Aurora, CO 
Exposition Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ  
Practice basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 90
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Fun Water Hazard Course

1    9/30/2018   10/2/2018
Review By: bkern2449
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Well maintained grass throughout park
+ Water hazards make for a fun challenge on half the holes
+ Large concrete tee pads
+ After the first three holes the flow was logical and easy to follow
+ Decent variance in distance
Cons: - Geese, geese, and more geese
- All those geese leave a lot of poo behind... everywhere
- Because of the geese, the water stinks when you get super close to it
- Could use more shots that involve trees as obstacles since its a park
- The distances etched into the concrete tee pads don't seem accurate at all
-
Other Thoughts: Overall I had fun playing the course thank to the threat of throwing into the water on numerous holes. If it wasn't for the water this course wouldn't be fun to play. If the city of Aurora did a better job of keeping geese away or cleaning up after them I would raise my rating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/11/2018   7/11/2018
Review By: Breh
Played: 47  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tee pads are very nice and roomy, some risk reward shots by the water cool factor. Some ace runs out there and good scores can be shot.
Cons: Goose poop! Smell is awful, wouldn't go near the water. Could see it getting a little windy. No tee signs but distances engraved in the tee pads seem little suspect
Other Thoughts: Some lady was yelling at top of her lungs which made round less enjoyable.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Honk Honk

1    12/12/2017   12/13/2017
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 52  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Exposition Park is a well-maintained park in Aurora, CO. The disc golf course plays on grass around two ponds and a creek. Water comes into play on about half the holes.

-The course makes good use of the land available. Because trees are infrequent, many baskets are placed next to water hazards, making you think about your shots.

-For the most part, the course stayed out of the way of pedestrian paths.

-My favorite hole was #12, a downhill shot over a corner of the pond with a couple trees to navigate. This is a good opportunity for an ace.

-The tee pads are excellent, spacious and textured. They also have the hole number and distance engraved. However, several are not flat and instead follow the contour of the land.

-Baskets were DGA Mach III and in nice condition.

-A starter set of discs may be rented for free from the community center. Scorecards/course maps are also available.
Cons: -The biggest issue was the geese. Any park like this with grass and a pond is goose heaven. There were at least five hundred roaming the course and dropping turds everywhere, including the tee pads. Teeing off was similar to playing hopscotch.

-The baskets on holes 12 and 13 are placed, in my opinion, too close to the edge of the pond. I'm fine with water hazards coming into play, but it's no fun when baskets are less than 25 feet from the edge.

-A spike hyzer will do on just about every hole. The course does not test technical shots.
Other Thoughts: -Being without my own discs, I rented a set from the community center. It was a brand new Innova starter pack. My "Starter Pack Challenge" was a lot of fun. The Leopard, as expected was understable. Given a lot of hyzer and 70% power, it flew about 250 on a flex line. Thrown full power with a slight anhyzer, I got it to roll 300 feet. The Shark, however, was very nice and stable. This was my go-to for the day. The Aviar was more or less a frisbee. Miss a putt, and it'll zing right on by.

-The distances printed on the score card and tee pads are certainly not correct. Many are overestimates by 50-100 feet. The numbers on DGCR are not correct either. A redesign must have happened at some point.

-This was an enjoyable round. My only two suggestions for improvement would be to get rid of the geese and move a couple baskets away from the water.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Gross pond, Decent course

2-4    6/2/2017   7/3/2017
Review By: chainbangerz
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy to locate

-Grassy area

- Water shots

-Teepads are big and have a big mark on them indicating the hole number.

-good parking

-bathroom
Cons: -Geese and their poop

-Smelly water

-Flat course

-No tee signs

-No obstructions and all basic straight shots

-Seemed short
Other Thoughts: -Plenty of discs in the water

-Defiantly a park course where baskets and teepads are close.

-Seems like the course just hugs the ponds the whole time.

-Hole #2 is an over the water shot.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

pretty typical "park" gol

1    5/15/2017   5/22/2017
Review By: numbernine
Played: 82  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 9.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First, let me say that I wrote the word "typical" in the description of the review, forgetting that the ratings number had that in the description. So...yes. Typical is good. Some good stuff though, so let's do that first.

Baskets - I always forget if baskets are Mach II's or Mach III's. But either way, they were in great shape and not rusted or bent or otherwise messed up. All of them caught well and I didn't see any damage to them.

Pads - I loved these tee pads. They kind of fanned out towards the end of them, allowing you a wider variety of launch angles. They also were grooved, and it felt like they were level and well made. I might incorporate the "wider" method the next time I have to put new tee pads in. Just crazy about these things.

Location - The park was nice, and it sat kind of in the middle of a housing area. Tons of people at the park enjoying the beautiful weather. There seems to be a couple of schools in and around the area, lending itself to people all over the course.

shots - while there isn't a ton of variety here, there were some neat shots over the water. Just about every shot that used the water was memorable. I really, really liked holes 2, 12 and 13. The "danger" of the water really made me think about my shots.

signs - the pads are marked with hole number and distance.
Cons: signs - the pads are marked with hole number and distance and that's it. Most of the holes are straight away and don't require a map, so that's ok, but I feel like a proper sign would be good at each hole. also, the distance on some of pads to the tees seems suspect. I'd like to see that remeasured and verified.

shots - as mentioned above, there isn't a lot of variety out there. I'm not sure there is one RHBH anny shot on the entire course.

the location - the pond area smelled really, really bad on the day I played. Like, off puttingly bad to the point where we almost skipped some holes. tons of goose crap too.

other stuff - there were so many kids on this course. I am sure it isn't like this all of the time, but this is a definite "multi use park". Dog walkers, kids, some dude doing pushups on each of the tee pads...you get it.
Other Thoughts: There is nothing wrong with this course per se. If you want to go play disc golf, and like park golf, this is a fine place to go do some work. I'm about a 930 rated golfer and I shot 10 down out there with a bogey on my card (didn't see the creek on one hole). So it isn't a tough course at all.

They really did do "the best with what they had" on this one, I think. play the walking paths as OB and increase the difficulty a little. But overall, this is just a decent course. Play it if you are nearby, but don't go out of your way or anything,

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Don't go out of your way

1    5/20/2017   5/20/2017
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 169  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 20.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great views of the rockies. Good place to practice playing in the wind. A couple picturesque water holes. No chance to lose discs ( other than water)
Cons: Wide open and mostly boring. No tee signs or "next tee" signs.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good course, water adds challenge

1    11/15/2016   4/6/2017
Review By: sjroesinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: Very accessible
Nice tee boxes and baskets
Cons: Pretty busy park, caused several delays
Course was fairly busy compared with others I have played
Other Thoughts: Lost a disc in the water as the wind caught it
Half of the holes don't offer much of a challenge
Very windy made it challenging

Just your basic city course

5+    2/5/2017   2/9/2017
Review By: Shaggs
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice concrete pads. Some longer semi challenging holes. Water comes into to play on several holes adding extra risk/reward shots.
Cons: Goose turds everywhere. Water is disgusting, almost don't want your disc back if you go in. Pretty basic layout. For a RH/BH player, every hole can be thrown using a basic hyzer shot. Can get repetitive. Every hole is reachable for a skilled amatuer, offers almost no challenge for a pro.

No tee signs anywhere, and the tee pads have incorrect distances labled.

Lot's of pedestrians and bikers to avoid, can cause delays.
Other Thoughts: Just your typical city disc golf course. Nothing fancy here. Can go out, throw some discs, and have some fun, just make sure to stay out of the water.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

1    10/10/2016   11/18/2016
Review By: Zjaypo
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little course. I was in town visiting friends and I wanted to give a course a shot and this is where I ended up. Some of it is quite picturesque. It's a fairly easy course but there are a few water hazards that can prove to be tricky. I was lucky enough to escape this place with all the discs that came with me! There are some really chill geese walking around: I practically petted a couple of them. All the complaints about bird doo-doo tho.....dude, it's nature...it's not that big of a deal! Haha
Cons: Potential to get a bit turned around looking for the next tee pad at times if you are new to the place and have no map.

Beware of people walking about and the potential to blast a pedestrian
Other Thoughts: Mountainous backdrop, bright green grass, birds, ponds, streams, Colorado air....I dig it

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park.

1    7/21/2016   7/21/2016
Review By: Javy818
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Water comes into play.
Not too difficult to navigate if you have the map.
Good course for beginners to work on distance and upshots.

Cons: Geese. Goose shit EVERYWHERE.
Middle of nowhere next to a Rec center.
Thick vegetation and a stream behind some baskets. Can be extremely difficult to find. I threw a putter that went slight left into the stream. Couldn't find it! I had to ask a dude walking on the other side to help me and he found it.
Other Thoughts: Random joggers, bikers, motorcycles and kids going around the course.
The park and course are well maintained.
The pond is nasty. Don't go in there.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.