Aurora, CO 
Exposition Park Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #14
3 / 330ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Gross pond, Decent course

2-4    6/2/2017   7/3/2017
Review By: chainbangerz
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.9 Years
Pros: -Easy to locate

-Grassy area

- Water shots

-Teepads are big and have a big mark on them indicating the hole number.

-good parking

-bathroom
Cons: -Geese and their poop

-Smelly water

-Flat course

-No tee signs

-No obstructions and all basic straight shots

-Seemed short
Other Thoughts: -Plenty of discs in the water

-Defiantly a park course where baskets and teepads are close.

-Seems like the course just hugs the ponds the whole time.

-Hole #2 is an over the water shot.

pretty typical "park" gol

1    5/15/2017   5/22/2017
Review By: numbernine
Played: 69  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First, let me say that I wrote the word "typical" in the description of the review, forgetting that the ratings number had that in the description. So...yes. Typical is good. Some good stuff though, so let's do that first.

Baskets - I always forget if baskets are Mach II's or Mach III's. But either way, they were in great shape and not rusted or bent or otherwise messed up. All of them caught well and I didn't see any damage to them.

Pads - I loved these tee pads. They kind of fanned out towards the end of them, allowing you a wider variety of launch angles. They also were grooved, and it felt like they were level and well made. I might incorporate the "wider" method the next time I have to put new tee pads in. Just crazy about these things.

Location - The park was nice, and it sat kind of in the middle of a housing area. Tons of people at the park enjoying the beautiful weather. There seems to be a couple of schools in and around the area, lending itself to people all over the course.

shots - while there isn't a ton of variety here, there were some neat shots over the water. Just about every shot that used the water was memorable. I really, really liked holes 2, 12 and 13. The "danger" of the water really made me think about my shots.

signs - the pads are marked with hole number and distance.
Cons: signs - the pads are marked with hole number and distance and that's it. Most of the holes are straight away and don't require a map, so that's ok, but I feel like a proper sign would be good at each hole. also, the distance on some of pads to the tees seems suspect. I'd like to see that remeasured and verified.

shots - as mentioned above, there isn't a lot of variety out there. I'm not sure there is one RHBH anny shot on the entire course.

the location - the pond area smelled really, really bad on the day I played. Like, off puttingly bad to the point where we almost skipped some holes. tons of goose crap too.

other stuff - there were so many kids on this course. I am sure it isn't like this all of the time, but this is a definite "multi use park". Dog walkers, kids, some dude doing pushups on each of the tee pads...you get it.
Other Thoughts: There is nothing wrong with this course per se. If you want to go play disc golf, and like park golf, this is a fine place to go do some work. I'm about a 930 rated golfer and I shot 10 down out there with a bogey on my card (didn't see the creek on one hole). So it isn't a tough course at all.

They really did do "the best with what they had" on this one, I think. play the walking paths as OB and increase the difficulty a little. But overall, this is just a decent course. Play it if you are nearby, but don't go out of your way or anything,

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Don't go out of your way

1    5/20/2017   5/20/2017
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 167  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great views of the rockies. Good place to practice playing in the wind. A couple picturesque water holes. No chance to lose discs ( other than water)
Cons: Wide open and mostly boring. No tee signs or "next tee" signs.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good course, water adds challenge

1    11/15/2016   4/6/2017
Review By: sjroesinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 1.1 Years
Pros: Very accessible
Nice tee boxes and baskets
Cons: Pretty busy park, caused several delays
Course was fairly busy compared with others I have played
Other Thoughts: Lost a disc in the water as the wind caught it
Half of the holes don't offer much of a challenge
Very windy made it challenging

Just your basic city course

5+    2/5/2017   2/9/2017
Review By: Shaggs
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice concrete pads. Some longer semi challenging holes. Water comes into to play on several holes adding extra risk/reward shots.
Cons: Goose turds everywhere. Water is disgusting, almost don't want your disc back if you go in. Pretty basic layout. For a RH/BH player, every hole can be thrown using a basic hyzer shot. Can get repetitive. Every hole is reachable for a skilled amatuer, offers almost no challenge for a pro.

No tee signs anywhere, and the tee pads have incorrect distances labled.

Lot's of pedestrians and bikers to avoid, can cause delays.
Other Thoughts: Just your typical city disc golf course. Nothing fancy here. Can go out, throw some discs, and have some fun, just make sure to stay out of the water.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

1    10/10/2016   11/18/2016
Review By: Zjaypo
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice little course. I was in town visiting friends and I wanted to give a course a shot and this is where I ended up. Some of it is quite picturesque. It's a fairly easy course but there are a few water hazards that can prove to be tricky. I was lucky enough to escape this place with all the discs that came with me! There are some really chill geese walking around: I practically petted a couple of them. All the complaints about bird doo-doo tho.....dude, it's nature...it's not that big of a deal! Haha
Cons: Potential to get a bit turned around looking for the next tee pad at times if you are new to the place and have no map.

Beware of people walking about and the potential to blast a pedestrian
Other Thoughts: Mountainous backdrop, bright green grass, birds, ponds, streams, Colorado air....I dig it

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice park.

1    7/21/2016   7/21/2016
Review By: Javy818
Played: 24  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Water comes into play.
Not too difficult to navigate if you have the map.
Good course for beginners to work on distance and upshots.

Cons: Geese. Goose shit EVERYWHERE.
Middle of nowhere next to a Rec center.
Thick vegetation and a stream behind some baskets. Can be extremely difficult to find. I threw a putter that went slight left into the stream. Couldn't find it! I had to ask a dude walking on the other side to help me and he found it.
Other Thoughts: Random joggers, bikers, motorcycles and kids going around the course.
The park and course are well maintained.
The pond is nasty. Don't go in there.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    12/10/2015   12/12/2015
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 131  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Large Concrete Tee pads
- Each Teepad has the Distance and hole number written into the concrete
- Good DGA baskets with numbers on each
- Close to half the holes on the course have water that comes into play and forces you to make some technical throws
- Holes vary in length from around 180 to 400 feet
Cons: - one of the first things you notice when you get to this course is the geese, then the poop.
- Most the the holes feel very similar and the course starts to get repetitive by the end.
- without any signage to mark the tee pads, they can be hard to find and navigate the course. But overall, navigation isn't terribly difficult
Other Thoughts: This could be a fun little park course, but there is so much goose poop I don't think I would bother coming back. Stuff like that usually doesn't bother me but it is literally everywhere. It loses all the feel of a nice park to practice and instead becomes trying to avoid setting your bag down in fresh turds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nasty Water Through Flat Land

5+    4/15/2015   5/31/2015
Review By: Bwatkins
Played: 32  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Flat
Open
Green Grass
Long Tee pads
Risk/Reward over water
Layout doesn't interfere with park pedestrians much
Longer holes allow for driving practice
Decent beginner course on the non-water holes
Cons: The water
The water
The water
Few trees when looking to the pin from the tee pad
Most holes play very similar. Long & open
Course feels redundant

There is an open sanitary sewer that runs through the park. It leads to a horrible smell and some baskets are near the water so trash, gunk, and overall unpleasantness often wash up one shore during the back 9.
Other Thoughts: There is nothing at Expo that makes dealing with the unpleasant smell and water hazards worth dealing with.

Any disc in the ponds is instantly trash. Trust me you don't want it back.

It is a good beginner course minus the water due to the flat open fairways. There's just so many other courses in Denver I'd play before venturing out to the wretchedness of Expo.

Overall a decent course just not worth the risk of losing disks and smell.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mile High City Park

2-4    5/21/2015   5/25/2015
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 34  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18 full holes in the middle of the city
-True water hazards
-Fantastic tee boxes
-Easy to follow set up
-Great park with water and bathroom availability
Cons: -Not very long
-Not a lot of obstacles between tee and baskets
-A bit repetitive
Other Thoughts: OK, I did not have much time in Denver area this time and could only play this course. Despite the listings above, it turned out to be a fun couple of rounds. For an 18 hole course in the middle of a major city this turned out to be a blast. As I stated, it's not a "challenging" course but neither is it a push over. The water hazards are just close enough to ensure you stay precise and makes up for the lack of tree or hill obstacles. On a windy day the water could be calling your name, LOL. I am not a rated/tourney player, but I am not a novice/beginner either so keep that in mind. The distance is indeed on the lower end, but for a city park still enables you to throw far and encourages you to throw straight. Not very tricky, as I mentioned, you won't need all your throws, but it is a fun, full 18 in a city. That alone is something to brag about! I hope to hit some of the true mountain parks on my next visit, but for a quick stop in the Mile High City this was a pleasant surprise.

Fav Holes: 2, 14 and 16 due to throwing over or on the edge of the water made for some fun and tactical throws that were memorable!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.