills being shorter but need some technical ability. 18 finishes up the course with a blind dog leg left (unless alternate pin is in use).

Update: New trash can on hole 5 tee.
Cons: Tall grass, Lost a couple of discs to it. Lack of changing pins around, however the new pins were set up recently when worlds came through. Not enough trashcans they added one on holes #'s 1,4,10, 13, and 16.. Other than that you have to walk to find one. No bathrooms. unless you like the woods. Could invest in benches on every hole. With all the space in the park could easily put in a second course.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course. First one ever played. Hit it up at least once a week.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun and Challenging Course

5+    6/15/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 18.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shawnee Mission Park did a great job transforming this once heavily wooded and weeded area into a solid disc golf course. It has some very nice layouts with lots of variety. Some holes offer more technical shots because of the trees around it, while others are more open giving you more room to work with. I like the way this course takes advantage of the hilly environment, especially on the back 9, to make some of the holes a little more challenging. Some holes encourage you to use sidearm throws, while others encourage you to use forehand throws. There are also a few blind tee shots. The fairways are usually in good shape, and the rough will encourage you (especially in the summer) to throw your disc more accurately.
Cons: From about mid spring to early fall the woods in this park can be real nasty in a bad kind of way. It's filled with ticks, chiggers, mosquitoes, and poison ivy. There might also be snakes in that area as well, including copperheads, so it'll probably be a good idea to keep your eyes on the ground when playing this course. The 5th hole has too many trees in the way, and there are a few holes that are too wide open that could benefit from having more trees.
Other Thoughts: I like how much variety there is to this course. The layouts provide some challenging holes that really make it a fun course to play. Some holes have room for improvement, but overall I really like what the park has done with this area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of my personal favorites

5+    10/3/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: x3billRONIN
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to find, and the course is very well maintained. There are a few restrooms, and trashcans available throughout the course.

The course is very well maintained, and plays excellently with the change of elevation, and natural surroundings. The course is in a very nice area of the city, with plenty of parking. It is not usually too crowded, and you won't find yourself waiting to play many holes, or feeling pressed to hurry up and finish.

Holes 3, 6, 12, and 16 are some of my favorites and all play on some of the different strengths of this course.
Cons: There isn't alot of variance in alot of the way these holes play. Holes 7-10 are all relatively straight, on flat land, with a few trees that come into play.

Holes 12-16 all play up and down the same elevations, but are of varying lengths, and some with more trees coming into play than others.

I've played this course a number of times, and I have yet to see any alternate pin placements.
Other Thoughts: This course remains one of my favorites, as it is really where I "learned" to play. It's a great challenging course, although it can get a bit repetitive, especially through 7-10 and 12-15. It still ranks as a "must play" course, and will have you coming back to play again, and again.

This is a great intermediate-advanced course, that will offer even more experienced players enough challenges to keep this course in their regular rotation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My home

5+    8/10/2010   7/29/2009
Review By: kcplease
Played: 133  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course now has multiple pins, making some of the holes quite a bit more challenging of a par for advanced am players. Before these pins went in, the hole were almost all or played between 300'and 400'. Now there are options for holes as short as 200' and as long as 500+'. None of the shots on this course are extremely technical unless you get off the fairway and into the woods on holes 1-7 and 16-18, but even then the trees have a strange tendency to kick you back into a relatively safe spot. There are many different lines you can take on most holes, which can be seen as either a good thing or bad. I personally like that I can work on different shots on the same course and same hole. This is a great course to come to alone and try some line shaping practice, and it usually is not so crowded that this cannot be done, however it is beginning to draw bigger and bigger crowds. The facilities on the course are good enough with a bathroom and water fountain to the right of hole 8 across the street. The course flows decently well, ending where it begins, and it also provides an opportunity to cut it short due to time, weather, etc. if you must and play 1-9 then hop over to 16 and finish from there. The fairways are usually well mowed and the rough provides enough of an inconvenience to give an incentive to stay in the fairway.
Cons: I really wish there were more scenic holes. The Shawnee Mission park property has ample opportunity for beautiful shots, and it seems to me the parks and rec department set aside the worst bit of land in the park for disc golf. Its still a fine bit of land, but there is so much potential on the property that its a bit of shame disc golf got stuck on land that could be used for ball golf. The elevation is usually a bit underwhelming at this course, and the trees do not provide enough of a challenge in the short pins for the experienced player. Holes 8-12 can be disproportionally more windy than the rest of the course due to their location on the top of a hill.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 are definitely the best 9 on this course, so if you are running low on time, be sure to play those. Holes 10-15 have long been complained about because they zig zag up and down a hill and a lot of people, however I still maintain that each hole on this course is fairly unique. I did acknowledge there are multiple lines for many holes, but each hole also has a very established preferred line. The preferred lines are really split down the middle-50% LHBH 50% RHBH, giving the better played the advantage instead of the played who happens to be right or left handed. As my home course for 3 years, I played it almost twice a week and it really never got tiring. If you're in the area, go ahead and hit up this course. Its not the ver best or very hardest in KC, but you will like this course all the same.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.