Whitefish, MT 
Buffalo Bobs Share
Uploaded By: Doktor John   (Taken 10/2010)
Hole #11 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Unexpected fun spin

1    8/13/2018   9/7/2018
Review By: Badger45
Played: 126  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 18.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - One of the more unique courses you'll ever see in terms of targets. Even if it wasn't a fun spin, just figuring out what they did to make the baskets is worth the visit.
- Mostly plays around a walking path, but still wooded enough to make it interesting.
- One of the better courses I've seen at a campground.
- Two targets on each hole, one basket and one tone pole.
- Easy navigation, as it plays in a loop around the path.
Cons: - Dirt tee areas marked by a wood block. Most are uneven, but standstill shots are pretty manageable for these holes.
- Some of the baskets were difficult to find with a quick look-around from the tee box. Mostly due to the rusty metal makeup of them. Not hard to spot them if you walk up / around a little, though.
- Wasn't real sure about paying to play or what access is permitted. We ended up playing and figured we'd pay if anyone asked...but we saw nobody out there. I guess I should have read the review below to see about stopping at the office!
Other Thoughts: Kids will love this course, as will anyone with a DIY / artistic flair. It was a good stop for us as we traveled from Missoula to East Glacier. Not exactly "on the way", but it was worth the little jog off our path to play it. It's one of the things my son regularly talks about from this vacation, so that's saying something when you live in a flat section of the midwest!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Cool little woodsy course

1    8/2/2018   8/6/2018
Review By: brentjacobs
Played: 248  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 18 permanent targets for 9 holes. All of the targets are homemade, mostly baskets with some objects and even a literal clown's mouth made from an old satellite and a VW beatle hood. They don't all catch that great but the metal work that went into these baskets is awesome. Being on a more rec-style campground course, I totally dug these targets.
- Small wooden blocks mark the tees and help make navigation fairly simple.
- Nice use of the available elevation. Most holes have a noticeable change adding a good level of challenge and keeping things interesting.
- Plenty of trees to contend with. Some forced lines off the tees adding a bit a challenge to this shorter course.
- Manageable hole lengths for a campground rec course.
- Nice Course sign with rules and a fairly easy to follow map. Navigation was pretty simple and if the caretakers did a little sprucing up, it would be a breeze.
- The sign notes that the course is for KOA guests only or you need to pay a fee. I checked in with Kathy at the main office and she told me it was free and to have fun.
Cons: - Tee boxes are just roughed out ground. Most are a bit uneven. Not many holes where a run-up would be required but they could could be worlds better. A number of them are also a touch close to the previous target, although with the minimal traffic this courses sees, I doubt it causes issues too often.
- Not a lot of variation in Hole length. Mostly around 200'.
- The baskets don't catch great. Again, for this style of course, I think they're absolutely awesome, but I'm into quirky, artsy stuff. Suppose what I liked least about them was the old metal pieces used to construct them is rusted so they aren't easy to spot.
- Two targets per hole are neat, in theory. However, many of the secondary targets are very near the other targets making very little difference in which you play.
- Course could use a little more TLC. The rough is rather rough making it easy to find yourself searching for your disc if you take a kick off the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I found this to be a pretty cool little 9 hole course. Nothing fantastic but a fun enough spin in a neat little wooded area. The metal work on the baskets is really impressive, like nothing I've seen from homemades before. Not going to please those that like more of a competition ready course but that's not what I expect to find at the local KOA pitch n putt 9er. They have a couple of benches throughout the course but not much else(outside the main campground area) for amenities. If you're into bells and whistles, perfect maintenance, and top level infrastructure, you can feel free to skip this one. I liked it for the quiet scerenity, unique and artistic baskets, and fun throws, up and down the hills and through the woods. I'll definitely play this again if I have time on my next visit to the Flathead valley.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but very short

1    9/29/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: Dadio
Played: 137  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 34.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: one of only 2 courses in Kalispell area. Very pretty in woods. Targets are unique, baskets are handmade and very artistic.
Cons: Very short and while kinda technical most shots weren't too hard. A very good beginner course but really not a course to hold the interest of an experienced player for repeated play. Lack of reliable baskets makes it difficult to recommend. I was there on a slow day and had no problem playing but locals on other course said usually need to be KOA member or pay fees to play.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad I played it the once but in the future I will probably play Lawrence Park or make the drive to Libby. This should also be listed as a double 9, same tees, different targets.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Unique and fun pitch and putt course

1    10/6/2010   10/9/2010
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 419  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 30.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery
Good use of limited space
Good use of natural obstructions
Good use of elevation changes
Unique handmade baskets
Great course to introduce people to the sport...a little challenging with the trees but short enough to make it fun even for a first timer
Great course for kids
Large tee pads
Very intuitive flow
Good variety in hole layout
Great course to practice various shots (like play the whole thing forehand it you are normally a backhanded player)
Picnic tables to relax at
The "back 9" aren't all "tone poles" anymore...many are baskets
Cons: Since the tees are natural/wood chip, some are a little uneven
Though the baskets are all handmade and a bit whimsical, most only have one set of chains and don't hold the discs well...lots of in and out putts
If it were crowded (probably a rarity) it could get a little confusing and hectic since the "back 9" uses all the same tees pads as the front 9
Other Thoughts: If you take this course for what it is, it can be a lot of fun
It's a gorgeous setting and very serene and relaxing
To me, it's a lot more fun than playing Lawrence Park
I'd encourage you, if you are in the area, to take the time to head over and have a very unique round of golf...you could play the whole thing with just a Roc or putter - perfect lunch break course

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.