Debary, FL 
River City Nature Park - Alpha Share
Uploaded By: The Miniac Hole #10 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 215ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Red Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Totally Worth It!

1    12/23/2020   12/23/2020
Review By: dsswee220
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My son and I snuck out of the family festivities to play River City for the first time. Glad we did....beautiful day to play and what a great course. We're not extremely long distance throwers, but thoroughly enjoyed the lay out, the tee pads, and signage. Yes, after reading some other posts, the middle holes are a bit timely to find....but who cares. It was a gorgeous day to be outside and didn't mind the extra walking. All the other players were cordial, patient, and friendly. Highly recommend playing this course no matter your level of play. A huge "thank you" to all involved in building this course and to all who maintain it! Will definitely play again!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Central Florida Enjoyment

1    1/21/2020   2/10/2020
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 754  Reviewed: 377  Exp: 28.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: River City Nature Park sits just off of I-4 between Orlando and Daytona . The 18 hole Alpha course starts near the parking lot .There is a nice park board near the lot to keep you updated for upcoming tournaments or leagues . There is a shelter house near the lot with benches to relax between rounds . The park was mowed and in great shape when I played . Wood benches are at a lot of the holes and there were trash cans in several locations . The course is yet another Gregg Hosfeld/World Champion DG Design . He must know where the bodies are buried in Florida , because every time I step on a course of his , I get a challenging course coupled with 2 tees and 2 ( Two ! ) baskets . First of all , print the map . If you are not a local , you will be confused a couple of times even with the map . Both of the tees are good sized cement , flush with the ground . The baskets, both Discatchers , are colored red for the short basket and yellow banded for the long . Every hole has 4 distinct possibilities to play on any given day . On top of that , there are several pin placement per hole , too . with the longest hole , #14 , at 700' + , having up to 10 ? There are next tee signs on the course of at the bottom of the buckets to try to keep you going the right way . Still print the map . There is pretty good signage at every hole and every tee pad , with hole # , par , and all of the pin possibilities , along with their flight paths . They even have a colored zip tie put into holes on the sign indicating pin position , changing every month . If you lose a disc here , there is a lost and found at the park that someone might turn your disc back into . If you need one right away , Disc Golf Center is located right across the street from the park and has a good selection . You can print off a score card online at DGR , but don't count the distances or pars on it . The course does NOT play 5954' but more like 7154' + . I won't go hole by hole on this course , but the course will treat you with tunnel shots , dog legs left and right , Hidden baskets , baskets guarded by large trees with canopies .
Hole 1 is a good warmup hole , between 294' to 346' from the longs , and having small trees guarding the front of a narrow entrance to shoot at . #7 is a longer hole , as long as 615' even from the red tee and a par 4 . Some shot shaping will be required to angle a left to right drive into a semi tight fairway . a lot of pin placements here . 12 is a long fairly straight drive from the longs ( White Tees ) 581 to one of 4 basket placements slightly left . 13 is another near impossible pin placement if back in the E position , guarded by many fairway trees right to left , then left to right , par 4 . 17 is a short tight alley throw with heavy brush on both sides and trees protecting the C pin position . : #14 . Even from the reds , it goes as much as 700' , and the placement is a long fading tight left to right . Then a straightaway shot to a severe right to the pin , a great hole and my 2nd favorite .
My Signature Hole : I really liked #2 , a tight drive over a small dry creek to a slight left and an alley to the pin slightly uphill . Without the time I spent looking for my disc , I would have completed it solo in about 80 minutes . Not sure if the fun factor had kicked in yet , but I had a great time . Figure a foursome to play close to 3 hours .
Cons: #1. Navigation . Once you get into the middle holes of this course , alleys can fool you along with the pin placements , even with a map . I had to walk down the course a few times to figure out my pin
#2 The rough . I looked for close to 15 minutes for my disc on #6 on the right , and it the dead of winter . Rough spots can eat up a disc in a few spots . Disc Risk ; moderate . Be careful of the trees here , too . Large and high , some palm variety , they can grab a disc in mid-flight . Other than that , it's just tastes and preferences . Technical , very flat , any elevation leaves the course after about hole 5 or 6 . I was hoping that 18 would ba a good finishing hole but it was an open area drive to either basket , close to the parking lot . Bring bug spray . They are said to be horrible in the spring or summer .
Other Thoughts: What a great deal . This is definitely one of the better courses in Florida . Another great design . And what can you say about parking your car and playing both this course and a good course like Barwick right beside it for 36 total holes of disc golf ?! Thank You , City of Debary and the parks and Rec Dept. and Debary Disc Golf Club for establishing such a fun course and letting me play here . My Recommendation : 2 pins , 2 tees . Good for everything from newbie to pro .You can get a different look from this course both daily and monthly . I met both a 5 person family playing on 18 that was having a great time , and a twenty something year old playing with his grandfather . The locals were friendly and more than polite . That should tell you something . You might want to check out the park and club homepage or Facebook page so you don't run into any doubles , tournament or league play . This course is popular and a great hangout with the locals . Spend the day and PLAY IT !!!!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

1    1/20/2020   1/20/2020
Review By: g8rjohn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 35.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Today was a gorgeous day for disc golf in Debary. We travelled from Gainesville to play a course we haven't played before for a new experience and this one was recommended by Gregg and the staff at Disc Golf Center. The tract of land is very nice and mostly flat. The course is challenging for a veteran (we played short tees to the yellow longer/harder baskets), but seems to attract a lot of ams who were playing short tees to red baskets. There is a lot of variety in shots and there were four par 4's (which were challenging but fair). The zip tie system they use to indicate which hole is in which pin placement was not only handy, but critically necessary because of the multiple pin placements per hole. The tee signs were very well done, but we would recommend that they add "next tee" arrows closer to the baskets because most of the next tee signs we could find had been vandalized and/or weren't placed closely enough to the baskets to help guide us around the course. Overall, it's a great course and we can't wait to play it again. We are jealous for those of you who call this your home course.
Cons: We liked that there was a large variety of pin placements for each hole, but some holes had more than four and one on the back nine had 10! There were so much variety that choosing the correct scorecard on UDisc is nearly impossible.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best in area

5+    5/1/2019   5/1/2019
Review By: Fletch50
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Best course in the area!!

This place never ceases to amaze me. Nice fellow players, awesome mature trees. Really a great place carved out of God's beauty.

Two tee pads and two baskets on every hole for a wide variety of play from beginner to advanced. Hole placement changes about every-other month. Course maintenance is good.

Great layout, many potential pen placements. 36 holes onsite that will wear you out, a destination place to play.
Cons: during the wet time of the year some of the holes can be a little soggy. Gets crowded on weekends with backups on every hole; but everyone is friendly!
Other Thoughts: Across the street is one of the best stores - Disc Golf Center. Tons of inventory, good prices, friendly. Huge online store, probably 20,000 discs or more on-hand!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I'll definitely be back.

1    3/2/2019   3/2/2019
Review By: riltim
Played: 36  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Red and yellow basket positions with two teepads per hole give you plenty of options. Long pads to yellow baskets is a fun and challenging round, while short tees to red baskets is a great way to work on your midrange and putter shots off the tee.

The scenery around the course is beautiful and it seems like the entire park is dedicated to disc golf. I didn't encounter a non-disc golfer the entire time I was there.

Ample seating at each tee and great tee signs marking the basket positions with colored zip ties.
Cons: I feel bad putting any negatives down because they are mostly outside of anyone's control. But if I have to list some it would be:

* Some tee signs are extremely faded and tough to read from the Florida sun.
* The rough on some of the holes on the front 9 are extremely thick. A lot of potential for lost discs. The 4' black snake I stumbled upon looking for my disc on hole 2 had me worried about climbing into the rough.
Other Thoughts: Disc Golf Center is right down the street and it was a lifesaver for picking up some discs while traveling.

I was going to mark this as a con but it really wasn't fair; there are a ton of ant hills throughout the course. You need to keep an eye where you're putting your foot or before picking up your disc because they move fast. It's probably common down here in FL but it's not something I'm used to up north.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    2/25/2018   2/28/2018
Review By: Reed Disc Golf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: -Good conditions
-Beginner friendly
-Creative
-Amazing course, tight tunnels, open shots, you name it.
Cons: -Hole 2 mosquitos during the summer
-Muddy in some areas
If you are playing during the summer, hole 2-4 can have many mosquitos.
Other Thoughts: Disc golf store nearby

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Kick back and relax.

1    5/29/2017   7/26/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 513  Reviewed: 485  Exp: 7.5 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.982 Rating) The most laid back course I've ever played (141 courses played as of this review)
- CHILL AREAS - Amazing lounge areas on this course. A few tee areas have several awesome wood benches with backs and nice wooden tables. It's the equivalent of an outdoor patio furniture arrangement. I kind I wish I didn't show up here solo and on a time crunch. I wanted put these features to use.
- CHARACTER - In addition to these chill areas, the additional amenities and extras on Alpha is among the best I've seen, and I see this course as the ultimate after work relaxation course. To start, two nice concrete pads that are generally well shaded and they each have their own tee signs. All the signs have basket location pegs. There's also a community board with a disc return, two practice baskets and a shelter, all near tee (1).
- BASKET PLACEMENTS - Far and away the most basket placements I've ever seen on a course. Almost 80 of them. Local players will be entertained with a constantly changing course. For those of us out of town, It will really temp us to make a return visit. There is one issue with all the basket locations. It requires a constant upkeep on the peg markers in the signs. There were a few marked incorrectly on my round and a few of the tee pegs were broken in the slot.
- SIGNATURE HOLE - From tee view alone, there really wasn't any hole that blew away, just lots of great holes. However, hole (14) has to be the signature hole due to its tee sign. There are 11 basket placements on this hole! Everything from a 700 foot par 5 to a 300 foot par 3. This may not be practical and can actually be sort of annoying on first play, but it's definitely a unique experience.
- CHALLENGING - To be fair, I have no idea due to the multitude of basket locations that have a significant challenge separation. I figure that the difference from the hardest to easiest 18 hole layout could vary by as much as six throws in relation to par. This stated, I think an average layout will challenge intermediate players to break par and advanced players should be a few down. When baskets are placed in the most difficult layout, I could definitely see advanced players struggling to crack par.
- UNIQUENESS - For a course without water or elevation in play, Alpha is still well above average as all the other variety items are accounted for. Doglegs, pockets, sweeping 3's, windows, scores of blind baskets and more. Also a bunch of par 4s and one par 5 if basket (14) is in the (K) position.
- SHOT SHAPING - Not as much as the adjacent course (Barwick) but there are several holes that have to be thought out well to leave good birdie opportunities. Several holes have optimal defined throwing lanes with the option to play a more risky tight line to leave a closer birdie putt or to make an ace run.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Alpha is ideal for a wide swath of seasoned skill levels. The red tees are perfect for rec players. The white tees are balanced right in the middle between intermediate and advanced level players.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds were amazing and they appear to be constantly mowed, trimmed and manicured. There is also a proper amount of garbage cans and trash was pretty much non-existent.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - A very eloquent course setting. Beautiful trees, great fauna and minimal manmade features in view. I haven't played every course within 50 miles, but I currently have Alpha scored the highest of the 13 courses that I've played in that zone.
Cons: Other than a few ticky tack navigational gripes, I'm grasping at straws to find issues with this course.
- COURSE MAP - No course map at the community board at the time of my visit. Seriously how much effort does it take to print an 11 x 17 map and post it. Hopefully its absents was just temporary for some odd reason. The course map I downloaded online from DGCR was adequate.
- SIGNAGE - Very nice looking signage. However, not accurate enough for a first timer on this type of a course. I shot down the wrong lane three times from the red tees (8, 12,14) Google earth satellite imagery versus the signage's tree callouts, do not match well enough to define the correct line in a few instances.
- NAVIGATION - Doable with a map first time through, but considering the multitude of basket placements, there can, and will be some navigational questioning. There are lots of directional ques along the layout, but a course with this type of set-up needs way more. In addition, expect several longer walks between holes as well.
- OVERGROWTH - Less than at the Barwick course but still expect some extended time searching. I will state however, for a course this wooded, surprisingly less than I excepted. Several holes in the pines, have just about no overgrowth, and are laid with a bed of pine needles.
- POISON IVY - I spotted poison ivy two times during my round. So during the summer, you may have to weigh comfort now, over comfort later.
- ELEVATION AND WATER FEATURES - Really nothing of substance on this course. No more than 10 feet of change on any one hole. Water elements are really only in play in fringe situations. Basket (D) on hole (5) crosses a very very small creek.
- PARKING - Unpaved. OK for now, but it will continue to deteriorate
Other Thoughts: Clearly one of the better courses in the state of Florida. This is one of those places that even an awful day on the course will still leave you with a smile on your face. This is definitely a destination course, highly recommended for all skill levels but beginners. Be sure and check out the Barwick course as well. Not as refined as Alpha, but a unique experience in its own right.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Big And Bodacious!

1    10/30/2016   10/30/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 206  Reviewed: 159  Exp: 46.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2018
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely fantastic course in which everything is large and in charge! Big fairways with multiple pin placements, big trees, big challenges, and big fun! Two tee pads with nice signage and plenty of next tee signs. I probably used every disc in my bag here and all of my throws including the most rollers I've thrown on a course in a long time. The course also has a nice vibe to it and is set in a dedicated area. The course is also free to play and has a full-service disc golf store like right across the street from it.
Cons: Even with all of the signage, navigation can be somewhat tricky in spots. Thankfully, the course is heavily played and the very friendly locals were more than happy to keep us on the right path.

BRING BUG SPRAY!!! Mosquitos can be brutal at times.

The course lacks some real standout/signature kind of holes. Don't get me wrong, there are a lot of really nice holes here, but the course isn't quite as interesting or diverse as say a Medard or New World IMO.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course and a pleasure to play. There is another 18 hole course on site here making this park a destination for a fun day of throwing plastic.

Oh yeah, a warning for the tinfoil hat wearing people: The course has several holes directly underneath some high power lines.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

1    10/18/2015   1/21/2016
Review By: hazimwood
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2016
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good layout
Good mix of left and right shots
Good tee signs and Baskets
Clean
Lots of Parking
Nice pads
good mix of woods and open shots.
friendly locals
The place is beautiful
easy to find discs, even in the woods.
Cons: No facilities
Hard to figure out which position the baskets are in for some shots.
drainage could be better in some spots
Large hornets ..Biggest Hornets nest I've ever seen..It wasn't a problem really, just concerning.
Other Thoughts: I'm from Miami and was visiting friends in Orlando and this place was a bit out of the way but was worth the trip. Just bring snacks and drinks and a cooler maybe.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Florida course

2-4    1/19/2016   1/19/2016
Review By: shirleynotme
Played: 228  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 25.1 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very nice course in a well maintained park. Fun to play with lots of different shots. Nice tee pads and signs, benches on most holes.
Cons: Not really any cons other than some standing water after rains on a couple holes.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.